(2008/11) November 2008

thank u all..

Lilian-for 1st mth, normally chinese go according to lunar calendar so will hold earlier lo...

I ask b4 abt this too.. coz think this year lunar mth is later by the mth ler.. means our bb is nov, lunar bday is in dec.. by rite if u got go according to lunar then can hold later lo.. but I think like some mommies say here, most don't bother abt this ba... as long as we happy can liao.. =P

lilian,
for mi i am actaully celebrating 1 week earlier. cos my girl BD fall on a sat n sat daddy is working so we move backward to a sun. i dunno if can celebrate after tat, but i know my girl lunar BD is actaully in dec, my mum says cannot wear shoes till after lunar birthday....

Lilian-Yeah lo. but to me, the date is ok la.. as long as got celebrate can liao..

Milderina-Yeah think all our kids lunar fall in dec.. actually my boy lunar falls on the day of our bday bash else my MIL was thinking to hold his celebration on that day.. And yesh same same, cannot wear shoes until after lunar bday!

Aiya like tat hor, my girl also cannot wear shoe to the bash liao. Her b/d fall after t Dec bash.
Enne, so when u plan to celebrate?

Mildy,
ya, i heard too. I think is something like if they wear b4 1yr old, then they will walk late if i m not worng. Dunno how true it is!

hee...i heard of more craps...
my MIL say she will buy shoes and clothes for my bb's 1yrd old. But have to buy only after lunar 7th mth....
*faint*

U hv a very modern MIL! gd for u!!afterall, all this restrictions from dunn-who are not logical wan....if can dun believe i find it all the better...hee

goodeals-I heard shd be WAI PO buy clothes+shoes for bb 1st birthday de ler..

Lilian-hmm shd be holding in dec ba.. how abt u??

Jes-haha..

I agree with goodeals, all these actually no logics.. if u dun believe, actually think nth will happen also la.. but sometimes we need to respect the elderly la.. hee

kiki

my boy 10th mth accessment weight 7.9kg... drink 6-7oz 3-5hrly. take 2 feeds of porridge a day.. occasionally cereal included.
=( doc say not gaining well.
he always refused to drink milk & will really drink only in slp mode.. v headache.. STRESSED.

re: Shoe
Trysten aready wearing those soft sole shoe sometimes ago.. heard old folks comments but nv bother wor.. cos find tat it's better for him to wear shoe when he is in walker.

alibaba-really? my baby boy got sit walker too.. normally never wear anything.. when go out, I will let him wear socks lo..

goodeals, i guess my MIL doesn't know abt this, haha! ya lor, all no logic wan lah, who cares :p

Enne, my gal no wai po to buy oso, cos my mum mati liao, haha

alibaba, my gal can't wear shoes on walker, she can't move cos too slippery, haha

buy by wai-po ar? haha, i also dunno...
if both buy better, then i jus choose wat to buy, but i dun hv to pay... wahahahahaha

alibaba:
i hv a fren's bb also refuse to take milk, n will only take while asleep...she tried all sorts of method, chg FM brand, chg teat, chg milk bottle, all to no avail....anw, the bb kind of overcome it herself....now getting better..

Jes-ohh.. ok la. ah ma also can.

my MIL hor also quite superstitious..

she don't allow both my kids to attend other bb 1st mth or wedding dinners... 1st bday parties onwards still ok.. and especially cannot eat other bb 1st mth cake.. say eat le will get MORE AND MORE NOTTI.. haha..

goodeals-normally the tradition is baby 1st mth-clothes and 1st birthday-clothes+shoes shd be given by WAI PO.. hee.

heee....me and my husband very rebelious on this aspect...
we always bring our bb to hospital to visit fren's new born, and attend birthday parties and full mth...but the thing is, we dun tell our parents HAHA..
jin pai hor...

anw....want to do can, jus dun get caught lo... HEE...

i think the only thing that I 'followed' is wearing shoes only after 1yr old, cos anw, now my bb can't walk, wear shoe also for pattern only... :p

Bibi :
I called but was told it's full on Sat at 2pm liao..
On the waiting list, hope they'll open up more places soon!

rainbowcandybaby:
I wanna see pics! What's ur email addy? Add you on FB..

goodeals : Sounds familiar..... dun tell dun tell dun tell!! Hahaha

But I guess they're doing it outta their love for the kids too.. that they follow blindly even with some illogical passed-down superstitions, so long as things go on well..

So out of respect, either we dun do it totally, or we dun tell... win-win situation.. hahaha :D

enne
i tink sock too slippery. i let him wear shoes cos my house got some part with rough stones flooring.. hehe

goodeals
u mean i shld jus let it be.. but now i feel stress becos his weight is not up to the average. plus he is a boy mah. seems too small size.. hopefully he dont inherit my size sia...

alibaba-sorry no offence ah.. just that whenever I see posts abt baby weight/size, I feel gek sim for my bb.. sigh..

paiseh can't help it ahh..

slowly ba for Trysten, maybe once he more into solids, then will gain weight easier??

enne,
i shld be the one say sorry. but doc say his weight gain not gd..tat's y i felt stressed plus pple like to say he so small size wat he eat ah... got eat anot.. haiz. mus give him eat... like say til so easy... -_-

alibaba-sigh for me, pple always sounds surprised when I say his actual age, or some kids who don't know will say he very 'thin' all these.. sigh.. I shd have let myself 'overcome' this stage already.. as long as he healthy I shd be happy le.. but sometimes seeing other kids growing big and healthy, I feel really sad coz he neither have 'health' nor 'fats'.

ok.. regarding Trysten, don't worry lo. maybe he won't be 'BODY BUILDER' size la.. hee.. my #1 also not big size nor fat, he actually wean himself off milk after 1 years old ler.. but he eat solids very good.. although he's not fat but still considered medium build, my MIL like to say he got 'thomas ong' figure. not too fat not too thin. haha..

or maybe could he be teething??

lilian: Its alright to celebrate earlier but not later than birthday date. My MIL keep saying must follow CHINESE date but WHO ON EARTH follows chinese calendar nowadays Waw rau register birth also register actual date where got such thing as chinese date...

soho.. huh, cannot later ah. gosh.
My mum has bought shoes for my girl liao. Will let her wear on her b/d. Even if my MIL buy shoes for my girl (which i think is impossible), i will still let her wear my mum's one. hee...

Ali> patpat, my girl also underweight. We stress also no help.

Don't worry Lilian.. now they still babies, once they are toddlers.. more food to eat.. don't need scared they don't wanna eat lo.. will slowly grow both VERTICALLY and HORIZONTALLY de..

alibaba:
my fren brought her bb to PD very often, cos always dun wan to drink milk. But PD only say bb is jus fussy and naughty. So far two PD says the same thing. So, she have to keep changing formula brand for her bb.
ask u ar, hv u tried changing teat? maybe a larger hole or diff brand? ur bb on FM rite?

<font color="0077aa">alibaba, lilian, enne
I wanna register too! my boy also small small wan... my ears will twitch each time i hear anyone commenting on his weight, or size.. "aden's so small hor, how come ah?" "wa, compared to so-and-so, he's so tiny hor" -_-?

Soho
Hmmmm... my ILs are from HK and for our 1st month celebration, they were saying its ok to celebrate later, its like very common in HK.. so for bday not sure if they have the same thinking. Btw, VERY EARLY i let my boy wear shoes liaoz.. heheheh, so small so cute! wahahahhaha

Re: Shoes
I also bother abt he old wives tales. My gal has been wearing shoes for some time already coz we let her walk. Both my mum and MIL agree. Coz if dun wear, later she step on a nail or something how? My grandma oso never say anything when she see my daughter wear.

Alibaba:
Dun worry abt too much abt weight. Your PD may only mean that he may be better if he gains more weight but does not mean he is not good now. Everyone also say my gal shld gain more weight coz she's also light. But her health and development is no problem so it proves that she's fine. Not say you are the heavy kind also.

ey Ali, althou Trysten not a buibui baby hor, he is definitely 100% guarantee chop a handsome boy!!
He looks damn charming in your FB photos!

RE: small baby
Hmm, think as long as they are healthy, that's the most important! My girl also petite as compared.

lilian,
ya, T is a charming boy.. sure attract many girls next time!

alibaba,
re: baby not drinking milk
my baby also started refusing milk couple of weeks ago...in the morning he will drink 3ozes (out of 6ozes) then stop. Afternoon 4pm feed &amp; even nite feed he totally refused to bottle feed.

I was cracking my brains on how to make him drink more. At first I thought he was beginning to dislike milk cos he prefers cereal &amp; porridge. Then later I realised that he actually doesn't like bottle sucking anymore so I tried using spoon bottle to feed the remaining milk (mixed with a scoop of cereal to make it less watery) and he actually finished all. It's a little messy to use spoon bottle at first but after a few tries, he actually 'guai guai' drank from it. I can finish feeding him in less than 10mins. At least he's drinking 10ozes/day. That plus his 2 x porridge/day (with 1 whole blender tub of porridge each) + morning breakfast 6tbs cereal.

Even with that amt of food + milk intake, I still get weekly comments from my MIL &amp; her maid (only from both of them in fact, my friends etc never said he's small) that he has slimmed down but the fact is, he is gaining weight steadily, it's just that they are growing vertically as well so doesn't look as chubby as before. And PD also said he's doing fantastic. So don't be too bothered about those comments by others...as long as baby is healthy, that's the most important.
Try the Pigeon spoon bottle and see if he drinks from it.

Kiki!
Sorry MIA, sometimes i enjoy reading and reading but no time to post... hehe..

anyway, my baby's updates:
Baby weight: 8.4kg (taken at 10mths)
Height: 71cm (taken at 10mths)
Food: 2 feeds x Nestle Nan 1 + 2 porridge meals + 1 morning breakfast cereal.

re: small baby
yeah, my girl also small size, last time my #1 also small size. everytime ppl carry my girl will say, wow, your girl very ez to carry hor so light or how old is your baby? i will say 9 months old, OOOooooooooooooooo same size as my 4 months old baby why she so small size...........ZZZzzzzzzzzzzz.... (i think not my girl small size but her baby too big lor. =X) my but use to it liaos la. I am small size also ma, wan my girls to b how big leh? wakakkaa....

ya mummies. .

I am not worried before i see doc. after doc comments, den i felt stress. cos she said by 1 YO bb shld hit almost 10kg which it seems impossible mah.. den pple like to comment on his size that make me more stress.. i not expecting a BUIBUI baby la.. jus as long as within average weight can aready .. well ya.. like ur said maybe he is jus petite. but as a mummy.. we jus cant help tinking of a way out. heehee..

aden'smummy
ya same here.. ear will twitch abit when ppl like to comment on my boy size. lolz. especially they duno wat's going.. say like so easy.. my mum oso tot so. but when she help feed BB porridge for once den she know the "BA WU". haha..

goodeals
ya tried with big hole teats aready. &amp; even poke it to even bigger hole..he can jus dun suck.. &amp; milk no moments one.. NOTTI.

JessLee
spoon feed quite difficult cos he aready difficult while eating his porridge. haa.. i heard from my maid tat.. she sometimes even carry &amp; dance with him.. when he is happy &amp; mouth opening den faster scope into his mouth.. fainted..

lilian/Joyce
Looks will change gradually when they grow up.. most bb look cute when they are young mah.. handsome anot not key pt. most importantly healthy &amp; guai guai .. ha

Hello.. taking a break so come in and post.

Re: small baby
try to rem genes play a part. If u are small size, u dun expect ur kid to be a sumo wrestler right? sometimes doctors just make one comment without thinking. then make us all panic. if baby is small but healthy why make us panic? also did they tell us how to make bb bigger/ fatter? No they don't. they just make comments nia.. sometimes the more u study the dumber u are (me inclded).

Lilian, Haru, Kiki, Joyce, Zelia, okok i lengthened my pump interval to 7hrly liao. finally last night i slpt from 12am till 6am. haha.. feels so shiok. woke up at 6am, pump liao, still can play with Z until i woke up hb up at 9am! but now i super tired.. 6am still too early for me. I slpt through lecture. think my prof noticed again. sigh...

Ali, no gd to let baby wear shoes. If u are indoors then try not to let Trysten wear shoes. Nothing to do with pantangness. anyway if there is no sharp bits on the floor it shdn't be a prob. if the floor is rough it is gd actually. it teaches the bb abt texture. Ur home surely won't have sharp bits like glass or nails around wat.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/toddler/caringfor/feet/

Mildy, ur turn to open house liao. haha..

JessLee, I'll vroooomm to buy the spoon feed bottle tis wkend..
Was reluctant to get it at first, cos I feel it will make bb even more resistant to sucking. Am jus a stubborn mommy.

Bear, i was about to go dictionary check whats meaning of pantangness. Like nvr seen tis word b4. Then finally i realise.... Am so slow....

Enne,
my Pd also mentioned.. But that is just a guide oni nia.

Bear,
nice to hear that, good that u can get a lil more sleep now!

Mildy,
me too, celebrate on 8 Nov..

tri_angel,
actually my girls all look pretty round just that they are short. especially my #1, ppl call her xiao pang niu. lolx