(2008/11) November 2008

similac
mummies on similac. i have those coupons for similac stage 1 (im using so not giving away), 2, 3, 4 and Mum..got 2 types 1) buy 2 free 400g (expire mar 2009) and buy 1 $2 (expire feb 2009).... got think 8 of each... so far the medical hall here sells stage 1 at 38.50 and 2 at 35.30...for 900g

let me know you want ho...i can give to you

brown rice
just go to medical hall buy those grinded brown rice for my boy to eat when he turns 4mths in few days time.... added shi4 sen2 and yang2 sheng1...coz say brown rice heaty so add yangsheng not so heaty...can add to milk or eat on its own... any mummy giving? aunt ask me grind myself but also duno how to buy/chose the yangsheng or shisen so i try this out first...1pack $9...

Maria
u wearing the eve gown or your friend? i have 1 zara black gown which i outsize liao..i can lend if dont mind coz its black satin... its tube top...1 whole dress

<font color="aa00aa">Maria</font>
I've emailed ya abt the evening gowns and scrapbooking stash that i'm letting go cheaply.. Haiz spend so much on them, but no time to do..

Minkybear:
i had the needle feeling in my breasts before and that was after my ducts were blocked for the nth time. The LC told me that the needle feeling is cos the ducts are not fully unblocked yet.

<font color="ff0066"> Re: West Side Gathering</font>
Venue: IMM (Secret Recipe/Cafe Cartel/Swensens/Coffee Club/Fish&amp;Co) - Pick your makan choice (See which restaurant gets the highest vote, ok?)
Date: 4th Mar (Wed)
Time: 2pm

1) Jenn (Mon-Thurs,2 or 3pm can?)
2) Jo - Secret Recipe ... Yummy!
3) kare2711 (oh I vote for coffee club)
4) Dymples (Coffee Club! My fav!

5) Maria (Secret Recipe too)

Any other mommies interested? Those staying in other parts of SG, if you dun mind coming all the way to IMM, feel free to come join us yah.

<font color="ff0066"> Nail Clipper</font>
I'm using those adult clippers (Manicare brand). Sharp and good. I dun like the bb clippers (Eg: Nuk) cos not sharp.

<font color="ff0066"> Shop4Stuffs</font>
Wah... who's the seller? So cruel to cheat people of their hard earned $$$. Can post the details?

Hey mummies! how's ur wkend so far? My lil' creature woke us up at 3am to play! grrrr..

Today's ST has a couple of informative articles. One is what Shop4stuff mentioned. A user in this forum named Lisa cheated fellow forummers of $40K when she started a Coach spree.

Another article is the use of Paracetamol and the increase prevalence of asthma. Research showed that babies below 6 mths that take paracetamol has 4-6x higher chances of getting asthma. However, there are loopholes in the research. My advice is not to give ur bbs any form of meds unless they are sick. I personally dun think its a gd idea to feed our kids paracetamol (fever meds) aft vaccination to prevent fever.

Last article is on sparing the rod and spoil the child. Its abt parents in UK who felt that the declining discipline levels are due to the abolishment of corporal punishment.

Oh yes i wanted to share with u guys this article but kept forgetting abt it. This was quite sometime back. Abt VapoRubs like Vicks can actually cause more harm than gd in kids below 2.

VapoRub can harm kids - ST 13 Jan 09
CHICAGO - VICKS VapoRub, a common cold remedy, can cause respiratory distress in children under 2 when inappropriately applied directly under the nose, US researchers said on Tuesday.
They said using the Procter &amp; Gamble Co product in this way can cause a young child's tiny airways to swell and fill with mucus, triggering severe breathing problems.

'The only problem we've seen is in a small child when it has been put under the nose,' Dr Bruce Rubin of Wake Forest University School of Medicine in North Carolina, said in a telephone interview.

He said the ingredients in Vicks can be irritants, causing the body to produce more mucus to protect the airway.

And since infants and young children have airways that are much narrower than those of an adult, any increase in mucus or swelling can narrow them severely.

'The company is really clear it should never go under the nose or in the nose for anybody and it shouldn't be used in children under 2,' said Dr Rubin, whose study appears in the journal Chest.

While the researchers only tested the Vicks product, he said similar products, including generic versions, could cause the same negative effects in infants and toddlers.

Dr Rubin and his colleagues began looking at use of the medication after treating an 18-month-old girl who developed respiratory distress after the salve was put under her nose.

They studied ferrets, which have an airway anatomy similar to humans. In the animals with a chest infection, the product increased mucus secretion and decreased the animal's ability to clear mucus.

'We were able to document changes that we think explain this,' Dr Rubin said.

David Bernens, a spokesman for P&amp;G, said the finding came as a surprise.

'Vicks VapoRub has been proven safe and effective through multiple clinical trials. It has been in the market for over 100 years,' he said, noting that the label says the product should not be used in children under age 2 without a doctor's advice, and not under the nose.

'We warn people not to do that,' he said.

Since the initial episode, emergency doctors at the medical center have begun asking all parents of children in respiratory distress if they used the Vicks product in a similar way and they have seen two more cases, Dr Rubin said.

'I recommend never putting Vicks in, or under, the nose of anybody - adult or child,' he said in a statement, adding that he would never use it in a child under age 2.

Dr James Mathers, president of the American College of Chest Physicians, said in a statement that parents should consult their doctor before giving any over-the-counter medication to infants and young children, particularly cough and cold medications, which can be harmful. -- REUTERS
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Tech%2Band%2BScience/Story/STIStory_325563.html

bear
so scary ley.i give para ley after vaccine and during his flu time where he got fever ley.tin the bottle already 3/4 finished liao.

n vick i used 2 ley but on his chest,not on nose.

how's ur weekend so far? hubby gota work today, so sianz. brot baby out to town for awhile just now.

Re: MIL
need to release abit here, sorry..bear with me..just now MIL called me to tell me that she has moved into their new place and somewhere in between e conversation she sorta hint to leave my baby in her care so that hubby and i can go out together on our own and so that bb will get accustomed to being with other pple other than me and my parents. this was not the issue, the issue was that she says "can just give FM lor, when you leave at our place, dun BF la so troublesome." i told her straight i will BF as long as I have milk supply. then she said but so troublesome and scared not enough nutrition for bb, must watch my diet etc..i was like the PD says BM is best lor. so dun talk nonsense if you dun noe e facts, pweeze lor..i straightaway call hubby to complain. good thing hubby says he has no intention of leaving bb with her until she is older and i can ignore about her BF comments.

the fact is that i cannot trust her with my baby. coz i know she will feed all so much water, etc...rather than my precious BM. and i just feel she does not have what it takes and the TLC that my parents can give.and my parents are full supporter of BF so i dun feel e pressure at all. in fact i get to drink papaya soup at least 3 times a week at my parents place. =P

jo: maybe he is saying "MAI.. MAI..." as in dowan. HAHAHAHA!

babyzel: wow, tt's a lot after feeding. i think i must take more fenugreek. i already taking 6 a day leh. u not back to work yet?

dymples: yup, identical triplets. her biggest one at birth was even smaller than my luke. i hear already so scary. cried so many buckets when i first saw luke. cannot imagine baby smaller than him.

Just went to PD to let bb take the 6 in 1 jab for the second time and the second dose of the rotavirus. PD say can start to feed fruit, advise me to give papaya. cant wait to feed him.

Cheaters:
So scary. Read the threads, a lot of pp kena cheated. Must be real careful esp if there is money transaction involved. yeah, if it was me, i will also report to police.. terrible.

Medicine:
PD usually advise to give a dose of the fever medicine after his jab lei..yeah i also read b4 about the vicks thing...

Nail clipper:
I use the baby scissor from pigeon brand. last time we got the pigeon nail clipper, i found a bit too sharp and when i cut baby nail, i clip on his skin causing it to bleed. very scary, i even try it twice.. also bleed. until now i got phobia of cutting his nail. now cutting nails we use the baby scissor cause the blade is round, and my HB do it loi. i very scare to hurt bb.

Waterbaby:
No prob.

Bear:
I oso dun agree to give paracentamol to baby to prevent fever. If have fever then give lah. No fever why need to give unncessary medicine + so hard to give lor.

Olwen:
You so bad lah... want to make me spend more money. Haha.

Re: Coach Spree that got problem
Moral of the story, dun anyhow join spree, esp if the organiser is new. This is also why I start my own sprees and dun anyhow trust others. And also why I dun anyhow allow pple to join my sprees. Heehee.

Shopforstuffs,
I got a respond from a mummy in woodlands. Am waiting for her pic and then see how. She offering $30 7.5/10.

Olwen,
I'm back to work liao. I pump about 4-5 times per day. I'm taking 6 pills daily, think it helps me. I ate quite a bit of jin zhen gu (golden mushrooms) cooked in soup and soup cooked with yellow beans and ikan bilis. those are said to improved milk supply. Try them. : ) Dun take mint hor, will decreased milk supply. Good luck!

Fifi,
We trust you, so u got spree can jio us. Hehe...
I better be careful when joining sprees next time. So scary.

Blessed11
her nick is this "ShopInUS (fromuswithlove)" but no use la coz she can come back with another nick lo...scaly shes here too haha... but i guess just be careful with big item lo..i meant big as in $...for me, i trust no 1 lo..even gd orgainiser who has been organising coz you wont know when they got into financial prob and also just like what we say abt maid...being tempted if $ is in front ...so will the organiser lo, i guess...so its really up to individual's risk attitude lo...

i very free, read quite a lot of the scam thread...think theres a lot of query to it and ppl jus order blindly lo...anyway, we just have to be careful lo...small amt ok lo..like last time when i ask if any mummy 1 2 join 2gether 2 get the medela pump,fifi told me amt is not small so doubt mummy will join..from then i learn lo..so now i really know wat fifi meant...hehe..fifi, thanks for your guidance else i might be one of the victims 2

babyzel
great, happy for you....i also just deal with 1 mummybut $40 la...say condition 8.5 to 9...green 1...very happy coz initially tot boy can sit yesterday when the 1st seller give me false hope lo...yeh yahoo....

if you dont want that piece, let me know, i continue to post for you in my thread to ask for another 1 incase some seller came into my thread again okie..

lynn
i also use the pigeon lo..and its true u wont cut the skin lo compared to the clipper lo...but i duno how to cut fully with scissor lo...sad
so i just go to be careful lo..did you cut when hes sleeping? easier and safer

spree
last time i also tempted to order from Polo spree, then i also ask if any 1 here 1 2 join me..ended up no respond..so i try order my own lo coz i have a usa account ma...but coz order not alot so ask ppl to join me lo..so in the end i order a few more lo just to make the shipment more worthwhile hehe...and in the end im so happy with all my purchases..bought many shirts for my hubby and got myself a bag as diaper bag...so i dont join overspree lo...coz usually waiting time is long ..i only buy from ready stock...so if it will not take long for item to arrive and easier to conclude kana cheated or not hehe...KS la me

pamela
looks like nobody else 1 2 buy ley..so only 3 bottles ley...unless fifi can help us to ship together with her drugstore and babymall shipement lo..but on 2nd tots, tin once our bb grow up liao, they will know how to hold bottle liao ley..so we still 1 2 make them lazy lazy????

Lynn
Ya lo, pd give 1 should b okie rite...ppl spend so much money to study ley...specialise in bb 1 ley...if gp then mayb la but pd ley....mum &amp; aunt ask me whether i 1 2 listen to some1 who spend so much in studies or nanny....my cousin bring bb to gp, gp no give para coz say bb dun take medicine, no good. aunt (son is a doctor) say coz gp not specialise in bb so they duno so they dun dare to give to play safe. anyway i gave liao coz he got fever then lo...else it develop into sometin else lucky worse lo...so ibetter dun go tin else later i will be very guilty ley

Hi Fifi,

First Teeth Toothpaste
1. Vincy x 1 (w/o brush)
2. Jo15 x 1 (w/o brush)
3. Fruche x 1
4. Joyce_7580 x 2 (Without brush)
5. Yoyosan x 2 (with brush)
6. dmk x 2 (if possible, at least 1 w/brush. if not, with or without brush is ok w/me)
7. Olwen x 1 (with brush)
8. Glad x 1 (with brush)
9. kare2711 x 1 (with or without brush also can)

Thks!

lynn,
same here! e first time i cut my baby's nails i accidentally cut her skin and it wouldnt stop bleeding end up i panick and rushed her to hospital. by e time reach there, bleeding stop and doc says nothing serious..but my heart so pain lor, to see the bleeding.

babyzel,
ur supply is really good now! i am only pumping twice a day on work days and once a day on weekends. i am eatin lots but not very healthily coz normally ta pau hawker food. occasionally i'll have home cooked lunch when i go pick my baby up from home. other than that, its all outside food.sigh..

Fifi,
You are right.. i think also maybe its my menses that's affecting supply. pumping output back to normal. I soooo love the convenience. Damn shiok! hahahhaha.. btw can the lanisoh bags be used with the freestyle or must I pump into the bottle then pour into the bag?!?

Shop4stuff
Ya, getting 2. Not buying for myself cos when i am arnd bb, i usually just latch. M buying for my friend who is giving birth to twins cos i think it'd reaaaally help her!! hahaha

Hi Fifi,

First Teeth Toothpaste
1. Vincy x 1 (w/o brush)
2. Jo15 x 1 (w/o brush)
3. Fruche x 1
4. Joyce_7580 x 2 (Without brush)
5. Yoyosan x 2 (with brush)
6. dmk x 2 (if possible, at least 1 w/brush. if not, with or without brush is ok w/me)
7. Olwen x 1 (with brush)
8. Glad x 1 (with brush)
9. kare2711 x 1 (with or without brush also can)
10. Pamela x 1 (with brush)

Haru,
Ur mil or ur parents don't cook? Or u stay far away from them? My mil taking care of my bb and she cook everyday so i'm lucky to have home cooked food whenever i go fetch my bb home. But i dun eat there everyday cos sometimes i work late. I try to eat at least 3 times per week lor. She knows i bfing so she will surely make soup and steam fish for me. If i tabao i always eat fish soup as much as possible. I do eat fast food at times too.
Try to make some soup for urself lah. Simple simple type then drink hot drinks more often. : )

Luckily ur gal is alright, got to be extremely careful with nail cutting.

Hey Mummies, good morning!
I had a bad day yesterday, my bb had a cold in the morning. My elder one suddenly complained of pain at his private area in the afternoon then I have high fever due to my inflamed throat

<font color="0000ff">Olwen</font>
Thanks for yr sms, I will let U know again when I can come.

<font color="0000ff">Kash</font>
Ya indeed the cost of having a raising up children are very high esp in S'pore.. cos we will want the best for our young.

<font color="0000ff">Bear</font>
Thanks for sharing what U read on the papers.

Is your sore eyes better?

<font color="0000ff">Haru</font>
I missed your post. Could have recommended U to a very good Hand Surgeon at SGH. Is your wrist better now?

<font color="0000ff">Pamela</font>
I will email soon when my scanner is repaired ok. sorry..

<font color="0000ff">Pneumoccocal jab</font>
My elder one had his two doses just before I sent him to childcare. it's very ex cos only Wethyn is providing it.

<font color="0000ff">Circumcision for boys</font>
I'm considering it for my elder one cos his penile is inflamed, the Dr had suggested it yesterday.

I had wanted to do it earlier but in my busyness, I forgotten.

Mummies, any comments on this?
http://kidshealth.org/parent/system/surgical/circumcision.html

<font color="0000ff">Re: West Side Gathering</font>
Sorry I can't join cos I start work tmr.

<font color="0000ff">Nail cutting</font>
I'm using scissors still cos I find I can control better. Do it in a brightly-lit place when bb is asleep or get some one to do it when bb is being bottle fed.

Re: West Side Gathering
Venue: IMM (Secret Recipe/Cafe Cartel/Swensens/Coffee Club/Fish&amp;Co) - Pick your makan choice (See which restaurant gets the highest vote, ok?)

1) Jenn (choose Secret Recipe.. nv been to coffee club)
2) Jo - Secret Recipe ... Yummy!
4) Dymples (Coffee Club! My fav!)

So can we fix it on this coming wed at Secret Recipe?? If so, who's bringing baby along so we can consolidate the number of adults and babies =)

bluebear, our whole family is down with flu and sore throat virus spreading ard?? hopefully will get well soon.. u too!

Jenn
Thanks for your concern

Yes and no.. thanks be to God, is just me down with sore throat and fever. BB is having cold but better today already. My elder son's pain also subsided. My hubby handled his two boys last night, while I slept at 8pm.

Re: West Side Gathering
Venue: IMM (Secret Recipe - 3 votes/Coffee Club - 2 votes)

1) Jenn (choose Secret Recipe.. nv been to coffee club)
2) Jo - 2 adults (no pram)
4) Dymples (Coffee Club! My fav!)

Karen &amp; Dymples,
Are u okay with secret recipe?

Afternoon mummies

RE: Nail cutting
Haru, Lynn >> I had phobia in trimming baby's nail cause i accidentally cut my #1's skin for 2 times during his first few mths.. So now i left this job to my hubby.. And pls note that is best to cut while they are sleeping.. I kaypoh and cut while he is wide awake.. So heartpain and regret!

babyzel,
nice mother in law u have.. Will specially steam fish and cook soup for u! Must treasure hor.. hehe

haru,
u shd watch out for your diet esp u r bf.. Cause what we eat goes into our breastmilk.. But occasinally can snack here n there a bit.

Olwen,
nice clothing ya.. Not sure who can organise this spree. On sale item looks nice too