Thanks very much for the well-wishes!! Finally discharged with baby today. Thks Fifi for helpg me announce and Milderina for updating. It was really a whirlwind from Sunday night onwards...was really caught by surprise and did not expect so fast!! 10 days faster before EDD...and my work is not totally handover somemore jialat
My birth story:
Mon, 1am:
After watching TV, felt some contractions, abt 5 times an hr. Was not sure if it was the normal BH so decided to monitor a while. Decided to go wash clothes (sudden nesting instinct?!)
3am: Felt the contractions getting more painful and very regular and decided maybe 'that's it'. Woke hubby up. At 1st he still said wait a while more! THen reality sinks in when he saw me getting more cramped up. Quickly packed hosp bag and last min stuff and call cab.
5am: Reached TMC. Only 1 nurse at reception counter. Have to walk up to the delivery ward myself -_- Another nurse checked and said yup, abt 3-4cm dilated and that my contractions already very frequent at abt 5 min apart. Definitely not false alarm. Asked hubby to register. Give me enema to remove bowels. Asked if I need epi. I felt ok so said no need. So she gave me some pain relief jab on the buttock.
5.30-8am: Was waiting for cervix to dilate till 10cm. The between 9-10cm contractions was the hardest to tahan (literally 'clawed' hubby's hand during this period), laughing gas helped slightly. When I was at 9cm, midwife said cannot push but the urge to push was sooo strong with each contraction!
8.30am: Finally 10 cm. Midwife said can push. But after pushing 1 hr, could not take it and midwife asked if I need assisted delivery, as gynae can vaccum, so of coz said yes. Coz legs were trembling at that time liao no energy to push! And my pushing technique apparently was wrong so was wasting energy pushing but bb cannot come out...
9.38am: Baby Greg was born! I never felt so relieved in my entire life when I saw him...was totally drained out.
Gynae took abt 45min to stitch me up. He said coz I used vaccum, so the natural tear down there was quite big. Was very painful but well worth it after seeing baby...
Hee sorry hope not too long winded! Now can't really walk ard much without feeling discomfort and can't sit properly hopefully wound will heal soon
For mummies with tears in your previous deliveries, how long did u all take to heal completely??
For mummies waiting to pop: Ganbatte! Won't be long as Nov is approaching liao...
Realised DMK and Auggybear - we are abt the same time, and in TMC somemore!! Ha..cld have visited each other