(2008/11) November 2008

outsider, i don't think any mummy here attempts CIO without checking on their babies at regular intervals... Ultimately, everyone here is trying to find what suits our baby best.

I'm looking for infant stimulation cards printed in Black, White and Red colour.

Anyone has a set to let go?

Pls PM me.

Wah..where did everyone go? so quiet in this thread today...

I am also a nov mummy here.My gal coming to 10mth old also had this bad sleeping habit of making so much noisy b4 she sleep.Currently she been sleeping in sarong since 2mth old as she is a light sleeper, sarong allow her daytime to sleep max 30min..night time we will 'yao' until she sleep..but she will fussy abt n roll inside.
Me now hardly catch my sleep maybe 2hr only then have to work. At work, tend to loss concentration cos only me & boss in the office..haiz..its driving me crazy

Anyone tried pamela (baby sleepfairy ) aid?
Can share?

does any1 of u hv bb has the habit of waking up in the middle of night? Mine got the 'standard' of waking up around 3 to 4am, crying out either to pat back to sleep or drink milk even though i've fed her ard 12am...

rainbow
hey, no worries...i saw in OCT thread, ypg oso organise...perhaps those wanna join, can join em?

do let me know how it went k...maybe i'll go after fasting month.

kash:
Mine is recurring problem and can get quite bad. In simple cases, roll nipple until it opens. In serious cases, use needle prick from the side (dun anyhow prick in hor).

<font color="0000ff">sleep training :
sigh...i totally understand the misery, been thru tough time &amp; can still b sometimes. Hugz to all the poor mommies

juz to share, we tried the CIO when Nat is younger but was napping enough in the day, her milk intake is gd, she is feeling gd, not unwell or teething.

We also chose a friday nite to start with so tat we have the whole wkends to take more rest in the day.

We also start with our same routine, relax/story time, bath time, milk, bed.

My gal managed to sleep thru the nite till abt a mth ago, she had a fever &amp; her sleeping pattern went haywire again.

But this time when we re-trained her, we decided tat CIO is no longer suitable for her coz at 8th mth, she is standing up with support so it can b dangerous.

So we did the stay by the cot, pat her to sleep. Hug her when she stand up, pick her up when she is REALLY upset.

Took her abt 3days to accept the new method then we moved on to no patting, juz stay by the cot. Then sit further away from the cot.

But now my gal is teething again, fussy these 2 days so it's back to the 'whatever can get her to sleep'

What i m trying to share is, even with the same kid, diff stage also need to have a diff sleep training program to suit.

M sure, mommies will understand, try &amp; fine tune the methods tat most suit their bbs

Jia you mommies

wow lots of things happening here....
hope babies that r sick get well soon.
i guess all moms have their own method on making our darlings sleep. Just do what ever that is suitable for each baby no need to fight abt it la... no right or wrong method just something that is comfortable for both moms n babes... k i repeating myself bt i guess u all get the point.

good news to share with you guys my boy is off asprin finally!
it was use to treat his kawasaki.

kiki, can update for me,
weight: 8.8kg
height: 70cm

kash, u got blister? it is better to let the professional do treat it for you... take care.

Pamela,
I contacted her (tammy at sleepsfairy) before, arranged for a time, but she fell ill last min so got to postpone. But we chicken out eventually, haha.. (all these was before i tried out the CIO for 5mins..
). If u do contact her, do share ur eventual sleep achievement okies.

Sleep training is always, and has been a controversial topic. Just looking at the posts here show how much thoughts n research had gone through this topic. Thanks to mummies (or maybe even daddies?) who are sharing their thoughts and experiences sparked off from my post? (if i may be thick-skinned enough to say).

Anyhow, i am still searching for a mtd which may work eventually. Still searching...

Mummies ...
I know 100plus drink helps adult with their diarrhea problem. However, have any mummies here read any article abt 100plus drink for infants with diarrhea?

Lucas somehow slowly recovering from his diarrhea but PIL insist on getting a can of 100plus and feed him little today. Its a 'no-no' to mi, but I need some proof to stop them from doing it.

Minky:
Grats. So now he does not need to take anymore medicine?

Kash:
Yah if rolling nipple does not open it, better get a professional to treat for you. I prick myself coz mine is so frequent that it can be a weekly event so they taught me how to do it for myself. Even then, if it appears differently from what I normally get, I also have to run back to the LC.

Spree Time:
Tempted to spree again. Babymall anyone????

Mee Sua:
Peanut, u mentioned ur mil give nini mee sua, and it's the kids type (not salty??). What brand and where can i get it from?

Cheese:
Bb receipe books always show using cheddar, mozerella..cheese. I know some of the mummies give Laughing Cow cheese. I wan to expose my gal to cheese, eg. adding onto her pasta. Which brand would be good? Any advise?

Jo, if Lucas's food and water intake is normal, then there shdnt b a need to replenish him with 100plus. I m not sure if such energy drink is suitable for bbs, but I know they certainly contain a lot of sodium (salt).

Minky, tats good news!!! Yeah!!!

yoyosan
i asked her sometime back.. no brand one.. its homemade and can only b found at a provision shop/chinese med hall (can't remm which) in Yishun. If u wan i can ask for add..

Jo.... for u...

How should I treat it?

If your baby is taking breastfeeds or formula feeds well, stick to either or both. For older babies, you can try sips of water or oral rehydration solution (ORS) or electrolyte solution in addition to their usual breastfeeds or full-strength formula feeds.

You can prepare the ORS at home as well. Take one litre boiled and cooled water. Stir in 8 teaspoons (level) of sugar and one teaspoon (level) of salt. Give her sips of this mixture every time she vomits, passes stool, or urine.

Check with your paediatrician about giving coconut water to your baby. Tender coconut water (elaneer/naariyal pani) is a rich source of electrolytes.

Babies over 9 months and toddlers can also have well-diluted fruit juices. (Juices made with 1 part juice added to 10 parts water are ideal.) Homemade ice lollies can be useful if your toddler is reluctant to drink. But check with your paediatrician before you give any of these. Also ensure that you use natural ingredients and steer clear of artificial flavouring or food colours while preparing ice lollies. Avoid glucose drinks, fizzy drinks, and undiluted fruit juices. (Unabsorbed sugar draws water into the intestine and can increase diarrhoea.)

Remember that you should not give any anti-diarrhoeal medicine to children below 12 years as such medicines could have serious side-effects. Also avoid herbal remedies without consulting your paediatrician

Morning super mummies..!

What's for breakfast? I had delicious char siew pau *yummy yummy*

Minky: Yeah happy for you! Xin ku ni le! So can start planning to wean off your little one soon?

<u>Gymboree @ HBF:</u>
Somehow I managed to get the following discount if we managed to gather babies for their Learn and Music class:
Hmm, I'm still considering whether to take anot. Let me know if you are keen:
6 kids or more - 3% off from the package
8 kids or more - 5% off from the package

Jo
if ur IL tok abt 100plus again, anyhow bomb them that u call up doc and was advise bb's stomach stil young and sensitive CAAAANOT giv gassy drinks or else wil cause more diarrhoea.. hahahaa..

Nut,
yeah. can ask ur mil for me? yishun quite okie, cos i stay sembawang.

Minky,
Good job! it's always good that bb's off any medication.

Kiki,
U gone for the trial class? Good? Any trial b4 we decide on the pkg? Thanks organiser. :p

kiki, peanut

me and bb doing fine
MS subsides liao, phew! Me coming to 16 weeks liao, fast hor keke

ah nut

poor nini sick ah, must be very xin ku for her. Last time my bb also kena bronchitis super heartache to see her cry all day long, nothing can soothe her.

halow mummies.. thread very quiet these few days.. hee.. btw i signed up the free trial with MyGym le.. anyone of u going?

kiki, u mean sign up for the lesson or trial for gymboree? ;p

Kiki
can give more details abt the gymboree package @HBF? bear wif me, got quite a few qns

- does it include a free trial class?
- do we all have to sign up together for same day same class to enjoy the discount?
- Learn and Music is more for crawlers or walkers?
- cost of the package?
- when does the new term for this discount package start?

fifi, minky

errr...roll or self prick? cham...how ah? juz to confirm whether is it blister...abit bloodied colour and white overall spots. are they blisters? i have 2..quite painful when touched. been there for quite sometime i tot will go away..but it didn't so now i wonder shd i do something abt it. must see LC for such things ah? hmm..... can female GP help?

kiki: your trial is Learn n Music is different with the Play n Learn session. Learn n Music is more on singing and playing instrumental item. To use the gym and the slide is the Play n Learn session. I took the package for Play n Learn session @ HBF which i think our bb will be more interested in cause a lot of activities, singing, dancing and gym.

Jo: Last time my cousin who is less than a year one, her PD advise on glucose water to prevent dehydration. maybe u can try. it works!

<u>Gymboree...</u>
Sorry didn't make myself clear, the special rate is applicable to both their 'Play &amp; learn' Program and 'Music Program' (thus 'Play &amp; Music' hee hee)

I'm also more interested in their 'Play &amp; Learn' program

There are actually 6 stages for their Play &amp; Learn Program, for diff age group (newborn to 36 mths).

Our babies are eligible for their Stage 3 (10mths - 16 mths).

<u>Sign-up for Gymboree Package</u>
Registration Fee - $50 (free 2 classes)
12 session - $399
8 session - $350
* 6 babies - 3% off, 8 babies - 5% off
I'm trying to get more 'freebies'.. if you are keen let me know, will forward you the course details, schedule and fee details.

<u>Gymboree Trial Class</u>
1st Trial = $40, think they got 25% discount promotion now = $30.
Call them up @ 62711545 for arrangement.

Kiki..
u are the president of the 'baby who fell club' right? I have to join u all already cos my bb fell for the first time..from bed to parquet floor...sigh...heard a loud thud, was in the next room. all the while, she was sleeping with my dad. Then my dad woke up, left to go kitchen, suddenly she woke up and then she crawl forward and fell..
Like the rest of the mummies, im feeling extremely guilty cos her forehead blue-black and also her nose oso red..sigh..
but im so glad, dat im not alone...if not i will really cannot sleep tonight...

jo
How is Lucas now?

Mummy2nia
emmmmm prob will go in the wk days... So when u going? After fasting mth ar...then no more free tral liao le...

Oh....hope those babies get well soon...

Mummies, tmr noon BBJ going for his 1st trial class at Stage &amp; Such....so excited le....hope will be fun for them...

ya load off my mind and glad baby no need to take anymore medicine.

jo, look out for other signs, if there are any redness, swollen limbs, redness around mouth, check if his urine smell... maybe u can try glucose.
kash, sound like blister to me... n if redness around it is it infected? better to go lc since they r trained. female gp i am nt sure if they knw hw to do it correctly.
kiki, actually mix feeling cant bear to wean him off too and yet at the same time i am tired cause always kena clots... oh well we will c hw.
nw my boy like to cry alot anyone face the same prob?

rainbowcandybaby
not going cos by the time fasting month over, no more trials..hee...so will depend on the mummies' review including urs to see whether i wanna go.

minky
my bb oso same..but oni wen she wanna sleep and currently cos she's in pain

Morning mummies ...
Lucas fever has not returned since yesterday afternoon and back to his notti character liao.
His stool are much better yesterday ... yesterday nite his stool is watery and soft ... morning 4plus ... woke up and his stool was soft but not watery.

Will jus try to keep feeding him with water. His water intake is not as bad as past few days.

PD says shld be bacteria .. if still like tt, three days later bring stools and give him to send for lab test. Says nt teething cos teething diarrhea will be once a day only. I put teething gel for him last nite ... feel so swollen.

I can experience nw mummies who have to wake up at nite every nw n then. Since sunday morning till this morning, he wakes up between 3-5am ... n I havent been getting a good sleep ... headache this 2 days.