(2008/11) November 2008

taken the pneumococcal jab today...cost me 230 for the 1st jab (incl 60 consultation)...3 jab in all coz taken in the 8th mth..... expensive man bb jab...last time 6-in-in and rotavirus also ex...wow sei...

Shop4stuff
can use the baby bonus money to offset right?

Woooaah small world. Wont be surprised if more links come out! hahaha..

Haru
U stay near GWC?

OKie see you mommies tomorrow at Portsdown aquaducks!! I will be bringing a couple of swimming diapers down with me in case u guys need. Fifi has my mobile phone number if anyone needs to get to me =)

Byeeee
Pam

Haru, target to BF is one year! so now just giving one feed of FM a day then will slowly increase ....but at least he is willing to take the FM so i'm abit more relieved! was worried that he would only want BM cos so used to the taste!

re: solids...
don't worry! H is not the only one behaving like this! sometimes K goes crazy abt his solids sometimes he totally doesn't want any! think it's just a phase they are going thru.. and getting used to solids and new tastes.. nothing to worry about! but i know its frustrating when sometimes so much time is spent preparing the food + with so much LOVE....and then we as mums get so excited thinking they will finish it all up..... then it gets REJECTED

Hi Mommies

<font color="ff0066"> Peanut, Snowwy &amp; tri angel</font>
OMG!! Such a concidence! Tink you 3 should go buy 4D this weekend siah. *strike lottery liaoz*

<font color="ff0066"> Wakodo Formula</font>
My mom went out and bought the Wakodo formula for Bb J yesterday.... and yeah!!! Bb J loves it! Now trying to wean her off my boobies and hope this formula will help. But then this formula sssooo ex leh. *faintz*

<font color="ff0066"> Snowwy</font>
I love your principles above. Sssooo funnie yet at same time sssooo true. Heheheh... Btw, are you a lawyer? From your postings seems like it leh.

<font color="ff0066"> Shop4Stuffs</font>
Yah. Bb Jabs nowadays not cheap lor. Especially last time when I had #1, all I need to bring her was for the normal 5-in jab only. Nowadays got so much "extra" jabs - Rota Virus, Pneumococcal, etc.

But for me, cos I feel since both my #1 &amp; #2 din go for all those extra jabs and both turned out well, I'll skip all these jabs for #3 too. But sometimes a part of me will feel the "what if...." scenario.

dymples
thanks for sharing...im always thinking of the "what if" and moreover pd told me recommended...so i go for it lo

dymples, i do think that snowy is a lawyer

pamela
ya can use the cda account...its just like an atm card

Haru: Its 1 Nov!! Don't worry, me also hvent run in like 1 yr?!! But i have tried 10 and 21km a few yrs back, so hoping stamina is still there :p

Mummy2nia: Me also have been giving myself excuses :p hee so need to sign up otherwise will be forever lazy!!

See ya all tml at Portsdown!!

AQUADUCK TRIAL 12 July 09 (SUN)
Venue : 7 Portsdown road, it is located next to a restaurant.
Timing Either 2.30pm or 3pm or 3.30pm

2.30pm
1) Shortgal
2) Chilipadi
3) (EMPTY)
4) iluvbli55
5) blustar
6) blustar's fren

3pm
1) Fifi
2) Yokoh
3) glad_gal
4) Pam ??
5) Vanez

3.30pm
1) Vincy
2) Kash
3) Happy
4) BaByzel
5) Maggie
6) Bear

Vincy,
Sorry that I cant go for the AquaDuck Swimming as bb has caught a cold, and sneezing.

Sorry for the late notice!

AQUADUCK TRIAL 12 July 09 (SUN)
Venue : 7 Portsdown road, it is located next to a restaurant.
Timing Either 2.30pm or 3pm or 3.30pm

2.30pm
1) Shortgal
2) Chilipadi
3) Kiki
4) iluvbli55 (Cant make it)
5) blustar
6) blustar's fren

3pm
1) Fifi
2) Yokoh
3) glad_gal
4) Pam ??
5) Vanez

3.30pm
1) Vincy
2) Kash
3) Happy
4) BaByzel
5) Maggie
6) Bear

Sorry been MIA because I've been super busy!

My boy just got sick few days back, having high fever. Luckily he recovered liao, but then he's teething now! Super cranky also, that I'm not getting enough sleep, going to be panda liao..

Is it normal for him to poo few times a day during his teething period??

And he's not having much appetite for his porridge and cereal also..

Re: Birthday bash,
Can I join???

Kiki,
Please update for me,

Baby Name: Tyler
Weight: 9kg
Height: Haven't measure yet

shop4stuffs,
Ya lor, its so ex that's why I intending to take the Pneumococcal after his 1st birthday, at least not so many jabs, not so ex lor...

morning mummies..
it's raining!! ;(

if later still raining, u will all going down for aqua duck? indoor or outdoor swimming ah? ;p

morning mummies..

am feeling exhausted! yest had a family gathering, those long one till nearly 11pm and i had to work today at 6am..gosh, i think i only managed to sleep at 1am or wat. very zombie..my brain cannot think..oh wait, or is it, i cant think properly...hehe...

aquaduck,
wah, i saw two opening slots, wish can go but will feel so so tired. just wanna sleep on my bed. :p

giving medicines
im reading this book 'Baby's first year book' borrowed from library. very good tips inside. i skipped a lot of pages though cos already noe mah..now bb 8 mos..hehehe..anyway..tips on giving medicines..

Two-person strategy
One adult sits on the floor, leaning against a wall, with her legs straight out in front of her. Another adult lays the baby on the first adult's legs, so his head is slightly higher than his body (which happens naturally since your thighs are fatter than your ankles), and the baby's feet pointing towards the adult's feet. the first adult then lifts the baby's arms above the baby's head; this keeps his hands from knocking the medicine away and opens up his throat. The 2nd adult slips the dropper/syringe into the side of the baby's mouth, btwn his cheek and where his molars will eventually appear, squirts in just a few drops of medicine, then a few more, and then a few more until the dropper is empty. It doesnt matter if the baby's mouth is shut or if he's crying, the medicine will dribble down the throat.

Cheek pocket method
Use a finger to pull out a corner of your baby's mouth to make a pocket in his cheek, and drop the medicine into the pocket a little at a time. Keep the pocket open until all the medicine has been swallowed.

----
The reason why i so have to share with all of u cos im always doin this method (maybe it's just me) but I will squirts a few drops or more under bb's tongue cos im afraid she will get choke but the medicine will dribble out of her mouth. I hope to use the method that i read from the book. hopefully it will be less painful for the baby and for me!!!! haha...

Mummies, closing date is this friday yah..do take note..late entry will have a penalty fee of $10 (yeah right..haha)

And Sabre, of cos u can join, do slot in your name here...

++++++++++++

Closing date: 17 Jul

RE: 1 yr old birthday bash/party for Nov babies 2008

Saturday, 5 Dec 2009
1) alibaba
2) mummy2nia (pls confirm early so i can apply off)
3) Nut (provided no dept offsite meet)
4) jo15
5) joyce_7580
6) Maggie
7) Joycelyn
8) Bear
9) Babyzel
10) Yokoh
11) dmk
12) Minky

Sunday, 6 Dec 2009
1) alibaba
2) Milderina
3) Fifi
4) mummy2nia (pls confirm early so i can apply off)
5) Nut (provided no dept offsite meet)
6) ChoomamaKaren
7) jo15
8) kash
9) joyce_7580
10) Vincy
11) Maggie
12) Shortgal
13) wtan
14) Dymples
15) Happy
16) Bear
17) glad_gal
18) Lynn
19) Babyzel
20) dolphingal
21) Moomummy
22) tri_Angel
23) yokoh
24) dmk
25) Minky

Here's the committee positions. Committee list is currently full. You may volunteer as standby in case anyone drops out/in need of more manpower. Thanks!

BIG BOSS - MILDY
1) Treasurer - BBZel
2) Cake - Joyce
3) Deco #1 - Bear
4) Deco #2 - Dymples
5) Deco #3 - Moomummy
6) Catering - Peanut
7) Catering - Jo
8) Party bags #1 - Fifi
9) Party bags #2 - Alibaba
10) Admin - mummy2nia
11) Misc - Maggie, kash
12) Photographer - Joycelyn, wtan (maybe can g help frm 2 frens)
13) Incharge of entertainment - balloon sculptor, magician, face painters. - HAPPY

Standby (in case anyone drops out)
1) Tri_Angel
2) Minky (Party bags)

<font color="0000ff">brown rice:
dunno did i get the wrong type boh...i soaked it overnite then cooked in slow cooker on 'high' mode for 3hrs. But it's still not totally soft &amp; there r shells/coats

any advise?</font>

hi mummies..

back from the aqua duck trial.. it's so tiring becoz my Ethan stayed in the pool for 1 hr.. he cried when he first got into the pool so for the 1st lesson he is practically crying and staying away the rest.. haha.. so i have to go into the pool, lucky i brot my swimsuit.. then he became better and more calm during the 2nd lesson.. haha..

saw blustar, maggie, gladglad and fifi.. ;p

Liv, your boy keep looking at you la! calling you to go in the pool also! my boy last part also seemed to be calling me into the pool! but i didnt bring swimsuit! did ethan enjoy during the later part? saw that he had calmed down already when i was leaving! think cos he first time in pool! next time he will be more used to it!!

left quite quick cos of grumpy hubby.. hahaha... ( cos i actually forgot to pack his swim shorts so had to go back 2 take!) so pity i did not get to meet the other mummies! except Liv!

thought the lesson was not bad... but that location no showering facilities to rinse bb after lesson rite? the coaches were askin me &amp; my fren if we dunk bbs whole head in the water b4.... we said NOOOOO .. haha.. think the bbs will scream man! but maybe after a few times they will be ok with that! that would be cool....

jo, mummy2nia,

Thanks..

Mummy2nia,

Maybe you can try my way to feed medicine also. I always offer it to him smiling. And I always say, sweet sweet and try to act like its very yummy. Now he drinks medicines without us holding him down or forcing him.

I feel that the more you try to hold them down and force them, the more they will hate it. So maybe can use the softer approach..

++++++++++++

Saturday, 5 Dec 2009
1) alibaba
4) jo15
5) joyce_7580
6) Maggie
7) Joycelyn
8) Bear
9) Babyzel
10) Yokoh
11) dmk
12) Minky

Sunday, 6 Dec 2009
1) alibaba
2) Milderina
3) Fifi
6) ChoomamaKaren
7) jo15
8) kash
9) joyce_7580
10) Vincy
11) Maggie
12) Shortgal
13) wtan
14) Dymples
15) Happy
16) Bear
17) glad_gal
18) Lynn
19) Babyzel
20) dolphingal
21) Moomummy
22) tri_Angel
23) yokoh
24) dmk
25) Minky
26) Sabre

Here's the committee positions. Committee list is currently full. You may volunteer as standby in case anyone drops out/in need of more manpower. Thanks!

BIG BOSS - MILDY
1) Treasurer - BBZel
2) Cake - Joyce
3) Deco #1 - Bear
4) Deco #2 - Dymples
5) Deco #3 - Moomummy
6) Catering - Peanut
7) Catering - Jo
8) Party bags #1 - Fifi
10) Admin - mummy2nia
11) Misc - Maggie, kash
13) Incharge of entertainment - balloon sculptor, magician, face painters. - HAPPY

1) Tri_Angel
2) Minky (Party bags)

Hi all!!

Sabre: I think my boy also teething leh but has been going on for couple of mths liao
He sometimes poo twice a day but i dont think coz of teething....but he keeps wanting to bite things and cannot sleep well hiaz

Liv, maggie: *waves* =) Nice meeting you all n bb!
Aiyoh Greg is really fearful of water...i guess coz 1st time hee tho he has tried those Hwa Xia swim thing b4. I just posted his pic in FB..he looked so scared lol. Looks like we need to bring him to the pool more often!!

Ooh..a Party Bash.
Eh.. can my gal join, tho she Oct baby lah.
I put my name down first wor..

Saturday, 5 Dec 2009
1) alibaba
4) jo15
5) joyce_7580
6) Maggie
7) Joycelyn
8) Bear
9) Babyzel
10) Yokoh
11) dmk
12) Minky
13) Yoyosan

Sunday, 6 Dec 2009
1) alibaba
2) Milderina
3) Fifi
6) ChoomamaKaren
7) jo15
8) kash
9) joyce_7580
10) Vincy
11) Maggie
12) Shortgal
13) wtan
14) Dymples
15) Happy
16) Bear
17) glad_gal
18) Lynn
19) Babyzel
20) dolphingal
21) Moomummy
22) tri_Angel
23) yokoh
24) dmk
25) Minky
26) Sabre
27) Yoyosan

BIG BOSS - MILDY
1) Treasurer - BBZel
2) Cake - Joyce
3) Deco #1 - Bear
4) Deco #2 - Dymples
5) Deco #3 - Moomummy
6) Catering - Peanut
7) Catering - Jo
8) Party bags #1 - Fifi
10) Admin - mummy2nia
11) Misc - Maggie, kash

1) Tri_Angel
2) Minky (Party bags)

Suggestion for Party Bash: "Nick-name Tags"
-I hv not met up wif any mummies here b4..would a 'nick-name' tags for mummies be a good ice-breaker? At least we go round knowing who is who, instead of guessing who is who? And also a little name tag for our little ones? [if this suggestion has come up b4, do just ignore]

hihi mummies!

looks like u all had fun at aquaduck trial...hehe... :)

blustar
dats weird ah..how come no showering facilities..should be standard mah.

sabre
thanks for the tips..i actualli did dat, first time take medicine, she's fine but when she tasted it, she screamed and push herself backwards and cried cos of the taste. Once she sees the bottle, she noes wats goin on already. so no matter how hard i try to sayang and try to make the feed fun, she sees the color and she knoes.

shop4stuffs
of cos u may join...dun need to ask mah...hehe..pls sign up below..

Yoyosan
think shld b okie, unless other mummies protest...how big boss Mildy? okie or not? must ask big boss...hahah...

by the way, ur suggestion is good cos i myself, have yet to met any mummies here so it's gd to do dat..then our hubs how ah? "yoyosan hubby" hahahha

Saturday, 5 Dec 2009
1) alibaba
4) jo15
5) joyce_7580
6) Maggie
7) Joycelyn
8) Bear
9) Babyzel
10) Yokoh
11) dmk
12) Minky
13) Yoyosan

Sunday, 6 Dec 2009
1) alibaba
2) Milderina
3) Fifi
6) ChoomamaKaren
7) jo15
8) kash
9) joyce_7580
10) Vincy
11) Maggie
12) Shortgal
13) wtan
14) Dymples
15) Happy
16) Bear
17) glad_gal
18) Lynn
19) Babyzel
20) dolphingal
21) Moomummy
22) tri_Angel
23) yokoh
24) dmk
25) Minky
26) Sabre
27) Yoyosan

BIG BOSS - MILDY
1) Treasurer - BBZel
2) Cake - Joyce
3) Deco #1 - Bear
4) Deco #2 - Dymples
5) Deco #3 - Moomummy
6) Catering - Peanut
7) Catering - Jo
8) Party bags #1 - Fifi
10) Admin - mummy2nia
11) Misc - Maggie, kash

1) Tri_Angel
2) Minky (Party bags)

gd idea leh Yoyosan. I'm sure most mummies will agree as many have not met b4..

oh.. if last min cant attend howz ah?i mean just asking.. =)

i'm wondering if a candyfloss/popcorn stall gd idea for the bash? =)

glad_gal,
I didn't know he was teething until he bite my finger and I felt it.. Haha..Cos he's also been bitin here and thr very long liao..

Yoyosan,
Good idea, cause I myself don really remember names very well.. *guilty*

Mummy2nia,
Wow, she's such a clever girl. I don't let him see me take the med one, just before i feed him then he'll see the syringe, haha.. Or maybe he's just anything-also-eat one lor.. lol

Gd Morning!
Enne, I cracked your heart!? Oppss.. So sorry!
Give me your FB passwd la, then i go in confirm all your frenz for u. keke..

Anyone knows if there is any cot bumper that has longer height? T one that I have is abt 30cm in height i think.

Morning mommies!

Seems like most of you had fun at the swimming lesson

Medicine Taking:
Mummy2nia, Yup my boy had the same prob. tell him sweet sweet work once then no more liao.
he see the syringe he start to scream.

Nametags:
Yoyosan, good idea! i can help with that just give me a list of the names.

Nice to noe that you have enjoy the lesson, I didnt go cause Vera is down with flu n cough. So tired.
Liv, they allow to continue for 2 lesson? so nice.

Snowy, J Shopper is at my house, but I stay at my mum place for the past 1 week to takecare of my girl. I will mail out on Wed, sorry for the delay.

U all saw the new paper today?
Wow, $500k is raised for charmaine.
Tats gd news for her.

My gal vomit twice on my bed last nite &amp; tis morning. arrghhh...!

morning mummies..

ya vincy, they quite nice.. they let Ethan to settle down 1st then ask him to join in the 2nd lesson.. haha.. and both me n hubby are in the water.. need to pacify him.. ;p

ya saw the Charmaine news.. we started a donation drive for her in office.. manage to get 5K for her... hope that can help her abit.. ;p

Morning mummies.

Re: Aquaducks
Lesson was ok. But the place not that good. No shower and got mosquito. Hubby was saying if want, will go to another location. Who was the one who said can get discount for us? How much discount?

Re: Aquaduck
ya the location is very ulu and i thot i went to the wrong place becoz there is no signboard or watever, jus a pool at a corner.. ;p
heard from the instructor only tanglin n portsdown have heated pool..

HI mummies at the aquaducks> sorry i was too busy with my son to talk. my baby was super active in water coz we swim almost every weekend. anyone signing up?

I love the place coz it's quieter. maybe it would be inconvenient if u dun drive. Anyway, they are fixing up proper shower facilities. I asked my fren why there's no such facilities. She said Aquaducks supposed to inform us that the changing and shower facilities are not ready yet. how come they didnt call?

Morning mummies!!

On leave today...

Aquaduck: Yah its wierd they dont have proper shower facilities leh :p though it's more quiet place i agree coz its so ulu haha!! Prob not signing up, but will just bring bb to swimming pool!

Yoyosan: That's a gd idea! Met a few mummies but most hvnt met before hee..

Naps question: My baby seems to hate sleeping now in the daytime. Very hard to get him to take a nap even once..

Most babies still taking 2 naps in the day?? Dunno why baby getting more clingy/koala bear recently??

gladgal
my boy same too.. put him down to his walker he will whine! wan us to carry him... haiz.. gd times can nap 1hr if not i guess 15mins - 30mins nia.. maybe due to teething? up to date... Trysten is still bo kay.. hehe..

re: Naps
my mum say ethan also sleeps very little.. like 30 mins per nap , at least 2 naps a day.. and we have to force him to sleep somemore..

Morning, mummies.

Re:Naps,
My boy also the same. Nap only 2x and each nap only 30mins-1hr. Sleep so little.
Last nite he dun want to sleep &amp; keep crying. He fall alsleep around 12:40am. I'm dead tired and panda eyes. Apply teething gel on his gums.

Koala bear,
Yes. He become more clingy. Dun want to come down.

Alibaba/Liv and Yen: Looks like our babies more active now, so don't want to sleep? Hiaz sometimes my mum also 'complain' coz she really has to watch over him all the time, no time for her to take a rest when he dont even wanna sleep...

Abt the clingy phase, read that this is a phase they go thru hopefully they get out of it soon man! I know he may not want to be carried next time so I shld treasure this but it gets really tiring...

Re : Naps
My gal also the same. Nap only 2x a day.. ard 30mins-1hr. worse on wkends when her jiejie (my elder gal) is at home, she dun want to nap at times.

Yoz! yum.. lunch time approaching.. can't wait.. Huuungrrrrry......

Naps
yah my gal also take lesser naps now.. thing is she's tired but when we try to make her sleep she no wan..
So seems like quite a few bbs here not taking the required 14hrs sleep a day?? For me.. since she takes lesser day naps liao.. for the night sleep i trrrrry to stretch her sleep for 10hrs.. if she wakes up in the morning i'll try to make her sleep again if possible.. but it doesn't happen al the time.. esp when she's sleeping with mil which i do not hav much control..

glad gal
yes.... al e time need someone to b by her side.. and got to b someone she likes! Wan to walk a few steps away from her to get something also cannot.. she'll start screaming

Morning mummies.
Dymples/shop4stuff,
I am not a lwayer though I studied law. I am not cut out to be a lawyer, It will be a slow sucide for me.

Tri_angel,
Opps. I though you are reffering to me. Paiseh

how's everyone... me getting busy at work but still ok...

could not go for aquaducks as emma was down with running nose. this morning still alittle but much better.

Birthday bash...
Emma Oct baby leh... she will be "big buffalo" if she join the bash