(2008/11) November 2008

Good afternoon ladies...
Me juz woke up... sianz. Last night could not sleep till past 2am. Then whole night got painful BH contractions on and off which kept me awake.
Now me so sleepy and tired again. *faintz*

<font color="aa00aa">wtan &amp; fifi</font>,
Jiayou... Jiayou...!!! You'll be able to see your BB's soon.

Fifi and wtan,
ganbatte ne!!!

joyce and carol,
now me considering if i should get the pump before i pop..and if i do, which one to get. i am hoping to latch on as much as poss especially during initial months, so thinkin if manual or Isis Uno would be the most practical. plus i may be working partly from home even aft ML so i dun have to express at work. hmm..confused!!!

Wow, haven come in for a day and so much drama!
2 mummies popping at the same time.
Fifi and Wtan! Go go go!

How does the contractions feel like? Cramps?

<font color="aa00aa">Breastfeeding Pumps</font>,
Me too... hv not bot any pumps this time round. Hub was saying no need cos I'll be at home all day so can direct latch-on. The last 2 births, I used the pump only when I felt engorged and BB dun want to feed yet. So now also dilemma... dunno whether wanna get pump or not. Is the Ameda pump good? I used the Medela Mini Electric previously and found it a tad too noisy for my liking leh. Though the suction is good.

Thanks all for the compliments! Yah was surprised that he has so much hair. Most pple said took after my hubby.

Vincy: My inlaws &amp; colleag all sugg I shld shave his hair and make into a calligraphy pen or something for momento! But still not decided yet...they said shave and the hair will grow back thicker?!

Kash: Hee..your bb looks adorable!

Will try prune juice, bananas if still cannot. Told gynae when i went for check up today and he didnt seem very concerned ah...
Enema?! How to get it? From pharmacy ah :p But i agree it was really effective ha...

Wtan and Fifi, jia you!!

Carol: Dont worry so much! I am sure you can do it..and gd that you start on your ML now, not like me who 'lugi' several days coz so last min...

Vincy/Alibaba: Also booked Mona but she said she is only free next Sat. Will feedback on her service after that!

Sigh.. just went to take baby for check up. Paed said may need to go back TMC for suntanning looks quite moderate level and took his blood (baby was screaming away when the needdle was poked in!!) will call me by 3pm to tell me the results. Hopefully still within the normal level otherwise have to spend 2-3 days in hosp

i have only got manual pumps at home nia.. one pigeon one avents. hee.. ^_^ most of pple around me survive with manual pumps nia leh.. see how bah. if really a need, maybe i can get my fren to buy electric pump from US when she fly over in jan next yr.

bear> i jus read the article.. lightly drink mothers can have better behaved &amp; clever bb!?? wah. tonight i must drink abit.. haha

received sms from wtan this morning that she was in the hospital... she got discharge in the morning and went to the hospital... she will be wheeled in for e-csect! wish her good luck!

hi mummies..!! congrats to mummies who have popped!.. mummies who haven't... jia you!!

milderina, details of my gal... her name is Cheyenne, delivered via natural birth... lenght is 50cm... thanks..

re latching n EBM - just to share my experience... my #1 was on total EBM since she 2 mth due to some reason... was very tiring... pump, store, heat up, feed... alot of things to wash... breast shield lah, bottles etc... go out for too long cannot pump... need to give formula.... and need to suffer from engorgement... too much engorgement not good... supply will drop...

somehow i really wish i can latch my gal on.. so go out easier... when bb really hungry... dun have to wait for milk to warm up...
can just latch and drink...

Wow, seems like we will have 2 more graduates today.. Jiayou Fifi and wtan!!

Glad,
u can get enema from chinese medical hall or any pharmacy..

Haru,
Since u will be at home most of the time, then just get the manual or uno will do as both are more practical..

thanks for your compliments... whether he will look boyish still too early to tell! hahahaa.. but so far his eyes single eyelid like his dad...so sad leh...

vincy,

do u latch? I am latching lesser and lesser now since i am expressing more... problem is when i latch on, bb suckle and will fall asleep even when i try to latch up to 45 mins! then hor, 30 mins he will wake up crying again for milk. So I must as well express and let CL feed using bottle. He is drinking 70ml now..so far i am on TBM... havent open the tin of enfalac i bought yet.. hope can maintain but i am getting lazy... last nite i slept from 12 midnite to 4.30am then managed to pull myself up to express. then this morning, bz with my gal... and only got time to express at 10.15am... so u see... 6hrs apart!

haru,

i used avent uno last time... it is good but eventually, i used the manual coz i can control the speed and was faster. Now hor, i am using manual... coz i can't find the uno motor!!! dunno where I kept it
*sob sob*

Re : bind!!

i managed to tong till this morning!!! hooray... now am wrapped up again... torture

dreamyjo,

i finally finished yhe show yday! now started anither one but a very old shiw. in this jia hao yue yuan, i really like Bosco Wong...v handsome hor? heehee

kash,
you are great that can tong till this morning..Still have how many days to go?

EBM
You are doing very well that didnt give in formula.. Just keep it up!

joyce,

thanks! it is tough... i am wearing shorts and spag top and malay massage lady said i got no water retention but lots of wind... still asked me to wear t-shirt... cannot lah.. really perspiring badly now coz for 2 hours, cannot be in aircon
another 30 mins to go before i can go into aircon room

thanks for the encouragement... i prefer to latch coz worried bb may only want teat and not breast.

Hi Carol

I was oso told be Dr A to stop my milk last nite!! He said if not bb will be big.. yesterday est. weight is 3.3kg.. And the gd news is that BB has turned liao, so he said dun need c-section.. He oso reminded me that if reduced movement must call him.. so now me oso waiting for contraction..
Same as u, i will be starting my ML next monday..

D he check ur cervix for u ? He did not checked for me last nite, mayb cos mine is not engage yet..

kash,
hee finally u finished the mooncake show.Hw u find?
Nicer than part 1 right? So wat show u watching nw.

Wow.. you steady ley.Can tong till tis morning. Good job!
Previously i onli put on for 7 hrs and i cant stand liao. Feel so ltchy and got rashes.
Erm.. why massage cannt be in aircon room?

bear,
yeah actaully direct latch on is better as it stimulates more milk. when i had my no 1, i think i pumped less then 10 times throughout the 3 months of total breast feeding as 1 thing i also very lazy to pump. i do demand feeding. so when bb is hungry i feed, bb hungry i feed. can b quite tiring but i feel tat its so much easier leh.

dymples,
painful contractions? u delivering already is it? got time your contractions?

amore,
yeah lor, when i was breastfeeding it was so easy when go out, dun need bring milk all tat, cos as long as she c mi she got nei nei. awkakak...

kash,
your boy very very ham leh. can intro my girl next time? wakakak... eh.. boy boy hor single eye lid then ham ham, dun u think so? kekek...

as for binding hor, i was so glad that time my massage lady bind mi up cos hor my tummy was really sag down tat type lor, i feel more comfortable with the bind. i actually bind myself up for more then 1 month.

Happy,

Mdm Sadiah is Good! I bind tummy 2 days nia can see effect liao but too bad i onli can ask her come 2 days coz after that Noelle warded KKH for Jaundice so i cancel the massage.

milderina,

how u managed to bind yourself? i really find it a torture to have the bind around me...it is so tight and HOT!
thanks for your compliments...sure can intro my boy to your gal..hahahaa...so fast he got gf liao... heehee..

happy,

off course nice lah! hahahah... me watchin a super OLD show now called "Lan Hua Jie"... shanghair era that time... i also got "Shou Shen chuan" now maybe after the Lan Hua Jie... still waiting for Yu Ti Tong Xing..

kash,
when u c my tummy tat time u will know y i rather have myself bind up. my tummy like those that had given birth to twins...........n i massage in air con room n i stay in air con the whole day, so its not that bad.

Fifi &amp; Wtan,
Good luck and jiayou!!!

Re: Breast pump,
By the way mummies just to share with you all, The First Few Years at KKH is selling the Avent Isis Manual Pump at $59.90 leh.. Comparing normally I see outside is $91..

cutiemum - keke....Dr A also no do the cervic check for me. He also didnt say the baby got engage or not. Going back to see him next thurs. You??

Massage - I really hope the massage and binding can help to make my tummy smaller...now its super big lor...see already also gek sim!!

mildy,
wow..U bind for a mth!Peifu!
I found it a torture to hav it bind for a few hours liao.

Hui,
Glad to hear you like her service heee..
Btw, wat is her charges? I din ask and jus book ley

<font color="aa00aa">Milderina</font>,
My BH contractions are getting more painful, but the timing is all irregular. Usually I get it more when I'm lying down or I shift my position from lying down to sitting. So dun tink it's real contractions bah. Other then this contractions, no other signs of labour. *haiz*

<font color="aa00aa">Karen</font>,
You seen your gynae yet? Are you still leaking the watery discharge? My watery leakage no more liaoz. Like suddenly stop. *scratch head*

<font color="aa00aa">Kash</font>,
Oh.. how come after massage cannot expose to air-con? That time I did my massage in air-con room, then after that I wil stay in air-con room thru out cos scared to prespire or else the area around the binding will be itchy itchy.

happy,
cos every time i take off the bind i will b very sad, so i rather leave it on. lolx....
my tummy is those crumpled up type, cos really over stretch le. i think this time also going to b the same..........

Bear direct latch will have more supply, cause is demand feeding, meaning u might be feeding every hr, so the body will generate more supply. Pumping out, u need to be consistent..meaning every 3hr u need to pump. My frez bf till 1yr old with express bf.

Kash, ya me too, baby latch then doze off, drink not enough then wake up cry..then need to latch. very tiring like cow.

My 1st gal I was so stress then cause she keep crying for milk. So this round Vera I latch, then if she cry give her express BM so I noe how much she drink. Then she can sleep for 2 to 3hrs. I can rest. Maid can wash all the barang barang n heat up my milk. Maybe when she is older more awake, &amp; my supply can meet her demand, I might fully latch on.

I feeding formula in night leh, cause supply not enough &amp; I want her to sleep for at least 3hr. So now after last feed at 11am, she wake up at 3am &amp; 6am for milk.

Aiyah i forgot to say that Lucas, Greg and Ewan are all so handsome! heh..

Glad_gal, hopefully mine will be the same as urs.. not that pain.. i really dun wanna aggravate my back with epidural. *fingers crossed* So hairy Greg is short for Gregory?

Mildy, ya i also read that latch is better cos pumping might not be able to stimulate bb sucking.. aiyah but come to think of it like very lay chey... then hor i already can foresee wat MIL will comment if i directly latch on: BB never drink enough milk!!

Wah u tong for a mth ah.. i dun think i can tahan leh.. not hot meh??

Kash, u made it! so massage must be everyday one?? Ya Fifi told me abt Wtan.. i was still half aslp when she called me.. at first i tot she was Alibaba, cos their names sound so similar.. then she said she was in KK... i was like, 'eh? i tot alibaba gg to TMC?' anyway i m glad i got Wtan's news right.. hahaha...

Vincy, thanks for ur info.. i will try latching on first.. hahah actually the pump looks a bit scary.. like can make my boobs blue black..

bear,
in air con room ma, no hot. mi soak myself in air con room for 1 month. wakkaka....

dun care wat MIL say lor, its your kid, u make the decision. but must b prepare to feed every 1 to 2 hrs lor.

glad..great awaiting for yr feedback..heehee, I confirm date on 13 Nov. cause C-section need 20days.

Oh the hair, I did the calligraphy pen &amp; frame up the umbilical cord for my elder..find not worth it &amp; expensive, spend $300 plus. Still considering whether wan to do for Vera, scare when she grow up will compare y jie jie have that she dont have.

MASSAGE- hmmmhmm..my tummy flat liao leh...still need to bind? Thinking about binding make me feel so warm now

Bear..MIL sure will say wan loh, cause baby will crying quite frequent for Milk...u must be mentally prepare for the nagging. Dont be stress up by them...

boobs blue black..hahaha..actually wrong sucking method then can make yr boobs very sore.. jia u jia u

Milderine...wah 1mth air-con, so siok, my mum place no air-con...every day sweating like madness..Bathing is the most happiest moment..hahaha

Mildy, Vincy, my MIL can nag until we kena car accident leh!! i didn't tell u all but on mon my car kena again.. nothing major, just that hb bumped into a pillar while parking. cos MIL kept calling us to nag.. one hr called 2xs.. keep asking when the bb cot is coming. I really dun understand lor, the bb will be staying with me for 2 mths at least, why she so kan cheong abt the damn cot? We already arranged and told her when the cot will come but she kept asking. Nag until my hb got so mad and hit the pillar.

Then aft that she nagged abt who is gg to buy confinement food for me. I already told her my mum can buy, don't need her to buy, but she kept asking.. ask my hb 4x in one conversation! her idea of buying FRESH food is from NTUC!!! i see my hb's face also pity him.. i mean say one time enough liao.. SIL had to go and tell her abt some bad CL she heard abt so now MIL super worried that CL will bully me or the bb.. WAH LAO!!!

Oh ya MIL made those stupid remarks to my BIL and SIL.. said in that type of tone, "she wanna BREAST FEED LEH".. machiam i m so stupid to wanna do that.. grrrrrr....

bear,
wow seh, your MIL erally over board lor, cannot dun answer her call meh?

confinement food can ask the confinement lady go buy de ma, dun need your mum also.

Bear she not staying with u right? then not too bad, u can avoid picking up her call or ask hubby deal...if stay with u I tink u will kee siao loh.

My MIL..nag nag no bathing, cannot touch water, cannor drink plain water, must wear long pants &amp; shirt, cannot on air-con, fan &amp; window....blah blah blah....Tks godness is my mum doing coinfiment for me, if not I will go crazy.

<font color="aa00aa">Bear</font>,
Aiyoh... your MIL really naggy leh. Poor thing. Can understand you must be feeling so frustrated and irritated. Next time, try not to pick up her calls can?

As for the breastfeeding tink she belongs to the "old school" of tots where the older folks all tink that BF is useless. They believe more in formulas. No need to argue wz her on this yah... juz do whatever you feel is right and BEST for BB.

Thk God my PIL are the opposite. They totally "bo-chap" me. For my 2 previous births, they only visited me in hospital. After that MIA. Till today, I only see them like less then 10x a year - CNY, X'Mas, Birthdays, etc.

Mildy, Vincy, she dun dare to nag at me lah... at least i didn't kena as badly as my SIL lor. I think i told Mildy that 4 yrs ago, my MIL opened SIL's fridge and saw dragon fruits in there. then when my 2 nieces fell sick, she scolded my SIL for feeding them dragonfruits. According to her, fruits with seeds causes cough!! SIL told me even 4 yrs later whenever her gals are sick, MIL will say its becos SIL fed them dragonfruits!! KAOZZZ...

Vincy, ya u lucky, my MIL will be EXACTLY like urs.. she told me cannot eat a lot of stuff but i bo hew her. i think she dun dare to say too much cos i will tell her off.. my SIL will engaged her in a debate but for me i will just ask her where's the proof.. Also my face will turn black lor.. SIL has better self control.

I told MIL i will be gg out during confinement, like cut hair and watch movies. She immediately said NOOOOOO... cannot go out, wait catch cold blah blah blah.. i tell u, when she starts taking care of my bb i will have even more complaints!!

Mildy, my MIL stayed in this area for 31 yrs and she dun even know which market has the freshest fish or meat. I find that really odd cos my mum has her own market she will go to. May be its us Nonya, we need our food fresh. MIL's reason for not gg to market is becos it's dirty. KAOZ... NTUC where got sell fresh food one? May be some items are fresh lah but fish???? all her fish dishes got smell one. YUCK! If she dunno where to buy the freshest stuff, i won't expect CL to know also. so just get my mum to buy lor cos at least we know the stall holders for 20 yrs, won't kena cheat. That's another reason why MIL dun want CL to go and buy food. she scared CL cheats us!!

Dymples, hahah lucky u then... MIL will call my hb if we dun come back to her plc once every 2 wks.. she will say why so long nv come back, etc etc.. i mean her son already grown up and it isn't like we dun have our own stuff to do. I dun mind gg to her plc but sometimes we need some personal space. my hb lagi bochup. he dun like to go home cos all he gets is nagging.. and MIL can't cook, so in the end we still have to ta bao back to her plc.. then she will start saying the food we choose is very unhealthy.. blah blah blah...

Ya she belongs to the generation that swear by milk powder. SIL's 2 gals all fed on milk powder so to her, its like validating her claims.. when she told my BIL and SIL that i was gg to feed breastmilk, i was like this kind of thing also need to announce one meh? I think she is hoping that they can change my mind lor.

bear,

aiyoh ur MIL also like one kind.... ur hb must be one amazing son...can tahan her... ensure she doesn't come to your house often during your confinement...else sure a lot of comments one...

dymples, milderina,

i also massage in aircon room. Last year, the massage lady nvr tell me after massage no aircon...so i stayed in aircon room whole day and nite. But this one told me at least endure for 2 hours after massage no aircon... so i listen to her loh... but i can see my tummy smaller after 1 session. However, she juz told me next monday she can't make it due to some family commitments...so i will have to skip 1 day...hope it wont affect too much...

vincy,

today i have not latch at all...coz bb sleeping while i feel i got milk... after i pump, bb wakes up.. hiaz... juz hope will get to latch at least 2 times today. I think he is also drinking abt 3 times at nite. coz i prepare 3 bottles of 70ml EBM for CL overnite... think he last drank at abt 10.45pm, then maybe abt 245am... then 4.30am i woke up to express, and he probably drink again at 6am or so... i think.. i not sure leh...coz i leave it totally to CL at nite. My job is to ensure got enuff EBM in the fridge.

still no news on wtan...

anyone has news on fifi?

bear,

tell ur MIL that all PDs recommend BM for at least first 6 mths... tell her it is from the doctors! does she believe in doctors?

<font color="aa00aa">Bear</font>,
Aiyoyo... your MIL really sounds like a terror man!! My temper is really bad... so if kena MIL like tat sure cat-fight all the time. Lucky for you that your hub is not a "mommy's boy" or else... at least he also cannot tahan the nagging, etc. Likewise for my hub. He also won't bother going back unless boh pianz lor.

hehehhe... you also Nonya.. me too!! I miss my grandmama's cooking... buah keluak, satay babi, currey devil, etc... *droolz* Too bad that time I too young and din bother to learn the cooking skills from her. *regret* Now to enjoy such dishes gotta go to those nonya restaurants in Katong but... it's not the same lor.

Bear, I salute your MIL ! She is like the energizer rabbit, can go on and on and on one ah...
My PIL is like dymples's one. Bo chap kind. They oredi plan go holiday during my confinement period. I was jokingly telling my hb issit MIL scared I will ask her to come help me? hee...

Kash, she dun believe one i tell u.. she will say docs also say FM is gd mah... why need to drink BM??? BM comes from the mum and if the mum not healthy, BM also not gd!! at least FM got QC lor.. that's her thinking.. she also said her two sons both drank FM, both turn out so smart so why drink BM for?

Dymples, my hb cannot stand his mum when she is in the nagging mood but he won't allow me to talk bad abt her even to him lah.. so i have no choice but to talk to my frens. whenever we bring inlaws out for dinner etc, i always end up having headaches cos she just nag non stop! every goddamn thing she also wanna comment! we brought her out for her bday for dinner, she said why must eat out? cannot tabao back to eat? how come the place so warm (it was alfresco)? how come the food so oily? Why order prawns and crabs when she cannot eat cos will make her cough etc? In the end she ate the prawns and crabs lor...

U also Nonya ah.. i m a bit luckier.. my granny passed her recipes to my mum and my mum loves cooking. still some of the recipes is based on agaration one so no matter how, my mum's buah keluah can nv taste as well as my late granny's. but i have to say my mum's cooking is very gd.. my cousins and relatives always ask to ta bao her curry and lemak home.

Lilian, ya ya.. i think u describe her aptly.. she is like an energizer bunny when it comes to nagging and making stupid comments.. like keeping quiet is a prob like that. she can be very insensitve... U see, she took care of the elder niece for 2 yrs until the younger niece came along. so her fav is the elder one. now she keeps commenting on my younger niece, say the younger one more kaypoh, more talkative, not ladylike. Then still say in front of the 2 gals. She even told SIL cannot always spend time with the younger one!! i mean u wanna say all these things say when the kids are not around. my younger niece now tells ppl that my MIL dun like her and she dun like to visit. nv think abt the ego of the kid leh.

lilian,

my MIL and PIL only visited me the day after i discharged...and i was napping...by the time i woke up they gone liao...juz came with lots of ingredients and food for CL... coz their 3rd grandson...maybe not excited anymore...hahahaha but that is good
no need to have old people nagging...

Bear,
Yours is MIL, can you imagine for my case is my FIL!!! A MAN nag and nag non-stop. I don't really like to go to my in-laws place, my husband will go for the sake of mother, really can't stand my FIL. Morever, he talked very loud and there was once in the car (enclosed), he go on and on until my head really feel like banging against the window.