(2008/11) November 2008

Jo
u saying ur bb fuss a lot during feeds as well? normally how long u take to feed?
I tried feeding her again jus now and she cried again, so MIL took over and use teaspoon again.. cried until so cham i see liao feel v guilty & heartpain but no choice.. in e end e last 50ml she takes back teat and finish it within mins.. strange bb... Really sad, seems like she prefers my mil to feed.. i like so long not able to feed her successfully liao..

peanut, yup my bb fuss as well. He changes his drinking style every now and then. On the avg, he takes 30 - 45 mins. Few days ago, he will fuss for 15-20mins then drink w/o stop (in 10mins). Now, he drink abit, fuss abit.

Jo,
Quite common in babies. Always changing styles.
i use Avent bottles too. Sometimes it leaks when i thought i had screwed the cap back tightly. I checked the teat also but nothing seems wrong and bottle still leak. But it happens sometimes only.

babyzel, everything seems tight but still leaking ... quite irritating. Dunnoe why ... my hb says he wanna go complain. It occurs quite often for mi, every 2-3 feeds, it will happen once.

Babyzel:
Start looking at what you want first. I will email you with the information when I get home. After that, send me your orders and transfer asap. I am hoping to place order asap so that can hopefully get by CNY.

i'm new here. hv been reading this thread for a few weeks, and decided to join in. =)

hi kash,
think u shld not spoil ur maid by buying stuff for her tat she could afford to buy them after she gets her pay. i find tat when we get them to pay for the things they want, they will not WANT it anymore! they will say no need anymore... hahaha... feel the pinch after they know tat they hv to pay themselves! =P

for me, i'd just give her some old/new clothes for her to change during working hrs and get her the basic toiletries like toothpaste, shampoo, bath gel, powder, hand cream, sanitary pads(i gave her a pack and will get her to buy herself after finish coz dowan to provide such personal needs)...etc.

IDD calling card
i get her 1 card, and once finished, i will get her to buy herself too. the same for postage stamps, coz my maid can send 3 letters each time! hahaha... maybe she thot since i'm paying so she wrote to her families n relatives! i'll see how many she needs to write the next time. =P

eating habit
my maid comes from a very poor province whereby she only eats meat(only fish or pork) once a week, and eats chicken only on special occasions. so they are really blessed when they get to eat at least 1 type of meat here everyday!

Kash,
Same here. My girl would never empty my breast, i feel that everytime when latch her on, seems like more milk is flowing in rather than empty. That's y i am now pumping 99%.
What u need to do is to keep massaging ur breast b4 and after u pump, so to make sure that there is no more milk remains in your breast, thus wont link to blocked ducts.

Emardbride,
Dun be mistaken.Ttingling sensation alone does not mean mastitis, this is just one of the symptom. More symptoms include high fever, redness in breast, lumpy/painful breast when touch, having cold etc..

Bluebear,
No, hasn't sold, nobody wants, haha..

peanut,
Dun be depressed, just continue to pump/latch on like every 2-3 hours for 2, 3 days, i am sure your supply will kick in.. Fyi, i was running a high fever during my #1 times, and my milk supply totally drop to empty. I was so sad, the breast was so empty, thus i keep pumping/ latch on my baby (even there is not much milk flowing) for 2,3 days, and my supply returns.

happy,
Luckily your fever has gone. Keep massaging your breast b4 n after u pump, it helps.

bear,
Email u already.

RE: Bringing bb out.
For first time mummy here, slowly you will be used to it already. For my #1, i remember i also scared to bring him out cause troublesome, hv to find room to feed etc.. But gradually, u will be season liao.

peanut/babyzel,
I use hand to express after i used pump.. It is more effective and faster lei.. Use both hand and squeeze towards the nipple, milk will flow and always spill on my table and floors, wakaka

Kash:
I feel anti-perspirant and powder can give if you want. Its to make her cleaner. I rather have a cleaner maid. If you find that she use a lot very fast, then you can say you buy her once every X mths. If she need more, she has to pay herself. And you decide brand. If she want to choose, she pay.

Things like chili sauce, peanut butter same lor. For spreads, you can ask her to decide whether she want kaya, peanut butter or jam. Then buy that only.

Bottomline is be nice but of coz dun let her take advantage. Also must consider that even though she is a maid and may not have such luxuries in her hometown, we want her to be well taken care off. That way, she will take good care of your family.

Re: Emptying breasts
Can also try to express le, then let baby latch. Babies can get what the pumps cannot.

I AM, Fifi,

Thanks for your advise. Actually i told her I will give her powder but anti perspirant i told her to buy it. I nvr let her handle my kids so not so worried in a sense. I think to be fair, I will provide her what we feel comfortable and reasonable. If she wants extra, i believe she can use her salary to pay for it so she can have anything she wants.

joyce,

me too express almost 100%. but i have nvr try to use hands...is it much faster? how long does it takes and wont it cause our back to ache due to the posture where we need to lean forward?

kash,
No, cause if he is fussing he will cry even more when i give him bottle. He rather latch on den drink from bottle lor..

babyzel,
that means can't take anything with caffine??? I'm not taking any of this today, will observe and see how, currently he's not making any fuss yet.

Kash, i also once massage my boobs until they kena bruise. the LC came to clear my block ducts and was horrified at the bruises. think got abt 5 bruises per boob... sigh.. my breasts a bit funny recently.. usually my left produce 20ml more than my right. but the last couple of days it has been under performing.. like kena block like that. milk flow very slowly.. although i can still meet baby's needs, but i need more time to empty that left breast. i wonder why..

Re: oral thrush
Yoyosan, if the white coating on ur bb's tongue is thick and cannot be cleaned off, or when cleaning there is blood, it is likely to be thrush. that's wat happened to my bb.. we couldn't clean off the white coat and it seems to be thicker. some ppl say this will make the bb more irritable, and dun wanna drink but for me, my bb still drank as per normal, just that he is crankier. u can also check ur baby's cheeks and the back of his throat. if u see white patches it is likely to be thrush. there is an antifungal med (thrush is a fungus) call Dakarin that u can apply in the mouth. my PD prescribed it.

Peanut and Jo, if the white stain is thick and looks like cottage cheese, it is likely to be thrush..

Peanut, ur Nini is rebelling lah.. who ask u keep saying u will smack her when u were expecting?

Re: maid
Now i can finally join the maid discussion.. i really dun want a maid but no choice MIL requested it.. sigh.. i dunno if i made the right choice or not to have one. hb and i not used to the fact that we have a stranger living with us.

Re: Enne
I got ur emails (Bluebear i no time to reply u that day). those that emailed me earlier, i also got them but no time to reply. Please email me by this Fri, 9th Jan if you wanna help Enne. I will send a mass mail out on Sat and hope to get everything done by next Wed.
i dun wanna write too much here cos Enne isn't comfy abt it.

Hi mummies...long time no post liao.

Hi Bear, pm u liao..keep me in loop how we can help Enne.

Maid..hmm i give my maid calling card when she come , then subsiquent she buy her self, I tell her if performance good then I buy for her. On avg 1 card she can use for 3mth. Toilet stuff I buy for her to use, 4mth with us she stil havent finish. So I am ok.

Food she is quite picky she only eat veg & chicken, so sometime she can only eat 1 dish out of 3. She is a small eater so far. At home, we dont buy food specially for her. if outside i let her choose wat she wan.

Baby she only help us to carry, other then that we do our selves. Her priority is do housework & play with my elder. By aftern she already quite free liao.

BM...Just had food poision last week , now down wif flu. my supply going down, closeing shop soon...

oral thrush ..yep will affect the appeitte to drink. Everyday have use towel to wipe the tongue, or rinish with water after ever feed so that will not have oral thrush.

mornin mummies,
was so tired tis morn coz i woke up at 1am to pump and then baby woke up earlier than usual, at 345am for feed. and then again at 730am. was so tired by then i fed her on the bed and we both fell asleep together on my bed. haha..

Sabre,
my baby recently also will cry after she latches on. wondering if she just want to suckle to sleep..but since i dun pump as much now (too tired!) i just let her latch e other side too. bad habit rite??=P

can i ask when you use the lock-and-lock container to bring pump funnel to work, do you have to wash it in hot water after bringin it home? i will prob be returning to work half days initially and i am thinking i may have to pump twice at work.

Joyce,
Your supply very gd so can use hand. My supply so so only, think use hand will squeeze until daybreak.
ke..ke

Sabre,
In the meantime jus refrain from taking caffine and see if it helps.

HAru,
My baby usually take EBM/FM for last feed but she still wants to latch to go to sleep. Been ongoing for quite a while. Think i also make it a habit for her liao.... Sigh..

Babyzel,
i had some blocked ducts even after pumping last nite so i let baby latch on (which she did happily) to help me clear it even tho my hubby already gave her EBM.=P i also scared she using me as human pacifier..haha..

Fifi,

How much is fenugreek at drugstore?

Re: Avent Bottle
Yap I got leaks too sometimes, also dont noe Y.

Haru, Babyzel
Recently my bb seems want to latch on around 9-10pm. Initially I tot she is hungry but then she only suck for a short while then sleep liao... dont noe if she is just sucking for comfort. Tats Y me and my hubby thinking of giving her pacifier.

babyzel & Lilian, my husband has emailed Philips co to feedback abt the Avent bottles leaking. Will update you once we received a reply from them.

Avent pump:
Anyone here uses Avent pump? Realised that the plastic parts getting a little yellowish.. maybe through constant pump and wash. Anyone knows where to change them? thx

bear:
how do you clean the tongue of the whitish thingy? Those at the tip of tongue can clean. But those deeper, i try to dig, and bb give the 'vomit' kinda sound.. and then screams!
And how do you apply the cream into the mouth? bb allows? wow..

yoyosan, perhaps u need to go Philips co @ Toa Payoh to get the spare parts? I think so.

I slowly move my finger deeper in to clean the tongue.

Mosh,
Ya, i also give pacifier. initially she took it quite well but now think she prefer me to the pacifier. She always split out the pacifier if i put it in.

Jo,
Good, see how they reply. Dun seem to be able to find out the problem when it leaks.

Yoyosan,
MY avent pump parts also yellowish liao. I think should be able to get from Philips straight ba. i try at dept stores all dun sell spare parts.

yoyosan,
me using Avent pump.ya realised the rubber parts getting yellow but the performance not affected. wonder how long aft using should i change the parts..

Mosh:
GNC Fenugreek is currently retailing at US$12.99 for 200 caps. Sg de is only 100 caps.

You want mah? Let me know fast. I'm going to place order le.

Re: Avent
You must place in line nicely and not close too tight. i.e. you turn till close already then dun purposely try to make it tighter.

mummies who pump at work,
do you normally wear buttoned shirts to work? as i am using a single pump, i am thinking that wearing buttoned shirt and the fold down nursing bras would be easier?

Re: nursing wear
i bot some more ne nursing bras and i am still learning the skills of nursing while wearing tees and just "folding" down or liftin the cup of the bra to nurse. any tips?? somehow will still expose my back or side even with nursing shawl as i need to lift my whole tee.

babyzel
yah like wat joyce said u need to squeeze ur breast outwards towards the nipples, not jus squezzing the nipples ony.. then e milk will splash out wahhaaa... Yeap can be messy when u mistarget from e bottle.. somemore our BM niam niam one..

bear
alibaba call my nini a terrorist lei piangz... i've smack her no. of times liao.. mayb that is causing her to be more rebellious

fifi,
thanks for informing me about the spree, hv pmed u.

can I just check with mummies here, what is your baby's current weight at 6 weeks? i feel that my baby doesnt seem to be growing very much and am really afraid she is not getting enuf milk from me esp when my pumping is still at a dismal 10-20ml

My bb is 2mths old today and 7.1kg.

Juz spent one hr scrapping the dandruff or cradle cap off his head. So gross, his hair was actually oily.

I juz change fm from enfalac to Similac, my bb seems to enjoy Similac more and vomit less. But my friends who fed their bb's similac all quite chubby, anybody feeding bb with similac? Juz trying out haven decide which fm to supplement. My bm is actually increasing but my bb will scream the hse down if he has to wait in the middle of the nite for me to warm the bm. I dun express regularly but on the average i can get abt 100ml every 3hr, juz enough to last till last feed b4 midnight. So till today i haven't freeze any.

happywifey,
my baby was about 4.2kg at 7 weeks. she gained about 100gm per week. i think she's considered on the small side..=>

dun fret too much about pumping amount ok? i was really bothered by it for weeks too. last nite was the most i managed to pump since 4 weeks ago, 125ml. and then at noon today, only 40ml on one side. but hv told myself to just go with the flow and that e supply will naturally come in somehow when i return to work. i am not too worried about pumping now coz i think its giving me unnecessary stress and pressure. i have some stock in my freezer so in case i can't express enough initially, i have some back up. am sure with time, supply will come in.

hey mummies who BF:
have you shopped for nursing tops? i am thinking of investing in some good nursing tops coz i somehow still expose myself even with a shawl when nursing when i wear tees..best would be tops that i dun have to wear a bra with! then i can just lift and latch. hee..coz trying to lift my top and fold or lift bra cup with the breast pad like very troublesome..

amore: probably the water could be too hot/cold thats why he keeps crying. Will check on that...so heart pain to see him crying all the time.

I just realized that if baby is hungry whatever we do he will cry and feel discomfort. Every time finished bathing, he will want his milk.

haru: heard sleeping in rocker not so good if too often, will also try to switch back to baby sleeping in cot instead just like what you did.

I'm also using Avent pump....the rubber also getting yellowish after frequent use and washing. Wonder if can get the part replace from Philips? anyone knows?

Today, I tried letting my boy sleep facing downwards in his cot and he sleeps rather well without much disruption or crying during his sleep. He can sleep longer hours. Any idea is it good to position baby lying face down on his tummy instead of on the back facing upwards? Any side effects?

happywifey,

my baby is going into 6 weeks soon, now he is weighing about 4.7kg. Many people said my boy is big for his age now.

Is it average for his size now? How much milk should baby at this stage consume? I'm not sure when to increase his intake of milk as now he still takes about 120ml. Anyone out there can share your experience?

Heya.

Yoyosan, u start with the front of the tongue and then slowly move deeper.. not too deep though.. the gagging sound is normal. its a reflex action. u shd be worried if ur bb doesn't make that sound! u shdn't be digging.. just use wet cotton and put it in his mouth.. he will naturally wanna suck and that action will clean his tongue liao.. if u need to dig it means likely it can't be dislodge and it could be thrush. as for the gel, it is not meant to be swallowed. i smear it all over his tongue, his gum and his inner cheeks. he had some patches at the back of his throat but when he slowly swallows the meds, it will also clear those in his throat.

Peanut, i have already put u down for Enne's case.. dun worry.. stop smacking her lah.. it makes her feel that whenever she is in ur hands, she will kena the pain. hence she wants to struggle even more.. be patient!

Poohbeary, some bbs are so used to wearing clothes that they feel uncomfy not wearing them! its a new sensation.. i usually leave my bb in his diapers to kick for a bit before giving him his bath.. let him have the feeling of being 'naked'!
as for the feeds, my boy gained 2kg in less than 6 wks.. my new PD gave me a gauge of how much a bb shd be drinking.. which is per 1kg, he shd be drinking 5oz. so ur boy shd be drinking abt 25oz. dun worry if u have exceeded it. one way to see if he needs more is his reaction aft his feed. see if he is settled or not or still looking for more.

Happywifey, my boy is 5.1kg at 5 wks, 5 days. he gained 2kg since birth..

RE: Avent pump
Mummies, you can get the parts from Philips Avent showroom at Toa payoh, think it cost $20.

kash,
I use both pump and hand express. I will use hand to massage the breast to soften first, then follow by pump for ard 15mins, after that will continue to massage and squeeze using hand. Sometimes when the milk comes in (let down), it is faster than using pump. Of course it will cause u backache, cause hv to lean forward, but no choice lor..

babyzel,
hehe, so far my ss are quite ok, can feed baby and my elder one for their daily milk intake.. But u must massage ur breast first then only squeeze towards ur nipple..

Brocoli n bear,
Both ur baby has a very good weight, must be chubby baby

Fifi,
I confirmed i will get 1 calendula cream and 1 destin cream. Kindly let me know the total so that i can transfer to you asap.

Babyzel,
Thanks for your feedback on calendula cream, i noticed that my baby neck have rashes, guess this will helps

Kash,
You are luckier, maid not homesick. The worse things ever happened was her husband and cousin call the phone number themselves without our permission to look for her!!! Really fire! I don't think we should give in to them especially purposely buy them things which we do not use as afraid that they will "bully" us. Sigh, very difficult position...Advice from my agent,"DON'T SPOIL THEM." Of course I still give her all neccessities which we need

Re: Maid becoming choosy and selective
My maid also start to choose food. I saw her eating noodles as breakfast and not bread and she told me she prefer noodles. She also requested me for facial gel.