(2008/11) November 2008

Wah...I missed on so many topics!

Happy birthday Braedon! Hope you had a wonderful day!

Kiki,Mildy
yah, last year during this time, we were all very excited coz EDD was near. That time I hoped to give birth faster, but now, miss those preggy days..so 'mao dun' hor?hehehe..

Kiki,
BB's Bday = our suffering day. Well said!hahaha
So have you gals started planning for your kid's 1st bday celebration liao? me kiasu mummy, planned very much ahead.hehe..

Re:Bb's gender
Hmm..I hope I'm wrong, but i always had this feeling that my MIL prefers her grand-daughter(2 year old plus now) to my boy. Maybe becoz she dotes on my BIL more than my hubby and SIL, that's why she dotes more on my BIL's daughter..can say she's not the type of old-fashioned MIL who prefers boys...But i'm okay lah, still will teach my boy to respect the elders. coz afterall, my boy's behaviour will reflect on my hubby's and my way of teaching kids. i dun want relatives to say that our kid have very bad upbringing... :p

Kash, how come Dr Lee was rude? I find that she doesn't give proper explanations. very frustrating for me cos i NEED to know the reasons. Also she keeps promoting vaccinations. I don't want to give Z more vaccinations than neccessary but she keeps pushing them. in fact i m gonna either give separate MMR jabs or delay it till Z is older.

Snnowy, i think deep down inside SIL wants a boy herself. even before i married in, when she delivered her 2nd gal, she told me that 'gals also good. ppl say i don't have boys that's why say gals gd. they say i sour grapes.' it came out of the blue and on hindsight, it showed that she was affected by wat others said. plus my MIL wants a boy and MIL can be quite tactless. now SIL don't wanna talk to us. when we go over to her place to visit her, she hid in her room. Then my 2 nieces also follow her, hide in their room. i find it a bit rude lah. Aft all we made the effort to come and see them. She never once come over to my place just for fun.

Sigh...

Happy Birthday Braedon!

Happy belated birthday Braedon!

snnowy, haha.. maybe i will also come in n ask about good CL when i have #2 next time. Tats t best way to announce ya
Shake hand shake leg? U think so easy meh? I pei fu u la, thinking #3 liao.

Bear, did your hubby try to clear up the misunderstanding with your SIL? Not good to let it go on. Imagine 10 years later, both families still not talking.
Realli stupid if it is due to what ur MIL said to her lor.

And ya, wonder why still there's ppl so care about gender !? So wat if i bear a boy to the family? Carry the surname and so what?

alamak stil on gender topic ah.. hahaaa...
yah lor so wat if bear a boy.. these days also wont guarantee he'll look aft e parents in future. My poor Inlaws already 绝后liao cos e son and dil no wan giv birth anymore..

Mosh,
Congrats! It is nice being pregnant again, got special treatments!

Bear,
hmm, ever consider to engage some shifu to go and view your house?

Happy belated 1st birthday Braedon!

wah, mummies still on boy/gal topic ah..

Joyce
I dont have special treatments leh sob sob..

Maybe its my 2nd bb, no chicken essence or any tonics from my MIL for 1st few mths. Strangely once I confirm the gender immediately next day got chicken essence wor...

snnowy

I also think my MIL likes my SIL gal more than my gal. Maybe becos my gal more active and very stubborn. But then I try to tell myself nevermind lor, daddy and mummy love her can liao!

Yah, I also hated it when my MIL start comparing. Even eating biscuit!! Oh SIL gal already know how to eat biscuit by herself by this time, yah so WHAT!

helloooo mummies,
nice weather to sleep!!! even my baby slept in till 730am tis morning and she napped this aftn w/o much struggle at all. in fact me still waiting for her to wake up to bring her out to meet hubby.hahah..

re: baby's gender
my hubby's dream is to have 3 girls!! (just like Dymples!) but realistically we're gonna stick with just our princess for now. hahah..with our work and hectic lifestyle, seems to be a challenge to have no. 2, or even no. 3!=P

Hope Baby Braedon had a super cool 1st birthday~~~! =^.^=

happywifey,
i actually do e same as Fifi, wash, dry and grind e brown rice grains. as baby is able to handle more texture, just blend accordingly to make grains coarser. my mum does also soak the grinded grains before cooking (just for a while) and she just cooks it using corningware and it cookes really fast. when I use slow cooker, normally takes about an hour or so...=)

Joyce, erm no i nv ask shifu to come see the house. Like i said i m not the superstitious type. I told my hb if he wants he can go and do it. I don't feel anything may be that's why i m relax abt it. if i did feel something i won't have bought the house!

Lilian, how to clear the misunderstanding when SIL won't see us? Even BIL can't get her to come out.. sigh.. MIL is tactless lah.. MIL likes to say Z can do this can do that. Machiam damn big deal. If i was SIL, i also pissed lor. but why piss at me i dunno.. i m not the one bragging what.

Mosh, the comparison nv ends one lah.. next time compare looks, height, studies, behavior, filial or not etc.

I agree having a boy doesn't mean the son will take care of u when he grows up. Look at my BIL, since CNY this yr nv come back to visit MIL. sigh... actually we parents also shdn't expect our kids to take care of us. must be independent!!

mosh, i like t way u say 'Strangely once I confirm the gender immediately next day got chicken essence wor..'
So funnie.. So 现实.. Even faster than our garmen gives out baby bonus

yah.. for the start it can b fun having bbs around e same age but it can get stressful as they grow cos we'll tend to compare this and that. Not fun..

And when they grown up, their job, salary, company, position will b compared...
Aiya, tats what we went thru'

When i ask my hubby wanna go for this Nov b/d bash, surprisingly he commented tat 'You not scared people compare our kid with theirs and vice verse?'
I replied him saying its natural to compare, but its up to individual how u handle it eventually.
If u r a person a little bit also cannot lose to others, then u will b living in misery all the time
'Healthy' comparison is OK to me. Tats how we improve ourselves mah..

.. then my hubby asked me, so u wanna go to the bd bash la.
I said... Ah.. there's someone in the forum signed up for me liao... Err...

Bear,
I feel that your SIL feels angry with the way your MIL behaves... like doting on Z more compared to her gals, comparing them, etc. Plus.. your MIL must hv said some things to cause the misunderstanding to grow deeper. Then because Z is your son, she cannot help it but also feel angry with you also. Hope after some times(maybe ages later), she will get over it. If she does not want to talk about this now, dun push the matter yah. She's probably sulking away too and moaning why God so unfair to give her gals only. I know how tat feels. *bleah* *stick out tongue* hahahahahah

On the strange happenings in your house, that thing may not be a resident, but merely passing thru since you are those sensitive type and till now dun feel anything.

Mosh,
see lah. Even your MIL is like tat. Haiz... once got boy can straightaway give chix essence. Tink my MIL will behave like this if any of my SIL were to get preggie with boy. Sure she also wait on them hand and foot lor.

Gender isuues
Initially I was also really affected by all this boy versus girl thing. Even my own parents (especially) my mom kept telling me to try for #3 in hopes for a boy. But now, since God give me 3 beautiful girls, I accept that wat he has planned for me is perfect in everyway. Most important is my girls are healthy, normal, beautiful and smart. Then next time, me will be busy 'interviewing' all potential suitors. No 'bribe' (aka suppers, nice present for birthday lah, mothers' day lah, christmas lah...) no going out! hahahahahahha

dymples: my mom always say pp who have 3 girls, their career very successful one.. either u or your hubby.. true? i prefer girls cause they will be very fillal to mom.

lilian: my HB also like that.. i tell him abt the birthday bash n say i paid le and he is like " u sure u want to go?".. i tell him i can go with my maid and bb.. u can don go one. i take cab loi... then he keep quiet.. haha..

minkybear,
I'm buzy in the daytime ... juz saw ur earlier post abt goats milk. Your boy tried goats milk already?

Previously I asked abt follow-up formula for 7-12mths ... min. order of 13tins for lower price (I calculate abt $2 discount per tin). I'm not too sure if it applies to goats milk for 1-3yrs. I planned to buy 1 tin frm supermarket for 1-3yrs one ... if acceptable, then order in bulk. If I am not wrong 1-3yrs old formula milk got bigger can one. Roughly finished 1 tin in 5days for 400gm tin?

Lynn,
Really yah! First time I hear such thing leh. But if it's true good siah... maybe me or hub will got promotion soon. *hiaks-hiaks*

Lynn, Gal.dolphin
Aiyohz... me hub also those anti-social one. Prefer to stay home and "nua" only. So everytime got such gatherings either he will drop me off wz bb or else if we all go, will only stay a short while then "run off" liaoz.

bday bash
i have not tell hb about it lor..til nearer date.. hehe.. he do joined some of my gatherings with singapore brides forum pple last time.. still alright lor.. becos there's other guys to talk.. but if he last min cant make it, den i will replace him with maid.

gal vs boy
i personally feel gal is more sweetheart.. will go home see parent tat type. whereas the boys once got gf or wife liao. usually is the wife decide to visit parent anot. haha.. cos the men will be busy with work. & all the outings will be arranged by the women..

alibaba
yah i super agree.. if the wife doesn't like the family then son wont visit often as well.. 1 of my fren's bro is like tt.. mayb only go back home twice a yr.. henpecked.. no use..

I jus feel that even if wife doens;t wan to see his family, the son himself should stil go home himself.. dun tell me he has to tag behind wife's back al the time. Unless he himself relationship with family also bad then nottin to say..

nut
ya the man shld have initiative la. but they usually busy with work. & the wife will have planned schedule, hence, will in the end see parent really once in the blue moon. so get a gd DIL is still best. hahaa..

ali, agree tat man shld have initiative. Afterall they r his own parents, he cannot expect his wife to arrange visits for him.
I tell my hb if he wanna visit his mama, he has to arrange for it and inform me in advance so tat i can plan ahead.

Heng for me, my sister and hubby's bros are not married. So not much to compare. And my grandma dun bother comparing much. Cos she look after so many already, know that what they are like when they are young does not totally reflect what they will be like in future.

I feel guilty that I am one of those that dun visit my MIL... actually I dun visit my parents too... they come over instead! My MIL arranges with my maid to come over on weekends whilst I arrange to go out with my parents on Sat.

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+2">Birthday Bash,
Please all mummies who hadn't pay up yet kindly TT the amt over to BBzel. We need to confirm the number of babies for the bash now. It's really getting too late. We do have a few items tat needs to b order early and very much needed to confirm the number of babies.

Thank you for your kind understanding.</font></font>

Now then i realize party balloons with helium can be sooo expensive -_-"
Just one latex with helium inflated is $1.20 liao... piangz.... End up the balloons may cost as much as the birthday cake !

Interesting...

<font color="0000ff">In his book, Thomas Sowell noted that besides Einstein, many brilliant people developed speech relatively late in childhood. He called this condition The Einstein Syndrome.

As he was a late talker, his parents were worried. At last, at the supper table one night, he broke his silence to say, "The soup is too hot."
Greatly relieved, his parents asked why he had never said a word before.
Albert replied, "Because up to now everything was in order

Mummies, so don't worry if your child is a late talker/walker... He/She might b t next Albert Einstein!

Peanut,
Dun need to make appointment. Can just go but you need to take note of the closing timing.

Bear,
Maybe your SIL is jealous that why refused to speak or see you all. But I do agree it is rude to hide in the room like a bride. Worse and the kids follow the act.

Ali,
Yaya, that is SO-so much true. My hubby never failed to ask me "When you want to go back to visit MIL" When I give a date, he will definitely says "ok". No other comments. That why my MIL always said she married a son off.

Lilian,
I was think since already "suffering" with 2 kiddos then might as well suffer at 1 go. If #2 already independant, know how to take instruction then I end up with a newborn, starting all the night feeds and diaper changing. I might have a 2nd mind. Hahaha.

Mosh,
YES, I hated it when they start to compare bb. They never take into consideration that the bbies are 3 months apart and even if bb of the same month, individual bb have their own stage of development mah. Hear liao very sian. So whenever they ask me bb can do this ? can do that? I just answer "No" then they will said SIL's bb can do it. So my standard answer will be "clever girl" and can see that they are happy.

Quite Meaningful

To those who are happily married or who are trying to work towards a
happy marriage J
This is really true… I ever came across this married woman sharing her
successful marriage. For 20 over years of marriage, she never fight
with her husband…… there were healthy correction… not in the fit of
anger, only after they have calm down

One day, a professor asked his students 'Why do we SHOUT instead of
speak when we are ANGRY?'

All the students thought for a while. One answered 'Because we lost
our cool. That's why we SHOUT.'

Asked the professor again, 'But the person is just right next to you,
why can't we talk softly but have to SHOUT?'

Everyone gave their opinions but none was accepted by the professor.

Lastly explained by the professor 'When we are ANGRY, our hearts drift
apart. To mask the DISTANCE we felt, we instinctively SHOUT instead of
speak so the other party can hear us.'

'But as we SHOUT, we get ANGRIER. And we felt we drift apart further.
So we SHOUT even louder...'

'It is the opposite when we are in love. Not only we do not shout, we
whisper into each other ears. Why?'

'This is because our hearts are very close, almost never apart. As our
love deepen, we reach a state of communication where there is no need
for words.'

'We understand each other well enough just by exchanging look,'
concluded the professor.

'Therefore, when we are arguing, DO NOT speak words that will make our
hearts drift apart. WAIT a few days. When you feel your hearts are no
longer far apart, pick up the conversation and continue from there..

nut
i oso damn sianz! it's only wednesday..

Joyce
ya still on boy gal. but tis time round about men! hahaa.

peanut
Yah lor.. yah lor... If wait a few days my 'ah-lao' lagi angry cos he tink I'm staging cold war. Then later got nuclear explosion siao liaoz. hahahahahah

Pianz... I'm also feeling damn SIANZ at work. Today weather sssooo HOT!! I go out do sales calls till headache now. Haiz...

dymples
worst stil my husband simply bochap like u angry then angry lor.. in e end only i'm e one angry and fuming inside while he din even know or care! Sometimes i feel like take a knife slash him on e spot

Jo,
so you going to try 1-3 my issac stil trying below one. he is nw on one time formula goat milk again. cause me going to stop pumping soon soon...

Ladies, today i got alot of questions asked. hehe.. spare ur listening ears/eyes. :p

Discilipine: Have any one did that to bb?Just now I spanked brandon's buttock reali hard.. he today did most naughty thing, i got so mad i spanked him.. brandon ta pian.and i try to lift up his legs to clean his buttock.. refused to lift up n keep kicking.. give him toy to distract him don want. n he kick and ta bian.. until my bedsheet all have.. very naughty.. i spanked his buttock. he seems to know.. then he keeps quiet and let me clean. after finished he give me the pity look, somehow felt gulity cause this is the first time i spank him.
but he now reali very naughty. any one discilipine ur bb yet? ENLIGHTEN ME!!

teeth: my bb the two upper teeth got gaps.. very ugly.. eee.. will other teeths push his gaps close?

training cup: have any one train ur child to use the sipping cup for milk? so far i still use bottle, the doidy cup i use mainly for water and juice. i try the Avent sipping cup, he don like. think the flow too fast. n everyone bbs know how to suck the straw. mine i give the straw, give me a weird look as if i poisoning him..

Lynn,
Training cup
my boi also don know how to suck, keep biting e straw. I think he still prefer doidy cup.

Discipline
my boi also very naughty when it comes to cleaning his poo. my mum complain that he keep moving around when she's cleaning his poo sometimes when she's done with e cleaning, he will crawl to other location and pee and start to pu pu again. *wanna faint liao*

dymples,
one of my friend who went for pregnancy talk told me that guy eat more meat and seafood will have a higher chance of having a boy. If you want a girl, go for more vegetables. Maybe your hb is too health conscious liao. Eat too much vegetables. If you going for #4, tell your hb to eat more meat and seafood, maybe it will helps.

Birthday BASH,
Heng ar, my hb said ok to go. He didn't make noise.

mosh,
gong xi gong xi.... One boy one girl that's the best combination.

Lynn,
i've spanked my lil girls butt few times liao..hhahah..mostly coz of the same reason as you. mine doesn't seem to care, she will continue to wiggle and "escape".haha..i give up and now i just bring her to the bathroom to shower her butt whenever she poops. faster and cleaner. and she loves it.

training cup:
i am also only using sippy cup/doidy for water. i really wanna train bb to drink milk from cup too. she is only taking 1-2 feeds from bottle when i am at work. my mum tried once and she totally rejected it. think i will have to keep trying. my baby also chews on straws...=P

lilian/bibi/dymples,

not true le.. my hub dun like seafood.. i also have boys.. all luck one.. =)

training cup:
i tried giving my boy the doidy cup.. ended up.. he bite the cup n guess wat?? he spit the water out! haiz.. so frustrating..

lynn
wah bang...yr bedsheets all kana...ta bian...
I usually will bring BBJ to wash his buttocks if he poo....is easy n cleaner lo.
If me also will spank one n i always spank my boy's buttocks/legs/hands....cos he also very notti one. I also discipline him by saying "no" if he anyhw touch my things make the angry face n tone diff...he will kw n cry.
For the straw bot, u can try to give him everyday to let him use to it

Lynn,
I agree with rainbowcandybaby, Since 3rd month old, whenever bb poo, I will bring to toilet and use shower and soap her cos it is cleaner. I can't stand cleaning with wet wipes. I think I will make a mess with bb trying to flip.

To start him with straw, buy a straw bottle (soft spout) and let him try. Soon he will be sucking.

As for discipline, my personal view is tell him in a stern tone that his behaviour is not correct. 2nd time give another warning that it is not torable or else he will be spanked. If he do it a 3rd time. It is ok to spank him on his beside. To me a warning must be given. If the mistake/mischief act is continued then spank. Spare the rod and spoilt the child