(2008/11) November 2008

hello mummies, hope everyone has a great weekend!

Agreed, it is so good to have hubby around during weekend to help out. Don't feel so lonely too ...

Had a busy weekend. Went for a house visit and a baby full month party. And as i brought bb back to my aunt place, they volunteered to take care of her and asked the two of us to go spend some time alone together. Am so touched. So me and hubby ended up having coffee at McDonald. Though only for 2 hours, but it is good time spend alone together. Have not done that since i gave birth.

Bear, me did consider teaching some years back. But don't think i suitable. Very soft spoken and people always said i may be bullied by kids.

Fifi, can i sell you the latex liner? I stay at AMK. But maybe can arrange to collect during lunch time at Novena? (think you husband works at KK?)

Lynn, i also have childcare prob like you. I stayed with my MIL. B4 i gave birth she hinted tt she cannot take care of the bb for us. She is very good as she helps to do the laundry for us. However, sometimes i feel very sad that she seems to be very reluctant to take care of bb for us for awhile if we needs to be away. She always suggested us to bring bb out. And in one occasion when my aunt came to visit me and jokingly said bring back for one day, she said,"yes, bring back and help look after. Then bring back on Fri every week. Your still young can help to take care la. I old le, cannot take care." I feel very surprised when she said this.

But i also not so comfy putting at infantcare ... see how la.

I am also taking Fenugreek. But suppy not consistent. Sometimes good sometimes pathetic. I noticed if i rest more then have more suppy ...

alibaba: Is there any one at home with the maid taking care of your baby? cause now am considering letting my maid take care. is she a filipino or an indo?

flipping: my son now is trying to turn. so cant put him alone in the cot.

toys: i want to buy some toys for my son who is 15 weeks. my MIL say is a waste of money. did you ladies got any toys for your babies.

Hello! I wrote a post this morning then laptop hung! grrrr...

I am back to work today! so happy.. i feel so freeeee!! nv miss my boy at all :p

Olwen, stop calling me guru bear lah!! damn paiseh..

Alibaba, why cannot bring ur bb out to the beach? my hb used to bring my boy to the beach every morning when i was on maternity leave. dun care windy or wat, just bring lor. nothing happened to my bb wat.. we bring a blanket to cover his legs. the more u bring ur bb out the better they are with new env and ppl. Eh, why dun u ask hb to slp on the floor? then u can share ur bed with ur bb!

Kash, my avent bottle nv leaked before.. not even once. but we don't screw it tight at all. hrmm...

Joyce, ur ss damn gd man.. i m pumping 1L a day nia.. slowly cannot meet my boy's demand liao. he is taking 140ml per 3 hrs at 11 wks. sigh.. i m pumping 4hrly now, at 160ml.. think give another 3 wks, my ss will match exactly wat he needs.

fifi,
yah, ur right.. rather maid good to bb else bb dont want her.. my work will be affected after tat...

lynn,
my maid is from philippines. my mil is not working but she still goes out oftenly.. so bb is alone with maid most of the time..

jynnsann,
sama sama feeling... sometimes when i carry him.. bb see my maid. he smile at her lor.. i really v scare lor.. so at times when i'm at hme whole day, i carry bb to my room to nap on my bed. u know wat. when my maid heard bb whine, she came in & check.. fainted..

kystel:isnt it so sad that when we are desperate to find our close ones to take care of our baby, they refused and yet is their grandson. I very upset loi.. she can say no choice, give the maid look after. no good also have to trust her. I tell my husband, your mom don seems to love her grandson. some more first one and my husband is the eldest. I sometimes see her at home, reallie feel irritated. I feel so sorry for my boy. so poor thing...

infant care: my son sleep in the yao lan one. need ppl to sing and rock him till he sleeps. he very pampered. don know if i have spolit him. i don think the infant care will rock him till he sleeps. they surely let him cry himself to sleep. guess only maid will do that. no choice am setting up a webcam and let the maid know. at least she knows got such thing will not try to do any thing funny.

lynn, dont be sad. Nowadays parents dont wan take care of their grandchildren de.. my mil even no work oso dun want to help take care lor.. so i employed a maid to take care.. i rather find help myself den ask pple for help..

i did have a cam to check on her & bb when i'm outside.. ^_^ when i miss my bb i oso see the cam... hehe..

bear> ask my hb slp on the floor.. so pathetic leh.. he always work so late. den come back still cannot slp comfortably... see how bah..

lynn, FYI, I have been to a few infant care.. for infants they do rock them to sleep in a rocker before putting them in the cot de.. I have registered my gal to infant care starting April.. I will face difficulty liao coz my gal dun have yao lan and I dun rock her to sleep de.. and no pacifier for her, so the teachers are going to have a hard time liao as i intend to continue not letting her use rocker or pacifier even in the infant care..

alibaba: now hear you like that say.. i feel more at ease.. mine also filipino. and has two kids alr. u at first let the maid take care, u have no worries?

jynnsann: i think no need to jealous about it. that means the maid is doing a good job in taking care of baby. at least a peace of mind. i rather my boy likes her.

sleeping: my boy sleep in the room with us. he sleep in the cot. but he need to be rock in the yao lan till he knock off then can sleep in the cot. but strangely, only afternoon he has to sleep in the yao lan. night time in the cot. i ever try carrying and rocking baby to bed, but with weight heavier and heavier. i bought a yao lan. can try it helps alot.

fenugreek: how many pills do you usually take. mine bottle down there write 620mg. is that too much. i have taken 2 pills twice a day. but i didn see much improvement in my milk.

Babyzel> ya, over the week, my boy is finally drinking more!
120ml every 4hr, still less than what he should in a day but i'm happy that he's drinking!

Happy> ya, my boy also flipped sides 2 weeks ago. so scary! cant leave him alone on the bed liao.

Joyce> wah lau! ur ss so good ah? sigh... how i envy u! so diligent. i dun have the patience leh....

kash> i already have leaking AVENT bottles before, coz i screwed it too tight. after i read about AVENT bottles, i didnt screwed as tight and it's perfectly ok. when u screw the cap, it does have a tightened gap, dun screwed after that gap.

krystel:
Ok. I work at Novena area so lunch time is fine.

Bear:
Dun worry, you continue pumping regularly then when your baby needs more, you will produce more.

Lynn:
If got a good maid, I rather have a maid look after than MIL. Our parents/parents-in-laws sometimes have very old fashioned/stubborn ways of doing things. And its hard for you to tell them to change.

Lynn, i can understand your feeling. I do not expect my MIL to look after my bb. Cos she may feel tired easily and juz wan to focus on the house work. But i am disappointed tt she kept hinting abt not wanting to take care of bb. She will help to carry, rock and feed bb but we can't let bb stays at home if we hv something to attend to. Quite helpless sometimes. When she plays with bb, sometimes i can't help but have a "funny" kind of feeling. Yup, i also feel sorry for my girl ...

Your MIL can help to jaga maid? I think at least not so bad if got people at home...

Lynn, every maid is different.i guess in ur case there is no choice although i rather send to infant care than let my maid take care for the time being. cos infantcare is professional but of cos there are horror stories. don't worry abt rocking and such, u shd go and visit some of them and see if u are comfy with them. must do homework.

Alibaba, if u dun want ur hb to slp on the floor then u slp lah! wahahaha... its really up to u. if u want ur bb to be close to u then u really gotta make some sacrifice.

Krystel, Lynn, my MIL probs is totally different from u. My MIL can't decide wat she wants to do! initially she requested for a maid aft helping me for one day. Now the maid is here, she don't feel comfortable and wants us to fire the maid!!! so fickle minded! then she one day wants to come over to my plc to take care of the bb, one day want us to go over to her plc. Very hard for us cos we have to rush like mad if we go over her plc! she still can say own ppl cannot be flexible meh? How can be flexible? Hb and I need to work, cannot she happy then change our schedule. She nv give prior warning one.. that very morning then she will call us to tell us if she wants to come over or for us to go over. aft many shouting matches then she finally decided that we go over better. Sigh.. i can go on and on abt my MIL!!!

Fifi, how abt tmr's lunch time at Novena Square (in front of Long John)? Will get hubby to pass to you. What time is convenient for you?

bear> bb cannot slp with hb la. my hb slp like pig wait he punch bb he oso duno!! den bb slp with me on the floor ah! hahaha... see see how how bah. ur mil -> no fight sia.. she has no idea of wat she wan ??? quite fustrating leh.. my mil from beginning haven preggie, she aready said she prefer working den staying at home..

krystel: we purposely hire a maid for her. all she has to do is to watch the maid. but still she refuse. don understand her.. talk about her my fumes is up again.

talk about it,bear. i can also talk forever about my MIL.

Alibaba: I will go do research. but leaving the maid alone at home. i scare her up to no good. hai.. all my MIL fault. if not for her want or don want, i will not hire maid in the first place

Alibaba,
My boy sleeps with me at night. On the same bed. He usually sleeps at the side and i will put a pillow beside him to prevent him from falling off the bed. If you wanna put your baby in the centre, it is better to put a pillow between your baby and your hb. My hb almost hit my boy when i put him in the centre. One of my male friend also elbow his daughter once in the middle of the night.

amooks,
wow. 120ml/4hr is a great achievement since the last time you mentioned abt bb's drinking. How you do that? Bcos of the FM and BM issue? Is he on total FM now? Or the change in teat or wat?
Do share wif the "Fussy Baby Club" members.

Bringing bb out:
I hear my old folks say that if we bring bb out for walk constantly, ie everyday, when the time comes, they will fuss cos they will want to go out walk walk. Anyone faces this?
Cos i have cut down on bringing bb out for morning walks.. dun wan to develop the habit.

Playing wif bb:
Mummies, do you have to stay wif bbs every minute that bb is awake? I think my gal needs me or someone to play wif her when she's awake. Dunno if we have spoil her, cos there is someone to play wif her since young. Mummies, are your bbs like dat? Cos quite tiring, esp if no one else is at home and i have to entertain her every min.

hi all the mummies, v glad that u gals welcome me the late comer to the spree... thx thx.....

been reading some of your posting especially on the caregiver after we return to work.... i'm feeling v vexed cos i'm returning to work next week and the infant care ctr that i'm placing my boy with, suay suay kenna HFMD...it happened before CNY and now still one or 2 bb still kenna till i dare not put him there...wonder will it be safe for me to place him there next week...sob..sob...

trying to look for a nanny but actually i prefer infant care ctr cos the teachers are more well trained and their duty is solely to look after bb... the only setback is the virus breakout, if any....

<font color="ff0066"> Happy</font>,
Can pls email me the pics for the gathering? My email is - [email protected]. Thks lots.

<font color="ff0066"> Beco Carrier</font>
Juz wondering if any mommies interested to order. Ocs I'm thinking of doing a private mini spree. Pls PM me if keen as I am seldom able to log-in to forum. Thks.

<font color="ff0066"> Enne</font>
Stay strong and pls take care. I'm constantly praying for BB L's smooth and fast recovery.

<font color="ff0066"> All Newbies</font>
kao_welcome2.gif
to this wonderful family. Though I'm a mommy of 3 gals, I'm constantly learning more new things from all the great mommies here. Happy chatting wz us.

<font color="ff0066"> Maids</font>
Aiyoh... I read all the postings till scared of the antics that these maids can come up wz man. Haiz... dun they know lots of them are being given-up by families? Even my maid agency called to tell me that they hv lots of 'transfer' maids and nobody wants. So many end up being send back to their home country. But these maids we hv... really "buay zai si" (read in hokkien). *faintz*

<font color="ff0066"> Mummy</font>,
I'm using the Pupsik pouch but my bb dun seem to like being in it leh. So selling mine off at berry cheap price juz to clear it away. sigh... now thinking of getting the Beco Carrier.

<font color="ff0066"> Bear</font>
You're really Guru Bear leh... cos you r so knowledgeable in all bb related stuffs. Me always loads from you. hehehhehe....

Wow!! So lucky... you can enjoy a nice relxing 'time-out' at Botanical Gardens. I also want... but when I tink of the mayhem 2 adults, 3 kids and 1 dog can cause... i quickly give up the idea. *lol*

<font color="ff0066"> Haru</font>
I also like hub being home on weekends. Then he can help to settle my 2 older gals and bring them for their various lessons. Aiyohz... the amount of noise 1 tornado and 1 hurricane can make... scary siah.... Pity my poor neighbours cos on top that chaos, they also have to put up with my constant yelling. *lol*

<font color="ff0066"> TV</font>
Alamak!! I also using the TV as my nanny leh. Especially in the morning cos I gotta rush to get myself and my #1 ready for school. *pengz* But my BB berry cute lor. She will look at the TV for 5-10mins. Then after tat she will ownself turn away and suck on her thumb. When she's bored, she will turn back to face the TV again. hahahahah...

<font color="ff0066"> NUK Teats</font>
Tink my bb is the opposite from most bb's here leh. She does not like the NUK teats cos it 'collapses' when she sucks vigorously. Then she will end up crying and finally reject the bottle altogether. Recently, hv tried introducing her to bottle again... but this time I use those normal pigeon teats. And... she likes those teats. Can finish her milk in 10-mins lor.

Bear, i used to envy those people who have relatives to look after the bb. But seems like we all hv our own problem. Your MIL like this also made it quite difficult for your.

Lynn, mabe your MIL still prefer to hv freedom so dun wan to jaga maid as well... hope your maid can do a good job. Or your MIL finally "xin luan" can help a bit ...

Fifi, okie 1245 pm at Novena Square in front of Long John. Will ask hubby to pass to you. Will PM you my hp number as well. Is $10 ok with you? Or you can let me know the price that you are comfortable with.

Dymples, my bb also does not like NUK teats. She also prefer Pigeon teats...

fifi
wow your bb knows how to flip already, (now 14wks+) mine not yet ley. yours starting producing sound already? mine started when hes about 2mth+...

<font color="ff0066"> yoyosan</font>
Since Jan this year, I've set a rough routine as fllws for weekdays:
1030 - kong kong will 'pop' by to help me jagar bb whilst I get myself n #1 ready
1130 - bb's bath time
1200 - bring jie-jie downstairs to wait for school bus
1230 - go out to shops to grab some makan.

Nowadays, by 1030, when kong kong does not come... she will like start to look out for him. By 1130 if not yet bathe her, she will start to whimper. Most funny is... come 1200 when time to send jie-jie downstairs, she will cry if I hv not put her into the stroller yet. The best part yet to come... when she sees daddy at home in the morning... it's like she knows that it's the weekend and therefore the schedule is diff liaoz.

As for playing wz bb, my gals likes hv attention. But she's also able to 'entertain' herself either in her pram or rocker for about 10-15mins. Guess cos I've trained her from birth by leaving her alone for short periods of time. But of cos... I'm around and able to check on her. When she starts to whimper, I will coax her via talking to her soothingly first. Only when she is starting to bawl then I will carry her.

<font color="ff0066"> Krystel</font>
*Hi-5 leh* hehehheeheh...

Mummyzeal
If you wanna get the BECO carrier, lemme know.. I am tempted also after seeing fifi using the carrier during our outing! it looks so comfortable and pretty! hehhe.. I think if we buy more than one can try to ask for a discount?!

Shop4stuff
My company was looking for sales exec in Dec. Let me check if they still have openings. But meantime, you can try writing in to these companies: Pfizer, Eli Lilly, Novartis, Roche, Sanofi-Aventis, Abbott, MSD. The starting pay for fresh grads sales execs are $2500 + $1000 tpt allowance.

Insurance
I am going to get Prushield A Premier. it is a hospitalisation &amp; surgery plan. The basic plan is $131. Am also looking at a savings plan (save for her uni education next time) and a life insurance.

Caregiver:
My MIL also didn't want to take care of my baby. We asked her many times when i was still pregnant and she kept hemming and hawing but didn't want to give us an answer. Finally, 2 weeks before i gave birth, i told her very seriously that i needed to know to make plans and that's when she said 'no, i don't think i can handle'

But now that i've got my mum to take care of my baby, my MIL seems a little 'jealous'. At the beginning, each time she saw me, she would as me if i was serious in getting my mum to look after my baby. She would also always talk about how she would have taken care of my baby instead so it makes me wonder if she's indirectly critising the way my mum and i have been caring for the baby.

Some Mothers in law are just so difficult to fathom...

Yoyosan> I have stopped BM coz he was rejecting BM badly. Now on total ENFALAC. i also learnt baby massage from chinese sinseh. seems like baby also likes massage. I massage on the arms and tummy. going to learn more end of the week.

Also, i was told to dress bb warmer. maybe that's why he sleeps well better and drinks better.

How's ur baby's drinking? better? u bring him for walks? Elders told me not to bring bb out too often before they turn 4 mths old. Since my bb is so fussy, I also dun feel like bringing him out too often.

gd morning mummies...

beco carriers
can bb sit inside facing the front? cos i tink my boy like to see the front better wor..

last night i fed bb his last feed @10pm . he slp after tat... And i tried to burp him awhile..and out of sudden.. he gimme me a v sad look (eye closing)... &amp; sob sob sob.. aiyo.. machiam we bully him.. i sayang sayang him no use.. put him on his bed pat pat him no use oso.. aiyo.. see liao soo saddening.. wanna cry oso.. my maid carry him pat pat him no use... my mother in law told us not to pat him.. bb tot we beating him... she take over rock him awhile den ok de... anyone experience tis before??? izzit.... he got "ham bim" (hokkien:bad dreams)

gd morning mummies

My boy oso flipped liao at wk 13.5.. n now he can even lift his head high up liao.. n now at nite when he sleep, he will even tends to flipped over n sleep on his stomach..

cutiemum- my gal oso the same. can lift up her head now. nwdays when she wakes up, she will lift up her head n turn ard. my gal tends to flip during her zz. my gal is opp frm your son. we put her zz on her tummy, then she flips to zz on her back. hee

hello spin,
yday different lor. cos he aready aslp &amp; out of sudden he sob sob til v cham.. different from his normal cry for milk or attention type.. pat him no use. so mil rock him awhile.. guess he got nightmare...

<font color="ff0066"> Mummy &amp; Pamela</font>,
You've got mail...
2143510.gif

<font color="ff0066"> alibaba</font>,
Bb cannot face out in the Beco Carrier. This is because they believe that if bb faces out and they have too much stimulation, bb is not able to 'escape' by turning away.

Pls refer to this webby link below for details:
http://cozybabies.com.sg/?cat=1

<font color="ff0066"> Spin &amp; Cutiemum</font>
Wah seh... your bb's can flip liaoz. Last time my older gals only flipped when they were abt 4-5 mths leh.

Tink I really need to keep an eye on bb liaoz. Cos nowadays, she tends to arch her back and push herself upwards especially when she's crying for attention. *faintz*

shop4stuffs:
No my baby has yet to flip totally. Yes, she has a large vocabulary of sounds.

Waterbaby:
I think your MIL is jealous coz the baby would be closer to your mum since she is the one looking after the baby. Just give her more opportunity to bond with your baby and then maybe she would be ok. For me, my MIL comes over sometimes in the weekday afternoons to play with my daughter. She will just call my home and arrange the timing with my maid. This way, she won't feel jealous of my parents. My own parents already have more opportunity to bond with my daughter as I live near them and we often bring her out together during weekends. When they are on leave, they will also come over to my place to play with my daughter. Both sides would try not to criticise the way my daughter is looked after as I retain full authority over that and I set my maid as the main caregiver when I am not around. She is experienced as she has her own kids in Phil &amp; also helped to look after her sis kids previously in Phil. Even when my parents/MIL are there, my maid has the authority over the care my daughter receives (i.e. feeding/bathing, etc). They are allowed to give suggestions though and if reasonable, I will ask my maid will follow or my maid will suggest that I follow.

Amooks:
My daughter goes for walks every day. Sometimes even twice a day. Weekends, I bring her out quite a lot. I find going out makes her easier to manage. When she has sufficient gai gai, sufficient sleep, sufficient feeding, she can even stay in her cot/rocker and play on her own for a long time (can be as long as 1 hr even). Sometimes she can even sleep on her own.

Alibaba:
For Beco, baby cannot face front. Always facing parent. Can carry in front and behind (piggy back).

On Sat, my maid carried my baby to sleep. After that, she put in the cot. Suddenly she woke up crying. I realise she poo quite a lot so want to change her. Whilst changing, she still cry a lot &amp; very upset. Dunno is bad dream or the poo or both. But after changing, i hug her tightly. Her face look so sad and she sob sob sob. Then I slowly hug her to sleep then she's ok.

Dymples
Hiya... read that u are selling your Pupsik Pouch? I just joined the spree and paid last nite! If I had read ur posting earlier I wld have buy it from you... cos also not 100% sure if my baby likes to be in it.

Wat size did u buy? I bot Size 1.

Alibaba- so sad.. maybe really ur son gt bad dreams.

Dymples- same here lor. my elder gal started to flip when she was 4mth. Im suprised tt my little one so fast flip

Good Morning!

Kash,
Yeah lor, dunno wat happened to the Advent bottles nowadays leh. My elder girl is using advent i also got the same problem, must screw until very tight then can.

lynn,
my bb lor, also reject bottle though all along ad hoc she got take bottle. it took mi a week of feeding before now she takes it but each time only 90 ml lor......and lynn my bb when latch also will b satisfy by 1 side only leh, dun need to take the 2nd one.

<font color="ff0066"> sunshinekid</font>
Alamak! Wat a pity... Initially I bot size 1, but BB din like it. I tot maybe is cos she's feels too squashed. Then I bot size 2, but too big and bb became 'lost' in pouch. So now selling off pouches.

<font color="ff0066"> Spin</font>
hehehe... guess our bb's now develope faster compared to their older siblings?
So amazing that they can flip so fast lor. Who knows, they may even start crawling earlier.

<font color="ff0066"> Mastitis</font>
Haiz... got blocked duct again. This time it's below the aerola on my right breast. So painful. Then last night I was so feverish... body and limbs all went really soft. No strength even to carry bb. Took some panadol liaoz. Now feeling slightly better. Fever has gone off but my body still feels unwell.

<font color="ff0066"> alibaba</font>,
Interested to join the mini private spree I'm doing for the Beco Carrier?

<font color="ff0066"> Beco Carrier</font>,
Any other mommies interested? I've contacted the supplier about getting bulk discount. Now waiting for reply. Pls PM me if you're keen yah.

hi mummies: quick one during my lunch break.

babyzel: my pump lever was spoilt. other than tt the pump works just fine. actually now i regret changing it. suction like not as strong as previously. i was already used to the speed before i sent for repair.

fifi: i think becos my 1st yr warr just expired 1 yr ago. good thing abt avent is the 2 yr warr. 1st yr is total replacement w new pump, no qns asked.

v curious abt fifi's beco carrier, anybody took a pix of her carrying alyssa?

bear: ok, no guru. how abt bear-ipedia???

back to work.

Re : Avent Bottles

dunno how u all do it leh, these 2 days, no matter what we tried, everytime also leaked...this morning before i try to feed, i screwed and test whether will leak, repeated 5 times.... leaked from 160ml to 140ml
in the end, i transfer to BFree bottle to feed...think i will not use avent bottles to feed anymore as keep wasting my EBM

alibaba

i am using baby bjorn carrier...it can face front as well as back. my baby prefers to face outwards... i used it for my gal last time too...

thanks so much for all your advice about increasing BM supply. after reading all ur advice, i have decided to be a lil more hardworking and pump after latching if i am at home. in fact, i sterilized my pump again after expressing just now so that i can pump later at mum's place after feeding baby. but wil throw e EBM away later coz i dun have any more sterilized bottles. at least at mum's place she can help to look after baby while i pump. really wonder how much i can still pump out after latchin baby both sides.. really hope this plus the fenugreek and papaya soup (taking at least 3 times a week) will help boost supply. kept complaining to hubby that if i were a SAHM i would just latch all e way and forget about pumping.=P

lovedogs,
think maybe just switch to other bottles then. just use ur avent for storing ur EBM.

haru

yes am now considering to buy more BPA free pigeon bottles then use avent purely to store. Actually my purpose is hoping not so much pour here pour there... keep transferring means i will have a lot of bottles to wash
*sob sob*

spin

i m quite worried when he sleep on hi tummy, will tend to wake up very often at to check on him n flip him back. Hb told me it safe cos he knows how to lift his head n turn side way, but dunno y, i m still worried..

Spin/Dymples

last time my #1 oso flipped when he is 2.5mths, but not as 'active' as his brother now who will flip whenever got the chance..