(2008/11) November 2008

Congrats to Happy and Yen!

Dymples
Totally agree with what you have written. Hah. So funny...

Moomummy
Today is your big day! So happy for you...
Just realised we have the same gynae!

mosh, yah..both my hubby and myself are very excited..especially my hubby,he told me he'll come back earlier from work these few days to play safe...haha..

Bear, yep, still here waiting for the time to arrive. like what you've said also, the wait might be up to a weeks time..i think the more impatient i am, the more my bb refuses to corporate.so i must relax and keep cool..hehe...

iluvbli55, yah, it's suppose to be my EDD today but i'm still waiting leh.. And hey, indeed we have the same gynae! How do you find him so far? i think he's not too bad,a very cool man huh?hehe.. :p

moomummy,
yup, have packed my hospital bag. likely to be sometime next week. =D wil be asking hubby to get the pump for me after i come home from hospital.

Bear,
u mean u watched him here in spore?? i missed his previous show here, what a pity!!

<font color="aa00aa">Kash, Sabre, Enne, LWY, iluvbli55</font>,
hehheheh... Thks thks... that's why we mommies are so "wei-da!" The things that we do for our children.

<font color="aa00aa">Kash</font>,
Me excited and caanot sleep cos at gynae chk-up, she said my cervix starting to open. Me was expecting some action cos for my previous 2 births... it was like *BOOM!* Run like the wind Bull's Eye!* and then BB pop out. But this one... haiz... taking her own sweet time... crawling like tortoise to the finish line. *faintz*

<font color="aa00aa">Enne</font>,
*lol* So true... Queen for 10-mths and then slave to the kids after...

<font color="aa00aa">minkybear, moomummy</font>,
Oooohhh.. today both your EDD. Any action from BB yet? "Jia-you"!! Who knows... all of us will pop at the end of this week yah. hhmmm.. or maybe our BB is going for lucky Nov 8th. *lol*

moomummy
yeah, he's nice. Got a sense of humour sometimes. Haha. But always long wait, do you?
When's your next visit?
I will be seeing him later in the afternoon, only 37 weeks. Sigh. Looking at the calendar now...

haru, jia you!

I got a question on confinement food..
i think the recipes of confinement food i have now is more or less for lunch and dinner. Then what about breakfast? Dun tell me we have to eat 'wine chicken' or 'sesame seed oil chicken' for breakfast? yikes.. becoz my hubby mentioned that his frenz told him that women in confinement cannot eat bread leh...

Bear..I confirmed my venue liao. Is at singtel Recreation Club, Love the place cause at town n is very big n cozy with many sofa n table, can put up to 150pax. Got majong room, KTV room n billiard table also.

<font color="aa00aa">Milderina</font>,
eehh... can eat eggs? Cos my mom said cannot eat eggs till after the 1st mth leh. She said eggs will cause pus at the wound area. Is this true?
Cos me also love eating half-boiled eggs instead of bread all the time for breakfast.

<font color="aa00aa">Bear</font>,
I tink it's CNN projection that Obama will win. But so far seems like Obama's party is taking a huge huge lead!
Sssoo exciting man this US election. I also hope that Obama wins!!

heee... moomummy... ya i am still here too... if really Nov 8 then my baby will be having bd exactly one mth before me... aiyo..bt doc say this kind of dates are v high in demand so might nt get the bed tat we requested for...

Wow so many mummies have popped. All the little popcorn ripping. Haha Congrats to all holding your little bundle of joys.

I just went for my check up yesterday. Gynae said bb's head is big so mostly likely would not get engage so soon. Feeling a little disappointed cos really getting big and tired. Further more gynae encourage c-sect due to previous wound.
Now hoping that baby will get engage soon and I will be able to go for natural birth.

Dymples,
Yes, If c-sect, there are a lot of things to avoid such as pig liver, eggs, duck etc as they would likely to cause pus.

Glad_girl,
we delivered on the same day...27 oct. Mine was c-sect. Dr Woo arrived at 8am...very fast my bb pop out and he finished stitching me b4 9am. He must be very busy on that morning... heehee.
btw, how r u &amp; bb? were u at Dr Woo clinic yesterday morning ard 11am+? I was there to remove the stitches..and i saw a lady carrying a bb boy..so u come into my mind.

<font color="aa00aa">snnowy</font>,
Oic... thks for the advise. Tink will be the same case for those who deliver naturally but have episotomy bah. Cos also got stitches involved. heheheh... I din know pig liver and duck also cannot. Must take note.

<font color="aa00aa">minkybear</font>,
ooohhh.. if BB really choose 8th Nov and not enough beds then how yah? *scartch head* I'm already taking the 1-bedded room leh. Can upgrade further? *lol* Maybe get suite.

<font color="aa00aa">vincy</font>
If you’ve ever had a cut that seems to ooze “white stuff” or have noticed a white pimple on your face, then you’ve seen pus. Pus may be disgusting to look at, but it is actually a sign of your body’s ability to fight infections. Pus means your white blood cells are attacking infections present on or in your body.

Pus can be white, slightly yellow or green, and is relatively thick, approximately the same consistency as Glue. It’s actually a collection of dead skin cells, white blood cells called neutrophils, and some bacteria that is still putting up a fight. It is a visible sign that you have an infection. A minor source of tiny amounts of pus, as in a pimple, merely needs to be washed and cleaned with an antiseptic.

Haru
Way to go! Let tahan 1 more day b4 Dr comes back!!
Oh ya, tat's d bad thing abt Via cups..

Joyce
Tks for sharing! Eeekk.. will get yellow?!? I tot stil can reuse for bb's snacks nxt time.

Dymples, Enne
Was laughing my head off.. I couldn't agreed more!

Happy
Congrats &amp; rest well!

Yen
Wow, u hav a fast labour ya! I like d part on cheer leaders!!

Bear
Poor thing, hav to kena fm both sides!! Like many of us said, if u &amp; hubby stand firm on wat u want, they will give in eventually. Elderly alwys like tat, 'face' more impt than anything, never consider if couple want to spend this type of $.

Moomummy
Hehe, flatten into round shape? sounds like making dumplings, yucks! wahh, quite big, like small bao.. sor i vy boh-liao..

Thank u. I din expect to be so fast for 1st kid. :D
Glad that everything is over. I will upload my boy's pics when ready. Super bz.
I've forgotten to add on. On my way to TMC, my water bag is leaking around 4+am. Luckily, I had wore my pad.

Lilian,
Yup. Cos my gynae told me if I rest and the pain goes away, is false alarm. However, if the pain continues and contraction becomes stronger, is a sign of labour esp with other signs like show of bleeding and water bag leaking. For me, all these are there.

Carol,
When the contractions is regular like 5mins interval, the pain is like bad constipation kind of pain. I was lucky as my boy is small and he was out 37wks2d, so considered small but he's healthy. I only had 2 stitches.

cookieoreo,
Hehe..I was high with the laughing gas and shivering like mad as I had epi.
All I can remember is someone say "Ï can see the head"...When the contraction was there, the nurses, gynae and my hubby shouted Push. So I just followed their instructions and push with chin down.

dymples,

can eat eggs.... i have been eating eggs almost daily leh...wound not itchy leh... juz had egg for lunch also...

since this is ur 3rd, i believe once u have any "signs", will be super fast leh...u better get all ready.... must be these few days? all the best!

bear,

i think his classic is still the "BE A MAN" ...that one i watched it on video.... glad to hear u had a great time...laughing is good...baby also happy

as for your full mth, can u just smile at them? then hor, eventually, do a simple one or however u and ur hb like it to be.... its your baby...

moomummy,

all the best for your delivery!
breakfast i eat bread with peanut butter and milo or horlicks or the anmum breastfeeding milk. Or ask hb to ta pao cakes or buns from bakery normally... this morning had this milk bun from this jap bakery in holland village... very nice !

Dymples, no no Obama really won!! hahaha.. not projection liao.. McCain conceded liao.. my whole lab is glued onto all the foreign networks for the results.

Vincy, gd for u then! one less headache!

Cookieoreo, Kash, i m just gonna sit on it lor dun wanna think too much liao. i think if they still push some more i will def show my face.

Re: eggs and pus
Nv heard the connection before. Pus is produced when ur body fights against bacteria. it has to do with hygiene rather than food. unless u are allergic to that particular food!

Kash, ya i got introduced to him in my lab. we have a Filipino guy who does damn gd impression of him.. tixs for the show was sold out in 5 days!! amazing hor!

Haru, yups. Russell Peters was here for 3 shows..

Hi Mummies..
Sigh, I sort of regret starting my mat leave so early. Have got nothing much to do at home except eat, sleep, surf net..The 2 kids are at my mum's house, so I am so bored. Feel abit useless. :p

Yen
I rem you mentioned ur baby is small all along, and you oredi delivered! My doc also said my baby is small leh, but dun know how small yet. He says at most 2.6kg .. He says genetically my babies will be quite small, as I am petite..

Wow, u were on gas + epidural! Must be v high.. and super pain-free.. hehehe.. Dun worry abt Jalen being small. My first one was 2.33kg, but he is so damn fat now. :p And 2nd one 2.46kg, now also quite chubby.. Just focus on feeding them after they are out.

Moomummy
Good luck to you! v soon can see ur bao bei liao.

I am also keen to find out whc place sells eggs and ang ku kueh only.

<font color="ff0066"> Bear</font>,
OMG!! That's super duper good News!! Yeah!! Me supporter for OBAMA!!

<font color="ff0066"> Kash, Bear</font>,
Ooohhh... this is news to me that can eat eggs. All this while, whenever I go for surgery, my mom will tell me no eggs, no seafood cos scared they will cause itch and pus. hehehehe... Yeah!! Then during confinement will eat eggs. But must do it only when mom not around lah.

Thanks!I am doing fine here but kinda of bored ... hee

I just managed to get out of bed and walked around after lunch.As usual,It was so painful when i had my 1st touch -Killer step!

My story (04th nov)
10am - wake up had bf and did feel abit crampy on &amp; off.Tout is BH and still happily msn with the SMH gals :p

12+pm- Chat with mildy and asked her hw contraction is like..bt we tink might b false alarm.So i go bath and tout of taking nap.

3pm- Had milk and chat with mildy again.Tell her i felt pain again.Still joking tat she will drive me to hosp and we might create headline of giving birth in the car.

4pm- HB rch hm and asked me to go for a check.I was hesitated to go hosp cos i have to collect my spree toy at 5pm and dun tink is contractions :p

5pm- Pain suddenly gt intense &amp; stronger while on the way.

530pm- Rch hosp,CTG showed i was having 5mins interval contractions!I was SHOCKED!

6pm-Gynec here and said 3min interval,cannt wait.No wonder the pain was so unbearable to me tat moment.

630pm- push to OP,had spinal injection

7pm- Baby Caden said hello to the world!

Will try upload pic when i am back hm.

2nd time mum,
Make sure if u feel pain,dun wait ley.I realised the contractions and diluation is so much faster!

Mildy,
My bb is 47cm,2.8kg!

<font color="0000ff">How to Make <font color="ff0000">Red Eggs</font>

- 20 Eggs
- 4 Tablespoons Red Dye Powder / Food Colouring
- 2 tsps vinegar

Boil eggs in water with 1 tsp salt. When eggs are hard-boiled, lift them out &amp; drain them.

Mix the red dye with 1 cup hot water in a bowl. Blend evenly, add vinegar and mix well. If you want a deeper colour, just add more dye.

Dip one egg at a time into the red dye mixture. Roll egg around to obtain an even colour on the shell. Leave eggs to cool &amp; dry.</font>

In case any of u wanna make red eggs yourself

Hi Lilian
Thanks! But i realised that when we make eggs ourselves hor.. the colour seems v uneven. And somehow, can see the white patches when we lay on the table/bowl to cool and dry..

How ah.. Or is it becos my MIL got no skills.. heheeheh..

Happy,
Wow, thats a very quick labour! Sorry, why did u have to go thru C-section? Too many mummies liao, I cannot rem the "history" behind each mummy

cookieoreo,
yea!! hang in there!!

lovedogs,
i love the buns from Provence too, very yum. i like their cream coronet too.hee..

Bear,
oh no, once again i missed his show..sob!!

Happy,
wow, ur whole experience was really quick. glad that all went very well. enjoy your baby!!

sunshine,
Ya is quick and unexpected labour for me!I din expect pain to come so suddenly.

I hav narrow pelvic bone.. so chances of VBAC is v v small.Lucky i din choose the VBAC too cos nv expect bb caden to be bigger than estimated.Mayb credits go to the ben n jerry ice-cream i have taken daily :p

Happy, ur tolerance for pain very high ?
Ur birth story realli 'happening'

Sunshinekid, ya hor, u got a point. How to make eggs w/o t white patch? Go back ask my mum &amp; mil. See who more clever. kekek...

Triangel, we are both fine thks! How r u coping? Wow..so coincidence we delivered on same date and by same gynae! So after yours at 9am, he must have rushed over and delivered my bb at 9.38am! No wonder I didnt see him earlier! Nope, was not me..I saw him on Mon evening.

Baby23, yup sweetestmoments pkg does seem nice! Hiaz..must see if inlaws ok with just giving cakes, and not buffet.

Vincy, wow! 120 pple!! but at least outside venue not so messy

Confinement food: Been eating bread haa..like those sweet type of trad bread. But CL said I can't eat eggs for the moment leh.

Hi Happy, great to read your birth story!! Have a speedy recovery!

Dymples, ya ya! i m a Democrat! have always supported them.. GOP too snobbish in my opinion. heee... at least we got to witness a historical moment. first African-American president!

Happy, Mildy excited u too much right? make u go into labour.. may be u can do the same for her since she so kan cheong abt popping!

Haru, there there.. i also didn't know that he was coming until i read a stranger's blog. then when i go and check tixs, left all the crappy seats with restricted view. now i know u and Kash like him.. got any shows i will let u know. Must wait a few yrs though.. heh.. oh ya since u are at home, u can look in Youtube for this guy called Jeff Durham. Look for the clip "Achmed, the Dead Terrorist". he is hilarious too!

Sunshine and Lilian... may be there is something called an egg drying tray? wahahahah... we do ourselves one always got finger prints and smudges. :p

Lilian,
Thanks. Remember to ask and tell me..
I know those professionals, they spray the colour on, so they eggs look v good and colour is even.

Happy,
Good for u lah... Baby come out liao.. When is my turn... I am those kind of person who cannot stand not doing anything. Feel that I am wasting my time away :p But Hubby insisted I took leave and stay home, cos #3, maybe will del v fast.

moomummy: breakfast i normally eat:

- cream cracker biscuits
- oats with egg
- soft boiled eggs x 2
- milo/ horlicks
- mee sua with chicken and ginger and egg
- plain bread w/cheese

We can consume eggs but avoid half cooked eggs, bcos can get simonella.

CC, eh, our eggs are salmonella free! even the terrapins we imported in from US are salmonella free.

Dymples, forgot to say i feel that wat can eat/ cannot eat again is chinese customs. just eat everything in moderation.
why prawns and crabs are always mentioned is becos their antigens are more likely to be recognised by our bodies hence cause allergic reactions.

Sunshine, spray eggs??! but u still need to hold the eggs right? why no marks then? hahah i m trying to fig it out!

<font color="ff0066"> Happy</font>,
Wah seh... your delivery story so happening leh. Luckily your hub suggest to go hospital to check.

<font color="ff0066"> sunshinekid, bear</font>,
Yah lor... those eggs we do ourselves always not so "mei-mei" leh. The colour is not even, got smudges and white patches. Huh? Spray colour on? So coolz....

<font color="ff0066"> Bear</font>,
Yup. Agree that we need to eat all foods in moderation. Too much of a good thing is not necessarily good for the body. hehehehhe..

Just came back from my wk37 checkup. Sigh, still no dilation leh. WHEN IS MY TURN??? If I still have to tahan another 2 wks, my tummy would be badly scarred by those itchy spots n stretch marks.

Luckily she said that she will decide whether to induce at next week's checkup.

My boy is asleep. Finally, I got some time to login to SMH.

sunshinekid,
Yes. My baby is small all along. Estimated 2.5kg when borned cos I'm also small.
I feed him on demand now. He's only drinking 40ml, sometimes 30ml depending on the interval he needs to be feed. Tried breast feeding.
I'm super high that day. When the anethesist try to explain to me what he's doing, I can't even reply, I can only say Yes, huh, ya, wat...
Not pain free though .
The nurses wanted me to feel the contractions.

Gotta go...Pumping milk again. Bb's crying.
1st attempt only 20ml.

Baby23,
We share the same EDD and also both of us are waiting eagerly to see our little bb.. Waiting n waiting now..

Haru, Cookieoreo
Ya, actually those promoter from Avent will tell you to use only 4, 5 times and have to discard. But it can last longer than that. I will only discard when it turn yellowish or there is any tear and wear sign. And if still clean, i will also use to put bb's biscuit/snack cos it can close tightly..

Happy,
thanks for sharing your birth story! How's is Dr Yvonne Chan? Got chat during op not? keke.. Ya, she also told me not to wait too long to go hospital if feel the contraction, really 2nd time is so much faster than first one.

Red eggs
Yah, thats what i heard from pple, those professionals spray one lor.. but when we do at home, how to make it sui sui ah... Task for everyone to find out.. heheeheheheheh....

Yen
Don't worry too much lor. Heheh, easier said than done, I am also here worrying if my baby this time is small again! Hate it when everyone says, Aiyo, of course lah, u dun eat what. Even my own mum tells me that. I look around, everyone's baby is at least 2.8kg and above. Very gek sim to see my little precious so tiny.

But Yen, small very easy to give birth hor?

Hello everyone!!! I am back from my check out. my gynae says i am slight more then 1 cm dilated already, she feels tat i will pop next week. i really hope so. its such a waiting game now.

bb is now ard 2.8kg near to 2.9kg le. much smaller then my no 1 though.

<font color="ff0066"> Sunshinekid</font>,
Dun worry yah... my first 2 gals also not big. 2.65kg and 2.45kg respectively. Juz "beef" BB up with lots of breastmilk after give birth.
The most important thing is that BB is healthy and normal okie...

<font color="ff0066"> Milderina</font>,
Wow! 1cm dilated liaoz. Must keep a look-out for the other signs of early labour. Especially this is your no.2, so things may progress alot faster then the first time. *good luck*

Congrats Milderina, I think my gal also goin to pop out soon... but me only 35week now... sad.. hope she dun come out so early... Jia You Jia You!!!!

dymples,
yeah cant wait cant wait, but my gynae say ard next week leh...

karen,
y u think ur girl going to pop soon?
maybe we can hold hands go hospital? wakka.. mi everyday thinking of asking ppl go hospital together. i am nutz.....please pardon mi.

Mildy,
Actually 2 wks ago when i went for my checkup, my gynae told me that my bb has engaged and possible to deliver by end Oct.. But i wait and wait until now (which is 39wks+1day) still no labour symptom lei.. Hopefully can see the labour symptom coming soon, or else i hv to wait till like giraffe..