(2008/11) November 2008

phew... just got back from PG!
Purposely went down during lunch hr to look at their sample booklet

Mildy, yes, their designs old and not nice
2 tiers one better but I prefer single tier cos easier to cut.
Liv, I have exactly t same qn as u!

Liv: great question.. haha, i also havin 2 tier cake. and i even hear that fondant cake is difficult to cut.. is it?

babyzel: i also got my cake from cupcake divinity.. ur cake very pretty

Babyzel,
Wow! Looks like Rachelle had a grand 1st birthday celebration. Lucky gal! I love her Pooh cake and the Jelly cake! So nice! Tink you must hv spent alot. *envy-envy* Got professional PG to take the photos somemore FOC leh.

snowy: so is 3 kg enuff for 100 pax? 100 pax seems a lot i saw bengawan cake guide and says 3kg for 40 pax i oredered my 3kg cake for 50+ pax..just wondering if was enuff..?

bear: Ya cheryl suen cakes damnnnn nice i bio v. long liao maybe next time if strike lottery i will get for my girl. I tink tof eed 50 pax i need to budget at least $500 for her cake!

But is uber cool.

jes: I never ordered ecreative cake but ate it recently at bday party quite creamy wor although filling quite ok not so sweet. U may wanna choose one with less cream.

soho, actually after browsing thru ecreative website, i can't really seem to find any design that i really like, jia lat, getting fickle minded now.

Snnowy, may be they only do simple icing cos i asked for something like a fondant cake and they said they dun do it.

Re: 2 tiered cake
U just cut the top layer as per usual, stopping at where the top layer ends, then scoop it out. then proceed to cut the 2nd layer. don't cut through the 2 layers.

Lilian, have to warn u PG cakes are very very VERY creamy. their cream is abt 1cm thick cos they need it to do sculpturing and design. the cream can be a turn off. :p

Soho, that's quite a lot for 50 pax. cos not everybody will eat the cake and not everybody wants a big slice. i think most ppl get abt 2kg for abt 50 pax or so. nvm u can have cake for breakfast for the rest of the wk. hehehehe... where are u getting ur cake from?

I have been bio-ing Cheryl Shuen since my wedding days.. sigh.. i called her last wk and almost wanted to get it but luckily Mildy talked me out of it.. Hor Mildy?

Bear, u decided to get your cake from where? What is fondant?
When i eat cakes hor, i remove all t creams.. cos I nvr like cream. Hmmm....

Lilian, getting it from The Patissier again.

Here's a fondant cake. it uses marzipan and icing so u need a heavier cake for it. Like brownie or fruit cakes to be able to hold the weight. u can see the difference btw a fondant cake and a cream deco cake like wat Snnowy and Zelia posted.
3102386.jpg

?? For PG.. since their catalouge is on older designs.. then we've to tell them exactly e design we wan?? or eg jus tell them i wan princess theme and they'll design for me??

Jo
me too.. i no mood to work le.. tomm 1 more day thrs and fri me on leave woohoo..

TQ TQ TQ tri-angel, joyce, green grape, bbzel, soho, jes & blustar.

joyce: yes, made it. going to be yu-qi's turn soon

peanut: cannot be lazy, it's ni-ni's once in a lifetime birthday. see how much effort soho put in, yah soho?

green grape: r u the kind mummy ang***** who passed me friso?

lilian: u can have my mylar, i'm still trying to give it away!

snnowy: qweii's cake was so beautiful!

jes: yup, G R & L's cake from e-creative. IMHO,e-creative is v good for mummies like me with very little time. i've ordered every birthday cake from them since Kai was 2. becos they deliver free for $60 & above. even the babies' full month cakes were from them too. taste not bad too. but no liability for the recommendation hor, i don't own shares there.

peanut,
I was dozing off from 1pm-3pm. Juz woke up. Haha.

Wah ... Thurs and Fri also on leave ah? Shiok shiok ... where u gg on Fri?

Think can ask PG if they can do specific design u wanted.

Jo
?? u dreaming? tot we discussed.

Olwen
kakkaa... lazy.. but yes i'm planning for a simple one. Jus a buffet involving close relatives. But stil waiting confirmation on the function space. Jus surfing around on cakes..

PG - almost half of the mummies here interested in PG no wonder they so busy and got some screwups.. I got my gal's 1st mth cake from thre as well.. was my 1st time and was quite stun its jus a super small, stuffy, traditional looking cake shop.. Their website under construction since my gal's 1st mth until now.. might as well scrap it off..

Ah nian

sorry.. i not so onz.. no deco.. mayb a few own-blown balloons (those tt dun float) and leave them lying on the floor. hhahaa...

ah nut, tolay u bad mood ah? kakaka... ...
Yalor, am surprised abt t outlook of t shop when i went there jus now. Anyway, i bought some ang ku kueh for teabreak later. Traditional enuff ba?

Ah nian
?? y u say i bad mood? no ah i'm fine wor.. jus sleepy as usual

So u haven ordered e cake? anyway kayla bday stil got some time to prepare.. mine in less than 3 weeks.. now then get a bit gan cheong

Just to let u know Patissier kitchen is closed on 21st Nov cos they have a charity event. Had to beg them to take in my order and they took it cos mine is a small cake.

Don't siao kan PG. they have another shop at the same location and their top floor is also a bakery. but i find their cake standard dropped or may be i m used to their cakes liao.. haha still love the lychee martini though.

i tink for cake.. of cos look nice is great but taste is impt as well.. imagine people wah... so nice.. then eat liao.. eerrkk..

ah nut, i say u 2lay bad mood cos ur posts all so -ve one. haha... cheerup girl, u r going on leave soon. I so envy u
Ya, i still have some time to prepare.. Hb not helping, so sourcing everything myself.

bear, u celebrating on 21st? I m doing on 22nd

Have been a silent reader since i was pregnant with a nov 08 baby.. Wishing all babies a happi happi 1st birthday.. all mummies a "job" well done..
Seems like i know so many of u here thanks for sharing infor & ur experiences, i definitely learnt alot &..not forgetting all the online shopping from the spree links u gals put up here haha ..Thank you...

PG Cakesss ...

Juz attended a 1yo birthday party w PG 3kg 2-tier cake ... ordered PG cake for Lucas 1yo birthday party ... birthday bash cake also from PG.

They are earning big bucks!

lilian, my hubby also not helping but cannot blame him coz he now mugging for his exam n reports.. ;p so i jus trying my best to plan the bd party hahaah simple one la.. like nuts, will jus blow the balloons ourself hahaha...

hope the cake from PG is up to standard, coz 1st time spending so much on a cake.. haha

BB bday - Hubby's involvement....

me: so how.. want do buffet not..
hub: no need la.. own family celebrate can already
me: *tearing* tinking how kelian nini is..
- next day -
me: lets do a simple buffet la, jus involve close relatives
hub: watever u wat lor
- another next day -
me: so i ask ur mum to check with grandma if her condo functin space is available not hor.. 1 nov
hub: anything lor

So much on his involvement -__-

nuts, my version .........

me: lets try chillipadi catering this time
hub: (look at t price list) Wa, so ex. Why not neogarden?

me: I thinking of buying each kid a mylar balloon
hub: (calculating amt in mind) Wa, will be ex. Think latex balloon is good enough

me: They say Pinegarden cake not bad leh
hub: (see price list) Wa, plus labour charge and delivery so ex hor

-_-

Lilian
haha.. hey at least he's involved and suggest alternatives. Where got like mine.. majiam toking to a log and making decisions myself.

my version:

me: How should we celebrate ur daughter's birthday?
hubs: anything.
me: I book chalet?
me: Who you want to invite?
hubs: anything. you decide.
me: I want to order the cake from Pine Garden. Should we have 1 layer or 2 layer?
me: Minnie mouse theme or Winnie the Pooh better?
hubs: anything. both lor.
me: I wonder why I married you. Everything also anything.
hubs: dunno. anything.
me: ($&)%&@_!^

all men typically similar.... either they commented this and tat too ex, else is anything lah. so i decided not to consult my hubby and i decide everything myself. if he said too ex, i will say I WILL PAY. if he said why never ask him, I WILL SAY BECOS THIS IS A SMALL ISSUE NO NEED TO TROUBLE HIM, hehe

hahaha... my version

me: so how huh claudia's birthday?
hub: you plan lor
me: at where?
hub: you say lor
me: so invite who?
hub: you invite lor
me: buy cake from PG again?
hub: you decide lor
me: decors leh?
hub: you buy lor

*pull hair*

Liv,
Yup, like what Bear said, cut till where the 2nd tier end. Dun cut all the way down to 1st tier or you can also bring down the 2nd tier.

Bear,
ya, actually dun make sensem to have another branch in the same block. Their standard dropped a lot compared to the past. Service wise also haiz....

Peanut/Lilian,
Tell yourself no involvement from hubby is ok. So long he pays for what you are gg to organise. keke. That is more important.
I'll also be organising it solely. Have to do a proposal and let my boss (hubby) approve. Of course the boss play lay. We're planning to follow the chinese ceremony like what we did for #1. Partly because I only celebrate their 1st birthday and the next time would be their 21st bday. The rest of the yrs are just gg to be mini family event with a cake (It does not make sense to have a grand party every yr).

Just share wif you ladies what I did for my #1 to give you all a rough idea, especially those planning it alone. At the same time, I think some mummies (was is bbzel or mildy) who said abt bb 1st x wear shoes.

3102966.jpg

1) Must have b'day pressie from Maternal Gparents. 2 sets of pyjames, shoes, sock and gold necklace.

3102967.jpg

2)Praying ceremony to give thanks to Mother Goddness for gd health for the past 1 year and the rest of the yrs.

3102968.jpg

3) Giant Ang Ku Kueh

3102969.jpg

4) Tradional ceremony of stepping the kueh which marks the 1st milestone of her journey. This is also the 1st time bb can wear shoes.

3102970.jpg

5) Simple decoration with balloons

3102971.jpg

6)Our 18 dishes buffet. We cathered for 90pax but was charged at $720 for 60pax for the following dishes:

1)Fried rice
2)Fried bee hoon
3)Curry chicken
4)veggy
5)braised sea cumcmber
6)pork chop
7)lemon fish
8)chicken wing
9)prawn rolls
10)cerel prawn

On top of that we add on additional dishes ourselves
1)otar
2)fried fishball
3)pandan chicken
4)crab crawl
5)Steam Tim sum
6)fruits - water melon/grapes/honeydew/strawberry (all cut in cubes)
7)ice jelly (desert)
8)ice-cream for children

3102972.jpg

7)Oh ya. Hubby and I don't like the idea of our guests holding the plate, standing and eat. It makes them feels unwelcome. We always joke that later chicken wings will be flying off the plate and fishball jumping all over the floor. haha.

Tt time we actually asked for 8 long tables and 60 stools from the caterer and set 4 long tables joint inside my living room which holds about 40-50 people and another 4 tables outside the corridoor which holds the other batch.

Luckily I have 3 part of corridoor for ultilising, 1 section for buffet food, 1 section for drinks and ice-cream and another section for sitting and eating.

My caterer did not charge me for the rental. You can always check with your caterer.

3102973.jpg

Btw a suggestion for mummies who are organising B'day party for your bb's. Tt time I actually bought cupcakes' cup to put my gal's B'day cake for distribution to the guests. I find that this presentation is better than using a big paper plate which looks pretty miserable holding a small piece of cake.
You can get it from Phoon Huat @ $5.00 for 50 pcs.

We cut and put it in the cup and arrange it nicely at the buffet area. Ppl just help themselves each to a cup after buffet.

Soho,
I organised the cake in such tt a 3kg is more than enough for 100 pax. Some had 2 helping.

This time round we planned to have the celebration on Lyn's lunar bday i.e 5th Dec. Traditional ceremony should be more or less same as Jiejie but thinking of sourcing for another caterer and cake

Snnowy
wow tts a lot of traditions and work! tink i'll go crazy if i'm e one seeing into all these since my hubby bochap at all..

din u let ur gal choose from a strings of items? hammer, book, drumstick etc

Snnowy, you have planned everything so well! btw, abt the stepping on kueh, i saw it from a friend baby's 1st celebration that the daddy and/or mummy got to eat the kueh after baby stepped on it, what's yours after stepping??

items to choose: what are the few items huh? i only know calculator, money, book (?), ruler (?)... wat else?

Nut,
I also organised it all on my own then. Not tt hubby bochap but he is simply too busy to chap cos he worked 7 days a week. I just planned everything and update him. He will give some opinion here and there.

Just for knowledge

Strings of items:
In the olden days, this ceremony is only meant for baby boys as the family seem it as his responsibility to provide for the family when they grow up whileas girl, married off, their main duty is to bear children and take care of the family. That was how unequal is it.

But modern day, some people still have the ceremony for either baby boy or girl or some just for fun.

The ceremony was actually an old traditional way of determine what profession the baby will go into when he grows up.

For example, if baby choose a book, he will be a teacher, the copper coin represent businessman, weighing scale meant doctor, scissor mean tailor etc etc and so fore.

The item for the ceremony varies from a few (total items must be in even number but avoid 4 & 6) The traditional items are as follow:

1) Copper coin (use 8 pieces and string together with a red string to make a bunch)
2) Weighing scale (Those use in medical hall. you can get in an old weighing scale shop in Geylang but it costs a few hundred)
3) Book
4) Abacus
5) Toy (dun use baby's favouite toy. Have to be a new toy)
6) A long ruler
7) A pair of pencil (must be unsharpered one)
8) A pair of scissors

All items must be placed in a semi circle on the floor and let the baby sit at least 1 metre behind. When the ceremony starts let the baby crawl for some distance and choose the item themselves.

I always tell hubby maybe it more accurate in the past but now with Sushida Method and enrichment classes, parents shape their child to be what they want them to be lor (no offence hor but I still respect the ceremony)

Hahah i can't help but laugh at wat ur hbs are saying! i feel as long as they foot the bill, who cares what they want, esp if they dun really care abt the whole thing? heehee.. Mine is ok lah. he has an opinion for everything so whatever i want i have to fight for it lor. e.g. i wanted a particular design (bears) on the cake he said no.. prefer non living things like car or train. sigh.. i want balloons, he said he wants to choose design. bleah. i rather not have him interfering.

Snnowy, the other branch is mostly just baking. nothing on sale there. their output is enormous cos they have wedding cakes, GDL cakes, bday cakes, event cakes to make.

Wah u really did a lot of work for Qweii's bday! amazing! my mum just told me to get Z a suit on her behalf on his bday. that's it.. no gold chain or shoes.. haha i rather she gives me the money.

Jes,
Yup, Mummy and Daddy got to eat the kueh after bb step on it. (They stepped with a new shoes mah) We took a bit and kept it for a week before it goes to the bin. It will takes me a decade to finish it.

Snnowy,
That's a lot of traditions to follow. I know nothing abt it, mine just normal bday celebration nia. U going to follow the traditions for ur 2nd bb as well?

Peanut,
I also planned the party by myself. Hb bo chap just say do whatever i like, invite whoever i like, he pay $$ can liao.

Dymples,
Rachelle's bday celebration not grand lah, just a normal party..

Bear,
Haha, ya money more practical hor. My inlaws both give ang pow ask me to buy stuffs R likes.

If mummies want to order from cupcake divinity got to see if they still got slots. They are booked up very early. Need to be very fast. I booked with them 3 mths in advance, then they already booked up till 2nd oct.. Eh... but hor their cakes look very very nice but taste only so-so.

Wah mummies, so many updated pics on bdae cakes...it's not easy to choose the right one huh, somemore mine gotto be of halal ingredients..hehe.

Re:fights..
Im okie already, at that moment, wasn't happy with his comment even though later he said dat he was just joking...i duno lah..im like watever.
I dun think he's incapable or hard to find a lot of $$. We were living comfortably, just that stupid company paycut, made me no choice but to go and search for other part-time jobs. He is doing studies part-time so to climb the career ladder at the moment is pretty difficult cos all the energy goes to classes, homeworks etc. i guess it's just circumstances dat we are facing and to balance btwn work and family with all these goin on can sometimes take a toll on both of us too.
having said dat, im sure after all these, things will get better..think positive! like winnie the pooh cartoon song, "if you have a prob, think think think..." LOL!!!!! dat song is so cute!

Bdae Cake:
Wanted to choose aimummy but gotto cancel cos aimummy use gelatine (might be beef/pork) so i asked my fren, but in the end, she told me she couldnt find the mould to do. I wanted a mickey mouse head, just a simple one will do but she took like a month to tell me she couldn't find and gave up. Intially, i told her, if cannot find the mould just draw up a proposal for me with figurines, i dun mind changing it to a simple cake with figurines on top. She was taking her own sweet time and reply my sms-es very late like a day after, not professional enuff for me. so i told her, no need already, i go look elsewhere
so now, i came across bengawan solo, hopefully, they use halal ingredients, dats my only hope left. LOL!

my version

me @ work: So today no sch, u guai2 sit at home and cut the invitation cards and paste them for me okie, by the time i come back from work, i want to see at least 80% done.
hub: Orh!
me: then hor, if u can check the guest lists on my comp, and see whether okie, or u want to add more, u let me know first okie.
hub: Orh!
me: i think we are lacking enuff stuffs for the goodie bag, tomolo before my work we go find okie
hub: orh!

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

but of cos he will give suggestions, and for that i appreciate him...luckily he follow wat i say most of the time..hee

Long time no update..hb away again for 2 weeks so home alone with baby again, experience SAHM feeling hehe.

Wow - all the cakes look so nice!! Me looking forward to mine:

Babyzel: Saw your FB photos - the celebration looks great!! Btw, where did you hold it??

Mummy2nia: My first choice was Aimummy too but pity she was taken up. But think 2nd choice also not bad. Hopefully taste and look nice!! :p
http://gladcake.blogspot.com/

Snnowy: The tradition of picking things sound fun, but my inlaws nvr mention anything haa. Just do for fun, see what bb pick up!

Hb's bochapness: Haa peanut and fifi, your hb's replies all so funnie..mine similar but he tries to give suggestions haahaa.. think guys really generally are not so involved yeah ;p it's the mummies who get so excited.

Went to get some party stuff today, from the shops along Middle Road. Got quite a gd collection or if u need ideas for party if mummies want to check it out

Me now thinking what to pack in my goodie bag. Mine is Winnie The Pooh theme, so most stuff wld be revolving ard that. Was thinking of getting some organic gummies or lolipops to put inside :p

Me looking forward to my bb's bday bash! Decided to hold it over 25 Oct and 1 Nov, so that we can host more relatives n friends. Wld be tiring but well, 'once in a lifetime' keke..