(2008/11) November 2008

Fruche & Pinkdolphin, welcome to the thread! i'm quite new here too..

alibaba, my bibi also loves the tv! whenever i feed her, she will turn her head to watch tv... so i hav to "twist" her face so i can bf her. signz! thanks goodness she doesnt respond to the tv yet.....

Fruche, Pinkldolphin, Lynn,
Welcome..

Enne,
Jia You.. We will pray for your bb..

Babyzel,
Can you send me the photo also? Hai, start work liao can't join the gathering.

Olwen,
Just join the other dept first and try to look for better offer.

So sian. Just went back to work after CNY, my new HOD announce the restructuring of our dept. A lot of new duties. My office also started their retrenchment exercise. They have retrenched the admin staff and want our team to cover their duties.
My manager also passed over a lot of additional work cos my stupid HOD go around the company and offer take over other dept duties and pass it to us. Just like a vaccuum cleaner... All the people in the dept was affected by the extra duties. Sian.. Really regret to go back so early.

And colleagues also told me that there are no bonuses and increment this year. Sad...

Mummy Zeal
I've got a pupsik carrier size 2 but as it's not adjustable, i find it more difficult to put bb in the pouch. Probably with more practice it will be easier. Got to make sure bb not struggling or in angry mood if not it's really tough to put them in. It's less painful as there's no rings to obstruct.
I'm using MIM sling more often. Initially couldn't figure out how to use but after repeated viewing of the instruction video and practice, i find it easier to sling bb due to the adjustable buckle. However the sling needs to be constantly tighten as it tends to slip out. Got to make sure the 2 rings does not rest on collar bone if not it's painful to wear the sling.
I got my beco for $190 as i bought it together with my sis so got discount. It's more comfortable as bb's weight is spread out evenly and bb is always in upright position.It's easy to use.
Just my personal feedback. Hope it helps.

Bibi,
Okie. Pls PM me ur email add. Thanks

fenugreek: I have just started taking the pills recently as i noticed a drop in my milk supply. How effective is the pill? I heard that the pills can cause the urine to smell like maple syrup and will cause the ants to come. is that true? how fast can the fenugreek increase the milk supply?

Bear: the most upsetting part is my MIL stay with us! she agreed in the first place to quit her job and help us. now all the sudden backed up till now I am so lost. and the most irritating part is I get to see her everyday at home.

hi pink dolphin! we here follow our "leader" guru Bear

hello all other newbies! too many to keep track now.

happy, babyzel: me too! me too!

pls let me see the pix too. happy has my email, babyzel, i PM u.

joyce, happy, Bear: ya, the doc is damn stupid. i won't go there again.

babyzel: i also got a new pump set. the best part is the 1st year warr actually over but they can't repair it quickly & dowan give me loan set so they give me a brand new one.
no wonder phillips products so expensive. all these hidden costs.

bibi: haiz, told u it was a lousy week, yah? nvm, we go amoy next week & have avocado milk to comfort ourselves.

Fruche:
Yah mine also like that. Wants to be carried at all times. If she's carried, she's an angel. Else...

I took Fenugreek in the 2nd-3rd month. Combined with very frequent latching+pumping. There is some effect even though I only took 2 and not that consistent. Now, I produce 300ml excess a day. Its a herbal supplement. You can google it to read more about it.

Zeal:
For all baby carriers, the babies tend not to like it at first. My baby stuggled and cried nonstop the first time too. But soon she got used to it and is comfortable. But I think the Mothercare at Harbourfront is having the Synergy on display. My friend said that is not good.

Anyway, I feel the Beco is good. Can try go for it.

Olwen, Babyzel:
Wah you mean they replaced it for you FOC? Wahhhh.

tv
Okay, think my girl is like Bear. Weird. She doesn't like the tv at all. If she watches, it won't be more than 10 minutes before she makes noise. And she doesn't like animated shows. She prefers looking at real life shows because i think she likes to look at faces. Geez, is there something wrong with her?!

Lynn,
I took fenugreek for about 1 mth plus then i see the increase (used to take only 3 pills/day) and fifi is right, must continue with pumping n latching to increase ss.

Olwen,
Which part of your pump spoilt? At least u had it for more than a yr then got problem. Mine only use slightly more than a mth then faulty. Lucky for u to get a new piece.

Fifi,
I got the avent uno pump. They say cannot repair so they gave me a brand new one on the spot and with the adaptor FOC.

so sad that the weekend has come to an end..i love it when i get to spend e weekend with baby and hubby..its so nice to have hubby around to help out.

any mummies had durian since givin birth??=P hubby says he feels like havin some but not sure if the durian will affect the BM and cause baby to get hyper,haha..since durian is loaded with sugar!

babyzel, fifi, thanks for the feedback on carriers. think i will try the beco and let my baby get used to it.

haru, totally feel the same! my hubby just "flew" off on biz trip.. so sad.. will be alone with bibi for a wk.
its nice to hav hubby to help out. but i lucky my parents still keep my room intact haha.. they help me at bibi in the evenings.

Durian - had some last mth.. was ok, no effect on bibi.
my folks say durian is gd for post natal, dunno true or not tho.

haru,
r u alone with bb most of t time on wkdays?
I can't do tat.. i'll go crazy. Now my gal spend most of her wkdays at my mum's hse.

hello
gd morning mummies
weekend always end so fast...

mummyzeal,
i have size 2 pupsik pouch too.. due to it's fitted to ur size.. bb now aready couldnt slp in it liao. as in his whole body & head into the pouch.. space pretty constraint.. cannot make adjustment.. but still can carry him on it.. now with his head out of the pouch.. Agreed with babyzel, need bb to be in good mood den will be easier to put him otherwise he wouldnt wan at all.. but a few times i tried on him.. he slp within 1min.. v cute..

i am tinking to get another type of sling or pouch. any recommendation? tat can be used for the guys too.. or else always we carry.. one day our back will break sia..

Durian>
toking about it.. i been craving for it after delivery. til now i have yet eat it... is it too heaty to take? cos BF

durian
Oooh I did eat wor. Long time ago. During confinement even. Heh heh. And it's provided by my mum who's my confinement supervisor so should be ok ba.

Baby's First toothpaste
Hmm, is the spree still on? Can I order a couple?

Fifi & Fruche,
My baby also wants to be carried all the time too so it was very stressful for me during CNY visiting esp to my MIL & Grand MIL's place. Everytime we visit them, they will make comments like 'your baby is used to being carried, bad habit...blah blah blah'. They expect my baby will fall asleep on her own immediately by putting her on the bed so when they saw me rocking my baby in arms to sleep, they will say i've spoiled her etc etc. It's very stressful because they always make comments like when they used to take care of babies, their babies always drink milk and then immediately sleep, not like my baby, need to be rocked to sleep and sleep only a few hours in the day and needs people to talk to her.

WaterBaby,
I went thru t same thing as u during CNY!
So stressful. They dun understand tat all babies r different, they can't b treated t same way.
Baby was cranky coz she is v tired, but they keep saying baby is hungry why i nvr feed her! Piangz

Karen:
Sorry I placed order liaoz.

Waterbaby, Lilian:
Yah. My aunt and grandma also said its coz we spoilt her from the start. But they never say its bad lah. My grandma juz joke with my maid that she everyday carry like that and rock, she will slim down. Haha.

Lilian, Fifi:
My MIL also always asks if i don't have enough milk so she's not full and that's why the baby cannot fall asleep easily. She kept insisting that if the baby is full, then the baby will fall asleep by putting her on the bed without any coaxing. Very tiring to keep explaining to them that every baby is different.

And they keep asking why my baby wants people to talk to her, babies should just feed and sleep. When i explained that the books also encourage us to talk to our babies to help them learn speech patterns etc etc, they say it's too troublesome and it will make looking after the baby a tiring task!

nowadays bb are different from last time! we adult wanna talk or go out.. bb too wat.. they oso human being.. we bring them out or talk to them often is beneficial to them.. see outside world & can socialise to pple easily. will not be afraid of strangers as well.. when we go out, we tends to carry them more. cos we're afraid he kanna scared.. it's so noisy .. how do they expect bb to slp in peace??

bear> wah. pinic sound nice oh.. i wanna go to the beach with bb. but scare too windy.. haha. guess mus wait til he is at least 8 or 10mth old bah..

Mildy,
dun worry too much, ur gal will sure drink more when she is hungry. Enjoy your trip!

Babyzel,
instead of feeding ur gal 2hourly, try to stretch to 2.5hourly.. Then increase from 100ml to 120ml.. Try and see whether it works.

Amooks,
so now your bb willing to drink already? How much is your baby taking now?

Alibaba,
who take care of ur bb? your mil?

joyce,
my maid take care of bb most of the time. MIL is at home sometimes. once she found a job, she will go work. but usually her working hours are v early morn til late afternoon.. btw anyone bb slp with ur on the same bed?? bb now slping with maid on his cot.. but i v scared he will be v close with the maid. Hence now tinking to bring him to slp with us during the weekends... but no space to put up his cot in my room leh. haiz.

alibaba,
ic..So your maid can handle your bb well which is good. haha, u scared that bb will be very close to maid since she take care of your bb most of the time. Hmm, most of the experts dun recommend bb to sleep with us on the same bed.. Why not u move your bb cot to ur room? or there is no space to place ur bb cot?

alibaba:
i agree with you, talking to the babies, spending time playing with them will help them tolearn and grow faster. Bringing them out also prevents them from becoming very fretful babies who cry a lot when met with strangers. My challenge is how to explain these to the older folks...

Re avent bottles

so fedup wif them kept leaking!! all my precious BM! last nite hb fed think leaked almost 60ml to 70ml! this morning i fed whole bib wet wif BM too... we can rescrew many times still like that

Kash,
why not u change to other teats and try out?
hehe, i am also expressing ard 1.4l of bm everyday.. but wanted to stretch out my pumping time cos dun want so much, very tiring..

joyce

not from the teat leh... from the cap
wow 1.4l is alot! i now only pump 4 times or max 5 times a day... overnight i stretch for 8 hrs to 9 hours... hence, ss dropped but i really cannot be so hardworking... need my zzz...even day time... its hard coz i have so many things to do and my #1 is driving me up the wall
dunno how to manage terrible 2 leh....

alibaif u have anoyther spare room, why not let ur bb sleeps by himself..put a baby monitor. Suggest not to let bb zzz together with maid. Althou end of the day they know who is mummy but they may everything run to maid instead of u in the future... very sad to a mummy when such things happened. this happened to my old schoolmate as she let her maid take care of her 2 kids. both want maid more than her

me too suffered such comments from my own mom. am breastfeeding my son, and feeding him on demand. she say that my son is like on opium, no drink he will be restless. Keep asking to feed him formula.

kash,
oic. I understand how terrible ur gal is cause my boy also in the terrible 2 stage. He will scream when he doesn't get things he want. But u must be patient to her and i m sure she will listen to u.

anyone babies refuse the bottle all the sudden? my boy refuse the formula i give him. He used to have it few weeks ago, now he will keep crying the moment i put the bottle in his mouth. I try starving him, but he is realie very stubborn. He can go hungry for more than 5 hours, end up I have to give in the breast. feel very helpless I will need to go back to work soon.

lilian,
my baby is at my parent's place in e morning on weekdays and i pick her up after working half days. but normally i stay at parents place til about 3pm then go back home. => hubby is normally home by 8 or 9pm as he likes to bath her. after her bath, she automatically knows its bedtime and sleeps all e way till about 4 or 5am.

lovedogs,
how come ur bottle keeps leaking? i have not had any probs so far..hmm..maybe should check with Avent?

Joyce and Fifi,
you mummies have so much supply! but i can't complain also since i only pump twice a day. =P e rest of the time i am just latching (both sides). just increased intake of fenugreek, will monitor if its helps. last nite i managed to pump 110ml after several weeks of a mere 60ml of EBM. but today pumped only 70ml at work. will see how it goes e next few days..

Afternoon mummies!
Had a bad morning to start off today. Woken up by the painful block duct.Try to clear it for more than an hr.In the end, decide to wake my boy up and latch on.Finally no more cakey lump but dun knw why still so painful when touch.I even had a milk blister now
*sob sob*

Kash,joyce,
Haiz.. my terrible 2 ended but with terrible 3s nw!
I talked to some of my frens,and majority of us think girls are more diff to handle during this stage.Boy are tend to be more guai ley.Cos girl more 'tay' and demanding. Got 'xiao jie' temper!

Re: flipping
Think our bb are trying to flip now.So dun leave bb unattended on the bed even for a second!
This morning i almost freak out!
My boy had a loud scream while i was in the toilet.He flipped!His hand gt strucked and he screamed.Lucky he onli flipped once and was protected with pillows around him.
My gal onli flipped at almost 5mths old. Din expected him to flip now!

haru,
I think the main reason that i have so much ss is due to i pump every 3hourly at the beginning, then follow by 4hourly and now abt 5hourly. And also i really empty my breast as much as i can for every pump(squeeze till no milk come out. But i hv to say it is damn tiring for me and now i really want to stretch out to 5,6 hourly.. can't stand every time with average of 4hour of sleep per stretch. If u really want to increase your ss, pump out after your baby latch, i am sure there is some more milk left..

kash/Joyce
only have one room for bb. Hence maid slp in the same room with bb.. we were not allow to let maid slp in the living room according to MOM law leh..
& also my room has no extra space for his cot tat's y HEADACHE lor... really scared tat he will be more close with the maid than me -_- wait everyting he find aunty not Mummy.. sob sob..

Lynn,
my baby has been on 2 FM feeds everynight since she was born and i latch her on during the day. But recently she has started to refuse the formula/bottle feeds at night and insists on latching on. If i refuse to latch her on and keep sticking the bottle into her mouth, she'll cry very loudly. I always give up in the end as she will wake her daddy up and i always feel very bad that he doesn't get enough sleep since he has to work during the day. But i am getting worried now as i will be returning to work next monday and if she refuses the bottle, i don't know how my mum is going to feed her when i'm not around. Headache.

happy,
Think ur blocked ducts have clear, but sometimes the pain will only go off after a day or 2.

I thought there is only terrible 2 stage? Still hv terrible 3! headache liao..

Tnks for highlighting about the flipping.. Think i must let maid know too cos bb change very fast..

Joyce, ur 1day SS is equal to my almost 2day SS sia.. u are really hardworking sia..

kash, regarding the cap leaking is v common wor. i tink there's a technique on how to close the cap.. cannot over tightened.. i remember jo did send quiry to AVENTS to check on tis.

happy, ur boy can flip liao ah.. tat's fast. mus keep an eye of him liao.. oso need to lower his cot too.. scary.

alibaba, haru

i have 12 avent bottles in used now....all will leak at times very pek chek..its like a "say" if u get it correct...wont leak..if sala, will keep leaking so pek chek loh... i dun have the problem with pigeon bottles. But i only have 3 pigeon ones...others all avent and BFree... bfree i nvr use coz super lazy to wash the internal parts.

joyce,

i nvr latch at all..only pure pumping and now only 4 times a day. i really feel like giving up coz no time. damn bz esp if i need to go out. imagine when we get home, cannot settle down to pump coz have to settle #1 and #2... I have to cook #1 meals and feed her and etc... so settling #1 is 1st priority loh...got spare time then can try to pump.

Re : terrible 2 / 3.

i dunno how patient i can be. Brought her for a haircut yday, she screamed and cried and refused to sit in the toy car to watch barney. I tried to carry her...but when they try to let her wear the cover, she made a big fuss and struggled so badly. In the end, only managed to cut her fringe. Every passerby stopped outside the shop to see what happened as she screamed and cried so loud. juz 2 mths ago i brought her to junior league to have her haircut, she quai quai sat on the chair to watch barney and had her whole head trimmed.... cannot imagine in 2 mths time she changed so much. I wonder when I send her to CC in April, will she change for the better?

happy,

my colleague has 2 sons... his elder 1 nvr experience terrible 2 or 3. His 2nd son is now going through terrible 2. so i guess boys also sama sama...juz whether they go through the phase or not. Heard some toddlers will not experience it..so envious hor....

wow! 3mths flip is very early! my #1 only flipped at 4th mth.... hope my #2 wont flip till then or later...else cannot leave him unattended for long liao

joyce,
aiyo..pain onli go off aft a day?
I din had such a problem b4.Normally after clearing the duct,the pain goes off too.
Now i scare of milking time.

alibaba,
I dun tink my boy can flip now.
He jus had a luck to flip himself after several pushes,which he had been doing for the past few days.
But i will keep a closer eye on him incase he relli flips steadily.

alibaba

can try to re-arrange ur bedroom to fit the cot? sometimes hor we need to make some own sacrifice. see whether can shift some furniture and fit in the cot or not.... yes if everything ur boy next time will run to ur maid, i tell u, sure very hurtful leh...

Alibaba,
My room also no space for a cot and the cot is in bb's room but i don't dare to let her sleep on her own cos i'm afraid if she cry for help, i can't hear her from my room. So now she's co sleeping with me on the same bed. Sometimes she will sleep in the sarong next to the bed.

Joyce,
Heard diff versions of co-sleeping as well but i will move her out of the bed when she's slightly older like 6 mths?

Haru,
I'm latching both sides, but sometimes she can only finish one breast then i pump out the other.

Happy,
Ya got to be really careful. I left my gal in the cot while i went to bathe just now. She kicked her way till her head already hit the cot and hand got caught. Got to put the protectors for the cot liao. Wonder what stunt they gonna put up next.

kash,
Be prepared that she will still behave the same even after attending CC.
I tout my gal will change for the better after attending CC.BUT.... she still the same!
Just tat i use 'teacher' to threaten her when she fuss non stop. She is scare of teachers and behave VERY well at sch.I realli cant believe when teacher told me tat she will guai guai self feed herself and do everything teacher tell her to.But once home,she is a terror!

Re: haircut
My gal behave jus like wat you have mention during haircut.Once i brought her to junior league at vivo for a trim too.She screamed and fussed till many ppl crowded and watched her.So paisey.....Machiam i ill treating my daughter!
Ever since tat incident,we trim her hair when she is sleeping!

Haru:
have you tried green papaya soup? My BM supply was low too and i tried the soup and it helps. NOw, everyday i'm taking fenugreek, drinking nursing tea and 2x a week i'll drink the soup. My supply is still not fantastic but it has improved much since the time before i started the soup.

Hope it helps you

babyzel/kash>
rearrange is quite impossible. my queen size bed is on a platform.. & oso becos of all the build in cabinets & study table.. "bo wee liao"... even if we really resorted to sarong i oso afraid he might banged against the wall! or else i will get floor mattress,bb slp on the bed with me & hb slp on the floor mattress.. quite pathetic for my hb leh. like no solution at all.. if bb slp in between, i scare hb will hit bb when slping... fainted..

alibaba,
my determination was strong, that's why.. But it is kinda tiring

Kash,
i understand. B4 my grandma come, i was so busy, hv to cook for #1, feed him cos maid hv to feed #2 and also hv to bath #2 and hv to pump.. really got not much time to do pumping. But since my grandma stay with us, i am so happy cos she will cook for #1 and also cook for us lunch n dinner, really appreciate her help.

kash/happy,
why most of the children hates hair cut? mine also, will scream and cry when bringing him for hair cut, also went to junior league, cry and cut at the same time.. Then after that, my hubby will trim his fringe when he is zzz, same as happy.. But hor, trim/cut their hair while they are sleeping turn out not balance wan.. My boy's fringe was so funny after being trim by his dad.

Babyzel,
ya, have pros n cons. But when bb sleep with us on the same bed, we must be really careful . But if we are damn tired, normally we wont be able to care so much and afraid that might hurt the bb.. Then next time u will also have a hard time asking her to sleep herself cos she already used to sleep with both of u and on your bed.

haru: I read from an internet say oat helps to increase the milk production. u can take those instant oatmeal or oat drink.

my baby is so funny, he usually satisfied with just one side of my breast. but i will try to let him have a suckly on my right side of my breast. but everytime he drink my right side, he make a funny face that seems that the milk is rather unpleasant, and he can drink like he is vomitting. what wrong? doesnt both side of the breast taste the same?

Waterbaby:
My grandma and aunt will not say I dun have enough milk coz they know I have excess stock in my freezer. Furthermore, they know what I have in my freezer is contingency stock as i give my daughter fresh ones (expressed the previous day) each day.

Luckily my aunt has young kids too (looked after by my grandma) so they are abit more modern in their thinking. The only concern they have is that since my daughter needs to be carried and rocked to sleep, it would be increasingly difficult as she gets heavier. That's why they say we made it a habit from the start already that's why like that. They ask me to try to train her to be pat to sleep instead, i.e. instead of carry, we stay with them (lie or sit) and pat till they sleep lor. A little less tiring.

Yes, talking to babies (esp if you talk to them as though as they understand) is very good. My family, including my maid who is the main caregiver, does that and we find my daughter seems to respond well.

Alibaba:
My baby sleeps in her cot in my room at nights. However, when she fuss, I do let her sleep with me for parts of the night. In fact, if she doesn't fall asleep easily, I will sleep with her till she is sound asleep before moving her to her cot. I believe my daughter will be close to my maid as my maid carries her to sleep and also looks after her all day. I'll just try to bring her out more so that she will still be close to me. I also try to take care of her myself in the nights & i insist on carrying on breastfeeding by direct latching when I am at home (although it throws my whole pumping schedule haywire on weekends). So now, she seems to still know I am her mummy coz she will keep staring at me when I am in sight. She also smiles at me.

Its give and take lor. Good maid who care for baby well, chances of baby going to maid and not you are higher. But you work in peace. Bad maid, baby will want you but you cannot work in peace. I choose the former also.

Kash:
No lah. Less than that coz I latch direct when I am at home. I express about 700+ml a day and she drinks abt 360ml a day from bottles when I am at work. My supply also less liaoz coz I stretch out my pumping. Pump before work after latching, twice at work and once before I sleep. I dun wake up in the middle of the night to pump le & my daughter sleeps till 6am before needing her feed liaoz.

Haru:
My supply was hiked up coz that time I had blocks and blisters so had to latch and pump very often. I pump after each latch and at 2.5-3hrs interval then. I din take fenugreek then. Took a bit only (2 a day for abt a week) after I cleared the blocks and blisters coz i scared work will decrease supply and also coz I used cabbage when I had to clear the blocks. Now I stop taking again coz my freezer no space. So if you want to hike up your supply, I suggest you pump after latching... do this for a week and I think your supply will be higher after that.

Happy:
If you kneed too much, you may still feel pain for a while. But ensure there is no more blocks coz that is a common cause for pain.

Re: Flipping
My daughter haven learn to flup but knows how to kick the sides of the cot. Nowadays at nights or in the morning, when she needs me, she wont cry already. She will just kick the side of the cot. Heehee. But I always wonder... like that kick not pain meh? But she seems to like kicking.

Baby close to maid:
To be frank, my baby is sleeping with my maid and most of the time they are together. Now sometime i can tell that baby is very happy to see her, he will smile @ her when she come close to him. Hb is confident that baby will recognize who is his parents at the end of the day and when i told him my concern, he said that i think too much. We tried to spend as much time with baby as possible. It is indeed very heartbroken if baby rather select the maid than their own mummies. Hope it won't happen to us