(2008/11) November 2008

Brocoli,
I supplement Similac for my baby since birth. I'm thinking of switching to Friso cos similac quite sweet leh. Initially my bb took quite a lot of FM b4 my BM supply kicked in, she suffered from constipation. My bb got chubby along the way also but not sure if it's due to similac cos after tat she only took 2-3 bottles daily . How do u make the switch? Eg,last fed with enfalac then the next feed on similac in the same day? I quite scare to change FM dun know just simply change totally will have any effect on bb or not?

Peanut/Joyce,
True. BM nian nian one. Very messy when it leak while BF. USe hand must aim zun zun Maybe can try and see how it goes. Joyce, envy you cos u still can feed 2 kids leh.

babyzel> I neber think so much leh, i juz give him the new fm and he juz drink and seem to enjoy it. The night b4 he even took two bottles at one go b4 he is satisfied. I dun wan him to put on weight too fast but i try similac bc the can says it reduces colic n spit-ups.

wow, my baby seems to be the smallest, she was 3.6+kg at 6 weeks. am really worried now
altho paed did say it was still ok.
mummies, do u think i shd supplement with FM? hv been resisting doing that cos afraid it would affect my supply.

haru,
my baby also put on an abt 100gm per week but she was born small, 2.9+kg. 4.2kg doesnt seem small to me leh. Yr baby was 3.5kg when born?
thanks for your encouragement on pumping. it is so frustrating to go to all the trouble to pump and get so little after gg thru the pain and soreness

Brocoli,
I finishing the similac today. One feed more before i use Friso tmr. Seems like it's ok with ur baby then i not too worried when i make the switch.

bluebear,
Thanks. Really very tired as I'm alone @ home with no help until my hubby comes back frm wk. I try to catch a nap when he sleeps but he seldom sleeps in the day. He is 10wks now. Luckily, he sleeps thru the nite (11+pm) and wakes up abt 5+ or 6+am the next morning.

Avent milk bottles,
Sometimes, my Avent milk bottle leaks too.

peanut,
I had low breast milk supply too. I'm giving my bb all I have. Per pump is abt 60ml and in the afternoons is abt 30-40ml. Very cham. Already latch bb and drink a lot of water but still....Anyway, I've tried my best. :D Dun give up. I have to supplement with formula (Friso).

happywifey,
my baby was about 4.6kg at 6 weeks, feeding BM abt 110ml each time. PD mentioned bibi should be puting on abt 1kg per mth. So urs is ok for weight gain.

bear,
PM u liao..

haru,
Sometimes my boy also wan to latch on before sleep, but then, he still not sleeping thru the night, so i assume he is hungry ba.. But sometimes i give him pacifier and make him sleep also, so think won't become a habit for him..

I'm using the nursing hood. Works quite good, you can give it a try..

happywifey,
my boy is 5kg at 6weeks. But when I give him EBM he drinks only 60-70ml den latch on 1 or 2 hrs later.

Peanut,
I also sometimes smack my boy de. Usually its because he don wan to sleep in the night and keeps fussing. I will carry him, try to make him sleep. Then after 1 hr, no more patience liao, den piak him. Then he will cry a while den fall asleep within 10 mins....But i don do it often la, since he's quite good boy normally..

Peanuts/Sabre

hehe.. seem that i m not the only here smacking bb.. me too become impatient if bb fuss, cry too long.. have smack him a few time liao... felt so bad after that..
I always tried to go back to my mum place at least once a wk, if not i will be crazy with him all day long!!

Fifi,

Drugstore Spree
Do they sell these? Last month i saw someone order item 1 & 2 but i can't find it under drugstore website.
1) Extra Valves & Membranes
2) Extra Membranes
3) SoftFit Breastshield

Sabre,
i am using the nursing shawl, it is handy when i wear buttoned shirts but when i wear tees still somehow will expose a lil..coz i have to tug my tee all e way up to lift bra cup..

happywifey,
my baby was 2.92kg when born. she is 8 weeks today.

Happywifey,
My bb was 2.8kg when born, she weighed 4kg at 6 weeks old and pd say is ok so long bb is putting on weight.

haru
try moms in mind. saw some tees with zip midway, below breast...mayb its wat u r looking for

pooh
my bb already on 120ml before his full mth...hes quite chubby too

maid
i let her eat wat we eat so tat she willnot get sick imagine we everyday eat bread already very xian somemore same jam.i also let her take tuna 2 if im taking 2, anyway put 2 long also not fresh liao so instead of wasting it,i share it.so far she did not request for anytin else 2 makan, mayb its only 2 mths. but i told her upfront dont get my mum to buy tins for her coz i told bro maid off once in front of my maid, not to ask my mum buy tins and it applys to my maid too. we usually hv leftovers so will ask her keep in fridge for her 2morow breakfast.shampoo etc she has her own

Baby Weight Gain:
PD say average of 20-35g per day. On average de coz some days gain more & some days dun gain.

Feeding amount:
PD say 120-150ml per kg weight. However, he say consider weight gain & wet diapers more than this. This is only a very rough estimate.

Bibi:
They dun seem to carry these anymore.

Shop4stuffs:
Spree is already over.

brocoli: I using Similac since birth, baby quite enjoys it although i feed only once a day or sometimes less only when i run out of BM, constipated then i feed friso comfort 1. Recommended by PD. Very thich so u need big teat to feed..

peanut: can try drinking fresh milk, i drink fresh milk in hopes of having more BM! hehe...

kash: Last time my old Indo maid I bought her face wash then she dun like, came and tell me 'M'am pls buy the one u using, it's better' so fed up bocs that was much more expensive and she actually used my products! So now I only buy basics, toothbrush, toothpaste, pads, shampoo, soap, period. And I hv 2 maids so I buy one set and ask them to share except for toothbrush. Otherwise v. siong....no FACE WASH for both of them..

What baby/mummy items do u face dfficulty in getting in Singapore...? (ie: creams, bags, etc).

cc, jynnsan, shop4stuff,

i asked the maid agency before must i buy facial wash for maid. maid agency told me NO. if maid wants, maid pay for herself as these are considered luxury items. they are here to work etc.. as for Pads hor, my MIL say no need to buy for maid leh...coz we chinese pang tang etc...

i hardly eat tuna sandwich leh...normally i like to eat toast with ham... she cannot eat pork leh... i like to eat ngo hiang...she also cannot eat leh... my FIL is a butcher selling pork... so u all can guess my house full of pork ss... i really bo pian... it is either she changed her mind to eat pork or else, her lunch i will try my best to tapao chicken and fish for her. but i can't tapao 7 days a week for her very xiong...so far average tapao 5 to 4 days a week for her lunch... i think very good liao leh...

btw, how abt fruits? been buying apples and oranges for her... enuff?

Re: Maid salary

can i ask how much is ur maid's salary? and also whether they have experienced?

I am asking coz when i read maid's biodata, it stated her salary was $340. I asked the boss he said no off days, all included inside. That's why selected her. She has 2 years experience in Singapore from 2000 to 2002. that's it...no more experience and it was 6 years ago. On the day we collected her frmo the agency, i was told her salary was $360!!!... I was shock but think maybe i remembered wrongly... I went home to check her biodata again...it stated $340 leh!!! But agency said extra $20 is for the off days.. but how come the boss told me initially $340 included off days liao??? so angry but there is nothing i can do now.

Another reason for asking is because my MIL's indonesia maid who can speak very good mandarin and english, 4 years pervious experience in Singapre.... very good with kids etc... salary only $320...also NO off days... I can't help but felt kenna ripped off! So maid has salary... i really feel if she wants anything extra, i am more than happy if she wanna go out and buy them herself.

smacking bb:
lately no smack liao lah.. but smacked liao also v heartpain.. she cried i also cried wahahaa.. piangz ever since bb pop out i dunoe drop tears how many times liao.... -_- i sure mus tell her when she grows older.

cc,
eerk.. i no like fresh milk lei.. i drink milo nia, somemore once a day kekekee.. aiyah i complain no milk but on e other hand so lazy... can ony blame my own self

brocoli
i always heard friso is the sweet one, not similac lei.. anyway since my bb fusses so much during feeding i'm considering changing fm.. she's currently on enflac which i understand doesn't taste good.. but worry change liao dunoe if suitable for her not.. cos at least enflac no constipation and vomit so far.. Any advise which FM most liked by bbs???

Mummies who pump, don't u find that it's very 'draining' to the body?
i'm pumping 4x a day.. & i feel as if all my energy is being sucked out.. day by day...
WOnder if there is any supplement or chinese herbs to take to bu the body. Anyone knows?

yoyosan,
i am pumping few times a day when i have e energy and time (ie. baby nappy, etc). must admit i gave up doing pump every 3 hours after only doing it for few days coz too tired. and i am all alone at home. last nite was too tired to wake up adnd pump. milk leak also i dun care, just Zzz..=P i am going back to work next friday but i will just go w e flow of the milk supply. wil use the frozen milk i have stocked up until supply stablize.

Re : Similac

My #1 drank Similac step 2 (6mths onwards) and now is also on GAIN IQ for 1 to 3 YO... so far no complains abt it.. juz that it will produce a lot of bubbles...i nvr tasted her FM... but before similac step 2, we tried enfalac b4 and my gal kenna constipation...see her gek sai until very cham... after switching to similac...good leh... howevre, FM will always be heaty...so can give bb more water if on FM...

happywifey,

my boy was born at only 2.85kg...6 weeks was 4.77kg...he is 10.5 weeks now but i havent weigh him...like very big and heavy to me... u have to ask PD how much to feed ur bb and see which percentile ur bb's weight is in. My bb on total EBM... if u r worried, shd supplement with some FM...bb's health and growth most impt...doesn't matter whether breastmilk or FM.

Jus managed to pacify my baby to drink his milk after 1/2hr of fussing. Arghh...

Avent bottles (reply from Philips):
To avoid any leaking, the teat should be fitted through the ring, then place the dome lid firmly onto the white ring and screw this three piece unit on the bottle, holding by the clear dome lid. DO NOT OVERTIGHT the bottle, as this actually will crease or fold the Anti-Colic valve and will create a tiny gap that will make the bottle leak. The more you overtight the bottle, the more it will leak. The best way to know when you have to stop screwing the white ring is when you can feel that only the dome lid is turning on its own. That pressure will be enough to seal your bottle and will not affect the Anti-Colic valve. If they are using formula, the anti-colic valve can be clogged and may cause the white ring to leak.

switching of FM:
understand from my fren tt to monitor if bb reactive to the new FM, better to add in slowly and not a direct switch.. tt is, if total 4 scopes - 3 scopes old FM and 1 scope of e new brand.. then slowly increase if bb is ok..

My bb drinking S26 for abt 5wks le. 1st 6wks on Enfalac also fuss nonstop. Most probably he got a very bad temper. Gonna suffer till he grows up. Fainted.

anybody want to invite me & my 4 kids for happy new year celebrations?

Bear: Pls count me in for the Enne project, whatever it is.

so many giving similac but the other day when i asked who wants similac vouchers, nobody wants
now all given away already.

all the best for coming ox year.

Maid Salary:
Mine is new maid, 1st 7 months $330, subsequent months till 2 yrs is $350 NO OFF DAY

Have you done your PAP Smear? Mine is scheduled next Wed which is 2 months after delivery. Currently i am having some brownish discharge on and off, something like menses but i don't think so. Very vex about this....

jynnsan, I having problems too. After gave birth, my lochia stopped abt 1mth later, then 1wk later I feel something gush down like menses, indeed my panty all blood. And I put on pad for abt 1wk but v little bleeding then stopped. And I went for my pap smear. Thinking everything is back to normal but it happens again 1wk later. I'm quite worried .. not too sure if this is abnormal.

jynnsan,

ur maid also quite ex leh....how much was ur agency fees? me doing pap smear next monday... very sian...hate this procedure.

Jo,

sounds weird...did u call and ask ur gynae abt it?

peanut,

if u are changing FM, u can call up the FM company and they will be more than happy to advise u what is the best way to switch....

jo
me also expressing bm and supply going down.. then yest suddenly majiam menses came and till now stil got.. quite a lot somemore..

jo
S26? havent seen this brand before.. these days she fusses almost every feeds!!! hav to resort using spoon liao, try using it for a while then after tt switch back to teat and sometimes she'll finish e milk quite fast.. she is apparently hungry jus dunoe y fuss so much!

Kash:
Maid salary went up liao. Now new Filipino (no experience) is about $320-$350 with 2-4 off days a month. Actually the embassy wants US$600 per month.

I never provide face wash for my maid. She buy her own. But coz I do give bonuses when I got nice bonus, she doesn't mind. I also give her ang pao during CNY, her bdae and christmas (if i never buy present).

Peanut:
Menses may affect BM supply temporarily.

yoyosan,

why dun u take tonics soup to strengen urself? like ginseng chkn soup? for supplements, i'm taking calcium, DHA250 and multivictamins. i must admit tat BF-ing really will zap our energies n compromise out health.

do take care or u will hv hard time trying for no. 2 later... =)

kash, now 10th wk le and I have stopped bf after one month. I called the clinic and asked the nurse. She says monitor, if happens again then go and see the doc. Now jus spots of red blood only ... ending soon. If happens again, I will make appt to see doc immediately.

peanut, I have stopped bf one mth ago eh.
S26 under Wyeth co has been in the market for very long.
I tried using spoon and feed him few mouthful ... he think I'm playing with him and been smiling loh. But spoon by spoon like so long, then I give back bottle, he also dun wan. I think he is always fussing whenever he is still awake but hungry and sleepy. Plus think he is really a bad tempered boy. Older pple see the bb head got how many "zeng" and determine his temper? And my boy got 2. The name master never see him also say this bb is a bad tempered one.

fifi,

how abt indo? coz a few of my frens also having indo maids at $320 without off days....

yes CNY sure must give her angpao... ur maid has been u for a long time and proved she is good... my maid only 1 mth plus... still a long way to go. My maid agency told me that if wanna reward them, must be after 6 mths of consistent good job...tell me not to be too nice in the beginning..

Jo,

ya better play safe to see doctor if happens again... coz after giving birth, our body really went through a lot... hence, if suspects anything strange... good to get it check early...

U r right abt the "zeng"... my #1 has 2! she is extremely notti... well, i can't comment much as I have 2 too! :p

Kash:
Indo shld be abit cheaper. Maybe $300-$320 for new. Yours got some experience. Anyway, just agree with your maid lor. Best is sign black and white to agree on salary. No day off shld be $10 per day.

Yes, cannot reward too much from the start. And make it clear its rewards and not entitlements.

sormuimui:
Wad else can we take to "pu". Currently I'm taking birds nest and essence of chicken. Oh and lots of soups, ranging from herbal soup to veg soups.

kash, when u teach ur #1, does she listen? I thought my patience limit at the max when comes to feeding my fussy baby. Cant imagine if things gets worse.

Sabre,
my baby was fussing again after letting her latch on one breast. so i decided to give her oher side as well as i tot she may still want more. in e end she was happy and satisfied after givin her both breasts. so i guess she just needed more milk. can't imagine if i feed her outside how long it will take! how long do you let ur baby latch on now?

Jo:
Today no spotting which is why making me vex? Not sure is this just discharge or something abnormal?

I will check with gynae next wed during the pap smear, abit worry about this type of thing.

peanut
my pd say dont mix FM ley. when finish 1 can then switch the other coz FM cant keep when opened.

kash
i no give face wash too and she never ask. i bought her pad too, kotex. as usual my nanny say why i bought her so expensive 1, shampoo i bought her clear coz when she came she got a small bottle so i just buy the same. after finish using hers then she used the bottle i buy for her, same for her toothpaste. tin she have coz shes a transfer maid so need to use when back in agency.

initially we alwasy try to eat chicken but now find it kinda troublesome coz we have a maid is to help us not to inconvenience us. anyway my maid eat pork too haha surprised rite. im surprised coz she ate those eat, vege etc which has pork in it but she just eat the egg or vege or sauce. when i ask her she say as long as she dun vomit means its ok. imagine initially we so worried abt her and try to chg our eating style. anyway we always have fish, meat, vege n soup each meal so no worries abt meat coz we dun eat pork everyday too. if im not wrong, tin they hv to eat halal meat rite?so if really stouch, think cant eat our meat at all lo rite? i ask maid but she say shes ok 1 coz they are in such situation and god will understand. well.... i also duno

when we go out i will usually get 1 bowl for her.

fifi

thanks. can the candelum cream be used for rashes? if yes, i will try other thread see if there is any spree going on. thanks for the advice

Kash,
My maid's salary is $320 per mth with NO off day. She is also new, only has experience in Indonesia.
For face wash, i only gave her when i hv free samples, now i know that her face wash has finished, but she also didnt ask from me. I only provide her shampoo, body soap (i gave dettol), toothbrush (i have many from hotel), toothpaste and soap.
For meals, u can ask her to cook simple food for lunch such as steam fish, can sardine, fried egg, vege etc. This way can save your money.

As for fruits, will ask her to eat on n off, but not everyday. so far only gave her orange n apple, cos these 2 are wat i have in the fridge most of the time.

Olwen,
haha, remember i said i wanna invite u to my house for CNY since all of them close their door?

Yoyosan,
haha,, think my body are totally drained by all the expressing! Imagine i pump 8 times a day? But currently pump around 6 times a day.. same like fifi, taking essence of chicken n bird nest currently.. Think u can also double boil ginseng with chicken on n off. I used to double boil during pregnancy but now very lazy to prepare.

shop4stuffs,
my maid also eat pork.. keke. Initially when she came, she said no. but after 1 wk or so, she eat already. I remember the agent did told her to follow what we eat cause chinese love pork. So it is easy for us.. In fact both my mum and sis's maid also eat pork.. keke

Heya ladies.. got ur emails regarding Enne. if u guys still wanna help, rem to email me by this Sat.

Re: Maid
Kash, according to the agency, new FRESH indo maids are $320 a mth now with off days. Without off days is $340!! Fresh Filipino is $350 with off day, and another $20 without!! may be this is called inflation? I think with regards to agency fees, i m paying the most at $488, but got added perks for me. I can send the maid to slp at the agency owner's house every night (she stays the same estate) to slp if i want. Plus if anything wrong, the owner will personally discipline the maid. The owner also give one wk's hands on training, teach the maid how to iron diff fabric, how to wash the floor using cloth and how to handwash clothes.

Yoyosan, i understand how u feel!! i have been pumping at least 6x a day since my bb's birth. its super duper tiring.. my parents make a point to make tonic soups for me every wk.. ginseng, boiled martel etc. i make it a pt to drink a bottle of essence of chicken/ bird nest every morn. u really have to take care of ur body cos it will affect the quality of BM. take ur multivits, calcium, fish oil etc.

Peanut, Jo, i m give my boy Friso.. he drinks one tin in 1 mth plus!! have to throw away cos can only tahan for 4 wks. my boy also chu pattern liao.. last 3 days have been fighting with us when we feed him, initially started with FM but now he fights when we give EBM too. damn sian.. i usually avoid eye contact with him and also avoid talking to him cos it distracts him and make him wanna play. hhaha.. stupid reason but it works for me cos he doesn't fight with me and my hb as much as fighting with my MIL and my parents.

Jo, hrmm may be it takes a few cycles before ur period becomes the usual flow again.
check with ur gynae lor.

Re: Pap smear
I did mine on Mon liao.. still had discharge but doc said ok to do..