(2008/11) November 2008

peanut, where u buy those unsalted ikan bilis?

i'm also the lazy type, tats y i just anyhow buy those pre-packed fried ikan w/o realising that those are likely to be the salted type. haiz....

btw, can i ask u mummies if uncooked veg can be frozen anot. i tried to freeze brocoli but after thawing, it became soft and soggy like tat, though it didn't hv a bad smell...

Gal.Dophine,
I dun spend a lot of time sleeping. Usually wake up at 6am and sleep at 12 - 1am with no nap in between. Wash clothes and mop floor after preparing hubby for work. prepare ingrediants for kiddo lunch after hanging the clothes. Once they nap in the noon, my lunch and prepare ingrediant for dinner/ fold clothes/ eat lunch/ surf net. Once they wake up, play with them, start cooking at 5pm, feed and bathe them all done by 7pm. It busy but time past easily.

I think I know where is your issue - latching the baby for 2 hour, put down he wake up. I am also currently BF both my gal. #2 is TBF, #1 is partial BF, supplement with FM. Both are latch on babies.

You know your baby is actually taking powernap when you nurse him, with comfort latching. Meaning he is taking your breast as the pacificer and sleeping when you thought you are actually nursing him. If you are using cuddle hold method, then I cann almost confirm with you he is not drinking but sleeping. (I went through this for 9 months with my #1).

What you must do now is to shorten your feeding time on your boy. If possible, pump and feed in bottle. If you are not comfortable with it, please wake him up whenever you see him falling asleep on your breast. Yes, shake him/call him/slightly tickle him and make sure he opened his eyes. Dun let him pause for too long at his breast. Baby do stop for a short second to breathe while latching but such not stopped too long. Also you can compress your breast when he is latching to make sure he is drinking(you can do it be pressing your breast with your thumb and forefinger when he is drinking).

Another way is to lie nurse. Latch him by both of you lying down in bed, tummy facing tummy, but make sure you also wake him up if he is falling asleep. Once he is full, he will auto unlatch or you can unlatch him after 45 mins. (In this way, you will not required to put him in cot and wakes him up)You can leave him to sleep on the bed but please make sure you pillowed the surrounding or use a bed rail so that he wont fall off the bed.

I have read that baby falls asleep during latching are usually taking the mother's breast as the pacificer while powernap. This is specially so when mother using cuddle hold method. The baby is so used to mother's warmth that the minute their back touches the cold hard mattress in their cot they will wake up.

I usually put her ontop of a pillow on my lap and nurse her. But BFing is afterall on bonding, I will hold her hand, touch her face, talk to her while I nurse her. This also prevent her from dozing off. After she unlatch (usually half an hour to 45 mins) I'll put her in her cot and she roll herself to sleep while I'll leave the room, onli taking occassionally peeks.

Lilian,
Haha, kid's food pang for what? so that they eat more.

Re:porridge,
I'm cooking mine in my rice-cooker which has a function for congee. It will turn out to be sticky and masky - really congee. It takes about 1 hour and after done, will auto-switch to "keep warm" mode

snnowy,
i am one of those mummies who is guilty of letting baby powernap during latching especially when i am home from work. she would have been waiting all day for me to come home and so most of the times she will fall into deep sleep once she latches on. =P

re:porridge
is it ok to use chicken stock already to prepare porridge the first time introducing it to baby? or must i use normal water and then wait for 4 days before using chicken stock?

<font color="aa00aa">Lilian/Jo/Jes
hee, the porridge was great! i started it thicker 1st to test water, not sure which consistency he prefered, then added more hot water eventually cos he liked it more watery.

I used my 3.5l Cornell slow cooker to cook 1.5bowls. He finised 1/4bowl, so mummy ate the rest for lunch.

U mummies are GREAT! Cook porridge on ur own ... I really leave it to maid to decide what ingredients to put into porridge everyday. I only asked her what she puts in for the day and I juz feed my boy during weekends. CANNOT MAKE IT.

Jo
umm.. see wat minky say.. but i already told my mil not going back for dinner tomm nite.. feel like chit chatting with frens

my mil say ah ni woke up 2.30 and toss and turn no wan sleep! only aft 4.45 feed and i carry her then she fell asleep.. but woke up 6.30am whine and sleep now and then.. GOSH!! WHEN CAN SHE EVER HAS A GOOD SLEEP!!!!!!!!!! WHY MY BB LIKE THIS

peanut: i think your girl is teething. my boy also like that.. he is now teethin. last time he can sleep through..

porridge: i also used slow cooker.. chicken stock + rice (xin mi)*not normal rice, heard my mom say is specially for porridge, more smooth and nice. + minced pork.. he like it very much.

Lilian-nooooo.. I needdddddddddd uuuuuu..

Very tired lo. duno how to perk up my spirits.. think I need a goodnight sleep.

How's everybody>> any summary for me to read

Lynnlin-HI!!

Lynn
but she has been having bad quality sleep for couple of mths liao! i dun tink its teething.. shdn't b tt long if really due to teething..

Hi Enne..... *yawn*

peanut,
I guess u need to bring ur gal to see PD and ask abt her case cos since 2mths she has been like tat.

My maid usually starts grinding ingredients and throw everything except fish into slow cooker since morning 7am and by the time I woke up ard 9-10am, have breakfast, bath my boy and its time for porridge. I only enjoy eating his porridge!

I also told my MIL last nite that I'm not gg back for dinner tomorrow. I'm well and if u not scared of mi, we can still meet up tomorrow no matter wat.

peanut-alamak.. tats contagious.... *yawns*

alibaba-hello.........

Jo-xiexie, I need that!!

Jes-what xin mi ah?? can put the han yu pin yin numbers too

Jo
i told PD liao.. but they like not worry as long as checks say she ok lei.. mayb she got sleep disorder i shd bring her to psychologist instead.. or hav her hypnotised.. -_-" Mil always say she hong xim... Pleeease lah.. wher got every nite hong xim one.. *yawn**

EEww... ok ok meet u but u sit another table wahahaa..... and wear double layer mask.. wwwahaa... we can meet lah tsk tsk..

Enne
*yawn* *yawn** *yawnzzzzz****
I'm really so sleepy.. so dilly dally on my work.. no mood lei

Jo
yah u dun b lazy.. sat and sun can cook for lucas.. dun giv excuse

peanut: haha... if your hypnotize worked.. teach me.. i want to learn.. hee.. maybe she is hot? last few month weather terrible. my boy very scare hot.

jes: yeah is new grain

haru: to eat.. not for soup. i blend till very fine for him to eat

From wiki -
The lentil or daal or dal (Lens culinaris), considered a type of pulse

Is like pea/bean. But honestly i have nvr seen it b4 :p But know it's high in protein and iron. Can mix in porridge if u dun want put meat.

thanks lilian, my hanyu limited co., but u still can understand me so means i'm not far off..

thanks lynn for the recommendation, gotta try the new grain

<font color="0000ff">new grain rice :
hmm...sorry i thou all those selling in NTUC is new grain rice? no?

lentil :
think it's a kind of seed/bean, can get at chinese/indian 杂货店. Heard it's gd for bb's diet too. Haven try thou.</font>

ref to my earlier post:

"btw, can i ask u mummies if uncooked veg can be frozen anot. i tried to freeze brocoli but after thawing, it became soft and soggy like tat, though it didn't hv a bad smell..."

any idea, fellow mummies??

<font color="0000ff">Juz to share :
my nanny told me not to use claypot to cook porridge for bb, she say need to keep stirring which will gets a lot of 'wind' in the porridge, no gd for bb.

she say best to double boil, if not, slow cook.</font>

ENNE! u r back! HUGZ!!!
so u coming for the bday bash for babies? by the way if u all don't mind celebrating my bday with me tat day i will go with baby.. wahhaaa...
peanut, jo me already say going out tomorrow night liao so ya i will meet u guys if u all r ok. provided jo nt having h1n1... mag sorethroat dont want to eat jumbo we can go some where else lor. just hav a nice quiet dinner wahhaa...romantic leh..

<font color="0000ff">siaonut,
have u try diff ways of putting bb to bed liao? change diff timing? how's the napping schedule?</font>

minky!!! I know u miss me, I miss u too thus I drag my feet here.. kekeke.

I hope to go ler but I seriously can't cfm yet.. dateline is 17July rite..

Pls pardon me for being 'shy' at the first meeting k!!

JJmom
oic.. when i'm at at mum's place she use double boiled method.. Ok then mayb i shd go buy slow cooker for my husband place.. cos i can imagine me taking a pot out.. put water then put another small urn inside to cook the porridge.. Mil sure comment why so mafan for wat.. sian hear those comments will spoil my mood one

lilian, cos i was hoping i can keep the veg a longer time like when i freeze fish.... think i'm too naive lor, maybe it's more logical to freeze cooked veg, like u do.

how long can the cooked veg be kept in freezer?

so my experiment says "cannot freeze uncooked veg"!

Enne,
But I cant afford e real massage for u ... ask ur hb to do it for u. Keke.

peanut &amp; minkybear,
Shall I not go tomorrow? U two abit scared of mi le.

alibaba,
Dun lazy .. wake up early morning on weekends and do it for Trysten. V satisfying de. Hahaz. *copy from Lilian &amp; Peanut*

Jes, my stocks usually last 2 wks.
T recommended freeze duration is 3mths.
U can wrap t fresh vege in newspaper, or cling wrap, to make them last longer.

jes,
i think u have to freeze the cook vege instead of fresh vege. cooked vege can be kept ard 2 weeks. but when u say cooked vege u mean puree right? or u mean u fried the vege then u freeze it??

and scare of u i would not hav suggested stil meet up with u even if the others can't make it -_- We stil hav to carry on with life mah.. jus b aware of hygiene.. And of cos if can find a place with better ventilation then best but if indoor its fine too la..