(2008/11) November 2008

Happy Niu Year! Been busy and haven't had the time to log in. So much post to catch up now.

CC
My baby was also crying a bit during the visiting on the 1st day. Could be due to the noise and the attention on her. Most relatives are eager and tried to carry her but my bb dun like to be carried so she cried and cried. On 2nd day she's much better cos i make sure she sleeps and feeds enough before visits.

Brown Rice Cereal,
So excited and also scare at the same time. Not sure how to go abt introducing semi solids. Guess got to learn from experienced mummies during our gathering. My bb is already 3 and half mths. Think can start soon liao.

Mousemouse,
I used both nepia and mamy poko. Nepia cannot hold much urine, got to change every 3 hours or so if not will leak/backflow. So i stopped using that. Poo poo wise, didn't encounter any problem.
Mamy poko is working well for me, no leakage so far. Maybe u didn't put it on well for ur bb?

Sabre,
I'm using Mamy poko and rushing to finish all the s size cos it's getting tight for my gal at the thighs too.. bought too much during sale. She's 6kg or more now. Still got 1 pack of 72 pieces and another newly opened one.. Need to finish them fast before moving to m size. Wow, ur boy same weight as my gal and going to use "L" size? Must see ur boy boy. Hehe.

Lilian,
I'm giving my bb pacifier too but only give when trying to make her sleep. Sometimes she dun want it, depends on her mood.

Kash,
Me bringing bb. Can't bear to leave her with my MIL while i go out enjoy.

Date : 3rd Feb(Tues)
Time : 2pm
Exact Spot : Starbucks

1) kash & bb (any dates, any location as long as it is in town)
2) Joyce alone (any dates)
3) Sabre & bb
4) kare2711 & bb (10th Feb)
5) Babyzel & bb(any dates)
6) Mummyzeal & bb (any dates, prefer Vivo)
7) Brocoli alone
8) Amooks alone
9) Bear alone (prefers 3rd or 5th, any location)
10)haru & bb (prefers 3rd, Vivo)
11) Happy & bb
12) Vincy (prefer 3 ot 5, 10 start work liao
13) jenn & bb(5th, any location)
14) minkybear alone w/o baby (all dates are ok with me.
15) Pam & maybe bb (all locations, all dates ok)
16) alibaba (3rd Feb)
17) bluebear & bb (any day ok)

Alibaba,
You stay in sembawang also right? I'm taking cab, u want me to tom pang u?

Selling 35 Pcs of Drypers S and new Pack of Opened 44 Pcs Huggies Ultra S, my baby outgrown the S size.

Selling the above for only $13, pls self-collect at Yishun near OCC.

Please email bladers<at>hotmail.com or PM.

Happy,
I think should be food war. Is it normal??? She reduced her milk intake to only 3 times a day with 120ml each time and some bisuits. Rice or porridge is definitely a no-no. If we are lucky, still can push 1-2 mouths in during advertisement. Other than that she is screaming murder. I keep telling myself to keep cool. But it realli getting the limit lol.

snnowy,
How long has it lasts? Did you check if she is teething? If nt,then realli food war lo.
Some kids will go thru this phrase for sometime.I did some research previously when my gal having the same problem.
I have the same concern like you.And gets very worried and frustrated when she rejects everything.During that period,my gal can go without any solid food and just milk for 1 week!Like wat you mention,milk intake dropped as well.
You got to tell yourself tat this is jus a phrase and will outgrown one day.Just gt to keep cool and WAIT!
At this period,you cannt force them to eat.Just try to let them eat wat they wan,like bread biscuit and even yougurts.Just gt to intro those table food slowly.Even one mouth of rice/noodles is good enff.
My gal's food war lasts for almost 3mths.I gt so worried and seek doc's advise.But they cant do anything too.He mentioned that as long as they are active and still growing well,is ok.There are times,she is so active that i dun knw where exactly she gt the enegry from.
As long as they have 2 slices of bread a day,is equivalent to their required carbo needs daily.

RE 3rd Feb outing
I might be able to join, will comfirm later.

RE Cyberjaya
My hubby going there for 2 mths next week. We are thinking of bringing bb there but not sure if that plc is convenient or not. Anyone familiar with this plc in KL?

Hello all! Happy New Year to all of u.. me very very busy!

Re: CNY visiting
Zach loved it sooo much.. he is one curious creature and will crane his neck to look around. nv cry, nv fuss.. he doesn't slp at other ppl's plc but would slp in the carseat. So that 2 nights he slpt very well, last feed at 9.15pm and lasted till 5.30am!

Re: pacifier vs thumb
Lilian, i guess just use watever means and methods u need to calm ur bb. if can go without then better still. i once heard one mummy said that giving pacifier shows the parents are lazy cos they can't be bothered to soothe the bb!!! i guess that mummy had a very easy bb to look aft cos she will nv understand how stressful it is to face a screaming bb.

Re: solids
Eh, not trying to dampen ur enthusiasm abt feeding semi-solids but try not to feed early. in fact the later u introduce semi solids/ solids, the better it is. Studies have shown that early introduction of solids causes babies to have higher tendencies of developing allergies. this is becos the digestive system of the bb isn't mature enough, hence food isn't digested totally and the body don't recognise the partially undigested food as food. instead the body thinks it is a foreign object and will active the immune system to fight it leading to allergies. although PDs said that we can intro solids at 4 mths, i will only intro it to my boy at 20 wks at the earliest. If you guys have allergies, all the more u shd delay introducing solids cos ur bbs have a higher chance of being more sensitive to stuff.

Date : 3rd Feb(Tues)
Time : 2pm
Exact Spot : Starbucks

1) kash &amp; bb (any dates, any location as long as it is in town)
2) Joyce alone (any dates)
3) Sabre &amp; bb
4) kare2711 &amp; bb (10th Feb)
5) Babyzel (w or w/o bb)(any dates)
6) Mummyzeal &amp; bb (any dates, prefer Vivo)
7) Brocoli alone
8) Amooks alone
9) Bear alone (prefers 3rd or 5th, any location)
10)haru &amp; bb (prefers 3rd, Vivo)
11) Happy &amp; bb
12) Vincy (prefer 3 ot 5, 10 start work liao
13) jenn &amp; bb(5th, any location)
14) minkybear alone w/o baby (all dates are ok with me.
15) Pam &amp; maybe bb (all locations, all dates ok)
16) alibaba (3rd Feb)
17) bluebear &amp; bb (any day ok)

Mousemouse, i am using Go On and Huggies. Sometimes experience backflow too. Tried Huggies Dry think it does help to contain the poo. However, urine might leak from back as the neat fit is not very absorbent. So far like Go On best think it is very absorbent. But price increases le, by $2 per pack! Sign ...

mousemouse,
i had that prob few times too. once when i was nursing her outside!! felt warm warm feeling on my pants, lucky i wore black..hahah..so far still find pampers least likely to leak. also coz BF-ed baby poo poo tends to be more runny..

brocoli,
my baby seems to enjoy watchin tv too!! oh dear..hahah..she was cryin yesterday and i couldnt calm her down. so i just put her on couch awhile and she stopped and started watchin tv...hope it does not become a habit.dun want her to become tv addict!=P sms me when you are at service this sunday ok??

snowwy,
yup, i started giving her one bottle feed bout 2 weeks before returning to work. initially she didnt really take to it and leak alot.now she is ok and no leak!am using avent.

bluebear

off course u are not too late! looking forward to the gathering

happy,

there is also "terrible 3" leh... hiaz

snnowy, happy

my gal experienced the "food war" phase once already...think abt a few mths back. She refused rice and porridge totally...only wants bread and biscuits...even milk intake dropped. That lasted for abt 2 weeks. Then now again... but we still try to "force" her to eat at least half a bowl of porridge or rice. Milk intake recently also dropped. Her last feed she ever drank 420ml of gain IQ before for a period of time leh... now 300ml also refused to finish. I turned on her DVD to distract her while feeding... very gek sim.

as for seperation anxiety i think not so much. For the last 2 days, she said very loud and clearly to us "dun wan baby!!!"...and wanna hit her brother. IN fact, while i was feeding bb yday, she insisted I carry her.... when i didn't..told her to wait until bb finished the milk, she grabbed his stomach! oh dear... red red leh... she also used toys to throw at her brother. I did try to ask her to help throw bb's diapers or pass bb's stuff to daddy etc...she will say "dun wan". Her favourite words now are "dun wan"...everything also dun wan until I told her off...coz i can't take it anymore. I told her if she keeps throwing tantrums I "dun wan tessa" anymore. I nkow i shdn't do that...but really cannot tahan her. Never ever peaceful in the house when she is around... think she will cry or scream all the time. si bei pek chek! we told her many times that bb cannot walk, cannot crawl, whlie she can etc...but useless leh...when she wants something she wants it immediately and start screaming or crying....

Happy

oh dear food war for 3 mths? her weight gain how during that period?

vincy

i am now trying to go without maid after having a chat wif hb last nite... will try to see how it goes... but definitely need to have part time maid loh... my reason also that i feel so "restricted" and "uneasy" when i have a maid living in my house... not relax at all leh...

kash,
there is terrible 3?? then hw long it going to lasts again! haiz....

During tat war period,her wt did nt drop.Jus maintain as it is coz she takes milk,bread and biscuits.And at times,i feed her healthy times cereal with food jar.Wat she want,i jus give lo.No choice.

Same same lo... my gal fav word is 'dun want' too.Anything to do with bb is 'dun want...'.

There's once i gt so angry,i told her tat i will giv didi away if she hits/kick didi.And my 'threaten' became true one day by asking my bro to bring my bb to his hse for a few hrs.After tat incident,she is abit more behave.Now,when i warned her,she will think twice and wont hit him.

snnowy,kash,
Hw much milk your elder gals taking nw?
I nv give 300ml of milk to her b4.The most 240ml nia.Is it too little??

Happy NIU year...
think most of us will be returning to work soon... me going back on 9 feb...sob sob.. i will missed my bb.

hi kash,
wanted to join u all on 3feb... but i hate to bring my maid along...

hi fifi,
when is the closing date for KidSurplus spree? can email me the T&amp;C ?
email : [email protected]

Re: Diapers

thanks for the replies &amp; suggestions :) think will buy a bigger size and try to sit bb upright if he is poo-ing...hopefully it will help.

haru,
can understand that totally! it happened to me again today. i was nursing bb when my hand felt warm and wet. thank goodness i was home but had to change clothes and bedsheet...was a mess...

Haru/Mummy Zeal: WAH! your bb can sleep for 7-8 hrs? I am so envious! My bb still wakes up every 3 hrs for a feed. I tried the Gina Ford method but gave up, I tried feeding her more during the night (130ml) but so far the longest she has lasted was 4-5 hours!

Diapers: I used Drypers and it leaked pee on me before.. Petpet &amp; Pampers works well so far!

Pacifier: My nurse at the prenatal course told me the same thing.. can throw away pacifier but cannot cut away their fingers. Her daughter sucked on her fingers until they were infected (but because it was infected, she finally gave up sucking on her fingers)! So when it came to her next child, she gave the pacifier instead. My pd also said it's ok to use a pacifier .. the only thing is that once bb falls asleep, we must take it out of their mouths.

3rd Feb outing: Is it still at starbucks or at someone's house?? I am ok with both =))

pamela - actually i also dunno how it happened, one day bibi Joan jus slept from 12am to 7.30am. when i woke up at 7am, i was leaking all over then i realised Joan nv cry for her feeds. It has been lidat since tat day, but recently she would stay up till abt 1am.. so i am quite tired now. I hope she doesnt push back the timing further.. else 2am-9am!

Pacifier - Bibi joan doesnt know how to use a pacifier, so we let her lick/suck her hand. But recently Joan has been moving her mouth when she's sleeping. Its v funnie cos it looks like she is sucking milk in her dreams. There's nothing in her mouth! We even video recorded it, show her when she grows up! haha :p

Happy,
At least she still say dun want. Mine just simply whine and cry and cry. Haiz.. make me so frustratd.

Her milk intake simply BAD. 120ml and unfinished some more.

Any mummies using Fitti Diapers?
I have tried the sample and quite like it.
Anyone knows where to buy fitti?

BB sleep
The longest my bb can last is only 4-5hrs leh..

Diapers
Have tried a few brand, so far find that Fitti is quite good and cheap but I dont know where to buy them. Huggies will leak cos the back is too low. I find Pampers cannot last that long leh..

Pacifier
Recently she keep sucking her fingers lor...
but I only give it to her when she is tired but couldnt sleep. Esp at nite, she like to suck before she can sleep.

Mummy Zeal
My gal also move her mouth when sleeping.. very funny lor, she has been like tat when she is barely 1 mths old...

triangel,

Thks! Ya, fitti cutting is small but my gal can only fit fitti cos she small when born but now I think has to buy M for her liao...

Mummy(zeal),
I personally prefer ocbc cos they are easily available in comparison to std chart.

Mosh,
I think i saw Fitti in ntuc before, can go and have a look. Agree with Triangel that their cutting is smaller. Got to buy bigger size for ur bb. I'm currently using mamypoko(overnight) and pet pet(day use). Find both of them v gd.

thanks Babyzel,

I like Mamypoko too. Never tried pet pet so no comments. BTW just bought a pack of mamypoko at CK store S size 48 pc only 14.80

mosh,
oic...my bb is big size..haha.

same as Babyzel,i m using mamypoko for night use and pet pet for day use. both v good.

u can try pet pet... it is good...no leak.

Mosh,triangel,
During NTUC promo cheaper cos it's $21 for 72 pcs S size.i still got stock cos that time ks, bought quite a bit. Now rushing to finish all the s size, quite tight for my girl liao.
Ya mosh, try pet pet, gd and cheap also.

Mosh,
Not sure leh. If got and i happen to see it then i pm u. i also waiting for the offer then i can get bigger sizes to stock. U joining in the gathering?

snnowy,
I'm giving my boy the silicon teat. But he's ok with it leh.. Usually if he cry too hard i got to pacify him first den he will take bottle de..

babyzel,
haven la.. think i'll just continue using M first ba.. L seems a bit too big lor.. wait like big backside..

Re:mummies outing,
Is starbucks enough for all of us?? Cause I remb the starbucks thr is quite small only leh..

i tried all bottle feed today. He's drinking around 60ml every 2 hrs.. is it too little??

Sabre, my girl is drinking abt 120 ml every 2-3 hours. Sometimes if she sleeps well 100 ml can tahan for 3-4 hrs too. Sometimes it really varied. Maybe your boy needs a bit time to get use to bottle feed too. Hope it helps.

Re diapers, think i will try pet pet too. Goo.N really quite ex now with the price increase ...

Sabre: Dunno if this helps.. but my PD told me that my daughter shld be drinking 120ml every feed for her weight/age (4.5kg/2mths)

Mummies outing: I think there are 2 starbucks at Vivo right? We are meeting at the one on the first floor?

Sabre,
Hehe.. ya think L going to be really big.

Triangel,
Your bb must be very chubby, my girl is 6kg at 3 mths. Now 3.5 mths, dun know her weight now.
Wow, carrying ur girl is quite challenging ya? I cannot carry my bb without sling, if not my arms will ache. I tried carrying my nephew who's 10kg at 5 mths and i cannot tahan after 5 mins..

My bb is starting to recognize faces. My pil came my house today and when they carry my bb, she cried so hard. When they talk to her, she sulks. They can't calm her down. Jialet cos i'm going back to work in a weeks time and my mil is going to take care of her. I'm going to try putting my bb with her for 3 days next week and hope she will be ok. If not i dun need to go work liao.... any mummies having similar case?

Hi mummies, have a nice weekend ahead!

<font color="0000ff">Sabre</font>
I think my bb is born close to yours, he is 5.2kg(11wks old today) so I take bb's body weight (in kg)X 180 = the volume (in ml) that bb should be drinking in a 24hr period, need to divide by the no. of feeds to get the volume for each feed.

No need to be too worried if your bb is drinking less, as long he is gaining weight.

Happy New Year.

I went back to work liao. Super busy now. Got less time to surf the net. Wanted to join you for the gathering but to busy liao.

Now i need to work 3 days a week and go back to sch 4 days a week. No time for my boy also. Sian,

I find it so difficult to pump at work. I pump 2 times a day at work and each pump takes around half an hour to 45 mins. So i don't dare to leave on the dot. Usually stay awhile longer to cover the time i used to express. Super tiring.

My boy drinks around 150ml per feed. I think is a bit too much liao but i don't know how to reduce leh.. When i bring him out at week 8, lots of ppl said he looks like 3 months old.

Sabre:
Weight in kg x 120-150ml = full day's intake

But this is just a gauge. As long as gaining weight (average of 20-35g per day), sufficient pee then ok.

Bluebear:
I think 180ml may not be for Asian babies.

bluebear,
if x180mls den my boy needs to drink 1044ml a day ar!! Need to drink so much ar...

fifi,
if x120-150mls den my boy should be getting enuf..

Karen,
I'm using flexible maternity leave. I went back to work after 8 weeks. So tiring. I think taking 16 weeks at one go is better.

RE: BRINGING BABY OUT.
Quite a nightmare again, brought baby to Aunt house baby cry non-stop very stressful, environment and sounds made her very cranky mood, once reached home mood immediately became good, anyone face same problem..?

very stress nowadays... my bb cry and cry during feeding recently.. dont know Y she cry and what to do with her....
Now everytime I want to feed her I get very tense...

CC..cause now they recognise enviroment &amp; people, is normal. My elder gal cry non stop when go MIL house at 3mth. Vera cry when relative carry her. She only allow my mum, me &amp; daddy to feed, if my maid feed she dont drink milk.

Milk Intake : Vera only drink 90ml every 3hr at 3 mth n 1 week. When nose block she can only drink 40ml..n it had been a mth.

Mummies..Maybe I cant join yr liao, Vera Flu got better for 3days then come again. I need to stay home n help mum to take care of both kids.

So sian, due to her flu, 6 in 1 jab have been delay for 2weeks already.

bear: thanks for the advise on feeding semi solids.. i tink 6 months shld be safe enuff, dun want to risk baby getting food allergies, can b a real headache for parents.

What kind of semi solids foods can we feed and how to feed then..?

anyone got any good and cheap cctv camera to recommend for monitoring baby and maid at home (5 rm flat)...or any shop to recommend? thanks