(2008/11) November 2008

DAMMIT! I wrote a super long post then it hanged!

Ok I m gonna say something here which is completely pointless now but you can keep this in mind when u have another baby. Slp training shdnt start now. It shd have started from Day 1. Honestly (Im being frank here) when our babies were younger, we just want them to slp some way or another. So we let them fall aslp on the bottle, on the breasts, with pacifier. Then all of a sudden when they are older (and u are sick and tired of soothing ur kid) u want them to be able to self soothe overnight. Thats just not possible without any heartache! I have always been firm that the less crutches Z has to depend on to fall aslp, the better for him. Hence I dont give him a pacifier, no bottle (though I fail sometimes), no breasts and no sarong. Esp for pacifier, cos in the end you would have to wean ur baby off it again and it means more heartache.

Anyhow, enough preaching. Yoyosan, ur kid has been so used to the previous slping routine and u have just tried CIO for one day. What was ur previous routine like? Dont change it drastically, i.e. she was gg to bed at 10pm and now u want her to slp at 8pm. If she is used to be pat to slp then u shd continue to pat her until she is drowsy but still awake before leaving her. Dont dump her in the cot and expects her to self soothe. It is just not possible. If u really want to continue with CIO, then when she vomits, u have to go in, change everything with no talking and minimal eye contact, then repeat the whole CIO cycle again.

I have to state here that CIO doesnt hurt the baby. Pls dont mix this up with the thought that u are not providing warmth, love and security for ur baby. In the day, I would nv let Z cry without comforting him. But at night he cries not for my love or comfort, but becos he needs me to slp. However, if ur gal is suffering from separation anxiety like what Z is gg through now, then yes, it will hurt her if u let her CIO. Thats why I modify my CIO now to incld a lovie and also to speak soft words (previously no talking at all) to tell him I will see him bright and early the next morning. How to differentiate the difference btw normal I-need-you-to-slp cry and separation anxiety? If you go to ur gal and she quiets down immed then she has separation anxiety cos ur mere presence is enough for her to slp on her own. However if she continues to cry that means she wants to be picked up and needs u (like an apparatus) to slp. Z has separation anxiety cos he stops immed when we are by his side and he can knock off in mere seconds. I dont need to do anything cos he already knows how to self soothe.

Lastly like what the Oct mummy pointed out, there are many other different methods to train ur kid to slp on her own. I myself bought like 2-3 books on this area just to read and see if I like the method. Do a search online and see what you are comfortable with. I personally tried pick up and put down, and also co-slping. CIO works the best for me cos I still pump in the middle, juggle both work and study and I m simply too drained to do anything that takes longer than 4-7 days. Ppl always think CIO is easy cos it is a relatively shorter training period than other methods, but they forget that it feels like an eternity for us parents when we have to endure listening to our kids cry. I still struggle with this and almost gave in and co-slp with Z last wk.

On a separate note, I do find that Asian parents are not as receptive to letting their kids slp in another room and trying out CIO compared to Caucasians. This is just a generalization. Sometimes I feel we over coddle our kids too much. I m not saying anybody in particular here hor, so dont feel often, but it is ok to let ur kids cry.
they don't die of crying. hehe..

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Morning Super mummies
I've been so bz and caught up with work and all, hardly chance to come in to chat

So good all of you can bring BB to classes and interact with other babies.. Poor Aden is stuck with mummy most of the time cos daddy is always out station. </font>

<font color="119911">Baby Puffs
Looks interesting ! Would like to try if its cheaper and nicer than the gerber ones that i'm trying, i'll you all a secret, i always end up munching most of the snacks instead of aden Hahahaha

Yoyosan
I agree with Petite Cherie, not all babies can tarhan CIO and u would have to trial and error to see which methods best suits u and baby.
You can always improvise on the methods available. Like i did CIO 1st few days was abt 45mins, but i spaced it out from his feeding time, so he wont puke, but realised, after crying for so long, its milk time liaoz *sweat*
so when it was milk time, we did the most assuring method, Pick up, Put Down.. when he starts to cry, after determind its not a "i wanna sleep" kinda cry, we'll go in like 5mins later to pat him, or pick him up, whichever that worked, then sing to him or comfort him, then walk out, then abt 7-9mins later then go in again if he's crying. Besically to stretch the interval longer and longer. so he gets the idea.

We went from co-sleeping, to sleeping next to our bed in the bassinet, to sleeping in his own room and now he sleeps on his own 7pm - 7am also. We also noticed that sometimes, he makes noise just before he sleeps, but thats normal, cos sometimes they just needa let out some cries to soothe themselve to sleep.. (this part is also mentioned in the notes)</font>

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Perservere!! Jia You Jia You Jia You!
</font></font>

blustar,
i checked out 75volts and bb H loves the songs! but you mentioned e quality is not so good? is there any other ones that you have tried too?

Haru, i ordered 7 cds total for me &amp; fren.. out of those only 2 was not so good so had to send in for exchange... the rest were fine! I really like the songs.. play them everydsy

Just came back from Kindermusik... super tired... and BBQ KO - zzz now... anyway feedback later.. photo first!

2868519.jpg

Will upload more on my fb.. hee hee

Trial lesson at Kindermusik this morning was fun and enjoyable. didn't expect my boy to enjoy it so much too. Thanks Kiki for organising this trial lesson.

Nice to meet some of you
Though I think didnt catch everyone's name haha.

Moomummy, your bb is really so smiley!! Kept laughing at the begining of the session

Greg also konk out after the lesson :p Personally find it not bad...think my boy likes the ball and drum part, but not sure if shld sign up though. But feel that the baby don't get to move ard enough haha..in that aspect gymboree is more fun coz got all the slides and stuff to explore.

anybody using any baby carrier now for ur kid?
any recommendation for any brand which is good?
know a few which is popular like Beco Babybjon Ergo...wonder which is better in long run.

appreciate any feedbacks.

Petitcherie, Bear, Adensmummy,
Thanks for coming to my rescue. We kept the same bedtime routine and bedtime timing cos we know and din want to intro CIO head-on since she is already older and got used to the routine. The CIO we tried was for middle of the night wake. Like Petitcherie's, Bb C been waking up at night. She puke (self-induced) after hb goes to her after the 5mins' up. We do not co-sleep and do not intend to do so, hopefully.

Blustar,
thanks also for sharing ur experience. Mine's the middle of the night cry which she puked while trying the CIO method.

Kindermusik Trial Class:
Kiki, thanks for organising the class. Good to see other mummies and babies. But we were all too bz snapping photos while daddies are taking their turns to be with the babies in the class, had no chance to interact.

My Bb doesn't seem to be that keen in class. Seems more interested in other babies.
So guess i won't be signing up the class for the time being. Maybe a gathering with the babies just playing with each other would be more interesting for my kiddo.

Yoyosan, does she stop crying when she sees u? if she does, that means it is separation anxiety. I didn't know u were referring to middle of the night waking. Cos this could be developmental, i.e. they learn a new skill and are so eager to try it out that they practise in the middle of the night.

Yeah i regretted coslping with Z. made things worse esp now he developed separation anxiety. bleah.. he is now crying in his cot.. hopefully he will settle down to slp soon.

heloo mummies, can't believe its e end of the weekend already. didn't had much activity tis weekend coz hubby recovering from stomach flu and baby having e runs and puking so dun really dare to bring her out myself too. only brot her to nearby supermart just now to grab some groceries and dinner.

didn't give her any solids at all today and she didn't puke, hooray!! but kept "galloping" her to help her burp her as hubby and i suspects that she has gastric reflux. think will only give her one small meal of cereal tomorrow and see how it goes. but she had e runs at least 5 times today. end up just letting her wear disposable diapers even at home coz i got too tired of washing her smelly and stained nappies every round!!

blustar,
i see! i really love "jesus loves you" and "you're an angel" too!! think i will order it soon. wonder if baby or mummy feels more excited hearing her name from the CD,hahah!!

wow, looks like all e mummies n babies had fun at kindermusik!!

re: bb sleeping
so far bb sleeping habit at night is ok. it somehow got much easier e week she turned 9 mths. i could put her in her cot even if she was quite awake after her feed and she wouldnt really cry at all. she would toss around and mumble a lil to herself. hubby and i then stuck to the same habit; if she stood up in her cot after we put her to bed we would just give her a kiss and say goodnite and lay her down and pat her a lil. sometimes she would raise her hand (to give daddy hi-5) and hubby would just kiss her hand again. sometimes e hi-5 &amp; kissing could go on a few times before she would finally fall asleep on her own. her day naps are also more manageable now. she used to cry buckets while i was trying to get her to nap (rocking her to sleep). now i just make sure she is tired enough before i lay her down in her cot (although most times she falls asleep while latching on!) and she can usually fall asleep on her own or after some gentle patting on her bum bum.

saw that some of u actually bot play yard and big blocks from the BP.. can give some reviews?coz i'm tinking of getting to lock my BB inside.. really appreciate some reviews.. thanks ya!!

bb sleep:
i tried the CIO method.. it doesnt work on my bb..haiz.. so end up i'm back to sq one.. n he hates to zz in his playpen so i put a mattress on the floor for him n end up i zz with him in the middle of the nite coz he still wakes up for his nite feed(latch on) how?

Haru,
congrats!so good tat ur bb can zz on her own.. i wish mine can do tat too.. haiz..

Kiki n those who went kinder trial.. anyone sign up? =)

Good morning all mummies!

glad_gal,
yeah, my boy is always laughing at the tiniest bit of funny things going on.just hope that he won't grow up to be so 'sam pat'(san ba/38) like me.haha..

yah, i agree with yoyosan. we were too busy taking pictures of our bbs until we din have much time to interact and chat with each other. think we should really meet up one day with all our bbs at one place to catch up!

Good morning mummies...

re: kindermusik, i think my gal enjoyed the crowd but not so much on the class - little notti gal doesn't seem to like to be told what to do, she kept shaking away my hands when i was holding on to hers to follow the moves....

guess we didn't really get to know and rem who is who during the class, anyw i'm the mummy in yellow top with my gal (and some other bbies) looking at kiki's waving hand

moomummy, yr boy is really smiley, i think he must hv laughed the most thru-out the class.

Minibu,
I have the Beco and i find it very useful. My gal can sleep in the beco carrier cos i think it's comforting to her as she faces me instead of outwards. Somehow she very guai whenever she sits in the beco. I find the weight can be evenly distributed on the shoulders too. Hope it helps!

Bear,
Ya can see Z got separation anxiety but i think not that bad cos at least he still allows other people to carry him so u can still breathe a bit.
Initially R also like that, can't get out of her sight at all. After 1 week she is better liao. I wonder if it's separation anxiety.

Moomummy,
Smiley baby is good. Ren jian Ren ai.

Jes
yeah, he was laughing so much until he got knocked out after that. slept so soundly in the car on the way back home..hahaha..

Babyzel
yah, ren jian ren ai when he's happy. but I dun tink i'll say that when he's extremely cranky at times. :p
actually, i find all the babies yesterday at the class so adorable. everyone were enjoying themselves so much.

re:separation anxiety
actually, my boy is the opposite leh. when we leave for work every morning, he'll smile and he seems okay. but when i get back home in the evening, he'll cry when he sees me. itz like complaining to me,' how come u r home after going away so long?' and wants me to carry him straight away. Is this another form of separation anxiety here?

Lucas is having diarrhea and fever on and off.

My mum brought him to PD and he says baby eat wrong thing. Sat he had his meals as normal, I gave him v smal bit of Famous Amos Cookie (like ant size) and a pc of his gerber puff ard 5 plus. He started diarrhea on Sun morning 5am and evening 5+pm, farted and had little watery stool at 8+ and 9+pm.

Hb has been working since Friday and hasnt return home. Told him abt it and he blames mi for giving him Famous Amos Cookie, says heaty, ASK MI USE MY BRAIN and I ask him to stop his parents from giving adult food to Lucas and I'm doing it.

I feel that it isnt the cookie cos its very small bit only. And I told him off via sms too. I say he gave Lucas bite on keropok not heaty mah. He never reply liao.

Arghh.

Jo
oh dear, don't angry lah. Hope that Baby Lucas is fine.

Guess what is important now is to take good care of Baby Lucas, might have to watch out what he eats for these few days.. How's his appetite? PD got give any medicine? Does it help?

Jo, hope bb lucas gets well soon...sometimes, may not depend on the food...they are biting everything now...coz be something else he put into his mouth. hope he gets well soon.

jo
hope bb lucas gets well soon.
hey, maybe he's teething again? coz i remember my boy oso had fever and diarrohea for about a week when he was having his first 2 teeth a couple of months ago.
anyway, just monitor him and see how.

Thanks mummies ...
PD says he has to take soy milk for 1 week and no solid food.

His upper 3rd &amp; 4th tooth are coming out ... can see abit white white.

He is grabbing whatever to eat now especially yesterday .. I thought he was teething but PD says ate something wrong.

Haru: I think u better bring bb go see doc, as i read abt puking is serious. like crying then cause puking is normal. but if eat finished, awhile later puke, is not normal. i think is the best to let the doc knows this situation. maybe bb is allergic to some food?

glad_glad: wow.. u say gymboree like very nice. which day you let Greg go for lesson. sun one the teacher i find her boring. if like that i might want to continue brandon on gymboree.

bluestar
ya, u can do always bring yr BBK go out to expore....He will love it one...

Jo
hope bb lucas gets well soon...

Kindermusik trial class: wowwww.....seems like all of the mummies n babies enjoying there..

Haru,
my boy also pukes after meals/ when being fed w medicine yesterday ... shld b bcos eaten wrong food. Hope ur gal recovers soon too.

jo
my ah gal also sick liao.. since last wed cough cough then now the phlegm a lot and runny nose/blocked nose. Jus brot her to a 2nd doc this morning as the previous medications given by 1st doc causes rashes.. then this doc say she got mild bronchitis and giv antibiotic already.. haiz.. poor bb.. gotto eat so much medications for at least e nex 5days.. her appetite like not so good lately so can see a bit thin down liao.. hope it gets better.. haiz..

Tell u.. if u're angry then i even more wan to explode. Since last wed she already started a bit cough and thurs turned serious.. and guess wat.. Mil say cos the night before when i trying to make bb sleep, made her cry too much tts y!! Then my hubby asked me next time dun make bb cry too much! Wat e F**K.. pushed e f**king blame on me!! Worst ting is, i highly suspect the cough was spread from my MIL cos she already coughing away for sometime! stil dare to blame on me.. Couple of days ago she again bring this up then i buay tahan shoot back her surname is LAI and she's e one who pass e virus to bb..

Haru
yah.. mayb u shd seek PD's opinion.. why bb pukes aft solid.. since its a few days liao..
My b also not v interested in solids these days.. eat a few mouth shake head liao.. gotto keep distracting her. But when she phew out e food then we stop cos she shd be really full tts y.. With all these new medications today.. tink her appetite might reduce even more..

Bear
separation anxiety? My b long long time like this liao. walk 2 steps also cannot.. mus stay put there with her. These few days sick even crankier.. even my hubby who is e patient one got fedup yesterday

having a lousy day too...

nuts, then i can imagine your hse is machiam battleground. Everywhere bullets, grenades, bombs, nuclear..
U know, my girl hasn't seen her grandma (my mil) for more than a month liao.

lilian
y lei?? u also not happy with her or wat..

yah.. she throw me grenade 1st so i bomb her back.. throw 2 boombs.. double effect

peanut,

oh dear, hope nini gets well soon. U shd tell your MIL that if she herself is not feeling well (eg sorethroat, coughing or having running nose), she shd wear a MASK and ensure she washes her hands thoroughly before handling nini etc. Virus and bacteria can spread easily esp if the caregiver is sick. cry until bronchitis? what kind of logic is that?

kash
haiz.. i totally understand its easy to spread when caregiver is sick.. so i can't really blame her.. BUT.. it super pissed me off when she start pushing e blame onto me with those illogical and stupid reason without using her brain and realize that she is e one who could hav passed on e virus. Mad or not if its u.. super mad rite.. And it din help when e stupid husband sides this type of nonsense reason

hope lucas and asta gets well soon!

peanut-really.. wah.. I would never dare to talk back at my MIL but seriously ur MIL also very what la.. how can push the blame to others ler!! no wonder u shoot bullets lo.. being a caregiver.. like what kash say.. shd be try to avoid spreading viruses if she herself is sick lo.. maybe wash hands or whatever before touching nini.. patz patz.

Enne
yes i hope she recovers soon.. she has been reeeeally cranky.. carry also cannot.. put down also cannot, let her sleep also cannot... piang..

Enne
she has always been v sticky.. only thing is now she's so cranky sometimes even carry also cry.. To put it simply - we dunoe wat she wans.. and its frustrating..

peanut: haha... i also like you.. i shoot back to my MIL if i disagreed with her.. have to protect myself ma.