(2008/11) November 2008

Good Morning!

Alibaba,
oh dear, hope BB T is ok. Ussually after giving like 2 to 3 days of fever medicine some babies will have this fake measles *rashes* it will go away in 1 or 2 days time. Paracetamol and Brufen are 2 different medicine therefore you dun have to worry abt over dosage, do u know how to give the 2 medicine? you have to give paracetamol then 3 hours later brufen then 3 hours later para then 3 hours later brufen. if you look at the flow, each medicine is only given on 6 hrly. brufen should only b given when bb fever goes above 38.5 degrees. When feeding baby medicine using the syringe, tilt the opening to the cheek (side of bb mouth) and press the medicine down in 2 to 3 press. always make sure bb swallow medicine before feeding the reminding.

alibaba

oh is it ?i didnt know that, i only know brufen is strong.. think i gave Jaden 1 or 2 doses that time..

i gave panadol abt every 4 hrly if the temp is 38.5 above..

Helo mummies, so long never log in.
Just read about the Nov baby bash, can i still join? both dates are tentatively fine with me.

alibaba,
if the fever too high u actaully can ask the doc to give those medicine whereby they insert into the backside de? Those act more quickly. But i dunno if there are too young for it, but its actaully paracetamol too, u can check with the doc. but sponging him is also a very good way. dress him in light and airy clothes. bath him will bring down the temperature too.

milderina

i tot both brufen n paracetamol can b given together, but hv their own time interval. Eg, both start at 8.00am, then 4-6 hrly can give paracetamol, but brufen will b 6-8hrly..
Ya me too place the syringe at the side of the mouth

jynnsan,
of cos, please put your names in the bash.

cutiemum,
ya brufen is very strong, try not to give if can. but if bb's fever very high then need to give to bring it down.

cutiemum,
yes it can b given together but shouldnt b given together. cos they need to act together to bring down the temperature. 3 hrs interval of each other will means every 3 hrs will have a medicine to bring down the temperature. that is wat my PD told and advise mi. cos bb's fever like to go up n down up n down one.

cutiemum,
last time my elder girl hor always fever one, damn shag for mi and for her too. cos her u know western medicine take liaos the kid like so weak. in the end i brought her to "tiao" her body with TCM. after that then better. she can like every few weeks fever 1 time de. i almost went crazy that time. cos i very scare fever one, everytime she got fever i dun dare to sleep and will stay up to sponge her whole night cos the temperature like roller coaster.

Looks like it's sick season again. My boy also juz recovered from his runny nose *finger crossed*

Think the medicine is known as 'ibuprofen', my doc prescribed to BBQ when he had bronchiolitis last time, this medicine is very effective for high fever, was advised to give it to him only when > 38.5. If <= 38.5, usually Paracetamol will do the trick ;)

Roseola/Fake Measles/Viral Rash is actually quite common, my boy got a mild case last time and recovered before we realised it.

As an 'experienced' fever cum runny-nose baby mummy, I would like to share some tips that I find them useful for my little one:
- Sponging
- Damp towel/hanky put on top of bb head at all time
- Barley water/Water more frequently - fever dehydrates faster
- Repeat this process when runny nose gets worse (blocked nose/difficult to breathe/cant sleep or nurse):
- Seawater nasal spray -> suck out mucus -> nasal drop
- baby might cry alot during the process, so must bear with it and do it fast!
- Karvol Decongestant Capsules =)
- Dehumidifier if he's in a air-coned room
- Put him/her on a higher 'pillow' at night.

For all medicines, have to follow the instructions strictly (every 4-6 hours, twice a day etc), cos overdosage is very damaging to their liver and kidney.

Sometimes they will lost their appetite when having fever, some of them might experience constipation too.

It's a passing phrase for all babies.. so great mummies.. no choice, just have to stay awake and monitor your little ones whe he/she gets it... usually just a few 'wakeful' nights + darker eye circle only ;)

juz my 1 cent worth ;)

latest update for the night! goodnight!! weekend is getting nearer..i can smell it..hahah

Closing date: 17 Jul

RE: 1 yr old birthday bash/party for Nov babies 2008

Saturday, 5 Dec 2009
1) alibaba
2) mummy2nia (pls confirm early so i can apply off)
3) Nut (provided no dept offsite meet)
4) jo15
5) joyce_7580
6) Maggie
7) Joycelyn
8) Bear
9) Babyzel
10) Yokoh
11) dmk
12) Minky
13) Yoyosan
14) raygal
15) Enne (tentatively shd be ok)
16) Lilian
17) Olwenlim
18) BlessedMum
19) Jynnsan

Sunday, 6 Dec 2009
1) alibaba
2) Milderina
3) Fifi
4) mummy2nia (pls confirm early so i can apply off)
5) Nut (provided no dept offsite meet)
6) ChoomamaKaren
7) jo15
8) kash
9) joyce_7580
10) Vincy
11) Maggie
12) Shortgal
13) wtan
14) Dymples
15) Happy
16) Bear
17) glad_gal
18) Lynn
19) Babyzel
20) dolphingal
21) Moomummy
22) tri_Angel
23) yokoh
24) dmk
25) Minky
26) Sabre
27) Yoyosan
28) Shop4stuffs
29) Enne(tentatively shd be ok)
30) Lilian
31) Olwenlim
32) Bibi (If the location is around the central)
33) BlessedMum (if it is in late afternoon)
34) Jynnsan

Here's the committee positions. Committee list is currently full. You may volunteer as standby in case anyone drops out/in need of more manpower. Thanks!

BIG BOSS - MILDY
1) Treasurer - BBZel
2) Venue - Tri_angel, Minky Bear
3) Cake - Joyce
4) Deco #1 - Bear
5) Deco #2 - Dymples
6) Deco #3 - Moomummy
7) Catering - Peanut
8) Catering - Jo
9) Party bags #1 - Fifi
10) Party bags #2 - Alibaba
11) Admin - mummy2nia
12) Name tags - Minky Bear
13) Misc - Maggie, kash
14) Photographer - Joycelyn, wtan (maybe can g help frm 2 frens)
15) Incharge of entertainment - balloon sculptor, magician, face painters. - HAPPY, Shop4stuffs

Standby (in case anyone drops out)
1) Enne (Anyone needs help or assistance, order me k)

==============
Venue Suggestions
1) Safra country club
2) Civil service club
3) Bontanical garden
4) Zoo
5) McDonald's
6) Condo's function room
7) Country club function room
8) Hotel function room (might be too ex)
9) Grassroot function room
10) HortPart function room (with aircon one)
11) My Gym

kiki,
talking abt damp towel on bb's forehead, ussually i will put the kodomo fever patch. that one helps. change every 2 to 3 hrs.

Hi all.. back from my leave yest.. finally able to do some shoppings for MYSELF kekeke.. bot a couple of dresses and belts.. but did get a slow cooker for my dear gal..

She's getting cheeky and funny.. i always like to teach her animals and the sound they make.. she particularly like the lion one which i'll roar loudly to her.. then yest aft e usual roaring.. she imitate me by roaring as well hahaa... but of cos not as good as me lor..

ALibaba
poor T.. i'm stil looking for the cooling mat tt minky mnetioned.. can't find it any of the pharmacies so farr

haven't been in for a while. been busy on home front &amp; work front.

Mummynia,
pls put me down for Saturday Dec 5 pls.

peanut,
wakakka... asta so cute. my girL nowadays started knowing how to say mama... mum mum... and will go mamamamam.... or mumumumu the whole day.......kekek..... babies are so cute!

HBF lunch tomolo
better postpone it. me having flu given 2days mC mayb tomolo no come office liao...

Kiki
wil stil collect the vapourizer from u later.. i'll stop breathing in front of u..
wearing mask now.. -_-"

mildy,
yeah forgot abt the kodomo fever patch! That's useful too! Works even better if store in freezer for a while. But hor, my bb doesn't really like the sticky feeling, he always tears it down one. For damp hanky (put on top of his head, not forehead..) he's ok, I dunno why!

peanut,
ok, cos chilipadi also on leave tomorrow, So we arrange again next week k?

Thanks all for the tips. later gg back home to see bb during lunch.. see if mil got the fever patch aready anot... will try it. *cross finger so far he only have cough abit no block nose*

yah.. bb sick = ev one xing ku lor... -_- i hope he recover fast...

kiki> yday doc weight bb 7.8kg

milderina

ya, very stressful if kid fever.. hv to keep monitoring the fever
but no worries, she will hv better immune system as she grow older..

Ali, my jadon also have faked measles a month back...it was a nightmare!! Just cont. to feed him the fever medicine. You can use calamine lotion and apply on his body if u are concerned abt the rash. My doc gave my bb that to apply. After 2 days, his fever and rash subsided. Hang in there! ^^

cutiemum,
I agree! Whenever bb is sick, I totally no mood to work and will keep calling home to check. Thank God his vac finish for the time being...wait till 15m for next vac, if not, each time vac will have fever, very tiring!!

hi alibaba - just to share my experience few months ago when my bb had high fever that come and go, she's was down with urinary tract infection (UTI). so if bb's fever doesn't subside soon go to the PD and ask to do a urine test to see if there's any bacteria growth.

hope your bb will recover soon and that it's nothing serious, but i urge you to bring your bb for a urine test soon if fever still persists.

docs at KK told me before that those fever patch doesn't help much - they said they hv done a research and found them not any effective, the traditional sponging is the best!

Alibaba,
Maybe you can check whether he is teething too?? That time my boy was the same like that, then when fever went down liao den i realize he is teething. But just continue sponging him, put the fever patch and on aircon for him, don worry too much, he'll recover soon...

Mummy2nia,
Cos sometimes they need to have doctor warn them den they will listen one.

She so gentle still will 'eh eh eh', my boy is either bite me or smack me de lor... haha...

Snnowy,
Ya, thats e best way to prevent more conflicts lor..

My gal hates the fever patch.. think its too cold for her liking.. kept pulling down..

My eyes closing.. so heavy.. putting on the mask makes me feel even more drowsy

BACK. still high fever. jus now asked maid to bathe him.. den feed him paracetamol.. will call back &amp; check in an hr time... haiz.. cant stop worrying.. now faster finish my stuffs.. see if can go back early.. bo sim cho gang liao..

carol> the doc said the rash will appear only after the fever.. he suspect it's fake measle leh.... urs got fever &amp; rashes together ah..

sabre> doc said teething wont get so high fever one leh... so it's not teething shld b virus lor...

ali, is BB T's urine foul smelling? If it is, then can suspect is UTI as what Jes mentioned.

Jes, what followup tests yr gal need to do after the UTI incident?

ALibaba
tt time ah gal also fever up/down up/down.. but not tt high thou.. but already make me worry cos she so prone to fever.. seen doc and also do urine test which turns out ok.. so doc say most likely caught the virus cos we always bring her out weekends.. We also tink mayb due to teething as well but western doc dun believe teething cause fever one..

Thou the urine test is ok, but as they putting urine bag onto her, the missy discover her vagina opening is fused! tts y her pee always so slow which may cause pain.. so gotto put cream and now is ok.. but teach us the imprtance for gals we hav to wash their vaginal/pee area v thoroughly.. ie cannot jus splash water and anyhow wash wash.. gotto open it up and best use wet cotton to clean it..

alibaba: my bb last time also got rash.. is it on the chest and the back? my pd say is heat rash.. he is too hot. try to bath him and wear more loose clothing. my bb after 4 days he ok le..hope your bb is ok.. very tired and stressing when bb is sick.. mine now got stuffy nose, super cranky.. haiz.. hope all bb who now not well, we be all ok soon.. GOD BLESS THEM!

Alibaba

my PD advised that if fever subside after taking med, then alrite.. but if till 5th day, fever still there, then u need to b alrert.. normally fever will reach the peak ard day 3.. shld go down by day 5..

alibaba,
i hope baby T will recover soon! u take care of yourself too ya?

re: medala pumps
me starting to find my avent isis uno pump (suction)kinda weak. gotta keep using hands to squeeze the milk out. so tiring!kinda tempted to try out medala. any recommendation on which one is good? maybe i will rent one to try out first..

Babyzel,
Thanks for the link. It is so tempting. All the design so cute. Going to take a good look and choose ONLY 1 for her. haha

Sabre,
Ya lor. I also think it is the best way to avoid conflict.

New to this forum. BB is Nov 08 too. Looking forward to join this 1 year old birthday bash for Nov babies.

Saturday, 5 Dec 2009
1) alibaba
4) jo15
5) joyce_7580
6) Maggie
7) Joycelyn
8) Bear
9) Babyzel
10) Yokoh
11) dmk
12) Minky
13) Yoyosan
14) raygal
16) Lilian
17) Olwenlim
18) BlessedMum
19) Jynnsan
20) juzchan

Sunday, 6 Dec 2009
1) alibaba
2) Milderina
3) Fifi
6) ChoomamaKaren
7) jo15
8) kash
9) joyce_7580
10) Vincy
11) Maggie
12) Shortgal
13) wtan
14) Dymples
15) Happy
16) Bear
17) glad_gal
18) Lynn
19) Babyzel
20) dolphingal
21) Moomummy
22) tri_Angel
23) yokoh
24) dmk
25) Minky
26) Sabre
27) Yoyosan
28) Shop4stuffs
30) Lilian
31) Olwenlim
34) Jynnsan
35) juzchan

Here's the committee positions. Committee list is currently full. You may volunteer as standby in case anyone drops out/in need of more manpower. Thanks!

BIG BOSS - MILDY
1) Treasurer - BBZel
3) Cake - Joyce
4) Deco #1 - Bear
5) Deco #2 - Dymples
6) Deco #3 - Moomummy
7) Catering - Peanut
8) Catering - Jo
9) Party bags #1 - Fifi
11) Admin - mummy2nia
13) Misc - Maggie, kash
15) Incharge of entertainment - balloon sculptor, magician, face painters. - HAPPY, Shop4stuffs

==============
Venue Suggestions
1) Safra country club
2) Civil service club
3) Bontanical garden
4) Zoo
5) McDonald's
6) Condo's function room
11) My Gym

Saturday, 5 Dec 2009
1) alibaba
4) jo15
5) joyce_7580
6) Maggie
7) Joycelyn
8) Bear
9) Babyzel
10) Yokoh
11) dmk
12) Minky
13) Yoyosan
14) raygal
16) Lilian
17) Olwenlim
18) BlessedMum
19) Jynnsan
20) juzchan
21) Sha Sha
Sunday, 6 Dec 2009
1) alibaba
2) Milderina
3) Fifi
6) ChoomamaKaren
7) jo15
8) kash
9) joyce_7580
10) Vincy
11) Maggie
12) Shortgal
13) wtan
14) Dymples
15) Happy
16) Bear
17) glad_gal
18) Lynn
19) Babyzel
20) dolphingal
21) Moomummy
22) tri_Angel
23) yokoh
24) dmk
25) Minky
26) Sabre
27) Yoyosan
28) Shop4stuffs
30) Lilian
31) Olwenlim
34) Jynnsan
35) juzchan
36) Sha Sha

BIG BOSS - MILDY
1) Treasurer - BBZel
3) Cake - Joyce
4) Deco #1 - Bear
5) Deco #2 - Dymples
6) Deco #3 - Moomummy
7) Catering - Peanut
8) Catering - Jo
9) Party bags #1 - Fifi
11) Admin - mummy2nia
13) Misc - Maggie, kash

==============
Venue Suggestions
1) Safra country club
2) Civil service club
3) Bontanical garden
4) Zoo
5) McDonald's
6) Condo's function room
11) My Gym

hi lilian
yes, urine's foul smelly + cloudy looking, it's UTI.

bb's admitted rightaway, on anti-b hand drip for 2 days, then after discharge, got to continue with oral anti-b for 6 full weeks. it was tough for us all, cos medicine feeding is a nightmare! then after that back to doc for review, ultrasound on kidneys, then in sep got to bring bb to do a test called DMSA to check for possible scarring on kidneys. this test is damn jia lut cos bb got to be sedated!! but no choice, got to ensure her kidneys are functioning ok after the UTI so got to do lor.

Jes........my girl's DMSA is scheduled in August...... Ya, she was diagnosed with UTI in March.
I went thru' what u went thru'. Should we hi 5?
I really sian about this coming DMSA test!!!

Oh but feeding t antibiotic to my gal is easy. She likes it! We tell her sweet sweet, she guai guai open mouth

She's still on antibiotic now. I hope t DMSA result is clear, so tat she can finally stop t medication!

alibaba,
Hope your boy get well soon!
Previously my gilr had high fever and days later,many rashes appear.Doc told me fake measles too.

My elder gal had fever for 4 days liao.Tues night got high fever 40degC.Given medi and fever still dun subside.So sent her to KK in the middle of night.
Doctor said is viral infection.
Now praying hard that it wont spread to my bb boy

I realise there are so many sick bb/children these days. KK had long Q!

oh dear.. so poor thing... Baby gals are more prone to UTI is it? How to prevent that ah? Feed more water and change diaper frequently?

what's for lunch mummies? Today feel like Friday to me leh.. finally bought my delicious A1 curry paste.. gonna buy lemongrass, shallot, curry leaves to enhance the flavour hee hee

Today is Harry Potter day!

I'm from Dec thread, we have organised Aquaducks swim trial class for infants and have 3 vacancies available. Trial is FOC. If you are interested, please pm me your details asap:

Baby's Name
DOB
Your Name
Your Contact

AQUADUCKS SWIM LOCATION
7 Portsdown Road, Cicada. This is a heated pool, mommy/daddy will be in the pool with baby.
It is near Temakek Club. Nearest way to get there is to take AYE. Also accessible from North Buona Vista Road. Please see road map:

http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel_id_39537/travel_site_10564/

Cicada website:
http://www.thecicada.com.sg/

Aquaducks website:
http://www.aquaducks.com.sg

18 JULY 11:00am Sat
1. joanne
2. ypg
3. jlow

18 JULY 2:30pm Sat
1. zachmommy
2. evanmummy
3. SnowGer or Xuelyn
4. jowinbaby ( Confirm)
5. Tamms
6. echo

Hospital/clinics are the places filled with most virus! Cos al sick people go ther!! sometimes i tot to myself my bb not sick go ther also wil catch virus become sick liao.. So we normally 1 person bring her out while waiting for the turn and not stay inside the virus infested place.. .

Jus now went to see doc for my flu in e end throw him lots of ques re bb temp.. These r wat he told me:
1) try not to use thermometer for armpit cos bb tends to move a lot it'll not b accurate liao. Best for bb is to use ear thermometer and the forehead patch thermometer..
2) Becos bb metabolism rate is higher their temperature tends to b on the high side as compared to adults or older kids.. so its normal if their temp ~37.5dc.. as long as its below 38dc no need to giv medicine yet.. Above 38 then giv

Kiki
avoid UTI - clean thoroughly and correctly (front-back instead of back-front) + dun leave on the diaper for too long..

Me myself gena UTI few times liao.. 1st time my kindergarden time i urine out practically blood.. stayed in hospital for 1 week.. 2nd time Pri 3 less serious.. 3rd time when i was 24yrs.. in between a couple of mild relapse

i realise u guys r looking for the cooling mat. i can help u guys get. bt collection hav to be done at cityhall or bugis in the evening aft 6pm. it is a norm cushion size. price around $11 - 12.

pink flower one.. thank u! can b place on her giant rocker bo??

ANother thing is these days she always flip around..! so it may b difficult to make her lie on the mat hor... haiz.. but better get it still. Or do u tink its better to get 2 place them side by side so she flips also no problem?

nut, 1 is enough for bb's body. if u ks u can get 2 lor.. wahhaa... pls select color, i think u will take pink hor... or any if the pink is out of stock?

hi5, lilian

my gal kena in mar too, to be exact, it's last day of mar.

when's DMSA for your gal? mine in 15 sep. i also very sian abt this DMSA. bb got to "fast" and sedated, don't know if they can get thru it ok, it's difficult to make bb go thru fasting right, aiya...

yr gal still guai to take anti-b, mine every day oso fight with us, my hubby got to pin her down while i quickly syringed it down on her, and everytime sure will cry and puke abit medicine out.

how come yr gal still on anti-b? my gal took for 6 weeks and doc ok it to stop.

kiki, in fact pple said boys are more prone, cos of the foreskin on their private parts which is tougher to clean. ya lor, got to feed him more water so that they are less heaty and change diapers frequently to prevent it.