(2008/11) November 2008

woke up at 7am to feed baby coz boobs were leaking all over coz my last pump was at 12am..slept like thru e nite. think even i were to pump at 12am, still need to wake up one more time to pump to prevent leaky boobs.

dymples,
you are doing total latch on right? does ur baby seem satisfied after each feed? i thought it would be quite rare for ur supply to be insufficient if doing total latch on...think positive anyway ok? => i am doing e same, keep telling myself i have milk, i have milk, moo..coz even tho i only need to give EBM once a day now, i can already starting to think if i will have enough when her demand increases or when i go back to work full days in 2 months time.

Coffee and Breastmilk
Any mummies drinking coffee and bfing as well?? I am back to work last tues and started drinking coffee. Then we noticed that Jadon was superly excited on thurs and fri and sleeping so much lesser. I am thinking it could be because of my coffee intake. Tried stopping coffee over the weekends and till now, its seems like the past 2 days he is not so excited and sleeping more le. Thus I am really thinking the caffeine in the coffee is in my bm causing jadon to be so awake and excitable....he really very excited lay, keep kicking and giggling and refused to sleep!!

Bfing and mummy's diet
Do we need to really watch our diet when bfing?? I am trying to lose weight and bfing at the same time, thus am not eating much, will my bb still get enough nutrients?? I am worried that he is not getting enough from me, but he is drinking 170ml bm every 2hrs...wonder if there is sufficent nutrients inside the bm..

dymples: thanks for the advise so when can we intro fruits after we have already intro-ed cereals? When's a gd time..?

carol neo: I started drinking coffee lately, bcos very very sleepy and tired. I took only one cuppa a day, so no effect on baby...not sure if therer will be effect ob baby if take too much.

Spree scam
Did u mummies read abt it on Sat papers? Someone in this forum named 'lisa' conned other mothers $30k for so called coach bags lobang. so scary, everyone have to becareful if join sprees can only join from reputable mummies long enuff in the forum.

Haru, Dymples:
Its not printed on the outer package....not many people have heard of this type of veg so not many places sell.

Its quite a big bunch with very small leaves. A lot of work...you gotta pluck out all the leaves, soak them in water for a long time to soften them. Then you cna either stir fry with oyster sauce..(my mum cooks with sesame oil, ginger and oyster sauce and slices of pork) or i heard u can cook in soup (porkribs or ikan bilis...somehow chicken wont go so well)....or fry with eggs like omelette.

Coffee and Breastfeeding:
I'm drinking coffee everyday...1 cup a day. Once in a while...2 cups. But I dont see effect on bb so I continued. Maybe my coffee not very strong too....I put in lots of milk...latte style.

You cannot lose weight during breastfeeding! I also wanted to but everyone told me not to cos we need to provide the best. ALso bb will take from mummy so its more for yourself I heard. You dont want to suffer from any deficiency cos of your diet.

I still have 4kg to lose but i think i'll wait till after bb stop breastfeeding.

Coffee and bfing
Sigh...I am abit caffeine intolerance, so I think my bb is too!! I am only taking a cup a day cause super tired, but it seems like there is effect on my bb..**sob**

Fruche
If the bb is getting from me, then I dont mind lay..keke...as long as he is not under-nutritious. Sigh...cant wait to shed off my weight...cannot diet very sian..

Carol:
Dun worry abt losing weight. You start work le will lose de. Trust me on this. Even if you don't lose the kg, you will definitely lose the inches. The kg that you have is oso coz of the milk so next time will drop abit oso de.

Fuuche, dymples, Haru,
yes, i heard of this vege that will increase supply, think is call (ma ni chai), the ni is like milk in hokkien. Since the name is not written in the packet, u may ask the people for that vege, they sure knows whether have or not.
I ate before and it is nice when cooked in soup, u can also put 1 beaten egg in it, the soup base is best to cook with ikan bilis.

Maria,
yes, baby journal, my #1 has it too.. Nice to record down all the fist thing of your baby..

babyzel,
yes, i do heard that some bb dun flip, anyway be patient, try to put your bb tummy down and let her learn.. she may flip it one day!

Haru,
since ur last pump is at 12am, if possible, i will suggest u to wake up to pump 1 more time ard 4am, so that ur ss will increase. I heard from one PD that during the night, we produce more supply..so u may want to pump 1 more time.

Carol, Fruche,
I am drinking coffee too, but i bought de-caffinated.. Just to be safe. yes, some baby will be v. active/ cranky if u consume coffee, but moderation is the best. Try decaffinated coffee
And yes, PLS dun go on diet cause ur bb need all the nutrients..like wat fifi said, only go on diet after u stop bf..

Carol: I know how u feel but for my own health purpose, i also dont dare to diet. dun wan to hv iron deficiency lah, calcium deficiency lah....a lot of probs in future! So you must take care now too!

actually my appetite now is scary...much much more than when I was pregnant. always hungry.

Fifi: yah I didnt think of it...its true that the milk takes up some weight too hor. didnt think of that at all. feel better. can give myself 1kg leeway...hehe

Joyce: I need the caffeine tho!! recently bb cranky before sleepign at night again. so need to be awake at work.

also noticed taht my bb doesnt like to sit in the car....every evening when taking him home, he will fuss in the car. sigh.

Belly button:
Does any baby here got rash around the belly button?? dunno if its eczema....

Losing weight:

I agree with Fifi, my weight does not seem to drop since 2nd month after giving birth but i am slowly beginning to fit into some of my pre-pregnancy clothes. Of course there are still some bottoms i suspect i would never be able to fit in again given the big bum i have now

Heya mummies! Had another gd night! Zach slpt till 8am this morn.. woke up at 4am to play but aft feeding him, i left him alert in his cot. he play until he slpt by himself! so happy. no more fussing (i hope!!) *fingers cross*

Re: Solids
Like I have said, the longer u delay the intro of solids, the lesser the risk of running allergies. trust me on this cos my parents added cereal to my milk when i was abt 3 mths +. coupled with the fact that my mum is a clean freak, the chances of me getting allergies increased (too clean an env causes the bb's immune sys to battle itself).

Anyway it doesn't mean ur bb reached 4 mths means he/she is ready for solids. Your bb must be able to do the following:
1) loss of tongue-thrust reflex. this is when any unusual substance is placed on the tongue, it automatically protrudes outward rather than back. if its still present, ur bb is not ready for solids.
2)Ability to let you know she is full from a "meal" with signs such as turning away from the bottle or breast. This is important so that baby is able to self-regulate the amount of food being eaten.
3) Ability to sit up and hold head up unassisted.

So if ur bb cannot do the abv three things, he/she isn't ready for solids.

Carol, here's two links u might wanna read. http://www.kellymom.com/health/lifestyle/caffeine.html
http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/mom/index.html
For me, i have lost all my preg weight so i m worried that my body is using my reserves to make milk, eg use my calcium in my bones to make milk!

Haru, ya better if u pump one more time in the middle of the night. Some studies show that if u skip the night feeds/ pumps, ur period comes back.

Re: bbs flipping
So cute to see them flip. My boy is doing a semi flip, i.e. roll to the sides but his arm kena trap.

DYMPLES! u can take up to 9 pills a day. I tot u doing full latching? how u know if ur ss dropped then? could it be ur gal is having a growth spurt?

<font color="ff0066"> Haru &amp; Bear</font>
I feel my supply is dwindling cos BB seems to wanna feed every 3-hrly recently. Then after each feed (both sides), she still mouthing. And when I press my boobies, they are soft and no milk come out. So I scare my BM supply getting less.

<font color="ff0066"> Shop4Stuffs &amp; Blessed11</font>
No worries. Glad to share my experiences here. For fruits I will only intro after bb has experienced all the bland foods like the cereal and vegetables.

<font color="ff0066"> Re: Solids</font>
Totally agree wz Bear. Introducing solids too early can cause more harm then good. BB eating solids also does NOT guarantee tat he will sleep thru the night.

Also... remember... when introducing solids. Don't give too many variations at a time. For example, if you give carrot on Monday, you gotta continue giving juz carrot for another 3-4 days and monitor bb for allergic reaction. If nothing, then proceed to next veg.

<font color="ff0066"> Caffeine &amp; BM</font>
Yup... I read tat it's not good to take drinks wz caffeine cos it can be present in BM. This will cause bb to be fretful and cranky as their digestive system is not mature enough to handle caffeine. However, if the mommy has been taking caffeine whilst preggie, then this is not so much an issue cos bb is already used to 'digesting' caffeine whilst he was in the womb.

<font color="ff0066"> Fruche</font>
My bb's belly button there no rash. Could there be rashes cause when bb shee-shee, the pampers not wear properly and the shee-shee went to the belly button area? Then yoiu din know so din really clean the belly button area?

Dymples: yah was thinking either that or bb allergic to ru yi you (the oil u put on tummy to precent wind). cos weekend i dun put and its better. then weekdays my mum put and it came back.

fifi: the swimsuit soooooo cute. can i have anor tube of the first teeth if available? 1 blue, 1 pink? how much altogether? i think i need to top up postage too. will email u my address. transfer to your posb a/c?

who wants to order from this website???? please???
www.crazy8.com

joyce want???

dymples: u going to oz izzit???

pamela: sorry i missed your posting earlier. i didn't have confinement nanny but my friend w twins did have. u want? i PM you my h/p number, easier to communicate.

hi mummies... how is everyone? I'm back at work too... started this week...

Caffeine &amp; BM - i'm a kopi person... must drink at least 1 cup per day... i normally drink kopi-c... even during pregnancy i oso drink... my gal sleep ok.. guess she's used to it already

Fruche - my gal also have rashes ard her belly button area... then we suspect is the oil we rub on her tummy... once we stop putting the oil the rashes ok liao...

BM - not sure u all taking any supplement... i'm still taking fish oil, multi v and calicum occasionally...

BM - is there any food that we can take to "up" the nutrients in our BM? Like making it thicker or oilier..etc. I see mine like so diluted, and my bb also not putting on the weight much.

Gd afternn ladies ;)

BM &amp; Caffine - Im a kopi person too. I take kopi during preg &amp; nw bf still taking lor.

Any mummies taking papaya soup nw ?

kash,
i'll pick up t toothpastes after u collect from Bear k... No hurry. Thx

peanut,
my gal's intake still abt 500ml per day. Pigeon teat helped a bit initially but juz now she's back to her old self again. Sigh* Give up*
Gg back 2 work nxt wk, hope she dun give my mum too much trouble

Amore: COnfirm its oil liao!!! Thks for informing me!! I feel better now.

Actually one more thing...my baby also have a small white patch under his lips....looks a bit like milk stain. but cannot be cleaned off.
Anyone got same problem??

BM &amp; Caffeine
Sigh, I am not a coffee person but now go back to work really bth...guess my bb is not used to the caffeine in my bm which is why he is so hyper. Not so much cranky lar, but he is very excited and refused to sleep, which resulted in him being cranky cause of the lack of sleep. So I better laid off coffee until I stop bfing...want to die le.

BF &amp; diet
Fruche, my appetite also very scary now!! Thus I really need to control my diet, I scared I become fatter than when I am pregnant ah!!!

Fifi, ok, think I better start eating more and more healthily also...sian, cannot diet now.

hi spin,
i take fish+papaya soup every mornin. seems it does help abit in increasing the supply...

I am also taking motilium tablet prescribed by the pd to increase milk supply...does any mummies know if that will affect BM quality e.g. medicinal quantity in BM etc.

Increase Milk Supply:
I think we have to drink more to get more milk. I notice I have more also if I drink a lot and hot milo 1 hr before pumping helps too.

Brand new Pacifiers for 3-6mth Avent (Clear/Transparent)
2 in a pack.

Does anyone want the abovementioned?
Its brand new and I can let it go at $8. Bought $11.10.

My baby doesnt like pacifiers. Tried all different brands and he simply rejects. So the above 3-6 mth one is redundeant for me liao.

i suppose some of mummies having tea at gathering now? =P i happened to make it back home today before baby's feed, so i gave her the bottle EBM which i prepared for mum.struggled to feed her only 40ml, mum tried also she keep struggling. in e end i gave her my boob and she drank! until she fell asleep..haha..my mum says she know i around, so rather have e boob than bottle.

hi joyce,
thanks, i think i will just have to set alarm every nite to pump one more time. +.+ its soooo hard to get myself to wake up sometimes!!hahah..yawn..

Dymples,
maybe it could also be that ur baby is having a growth spurt? (do they still have that at this stage?)..just relax and if need be, i think its ok to latch on more often. hope it will work out for ya and ur darling!

hi mummies... any bb sleeping in sarong/yao lan now? i thinking of letting my bb sleep in it, coz he is getting more n more difficult to sleep.. ;(

Olwen,
I dun mind but my purchase won't be alot, unless other mummies wanna buy..But seems like response not so good hor..

Haru,
Maybe ur girl can smell your wei tao when u are around!
yes, sometimes i will doze off after i off my alarm.. But most of the time i just drag myself to wake up.

Fruche,
think u join SMH less than 1 year right? have to be at least 1 year member then only can post.

Liv,
did u try to pat her to sleep? If possible, try not to use yao lan, think fif had posted some info abt using yaolan b4.. must scoll up and read.

Thanks Joyce.

Liv: My bb has been trained by my parents to sleep in yaolan. At first he rejects but now he sleeps well in it. At night when i take him back, he sleeps with us on the bed. But i notice recently i have to carry him and yao yao first before putting him in bed. last time can just let him nurse and sleep at the same time. recently cannot. dunno if its cos he's too used to yaolan.

i think the shaken child syndrome wont apply to yaolan if you just do it gently. if u rock hard its definitely not good.

solid food:
so far so good. i tried baby rice cereal today. added with my breast milk. he takes lei.. he in fact like it so much that once finished he screams.. hehe.. i got an organic rice cereal from cold storage. very nice smell.. but for the solid food intake, i generally for now only give once a day and three times per week. so mostly is milk. papaya realie helps the bowel. as my son always constipated, and farts very smelly if didn pass motion for more than 2 days. he now everyday have motion. so far no allergies or any reaction on him. today just started the rice cereal, as he usually can every 3 hours for milk, no is like one and a half hour. MIL say not full even after formula milk also like that. so PD give green light to try the rice cereal.

Puttin baby to sleep:
Liv, my bb also the same, now sleep must make a big fuss even put in yao lan also cry. i discovered he like music. whenever i play music (piano soothin for babies) he stopped crying and listen till fallen asleep. it works many times so far. so can try...

breastmilk increase:
i ever read before an article say drinking oat drink or having a oat meal helps increase milk supplies..

Weight:
yeah me too.. still fat. esp the waist line. want to eat less but some how breast feeding makes u realie hungry lei.. and the nutrition for the bb i don dare to not eat well.. i guess i will diet only after bb reaches 6 mth, i will wean him off.

Lynn: Wah your bb so good, can listen to music till fall asleep!! My bb is cry cry cry until tired then will fall asleep. he also recently then become like that. Is it a stage that all bbies will go thru???

yeah, i just read the article u send me.. hmmm.. i guess i will stop feeding bb first until he reaches 6 mth.. angry.. why the stupid PD never say me to start 6 mth. he keep insistin me to give bb papaya and rice cereal. is a good thing i never listen to him say everyday rice cereal and alt days papaya.. grumble.. grumble.. i am a bad mummy. hope bb today eat the rice cereal is ok..

fruche:
maybe bb is too warm? my living room is facing the sunset, so very hot.. so i move him to our room, which is cooler.. he afterwards can sleep..

Lynn: No i on aircon everynight. in fact my parents' place hotter. i think he just wants to play.....he stops crying when i hold him upright and walk around the room. he's also overly stimulated i think. he can suddenly wake up and cry very very loudly. sigh. anyway last night slight improvement. will see how tonite.

RE: bb Sleeping
i did pat him but he wun stay still lying down.. faint.. so i have to carry him and walk ard.. he will keep crying if not eye big big lor.. he look very tired and shag but jus dun want to sleep.. have to carry and pat him ard half n hr leh... ;(

Liv, my bb have been sleeping in the yao lan since he is 2 weeks old. I dont quite believe in the shaken child syndrome as I grew up sleeping in yao lan, and so are my siblings and nieces and nephews. Just shake gently and not too hard. I asked my PD abt it, and he said that for shaken child syndrome, it will only occurs if you shake the bb too hard and for a prolong period of time. The perks of bb sleeping in yao lan is the round round head...keke...Jadon's head very round and nice lor.

Lynn, your bb so good ah...though I play music for my bb every time he sleeps, it doesnt seems to help much lay. Only in the afternoon when there is alot of movements in the house, the music kind of help to mask the sounds so that he will not be awaken. Cause he wants to play lar, thus abit of sound only he will wake up de...very light sleeper.

Carol

i tried v hard but fastest ard 30 mins... this morning took 45 mins for 350ml... how u do it in 15 ~ 20 mins? So so pei fu! But i have completely stop using the pump liao

Dymples

r u getting enuff rest? I find that if i dun zzzz enuff or well, my ss will drop. If i zzzz well, ss will be much more... try to zzz for more hours see whether help or not.

lilian,

sms u liao...collected frm bear last nite.

Carol I agree with you. I also grew up wif yaolan. Sometimes I feel the movement in the car is worse than a yaolan!

I thought I'm the only one with bb not sleeping prob...

kash: I'm interested to buy from you. how much?

Re:baby sleeping habit
i hv been "training" my baby to sleep on her own, as in w/o me carrying her or pacifier. my mum and i noticed she doesnt really need pacifier nowadays so she sorta weaned off e pacifier on her own for about a week already. now for naps at home and bedtime, i will put her on my bed with me. she will make some noise like whining away at times but in e end she will still fall asleep. for bedtime we will carry her into her cot once she falls asleep. but at my mum's place think too many distractions so my mum still gota pat her to sleep but sometimes can put her down on bed or couch and she wil continue to sleep. other times she will instantly wake up when she put her down. hahaha..

lovedogs,
me also dun leak alot now. hardly use breastpads even when i go out unless wearing a really thin bra. just need to tuck a small hankerchief in other cup when i am BF outside.

lynn,
my baby also seems to like Secret Garden's music, she fell asleep quite easily in e car with the soothing music. but gotta try a few more times to see if it really works or it just happened to be really sleepy.ha! (she hates techno music just like mama. everytime go into store with techno music can tell she not very happy,hahah)

So vex, baby has not poo poo for 2 days, so worry. Noticed that he had change, keep shouting and screaming and crying for no reason, give him milk he can't finish. Carry him also make noise. He got phelgm and we really can't do much to help him. Feeling very down.

Sigh

Fruche

i bought it at $8...price tag still there.. nvr open b4...the tape is still in tact....let me know... thanks....

blessed,

i dun think so... i leaked more with my 1st child. this time round, much lesser leakage but milk ss abt the same.

I have a qn to ask! kinda silly but nonetheless i dunno how to count.

When u say ur babies are 3mths and 15 days, do u count from the date of birth, every month? i.e. like Zach was borned on 24 Nov, when he is one mth old, shd i count 4 wks? or count on 24th Dec? get wat i mean? hahah...

cos now he is 14 wks old. shd it be 3 mths &amp; 2 wks or 3 mths and 1 wk based 24th Feb?

Carol,
I dun drink coffee but i drink coke. When i drank coke, i realised my gal very awake and won't go to sleep easily. That's when i stop my coke intake. Coke also got caffeine.

Bear,
Good for u. Can get undisturbed sleep.
Me also back to pre pregnancy weight and in fact 1-2 kg lighter than before. I'm very afraid that i'm eating into my reserve, calcium and all. Don't think i got strong bones to start with. Think i got to "up" my calcium pills..

Fruche,
Ya, when i go back to work, i drink more water and i take breakfast and i find my supply is better. Usually if i'm home, i'm so busy looking after bb that i can skip my breakfast and forget to drink.

Haru,
Better be hardworking, leaking boobs are so wasteful. I dun pump in the night as bb will wake up at 4 plus and 7 plus to feed after my last feed at 10.30pm. Once i simply got no time to pump and it stretched to 8 hrs, my boobs were so engorged and they leaked like mad. See the milk soaked breast pads made me so heart pain.

Liv,
My gal sleeps in sarong too. They fall asleep easier.

Bear,
I use lily pie tracker to track. my gal's dob is 16th Oct so she turns 5 mths on 16th march. SO Zac is 1 mth on 24th dec.