(2008/11) November 2008

amore,thank you for the advice. I've been going for brisk walks during evening time after dinner since quite some time ago, but i think it's still not enough..
engorgement- Then I suppose there's no need for me to bring along the breast pumps liao..I've already packed in my nursing bras though.

Ollie, vincy,

hope your babies' eyes are better now... my hb brought our boy to the PD this morning liao... PD prescribed eye drops. However, the next application is 2.30pm and he juz went to zzz... so i also whether to wake him up or wait until he wakes up next... hiaz...

cookie, amore,

i used glass bottles, avent storage cups and milkbags last time when i freeze the EBM. This time round, i think i will pour straight to either glass bottles or milk bags. But my hb told me to freeze immediately else throw away...warrao..heartpain.i juz fed bb with a 26 hrs EBM juz now...oops..i believe shd be ok.. i now got extra in the fridge so i will have to freeze some. hope it wont be contaminated by all the raw meat
Will sure use lock and lock. Even for EBM in normal compartment, I am using avent bottles with sealing disc and put them in ziploc bags.

fifi,

must apply nipple cream... will help...

Re : buffet

been using Neo Gardens...their food is nice...

Re : full month party

Anyone NOT doing it? i am not planning for it... feel quite bad and unfair for boy boy since his sister had a big one... but it was juz last year.. very sian to have another one...

moomummy,
My #1 was also an induced labour, and end up i have assisted delivery which is using vacuum. No choice, cause i didnt take epidural throughout the labour and when it was time to push, i already have no strength and dunno how to push!

haru,
Yes, i also sterilised the avent cup using avent steriliser. However, pls note that avent via cups cannot boil.. it will melts.

amore,
so you will thaw the frozen milk e nite before when u used e Avent storage cups and transfer to milk bottle when u are ready to warm and feed to baby right?

lovedogs,
i think it is ultimately up to you and hubby if you would like to have a full month party. dun feel bad, as long as you both agree on the same decision.

amore,
oh is it? so far i have been ordering for my girl's birthdays, full month, housewarming a lot a lot, so far all quite good leh.

haru,
yeah sterilize the storage cups too.

olwen,
glad to hear that luke coming home soon. i think its really not ez with 3 babies.

joyce,thank you for filling me up with your birth experience. i think for me, i'll definitely want epidural to be administered coz i have a low threshold for pain..
now i guess what i can do is to sit back and wait liao...

moomummy,
Ya, same here. if i have a low threshold of pain i will definetely go for Epidural.. Cause the pain was really unbearable.. Now come to think of it, i also dunno why i can "tong" for so long. Keke. Just scroll up and saw your edd is 5 Nov which is tomorrow! So u were scheduled for induced birth right? When is it?

wah, so many more mummies have given birth to their cute little ones. , COngrats. wonder when will be my turn (neck becoming v long).

I'm having a super itchy tummy, think its pupp. No matter how much lotion I apply or even take anti-itch pills, still so itchy. Anyone has quick remedy?

thanks mummies for all e advice on BM!!=D

just had a full late lunch. hubby took the afternoon half to accompany me. hee.. had lontong and an epok epok, yummy!! going to take a nap later before gg to MIL place for dinner tis evening. so happy coz its starting to rain now, good weather to sleep!!

gin78,
i had some rashes which was like lil red dots on my belly twice or trice. i found that the prickly heat powder really helped..=>

Juz went to see my gynae. BB is now 37-weeks and weighs 2.8kg. She said my cervix is dilating liaoz. So should be delivering Princess no.3 within the next couple of days. heheheheh... so excited.

<font color="aa00aa">Full Month Celebration</font>,
I'm also planning to cater from NEO Garden. Heard some good reviews on it. How about the 1-mth cakes? Any one ordering those cake + eggs packages? I tot of trying Jolly Town cos it's the cheapest. Any reviews on this?

<font color="aa00aa">gin78</font>,
Itchy tum-tum... for me I bathe with salt and then apply lots of calamine lotion. How about applying those prickly heat powder?

<font color="aa00aa">Olwen</font>,
Glad to hear your triplets are doing well and that Luke will be going home soon.

now I'm feeling really helpless as my elder girl, 2.3yrs old is very disobediant. Don't knw is it bcos of the new bb. She adores his didi very much but since couple of months before I gv birth she started behaving really clingy n disobediant. I try my best to attend to her but it's kind of difficult esp now. During heavily preggy, she would asked me to carry all the time. Then now with didi latch on most of the time is even more difficult. So alot of time I'm losing my cool on her n feeling really bad after that. Feeling depressed now!

<font color="aa00aa">Ollie</font>,
Dun feel depressed okie... It's understandable for you to be irritable cos you're already so busy and tired out from handling a newborn. So when your older child seeks attention, it's easier to snap. I've been there... and also guilty of the same reaction. Your older gal's behaviour is also normal for her cos she's adjusting to a huge change. She's probably feeling neglected and displaced by the new baby and just wants some reassurance from you.

Can your hubby help out? Like bring your older gal to the playground, watch TV, etc? Or better still.. is there anyone who can help to look after BB for like a half hour everyday? Then you can use this quality time to just spend it alone with your gal - read a book, watch her fav DVD?

Another thing is keep her involved in the BB like helping to take "unbreakable" stuffs like powder, diaper, etc. Then praise her lots when she gets it right. When Bf-ing BB, you may wanna cuddle your older gal beside you and BB? This can create bonding between the 3 of you too. I did all these for my older 2 gals... and I can tell... it was no easy task but eventually... it has its rewards. HTH's

gin78, maybe you can try prickly heat powder? I always find it very useful to reduce itchiness.

ollie, i think maybe your elder gal is feeling insecure and therefore try to seek attention? it is natural. maybe you think of smtg simple to get her involved in taking care of your new bb. like ask her to bring the milk to u etc ...

dun feel depressed. you are doing very well coping with 2 kids at one time!

Dymples,krystel
Daddy has been helping. Since few mths before I popped, he has been taking over my duties like send her to school, putting her to sleep, bring her playground, library, bathing, etc. Then ils are helping in pick her frm school, feeding n spend more time with her so that let her get use of some time without my presence...cos I was the main care giver 24/7 to her. I also bought pressy for her on behalf of didi n get her to choose pressy for didi n let her do the wrapping n all...
Now I try reading, talking, let her sit w me when breastfeeding but she is still like that...I'm really feeling helpless...

Oh dear... sounds like your gal is really really attached to you. But can't blame her leh... cos you were her 24/7 caregiver. Now suddenly, the family dynamics change... she is feeling insecure, unsure and maybe even frightened. Give both of yourselves some time. I know it's really not easy. Like I said... I'm also guilty of "snapping" at my gals. Cope slowly... slowly. Dun stress over it. Handle 1-thing at a time, 1-day at a time. At the end of day... all your gal wants to know is that mommy still loves her and will be there for her no matter what. "Jia you"!! If you're feeling helpless... rant in here... and get it off your chest. We're all ready to listen yah.

Dymples
Thank you very much. I really hope this phase will be over soon. I feel really heartpain when she calls for me n I can't attend to her sometimes. Now whatever we say she has to go opposite. I hate the feeling of losing control of what I'm doing. She was my little angel n now feel like we are not close anymore. I knw it sounds silly but I feel so lost. Now alot of time I talk to her feel like I don't really knw her anymore.

Yup... I can totally relate to your feelings of heartpain, feeling lost, etc. As for her doing the opposite of your instructions, that's her way of crying out for attention. Even if it means you yelling and screaming at her... cos to her... at least she can get some reaction from you. Better then no reaction mah. To counter this... talk to her firmly when she does something wrong and refrain from the normal reaction of yelling. Reward her with lots of cuddles, kisses and prasies when she follow instructions. She'll soon get the idea.

It's tough work being mommy of 2 yah... hehhehe... this is only the start lor. Wait till they are older and start to squabble. Lagi fainted man. *lol* Tat's what I'm coping with nowadays. Everyday I gotta be referee. Sometimes no choice... but gotta resort to cane somemore. *faintz*

Dymples
Ya that's what my hb said...it's gonna be more dramatic in the future. They are gg to fight n all...*haiz tough life being mother!
Thanks for listening

Hi Joyce, yah, my EDD is suppose to be tomorrow, but last check up shows that I'm not dilated yet and gynae says that most probably i'll be overdue. If 4 days after my EDD i'm still not dilated, i'll have to go for induction liao. but all is not confirmed yet until my check up this coming friday..
Just to confirm something..I was having my shower abt an hour ago, suddenly i felt something sliding down from underneath..then i took a look and saw this huge lump of thick mucus brownish discharge sliding down my legs. i got a shock and quickly washed it away then got followed by more brownish discharge. Could this be the 'mucus plug'? does it mean that labour is just around the corner for me?

Moomummy> I think that's the mucus plug, so happy for you, very soon liao, watch out for contractions or waterbag bursting. So happy for u.

Brocoli- really ah? Wah...! so happy now!Thanks for sharing this important info with me.
Now I'll wait patiently for the labour symptoms.hee.

Hi all..

din manage to log on for a few days.. so many postings...

Milderina, thanks for the update. Natural w/o epi..

Kash, its different now.. now u got 2 kids.. cannot be the same as that time when u have just Tessa, so hardworking in pumping! try ur best lor.. seems ur SS is gd hor! keep it up!

Talk abt first mth.. we didn't wanna do it.. kena persuade by MIL.. then things got super out of hand.. my mum wanted us to do it at a hotel!!! then my MIL keeps insisting to do it her way but do it in my house. she wants me to do everything in one day.. my parents' side got 50 plus pax, how to squeeze.. we really getting very very sian abt this.. everytime we talk abt this to either side of parents, sure end up somebody unhappy one. Imagine FIL said he just want ONE box of cake (plus ang ku kueh, red eggs and glutinous rice) for hb's granny. Where to find one box of cake nia???? Then my parents want super high class cakes, told me must be more than $20 per box!! KAOZZZ!! i hate doing such things and then they still heap so many request on me!

Joyce, i was thinking of milk bags cos i heard easier to defrost.. i need to clean my fridge liao.. thanks for ur tip!

Ollie, cheer up.. u are doing great and there is always us to cheer u up. hahaha.. too bad Peanut is not around. she always crack us up with her jokes. Mildy also.

Moomummy, sounds like ur mucus plug.. labour could be soon but also can be a wk's wait. Hope it is soon for u!

moommummy,
ya, should be mucus plug.. If you are worried, can go to hospital or drop by your gynae to have a checked.. Think no need to induce liao, labour is just around the corner, perhaps these 2 days?

Moomummy> The plug slipped out of ur cervix, that means shd have dilation liao. From TMC's Mrs Wong's book on Childbirth:' As the cervix dilates and stretches, the opening becomes wider, causing the plug to slip out, together with a brownish or blood-tinged, jelly-liked substance.'

Bear,thanks!as long i know that labour is just around the corner, i'm very happy liao..coz previously i was wondering what was wrong with me..hehe..
Joyce, yipee! finally! Really very excited and happy now..i just sms my hubby and he's very exited too.

Brocoli, thank you so much for explaining to me on the mucus plug thingy.
I think i too kiasu liao..haha..i also emailed my gynae regarding this and he told me the same thing as what you gals have told me.
I'll keep you all updated when i give birth to my mickey.

Sabre, Vincy, Glad_gal, Haru &amp; milderina.

thank you for all the wish and jia u =)

Both me and my husband have been sleeping &amp; resting until now (4:30pm), only God knows how we can cope from tomorrow onwards. We were joking that, even before baby is out, we both broken down already >.< hahaha.....

Yes, I'm not singaporean. Now I got full house of ppl. my parents, my sister and her baby, would be more from tomorrow onwards. everybody is here to support me. I should be happy. Also my in law side all very excited.

oh, my C-section (GA) is 2:30 tomorrow afternoon at Gleneagles. If any mum happen to be at same hospital, we can say Hi to each other =)

we would bring laptop, but don't know the internet service good or not.

<font color="aa00aa">moomummy</font>,
Yup.. that certainly sounds like your mucous plug. Yeah!! Labour should be starting soon liaoz. Watch out for the contractions and bursting of water bag. *good luck*

No worries... always glad to provide a listening ear.

<font color="aa00aa">Bear</font>,
Is your BB the first grandchild for bith families? Maybe that's why they wanna have big big celebration. Really headache trying to find middle ground that will satisfy both sets of family yah.

Congrats to all mummies who have delivered! So excited to see the little ones!

Counting down for my turn soon..

<font color="ff6000">haru</font>
Like you I'm also at a loss when comes to BF, guess we'll have to take one step at a time. Am worried can't manage as well.

But thanks to mummies here who have been contributing info and their birth story that we can learn.

vel,
i cannot update now cos i got some problems with my excel. will try to update tomorrow in the office.

jjzou,
oic, where u from then?

Vel, without epi ah.. amazing! did u share ur birth story? must share leh..

Dymples, first grandchild for my parents and first grandson for my inlaws. they have 2 gals already.. MIL said all boys must have first mth parties.. to us its a waste of money cos the bb dunno what's happening.. all for show only.. i tot since this is my kid, i shd have the last say lor.. i very frustrated. hb also got so frustrated that he told his mum that this is our kid, we shd be the one deciding, else no party at all!!!

Moomummy, so cute u.. hahaha.. hopefully ur boy comes tonight! all ready i hope!

Bear> Full month party - My mum initially even want to have a few tables for relatives at those chinese restaurant bc during my wedding we didn't have a banquet. Later we juz tell her straight we dun have so much money, then she settled for buffet at her place. Then one day say nobody likes red eggs and cakes nowadays and another day she will say she will prepare the red eggs. I think she also dunno wat she want.

Bear,
Your baby will be 1st grandchild &amp; 1st grandson for both side of your families, no wonder they want a big bash party! Just go ahead and celebrate bah, possible to ask them to contribute? hehe

moomummy,
can see that you are really excited!! Remember to update us after you have pop!

JJzhou,
Wish you a smooth delivery tomorrow!

Bear, yep! all ready to 'cheong' to the hospital at anytime now. wahaha.. :D

Wah, it seems to me that your MIL is very conservative type hor? If my MIL is like that I also cannot tahan too. But luckily, my MIL very neutral one,won't nag at hubby and me so much and she lets us decide on our things. But like what other says, it's always difficult to avoid conflicts when all of us live under the same roof. So í'm still keeping my fingers crossed when our baby comes.. :p

Brocoli, Joyce, i dun mind celebrating just to make both sides happy. but can i do it my way?? its my bb aft all.. all the things they request, nv once thought that the first mth party will be very near christmas liao. everything sure ex... then nv say will share cost etc. told me having a kid is like that one, sure need to spend money so dun complain.. WTH lor, i dun need to spend this kind of money.

I very frustrated when it comes to the first mth.. i dunno why they can't be understanding and be happy with cake or vouchers.. want this and that but dun wanna contribute. machiam i super rich.

Moomummy, i dun live with MIL.. already dun see eye to eye. sigh.. if stay tog sure die one.. we initially got a bigger house becos we were supposed to stay tog.. in the end decided better not. aft that everytime she sees me she will say "shd have given birth to a gal not a boy. Gal more filial!" straight in my face! my hb reminded her that she herself moved out our her own MIL's plc but she said it was becos her MIL 'ill treat' her. she said she won't 'ill treat' me but i think she will nag me to DEATH!

Bear,
Cool down, cool down..
Or you can just bo chap them and have your way, you can ask your hubby to mentioned that since it is our baby, and we are paying it, we will choose our own way to celebrate it.. can this way works? Just dun care about their comments.

Aiyoh... no wonder both families want big celebration lah. But I also agree with Joyce. If they not contributing any $$$, then "tell them off firmly" that since you and hub are paying and BB is yours... so you will do things your own way.

Joyce, Dymples, cannot lor!!! my parents will wait for my hb not to be around then they can show me their displeasure. my mum still say, "dun think ur cake is enough hor, i need to top up with roast chicken and pork!" KAOZ! i nv hear first mth must give roast pork and chicken leh!! they try to give me the guilt trip lor. say if we dun wanna celebrate, they will do it at their place and tell my relatives i too tired to come! aft that my mum sure give me the guilt trip for the rest of my life.

Then MIL is opp cos my hb won't listen to her one so she WAITS for me to come then heap all the things she wants done on me.. kept saying that the ang ku kueh must be sharp one, not flat one. its only a piece of cake, why need to talk abt sharp one, flat one? i got half a mind to get the flat ones and let her see.. i mean she got so many requirements then go and get it herself. when we ask her to do it, she immed say "no no, u all do. cos i dunno what to do or where to buy"!! u hear liao angry or not..

I think i m becoming a sour puss.. keep complaining recently.. SIGH!

Re: Avent VIA cups
Ezit true tat cups can only be used 3-4x before throwing them out?

Olwen
Luke is coming hm? Tat's great news!
My deepest admiration goes to u.. Salute!! Stay strong &amp; hope u will find a gd helper soon.

Moomummy
Haha, u so funny. Tat's indeed great news! How big was your lump ah? curious lei..

Re: Stay in hospital
Request for a lactation consultant to your room for guidance on proper latch &amp; ask as many qns if possible. It helps to know u are doing d proper way.

Dymples
Wow, anytime now.. Your 3rd child? Hope u hav a speedy labour ya..

Ollie
My worst fear is to hav d same situation as u. I anticipate my boy will likely to behave like your girl as we both are d main caretaker all this while.
Must be tough on u.. Wait for me hoh, d next time i'll b d one depressed &amp; u can give me great advise, hee!

Bear
Ya, cool down, deep breath, cool down. *splashz water*
What does your hubby think?

<font color="aa00aa">cookieoreo</font>,
Thks for your well wishes. I also hope to have speedy labour. Yup. This is Princess no.3. hehehhe...

Oh dear... oh dear... *poor thing* You like kena caught in "catch 22" situation.

Huh? Why got give pork and chick for 1-mth celebration? I never heard of this b4 also leh. But for the Ang Ku, those sharp ones represents boi (cos the sharp part like the *ah-hem*) then flat ones represents gals.

Aiyoh.. these old folks really one kind lah. Maybe you can tell them off straight that you need $$$ if both sides want so much! If not... forget it! Get your hub to back you up too. With a "united" couple appearance, both parents will take yours and your hub's decision more seriously bah. Really "san nao jin" man.

Bear> i think AVENT cups are better than bags. it's quite troublesome to warm the EBM in bags.

Minkybear> hehehhe, u still around!

Peanut> congrats!

Dymples &amp; Krystel,
thanks for sharing, i will go n try. Last night was so bad that I numb my tummy with ice cubes.

Bear,
dont get upset. Sometimes I wonder y we must always make the old folks happy - it's like that when we hold customary wedding, full mth baby celebration also like that. I told my parents n in-laws we will hold on separate occasions if they ever want celebrate. Dun want them to fight over choosing menu n stuff. Or worse till, face to face say everything ok, behind each other back not happy.

gin78 - there is no fast remedy, but try to use ice pack to rub your tummy for face relieve of itch, can use calamine lotion / prickly heat powder and apply moisturizer. You can keep the moisturizer in the fridge so that when you apply, it will be cooling. I had that 2 weeks ago and it was torturing. The itchy medicine, is it piriton?? If so, you can take up to 3 times a day to keep the itch under control. Take care!

Avent cups - I will be using that to store my breast milk also. But only got 4, so think I will probably buy some more or opt for the milk bag, see which one is more economical.

Bear - cool down, ask hubby to appease his side and you talk to your parents lar?? Such things can be quite irritating esp. when each have their demands....dont be so angry..