(2008/11) November 2008

hey mummies..just came back from NTUC, the price went up. from $20.45 to $21.45 or is it $21.90...sigh sigh..my bb goin to use xl liao, so i stock up 2 xls..damn, shld have been like snowwy!!! stock up many2 during the $20.45 promotion...hehehehee
Snowwy, thanks for the insight for the medicines...yah..guess so dats why need 2.5ml! hehe, u confirm cant make for for the birthday bash ah??

Babyzel
yah..cute right the design..hehe

Gal.dolphin
u are not alone~~~~~~~ (like michael jackson song..heheheh), cos i oso like u..im really nothing in my MIL's eyes. last time i okie2 wan but when my SIL feel like MIL dun like her and like me more, i step back..dun want any hatred goin on...so i become neutral, like i dun tok much already.

Haru
u bb used to b like mine..it was during the teething stage, she was very cranky, everything oso dun want to eat. so i nvr give up, keep giving until she eat..u noe i oso threw a lot of purees and cereal. no choice. i even change the porrdige recipe..then now she love it. She cannot go without porridge for a day!!!

Jo, how come u paste so many of the list for birthday bash, some names missing..hehe..

this is the latest yah...mummies, pls take note...dolphin.gal and babyzel were missing in some lists..

I'm already in charge of admin, no longer misc...

RE: 1 yr old birthday bash/party for Nov babies

Saturday, 5 Dec
1) alibaba
2) mummy2nia (pls confirm early so i can apply off)
3) Nut (provided no dept offsite meet)
4) jo15 (MIL birthday is somewhere ard this date, pray hard she dun celebrate on either day else jus tell her we cant make it lah. Haha.:p)
5) joyce_7580
6) Maggie
7) Joycelyn
8) Bear
9) Babyzel

Sunday, 6 Dec
1) alibaba
2) Milderina
3) Fifi
4) mummy2nia (pls confirm early so i can apply off)
5) Nut (provided no dept offsite meet)
6) ChoomamaKaren
7) jo15
8) kash
9) joyce_7580
10) Vincy
11) Maggie
12) Shortgal
13) wtan
14) Dymples
15) Happy
16) Bear
17) glad_gal
18) Lynn
19) Babyzel
20) dolphingal

Here's the committee positions. Please volunteer if u wanna help ya?

BIG BOSS - MILDY
1) Treasurer - BBZel
2) Cake - Joyce
3) Deco #1 - Bear
4) Deco #2 - Dymples
5) Deco #3 - Baby23
6) Catering - Peanut
7) Catering - Jo
8) Party bags #1 - Fifi
9) Party bags #2 - Alibaba
10) Admin - mummy2nia
11) Misc - Maggie, kash
12) Photographer - Joycelyn, wtan (maybe can g help frm 2 frens)
13) Incharge of entertainment - balloon sculptor, magician, face painters. - HAPPY

thanks for ur encouragement!! baby finally fell asleep for a nap after an hour of whining, latching, tossing in bed...+.+ i also tot my baby might be teething esp aft her fever last nite but her gums dun feel hard leh. could it still be teething phase?

babyzel,
me giving her Healthy Times barley cereal now. find it easier to mix and smells better than Happy Bellies. =>

haru..yup2..teething stage!!! dun worrie k...im still goin tru dat till my back hurts. hub massaged me last night, now much better..wat to do..hehe...

Anyone potty train bb already? Anyone getting any potty trainer? please let me know if anyone of you getting ok...thanks...PM me ho

Haru:
Any signs of teething? And how long has it been going on?

Coz there are some days Alyssa also refuses to eat or drink much. But usually only 1 day, at most 2 days at a time. After that back to normal. The only time it was prolonged was because I din change the teat of her bottle (was using the smallest one) and she sucked too hard till she had abit of abrasion at the side of her mouth.

The other thing to consider is the consistency of the cereal and the type of spoon. Alyssa refused all cereal for a few days before. Finally we managed to get the consistency she wants and we tried a few different spoons till we found the one she likes. Try all these lor.

mummy2nia,
haha, same here..been asking hubby for lotsa massages!!=P

Fif,
it has been goin on for the past 3 days already. this weekend was the most challenging. this morning i tried to make sweet potato puree a lil more "watery" and smoother and it helped a for awhile but aft that she started whining again. dun wanna end up forcing her too so end up just throw away most of the foods i prepared. so far, her gums are still the same, not swollen or hard. but i have a friend whose teeth also just erupt pretty suddenly without much symptoms..i guess only time will tell if she is really teething or just gg thru e phase. =P

shop4stuffs,
the peas i sieve, but blend also can! no problem!
for chicken stock, 1st time i made... its just using chicken bones and boil.
2nd time chicken bones + 1 big onion
3rd time chicken bones + onion + carrot
now the stock i make is chicken bones + onion + carrot + celery.... when use it to mix with bbs food it smells really good! yesterday just tried making beef stock too! same thing but with beef brisket instead of chicken bones...

vincy,
im giving my boy probiotics everyday.. i think it helps to boost immunity if im not wrong. recommended by my pd.. so far so good!

mamypoko...
think im gonna try this! ( after all the +ve reviews) gonna buy on my next trip to the supermkt
bot the huggies denim one to try and it loooks really cool!

blustar...
wah, im so going to try ur chicken stock..sounds good!! currently i use chicken bones only..dat one first time.the next round gonna try with big onion..no salt ya? btw, where did u get the probiotics? off the pharmacy shelves??

haru
yahlor...its tiring to carry her constantly.i dun have the sarong cradle..or muah/muar cos i just scared will slow down her brain development. but im used to it, just dat, once in a while need massages from hubs. If keep calling the massage lady will be ex lor

mummy2nia, yeah no salt for the chicken stock! also using the sakura chicken from ntuc cos my mum said its better.. found this info of the sakura chicken off the net...
"a supposedly healthy antibiotic-free chicken is now available at NTUC Fairprice supermarkets which is starting to gain favour.
Called Kami Sakura chicken, it's farmed in Malaysia according to Japanese farming techniques in which no antibiotics are used. The chickens are not given hormones and are supposed to be free range as well"

The probiotics brand is agedor and its called reutefene drops.. i got it from my PD so not sure if its available off the shelf( any mummies know if it is?).. but.. its diff price at different clinics! cheaper @ my frens PD so she helps me get.. abt 30 plus if i remember correctly but everyday use 5 drops can last for 1+ to 2 mths...
reading the box of the probiotics now..it says...
lactobacillus reuteri is a probiotic occuring naturally in human. Scientific studies have established that supplementation of infants with reutefene drop is able to help support gut health and immunity.
sounds good rite? haha.. thats y its quite ex! but bb has been very healthy and thats the most important

Haru:
For cereal, try adding a little bit of water before adding the milk. Smoother. For purees, try adding abit of milk. See if it helps lor.

oh ya...sounds very good...gosh..must ask my pd about this!!! thanks yah. oh yes, one more question, u put 5 drops straight on kiran's tongue or mix with water? sorry i asked so many questions..hee

and thanks for the info for the chickens..didn't noe abt sakura chicken before..

i was worried dat my chicken stock will b too plain but so far bb loves it..yeah! so now for the next chix stock, gonna put in dat big big onion..haha

mummy2nia,
I was trying to remove my msg abt MIL birdae ... did it before .. but pple posted old list again. SO I repost and remove my msg.
U, admin pls help. Hehe.

hi amooks, Jocelyn,

Re: Nan2 causes constipation
thks for the advice on the above.
Just to share, I've switched back to Nan 1 after checking with Nestle 2 nites ago, and my boy's poo is back to normal again at the right frequency. So I can safely confirm that it's the Nestle Nan Pro 2 that caused my boy to constipate and pass out hard round poo. I will slowly mix in Nan 2 with Nan 1, with just 1 or 2 scoops gradually.

As for using unpolished brown rice, I've heeded some advice to mix white rice with unpolished brown rice cos just purely on unpolished brown rice may have way too much fibre for a young baby's digestive system.

Any mummies using a slow cooker to cook porridge? I find it really useful cos don't have to keep a constant watch over the stove.

RE: 1 yr old birthday bash/party for Nov babies

Saturday, 5 Dec
1) alibaba
2) mummy2nia (pls confirm early so i can apply off)
3) Nut (provided no dept offsite meet)
4) jo15
5) joyce_7580
6) Maggie
7) Joycelyn
8) Bear
9) Babyzel

Sunday, 6 Dec
1) alibaba
2) Milderina
3) Fifi
4) mummy2nia (pls confirm early so i can apply off)
5) Nut (provided no dept offsite meet)
6) ChoomamaKaren
7) jo15
8) kash
9) joyce_7580
10) Vincy
11) Maggie
12) Shortgal
13) wtan
14) Dymples
15) Happy
16) Bear
17) glad_gal
18) Lynn
19) Babyzel
20) dolphingal

Here's the committee positions. Please volunteer if u wanna help ya?

BIG BOSS - MILDY
1) Treasurer - BBZel
2) Cake - Joyce
3) Deco #1 - Bear
4) Deco #2 - Dymples
5) Deco #3 - Baby23
6) Catering - Peanut
7) Catering - Jo
8) Party bags #1 - Fifi
9) Party bags #2 - Alibaba
10) Admin - mummy2nia
11) Misc - Maggie, kash
12) Photographer - Joycelyn, wtan (maybe can g help frm 2 frens)
13) Incharge of entertainment - balloon sculptor, magician, face painters. - HAPPY

mummy2nia, 5 drops onto spoon! don't need 2 mix with water...

feeling a bit crappy now cos bb fell off the bed AGAIN(2nd time) while i turned my head to look at my computer!! and this time he fell on the hard floor not the carpet
they really move so fast now man. can't even look away for 1 sec! arrrghh feel like a bad mummy now............

blustar
wow sounds delicious...thanks for sharing... so far i dont prepare stock separately, i throw everything in..i mean meat n porridge.... will your style

Babyzel,
I think the sale is over but they do have it occasionally, do keep a look out. I will update you mummies if i happen to know of any sale gg on.

Blustar,
Haha, my hubby was laughing that now I'm a typical auntie liao. I said "no choice, did it for your pocket" Of course it not done overnight. their promotion usually last for 3 weeks. So it done over 3 weekends.

snowy,
yesterday i went to cold storage and saw tat mamypoko gt value pull up pants.. is it gd?coz only $16.90 if i'm nt wrong.. is this the pull up pants to use?

shop4stuff,
potty trainer?wat u mean?dun really understand...
my boy is half potty train.that means he only poo in potty n nt diapers!=)tis way i can reuse his diaper and save $$.=)
hope it helps..

Mummy2nia,
I'm teying to cnfirm cos would love to meet up with the mummies in this thread but dun want to fly kite at last minute.

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Morning Mummies
</font></font>

<font color="119911">Aden woke up so many times last time and had a h-u-g-e appetite. Drank himself silly. Record breaking 1.2l. *faint* i'm so sleepy now... growth spurt? oh boy.. </font>

Vincy,
You must check if it is 250<font color="ff0000">mg</font> not <font color="ff0000">ml</font>, must know how much mg per how much ml.

If it is 250mg per 5ml, then I would suggest that you called that GP and Q him. At the same time it should also serve as a warming to him to be more precise for other baby. You are alert enough to notice that but other mummies visiting him may not be.

alibaba &amp; amooks,
We were talking abt the Ultraman waverider and its back again! Shop4stuffs jus posted the BP link.

Adensmummy - 1.2l within how many hrs, dun tell me it's 1 shot?!

Jess - my bb's having the same prob as yrs re: NAN pro 2, now still in the stage of mixing 1 &amp; 2, and after this i think i might try to switch brand. hopefully it helps

sorry to disturb but was wondering if anyone would be keen on a photoshoot from foto-u studio as David (the photographer) is gg to have a BP on it....we still need a few more ppl to kick start the BP. So take a look if u r interested. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/556344.html?1246609349

$450 album promo:

1. 8r album (16 pages).
2. 1 hr 30 min shooting.
3. return all images.
4. 35 images in album.
5. 1 x make up and hair do.

Usual price for this costs more than $800! I have been waiting for something like this for a long time liao but not enough ppl signing up so do consider this offer if u plan to take some studio pics for your little one.

Gal.dolphin,
It is not chim, it is a fact. Baby is indeed a bonus added to the marriage. Now they are young and vulnerable, they need us to take care of them, guide them the correct way and discipline them. But you got to admite that once they have reached a certain age, they will get detached from us and live their own live. (My nephew stopped wantting to follow mummy after he reached 7 yrs old, he rather stays at home for his PSP). Gals maybe more closer to parents lar. But then, the couple's partner will still be each other.

I'm a stay-at-home mum too. What's more to 2 closer aged kids, 23 month and 7 months. Works is endless. Somemore I bathed the kids twice everyday, hand wash their clothes twice everyday, cook porridege for bb, noodle for toddler, then my lunch and dinner also home cook. Everything all by myself, no helper, no maid, no MIL.

When my hubby comes back, I treat him like a KING. Yes, a king, scoop his rice, warm his soup his him. After dinner, his job is to play with the kiddo while I'll wash up. At the end of the day, I have to put the kids to bed myself cos I can never do it. I told him I dun mind being his maid since he is working hard outside to bring the bacon home. At most, it only for the next 5 yrs, 5 years later, they will even feel shy for us to carry them.

Just someting to share with mummies here:
好人原则:找一个好人,自己做一个好人。

太太定律:第一条,太太永远是对的;第二条,如果太太错了,请掺照第一条执行。

孩子定律:第一条,孩子永远是孩子,丈夫也是孩子;第二条,当丈夫引起你的不满时,请读三遍第一条。

家庭定律:第一条,除了一张双人床外,其他一切东西都可有可无;第二条,当日子过得越来越烦闷,请共同高声朗读第一条。

<font color="aa00aa">Jes
Hee in 24hrs lar.. cos usually his intake is slightly less than 1l a day..

snnowy
u conduct hse training for SAHM? you very li hai lor.. i just do hsewk and take care of 1 baby, i think i wanna faint liaoz, u still can cook 3meals at home.. *applaud*

morning mummies

blustar > yap bb are too fast now.. my boy fell to the side of the mattress yday oso. lucky ours not tat high.. on the paquet platform. abit blue black on the temper.. but he still look happy so i tink shld be ok.

recently night time he had been waking up in the middle of the night to cry, need to carry him awhile.. wondering izzit teething...

jo> u getting the float? neck float leh?

mummy2nia,
I'm using Cornell brand, it's a small slow cooker(1.5l) with High, Low and Auto function. The smallest cooker that I saw didn't come with these 3 functions and I prefer to have that so I don't hv to watch over it so closely. I just turn on HIGH first to let it boil for about 45mins, then throw in meat &amp; carrot etc, switch to AUTO to let it cook for another 45mins. Then put in vegetables later, switch to SLOW for half and hour and it's done. Total time taken probably around 2hrs.

Jes,
I think it should help. My boy's poo changed within 2 days after switching back. I was advised by Nestle that I can switch to Pro 3 after first year cos Pro 1 can be taken till baby is 1 yr old. But I think the trick is to mix it in slowly with Pro 1. As for changing brand, I'm a little hesitant cos not sure if baby can take the complete switch.

alibaba,
I'm only getting the Ultraman Waverider (cos Daddy loves Ultraman). I'm not getting neckfloat .. cos wont use for long.

Jo,
I'm getting the Ultraman waverider too!
and the liferacer thermal swimwear and neckfloat. But why neckfloat won't use for long huh? I thought can use until 2 yrs old?

<font color="0000ff">fall off bed :
my nat also fell off the bed last sat nite but it's a vy low bed &amp; i put pillow on the floor. So she is a little blur, like dunno what happen when i found her, hahaha...

waverider :
have to take note of the seat inside the waverider. my friend's bb son drop into the pool when the seat broke &amp; they din realised
So don't take for granted, must keep a constant look out on our bbs when in the pool

getting hello kitty for Nat

jo> u so fast leh! i wanna place order , can see ur post there liao. hehe...i still tinking whether to get a neck float..

morning mummies..

hee.. i didnt get full piece swim wear for my bb leh.. ;p only a swimming trunk.. for his 12th trial lesson.. is it ok ah??

JessLee,
I went Hwa Xia Swimming .. and they got different size for different age ... so I thought cant use for long. I bought liferacer swimsuit for my boy from Kiddy Palace sometime ago.

snnowy, you really can leh, i looked after my gal just over the weekend and i wanted to go crazy oredi!

adensmummy, i found that i've asked u a silly question, how can be 1.2L at one shot right?! brains not working after a tough weekend...

Jess - i've been mixing NAN 1 &amp; 2 since my gal turned 7mths (now she's 8mths) but still if i mix in more NAN 2, she will be constipated, tats why i was thinking of swtiching brand lor. but then again, almost all brands will cause constipation somehow, guess i hv to "tee-kam" to get the right brand for my gal.

snowy,
no leh..i tink u really superb!like Jess said must *applause* to u..me only got 1 bb n i cant really handle..i only cook occasionally..i wonder how u do it..plus my boy still on BF..sometimes he will latch 4 2hrs!sleeping still latching.. then once i unlatch then he wakes up!argghh...haiz..that's how i spend my time.. with him! so wondering how u can do it!!must share leh..

morning mummies..

hee.. i didnt get full piece swim wear for my bb leh.. ;p only a swimming trunk.. for his 12th trial lesson.. is it ok ah??

peanut,
I dunnoe whether I can still go for the gathering tomorrow. My colleague's niece n nephew got H1N1 flu and her niece was over her hse over e weekend. And she is at work today ... not v near her desk thou n she taking half day le. Am I safe?

Jo
i'm fine.. we stil hav to carry on wif life.. can't scare this scare tt then dun do anything. Besides u not v near her desk rite? In the meantime then u take special care of hygiene.. Wash ur hands often and dun anyhow touch mouth/eyes/nose.. For me i tink we can take an outside seat for more ventilation and use common spoon/chopsticks to pick up food.. tt will be good enough for me.. See wat maggie and minky say ba..