(2008/11) November 2008

Kite flying..
it's nice that everyone enjoyed the session..i m sure the kiddos especially..do hope to be able to catch up the next session..cheers~

peanut..
icic..but at least a nice company to play with A too..i m sure they both wont feel bored at home.. :p

wtan, next time we organise Kite flying @ Tampines

RCB, nice photos u uploaded to FB! U managed to capture many cute moments of t kids

Aly_Nat, both Aly and Nat are so cute. Kayla likes Aly a lot, must thk Aly for entertaining K, giving me time to chitchat for u girls.

Olwen, thks for organising, and the lift to taxi stand
Gerard so good boy

Jes, i like V's jump jump jump! Another active girl

morning mummies..

ai ya missed the kite flying.. ;( coz every sat i will be at my in law place so cant join.. hee.. hope there will a sunday gathering!! ;p

morning ladies

we enjoyed sat's kite flying session (though i wasn't flying a real kite)... and nice to meet you mummies, yr hubs & kids.

thanks olwen for organising and lilian for co-ordinating.

RCB, thanks for taking all the nice pics!

lilian, K likes to jump alot too, jus that she seems abit shy. compared to V, she's much more guai... eeehhhh, chilli padi, where?

Olwen, if only u could bring the other 2 kiddos out, i was actually looking forward to see them too, haha

Aly_nat, i still can't get over N's beautiful long hair, envy envy!

Nice kite flying photos on the FB!! Glad e tods all enjoyed themselves =) Think if i was there i'll b busy chasing my gal from 1 end of the field to the other, instead of flying kites..

Nyway after 2 weeks my gal stil not much improvement from her flu and cough.. getting worried.. tomm need to bring her back for review again.. Mayb i shd ask for antibiotics already?

Liv
seems like he's already giving quite a high dosage lei.. 4ml of ventolin each time lei 3 times a day, then another medication for allergy/flu also 4ml each time.. Haiz.. my gal already thin thin liao.. heartpain... sobz......

Booo hooooo... nobody told me abt kite flying! i only received an SMS saying Lian and Jes were planning to go kite flying and asked me where's the location. i only checked the forum on Sat evening.

Jes, guai???? hahaha... Very mischievous & cheeky gal.
Ya, she's shy shy towards strangers. Genes from her mummy.

Trying to upload photos to FB, but keep getting error

Oh ya...thks Olwen for organising the Kite flying on sat

lian
thks for coordinating...

re: kite flying pics
thks for the compliment
I love to tk pics...just nice caught the kiddys in cute actions

Bear
ohoh...maybe next gathering u can join along

Nut
if really western doc medi can't cure maybe tk chinese medi helps on her flu n cough.

Good morning,
Congrats to mummies who are pregnant.
Had been bz wif my boy 1 sickness after another.
False measles then HFMD.

MMR/MMRV jab,
My son also had false measles on the 5th day after his MMRV jab.

Kiki,
Update for me. Thanks.
Mummy : Yen , Baby Jalen borned on 29 Oct
Weight @ 15mths : 8.2kg
Height @ 15mths : 79 cm
Teeth : 4 top, 4 bottom and all molars and the rest of coming out

Oops..I missed out on the kite flying thingy too..

Had been busy with work, wasn't able to check in here to see the happenings so often. Then last Friday, brought my boy to KKH for some speech theraphy assessment tests and hearing tests too.

The therapist had commented that my boy is indeed slow in reaching his milestones.
In short, he's slow in almost everything, from play,attention,focus to speech, except that he's okay in physical activities,like crawling, walking,etc..My heart practically dropped when I heard that. I had tried so many ways to interact with my boy daily, but it's not working at all. I don't know what else to do now.
Everyday after i go home from work, i'll do all sorts of things to get my boy's attention, talk, read to my boy and play with him. but he's just not interested and not responding. I'm so envious when I see some of the kids the same age as him, can wave goodbye, blabber and interact with their parents.
I did mentioned to the therapist whether my boy will be prone to ADHD(Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder), but she said its too early to confirm it now. Now I have to go back to them 3 weeks later to assess again. Haiz..I'm really very disheartened now. Speechless..

lilian..
ya, we can go over to the open space near the Build-to-Order flats (700+)? we went there last evening with the Ricky brothers..didnt really flew for long but i think we shd go get a bigger kite & try again this Sun evening..hee..

peanut..
ur PD shd be giving u anti-biotics if she's not getting better..do monitor her ah..the recent weather is really getting worse..take gd care..cheers~

bear..
oh, u didnt go ah? anyway, we bot the reel from SKP but hb got a "quite small-size triangular" kite..hence we cant really "flew" it for too long..is there a guide to how to choose a better kite? where did u get urs from? this Sun evening we are gg to try again at the open space..

Lucas had his MMR jab the week before and doc gave medicine for fever, runny nose and cough for standby. He started to run a fever since yesterday. But since Saturday, he refused to take anything except cheese, milk sweet and plain bread. Dunnoe if he is having a sore throat or simply no appetite. Any advice?

lilian..
ya, we can go over to the open space near the Build-to-Order flats (700+)? we went there last evening with the Ricky brothers..didnt really flew for long but i think we shd go get a bigger kite & try again this Sun evening..hee..

peanut..
ur PD shd be giving u anti-biotics if she's not getting better..do monitor her ah..the recent weather is really getting worse..take gd care..cheers~

bear..
oh, u didnt go ah? anyway, we bot the reel from SKP but hb got a "quite small-size triangular" kite..hence we cant really "flew" it for too long..is there a guide to how to choose a better kite? where did u get urs from? this Sun evening we are gg to try again at the open space..

moomummy
may i know what makes u decide to bring him? he's not talking at all and not responsive? Other than these he's a very active boy tts y u suspect ADHD?
Actually i'm also quite worried abt my gal being hyperactive... she seems to hav unlimited energy and her attention span is also v short.. taking out this toy, touch a while then don't wan already.. Worst stil lately she seems to b very easily distracted which is one of the symptoms..

I really feel that having a child is worry non-stop until they grow up liao.. and esp since i'm a person who's prone to lots of worrying.. makes it worst.. Tink really 1 child is enough for me already....... I can only envy those pregnant women and look at newborn bbs with love, but no courage to hav another one..

moomummy, it's too early to tell if your ah boy has learning problem. Usually speech therapy is given after 2YO, i heard.

nuts, i tink most kids at this age all very short attention span one ba.. Dun worry

Dymples/Yen,

My son also having rashes on his face and body. I thought is those heat rash due to the weather. Does the doctor prescribe any medicine for fake measles?

Nuts, u should be worried if nini keep on playing t same toy the whole day or being too focused. Coz tats a sign of autism. =p
Agree, parents tends to worry alot. Have to control a bit, another way is to have another kid to distract our thoughts. haha

stupid FB keep error error error

* How to remove ear wax inside a child's ear? *

K's ear wax is almost blocking her ears liao! No wonder sometimes i call her, she bo hue me lah..

Lianz
of cos i dun expect her to play with same toy whole day la... hahaha.. even if its jus for 5-10mins i also happy.. jus that sometimes she can ask us to bring out a toy for her but she only touch it then leave it on the floor and go for another toy!!

peanut
I din actually tot of bringing my boy for those assessment tests. It's my boy's PD who initiated it. I brought my boy to her for his MMR jab 2 weeks ago, and she did a small check on his milestones. and when she noted that my boy is not able to do most of the things she tested, she suggested to me to bring my boy for further tests. Even my boy's fine motor skills is not good too. cannot do the pincer grip well too.

Actually, our kids at this age will have short attention spans, which is normal. But my boy is super active and doesn't focus at all. But your nini can blabber right? can say 'mama','papa' or other single words right? My boy can't at all. can only manage saying 'ooohhh', that's all. And he's not consistent in repsonding to his own name too. all the blabbering and responsive should be met now, as told by the PD and therapist. But too bad, my boy don't.

moomummy
my boy is also not responsive one la... though he can be abit "talkative" , talk his own language... at times. when u call him by his name, he dont even look at u or respond to u... only this few weeks start to walk..which i find abit slow to compare... so it's just individual's process... he talk also a few words til now.. but only see his mood...unlike some kids already can talk & respond quite well.. i am quite give up on reading story book to him la.. ev time looking else where or do his own tings -_-" machiam talking to wall...

nut
kids like new toys la.. toys tat they see ev day.. basically they dnt give a damn.. though my maid still give him ev morning~ haha.. dont care la... cannot be always invest new toys la... not so rich.. kakaka.. recently i give him those hard cover book let him see.. with objects... whichever page he turn to i will point & tell him what is it.. tat's the best i can do liao.. lolz..

Moomummy,
Dun worry too much, some kids take their time to talk. My niece went for speech therapy at 18mths at KKH because she can't call mama or papa and never talk de just make e..e..ah..ah sounds.But when she started play group and some sessions of the speech therapy, she opened up a lot and can talk liao. U teach her any words and she will repeat after u but sometimes not accurate lah.

Peanut,
U may want to bring Nini to see TCM to tiao back her health after she's better. Hope she get well soon.YA, there's really to end to worries when we have our own kids.

Jo,
R also has very poor appetite recently. Wonder what's the cause? Now she also not interested in fruits which she usually likes. Meal times only take bit of rice but milk she's ok leh. Haiz, hope it is just another phase of teething.

Aly Nat,
So the cute long hair girl from RCB FB is ur dd? I was wondering how u grow her hair that long? How old is she again? My daughter's hair took so long to grow and it's still so short.

Lilian,
I can see K having lots of fun during kite flying. So cute.

MMR
T got slight fever & some rashes above his hip & neck area the next day after the jab.. all Have subside.. hopefully no more side effect appear.. it's 5-6 days since the jab.

Karen
there's medicine for fake measles.. it suppose to be not itchy & will disappear after few days..

jo
guess Lucas shld be feeling uncomfortable.. probably u may monitor his temp. & see how..

Lilian - I use Tropex ear drop on Aly when she was a tod. Very effective in removing ear wax. I think it's an OTC item that u can get from most pharmacy.

Babyzel - Nat is 14.5 mths' now. Your bb's hair will grow in no time. My older gal, Aly, was borned "botak", I didn't hv to cut her hair at all for her first 3 years. Now her hair is so thick (the big gal in yellow top, pictured with Jalen n Kayla).
Someone once told me not to tie baby's hair too often. And when u do, use appropriate hairbands, and dun tie the hair too tight.

Peanut - if your bb's cough n runny nose if not caused by sickness, then u may want to monitor her diet n environment for allergy causing agent. Can be tricky, though, since there r so many possibilities.
With Aly, it took us a while to realise that her constant cough n runny nose was aggravated by incense burning. My PD also commented that he see more such cases during the ghost festival, and when Singapore's air quality is effected by bush fire from Indo. n M'sia. very sian n heartache to see a child constantly unwell...

choomama..
so faar when my boys r with fake measles, no medication to be given/prescribe to but only that time when Brod was having runny nose, doc gave runny nose medication whc is also antihistamines that can treat terrible itch and swell...but if u have calamine lotion or calendula cream can use it for him to make him "feel dryer" than at least not as irritated too..it will go away in a few days time..

alibaba
hey, dun give up on reading to your boy. coz i got a fren who has 3 daughters, she told me to be persistent. she oso had this problem where she will read to her daughters when they are abt 14 months or so, but they initially will all be busy climbing up and down, walking ard, not paying attention to her. but she persisted for months, and finally her kids will be so curious what is mummy doing and will sit beside her to see. from then onwards, they'll pick up a book to flip through it and eventually, cultivate a reading habit. I'm trying that on my boy now, though difficult, but I still want to try.

babyzel,
Yah, I was contemplating to enrol my boy in a play group, but my hubby isn't so comfortable with it. Now i'm hoping to convince him by showing how effective it is to do so. hopefully, i'm able to do it before my boy turns 17 months. :p

nut
u may wan to get the talking & singing tooth brush for nini.. haha but not sure if it's suitable for below 2yo..

moomummy
i try bah...the problem is he will crawl away from me le!! how to read? follow him? where do u gal read book to ur tods? in the room? table?

I read to K before her bedtime. Reading helps to wind her down... (ie. makes her sleepy.. haha)
I do a lot of picture books. Point to objects/animals and tell her whats their names.
After that, get her to point to them when i ask her. 'Where's bird bird?' 'Where's horse horse?'
When she gets it right, I compliment her. 'Wah, so clever!'

alibaba
I usually will bring my boy to our room and close the door to read to him. that way, he can't go out of the room and will always be within my sight and reach.
same lah.my boy will be walking around the room, touch this and that. once in a while, he'll walk to my side and peep into the book and then walk away liao. after a few times, i'll feel very disheartened, wanted to give up, but after remembering what my fren told me, i'll just continue to read to 空气 lor..

moomummy
my gal everyone also call mama.. we've to correct her all the time then she;ll say the correct one.. but after a while, all mama again -_-" Sometimes tot she's calling out to me but actually calling her nai nai or papa!!! haiz...

Ali
wat toking toothbrush,, haha.. like tt got batt one lor.. then can touch water meh? Anyway lately i bot the Pepper book which teached good habits and got one that is for brishing teeth.. dunoe whether if thats e reason but last couple of times she allow me to clean her teeth with cloth without screaming.. thou she stil doens't allow the brush on her.

wtan, Aly_nat
yah mayb bacos of bad weather and air.. i hope tomm doc's review and any new medication can simply solve the problem..

bbzel
actually e doc got giv a tonic to strengthen her lung.. once a day b4 bedtime to be added to beverage.. for TCM i'll discuss with my hubby and mil.. dunoe wats their view thou i dun mind trying at all..

moomummy/lian
ya la.. i usually read on the bed with him closed door.. he will Crawl down the bed.. play chair /my la pi xiao xing coin bank...etc.. ok lor... i try to read to the air more often before his sleep..

i find myself scolding and disciplining my gal EVERYDAY!! anyone here the same?

Outdoor dining:
Getting from bad to worst... these days jus after a short while she want to get off from highchair liao! even when i make sure she's hungry during e meal time.. Make me dun feel like bringing her along for any meals already!

reading to tods
i dun really read books to my gal, as with the others, her attention is oso very short wan. so instead we do flashcards to her almost everyday, even if it means it's just a few cards each time. kinda of work for her as we noticed she's been picking up quite alot of words from the flashcards, and some from educational DvDs too. perhaps flashcards appear more interesting - more colourful pic and less wordings?!

tink got alot of choose from bah, all depends on what the kids prefer... now my gal likes to watch barney, but i bet it will just be passing phase and we need to source for new ones again soon...

Ah Lian
wheel on the bus she has been watching since v young.. but thats not really considered educational rite? i'm toking abt those that teaches mayb ABC or 123..