(2008/11) November 2008

Chillipadi, CONGRATS!!! Thanks for sharing your birth story and pictures of your baby...she is adorable

Jenn, Jia You!!!

Amy, Happy,

my hb watched till 2am for the last 2 nites...aiyoh..he hooked liao... me working from home today so will watch 2 episodes during lunch break...me until epi 13 only...guess it will get better

Re : MAID,

i read the posts above very scared leh... i went to this agency and I want to have an experience maid who worked in SG (so can speak english) and from Indo...this agency only has 1 candidate... how ah? She is 27, worked here from 2000 to 2002.,.... now has a 5 yr old boy...

btw, do we have to buy soap, shampoo, toothbrush/paste, pads etc for them?

jjmom2008,
i will work till end of next week. my gynea said very likely i will be pop in the first week of nov...lets jia you!

<font color="0000ff">baby23,
I vy KS, starting my ML next wed so tat I don't lugi on my xmas PH...hahaha =P</font>

Gd morning ladies!

Chillipadi, Emma-Jane looks so pretty! Congrats again!

Carol, ya i know having a maid is gd.. hahaha.. don't deny the fact.. we'll see how... cos MIL will be taking care of the bb and we already have a PT cleaner coming in. if really cannot cope then we might think of getting a maid lor.

Jenn, ALL THE BEST!

Enne, ya i know wat u mean.. cos this time u already predicted the date of C-sec hence u have a lot of time to think abt it.. previously u had no clue! nvm lah we try and distract u..

JJMom, gd to rest also.. have some time to urself before your bb comes!

Brocoli, lucky its just a false alarm.. but it makes u just wanna pop ASAP and skip all the hassle right?

Lovedogs,
Actually it all depends on employer. If the maid is doing well, we buy all these for her, sometimes clothing, slipper too as some of the clothing will be damn old.

joyce,

but say when they first arrive, do we provide? or say we provide from the start, will they take it as granted? or tell her will provide for only 1st 6 mths? since they have no salary? i intend to give her a radio...but wont let her watch tv... if she is free, she can nap, sleep, or write... honestly, i dunno whether i shd try another agency also since this agency only has 1 choice for me to choose...but the agency is owned by a good fren of my dad's....

Jenn> wait for your good news update!
i heard most of the time, TMC do give free upgrade. if not, the 4 bedder are nicer than 2 bedder!

Enne, Carol> ya, our gynae looks really bo chap but he answer and tend to our little problems whenever we see him. i'm going to see him tmr morning! Enne, u seeing him on Thurs morning? CCK? hehehehe, prob after my c-section ba coz my op time is 9am.
hopefully he'll be on time.

Lovedogs,
So far we bought for them once they arrived. Maybe u wanna tell them that if they dun behave or turn nasty, then they need to pay for themselves for everything.. (just in case they turn nasty). Ya, i do agree that u can check with other agency and see whether got more choice to select, rather than the one n only one. keke

Bear-Yeah lo.. haha. then hor I also feel a bit sad I can't take care of my boy for sometime after that.. how are u doing? When r u popping?? Had ur regular checkup??

amooks-I seeing him 2night at SK. hehe.. I think he prefer morning c-sect time coz mostly afternoon he be in either SK or CCK clinics I think.. keke.

ENNE> oh ya loh. morning is best for him. hopefully my bb will be over 3kg by tmr. i told Dr wooody i will feed my bb till 4kg!
hhahaha i've been having backache and tummy cramps. could it be bb growing too big? hmmmm......

yeah! i going for facial &amp; pedicure now!

<font color="0000ff">lovedogs, bear,
so most of u working till pop huh? But I worried abt brusting of water bag in office =P &amp; also getting vy sianz to come in to work coz always can't sleep well at nite.

But also worried tat if I m late then lugi on spending more time with bb hor...hmm</font>

amooks-wah last 'PAMPERING' for urself huh.. keke.. 'meimei' go give birth.

JJmon2008-think shd be ok la.. coz now got 4mths ML ma.. hehe.. not as 'lugi' as last time liao..

Went for my cervix check today, i think it's not as painful as some had mentioned, felt the same like pap smear...

Baby still not ready to come out as cervix still closed, heading straight to hospital next week to check and deliver after...rather tha having to go doc and then hospital.

JJmom,
I am planning to work till pop, but am also worried about water bag burst in the office, definitely become hot topics in town if that happen

kash-> according to the 1st time maid employer lesson I took, if I remember correctly, owner suppose to provide lodging, food and toiletries. As for pad, its ambigious, I guess maybe I will buy for the first 6 months, and then she pay for it after that...but since its not an expensive thing, I also dont mind paying for it lar. As for maid choice, it depends on what is your expectation. If you find the one and only pleasing to the eye and with the experience you want, then I dont see the need to go to another agency. I had a hard time looking for a maid mainly because I want a filipino one and alot of them are demanding very high salary and 2-4 off days for experienced one. Thus I finally manage to find mine current one which is experienced in her home country, working for a american family, thus she is conversable in english lor. Is the maid already in SG?? If so, then arrange for an interview with her, think its more reliable this way.

Chillipadi, emma jane is so adorable! Congrats!

Yesterday went to the gynae, gynae checked cervix, its still 1cm dilated. She say unlikely to pop in the next few days. Baby weight now at 37w 5d is 3.2kg. I actually want to be induced this weekend but she advise me to wait a bit longer. So its scheduled to be next tue 28 but admit on monday 11:30pm. However, now my hb changed his mind after talking to his sis and ask me to wait and not go for induction. I'm really at a loss now. What should i do?

Amooks -> I wish I can go for pedicure!! but with the puppp and the horrible scars from the puppp, I dont dare to show my legs le. Sigh...been trying to plan for one to pamper myself...too bad...Ah boy helping mummy to say money. keke..

Dreamyjo, why want to induce?? Let nature take its course. If baby ready to come out, then let the baby come out naturally...unless its overdue. IMHO..

dreamyjo> I was also considering induction bc bb size big enough and i keep having the cramps. Like wat bear says juz want to get it over and done with. But my friend told me durian not ripe dun force it to open, guess every child has its timing. Also my gynea told me that if she induce me and i still dun dilate may end up emerg c-sect, sianz, so for me juz wait loh. But i guess your gynea will give u good advice based on your condition.

Enne, its only for a few days.. ur boy can always come and visit u in the hospital. u got another boy to look aft in the hospital too.

JJmom, for me its no choice.. i have to go back to sch in Jan so just back calculate 8 wks. u can nv predict zhun zhun when the bb will come so dun worry abt it. you will win some, lose some ya? may be take the chance to spend some time with ur doggie.

Dreamyjo, why u wanna induce? the longer ur bb stays in there the better for him... unless for medical reason or if the bb is late/ too big, then induction shd be considered. ur pelvis still very pain?

JJ:
I am officially starting my ML next Tues. Am also scared that later baby dun want to come out then lugi a lot of days. Summore gynae check le that my womb still closed. But hor, I so cham liao... wanna pengz le. Maybe coz all along my health not all that good lah.

Kash:
For me, I am flexible. If I see cheap, I will buy for her but she dun have choice of what brand, etc. If not, she can buy her own too so that she can select the brand. My maid dun keh kao with us coz when times are good, we do give them bonus too and ang pao for birthday. For a start since you getting from agency, do consider getting for them coz they really dun have money. There is a shop at my estate that sells such stuff cheap. You may want to get some when you come over and pick up the stuff. They are like wholesale kind.

Re: Induce
Is it advisable? My baby already 3kg at 37.5 weeks. Now cervix still closed. I scared later she dun want come out. If she tarhan another 3 weeks hor, later she become 3.6-3.9 kg, I scared later I will end up having to c-sec. I also very jialat coz of the weight. I am carrying 50% more weight compared to my before preggy and really can die from it liaoz.

Hi Ladies!!
How's everyone.. now Jovial not @ home then i got time to log on..my #1 is easier to deliver then my #2...#2 so diffcult to deliver..

Brocoli:
Your situation like mine. Keep having cramps and baby quite big liao. But cervix not open. My hubby keep saying I take care of my girl too well so she's too comfy inside.

Fifi, i can't come to ur plc tmr morning! i forgot that i m on leave.. DUH!! how abt Thurs morn?

Ya that time we saw u for the gathering can already see u struggling liao.. u look so tired.. may be u can start talking to ur gal to come out soon lor. heeeee...

Hui, share with us ur birth story! why u say the 2nd one so hard to deliver?

Fifi> I dunno if bb is comfy inside, yesterday saw his heart beat went up to 190 while mine is only 70+, dunno whether he kancheong or wat. A bit worried, but gynea never say anything so i guess he's fine. Maybe must go and walk more, hopefully gravity helps to open the cervix.

Hui> Why difficult? You breastfeeding well?

fifi, joyce, carol,

many thanks for your maid advise. the maid is still in indonesia. So i can only arrange for phone interview. She looks ok from her photo but photograph can be deceiving. I am really worried and feeling apprehensive about having a maid...but really no choice as hb and I can't manage the housework anymore.

i am hoping maid to come during mid of my confinement. so maybe i still have time to wait for another 2 weeks to see whether the agency has more profiles in the next 2 weeks? i am juz worried that this one and only with Ex Singapore experience, the last time she was here was in 2002.... can still remember how to speak english meh?

for the phone card, do we pay for them or they pay themselves? Then how abt food? Can we buy seperate set for them? Eg i use 3 in 1 packet milo, but i buy a tin of milo and condensed milk for her? something like that? is it stupid?

JJmom,

can ur gynae give u HL instead of using ur own ML? for me i am working from home these 2 days...then i will be clearing my childcare leave again... my gynae already told me last week just let him know if i need HL...so maybe my next visit this thurs i will ask for it... But you are right that u can take some ML first since xmas, New year and CNY will lugi

fifi,

i dun trust the EFW from the scan leh...coz that time, during my week 39 visit, scan showed bb estimated weight was 3.2kg... but when i gave birth 2 days later, actual baby's weight was 2.75kg...

My labour was induced.. Jovial also induced.. But Jovial labour pain was like 5 hr and 3 pushs.. Noelle labour pain is 6 hours and i push till i wan give up.. but heng Gynae and hubby keep encouraging me.. can u imagine am pushing and crying coz already no strength and bb head is almost there.. in the end vacumm out lor.. her head was not in the correct position so i got hard time push her out.

kash> did ur gynea used the black n white type of old ultra-sound machine to estimate the wt? Bc i realised my gynea's old machine can give several estimates of bb's wt. But she sent me to another doc using a better 2D scan and she tells me its quite accurate, dunno zun or not. Bc i look at the size of my tummy dun look like can squeeze in a 3.4kg bb.

brocoli, bear, carole : why i want to induce. well, my bb is quite big and i'm petite. Like fifi says i scare if wait longer, bb become bigger, i may end up having to c-sect. but having said that, induction have its risks as well. If labour is long during induction, risk of e-csect is high too. Carrying the excess weight around is too much for me to handle liao. also the pelvic pain although its better than before but still a pain in the ass. hmmm.. Brocoli, i agree with what your friend told you but I have some fears too. Maybe i shouldnt think too much and allow it naturally. Aiyoh... maybe i'm selfish... Really dont know how.

hui, can i ask you why you undergo induction for your 2 pregnancies huh? If you are not comfortable in answering, its okay de. Hope you not offended.

Hui, hahaha your gal stubborn mah..
all the same over liao.. how are u getting on with breastfeeding?

Fifi, Dreamyjo, hrmm i guess nobody can advise you if you shd undergo induction or not. best listen to ur gynae. if they don't recommend it then dun go for it. sometimes other ppl's induction goes well but it might not be the same for u.
cheer up.. all the pain we bearing is for the best of our bbs. May be its just me but i feel that S'porean gynaes don't really discuss the birth options, pros and cons with us.

Brocoli, baby's heart beat is abt 120-170 beats per min.. hahaha not that he kan cheong lah.. its normal.
gdness i sound like my gynae!

Dreamyjo,
actuali i also duno leh..both my pregnancy i dilate 3cm then gynae break waterbag.. then the nurses will put drip on me.. is dat call induced?

for maid, currently maid is eating with us and we share cutlery and i provide her with the basic tolietries including sanitary pads. Maybe when she start to have her pay, then will ask her to buy her own pad. Cos when i gave her money to buy pad, she buy the branded one. *faintz* i also bought her an international calling card to call home. But after trying to help her call, i think next time, will ask her to buy her own card cos she can talk quite long. At my place, she doesnt watch tv (only sometimes) but at my mom's place she watches the 7pm and 9pm show weekdays. She so happy there. Even can choose the kind of bread she wants to eat. One thing i dont like is she starting to have attitude and start giving excuses. I think we treat her too nice le now she is climbing over our heads and slacking in her work. Ask her why the kitchen basin so dirty but she said she clean already but the stain very hard to clean. I had to demo to her to show her it can be done. She forget to mop the bedroom floor, she can tell me i told her dont need to mop everyday. I ask her did she mop the living room floor, she said yes. I later ask her how come living room mop everyday but my room not everyday, she still have the cheek to say 'why huh, maybe i forget'. So pissed. Meal time, i had to call her many times to ask her to eat. She is like my employer leh. She is allowed to sleep at 9.30pm and wake up at 7.30am. But she still can wake up late. So pissed that i dont want to see her till after i popped.

hui, i also dont know leh. for my case, if i induce, gynae will insert tablet. She never say use drip. But i know there are another way of induction, using drip. I guess for you is okay since you are already 3cm dilated. induced to speed things up a little.

Bear, ya, i agree with you. My gynae never say much too, not to say the pros and cons of the birth options. If i dont ask she dont say much. Everytime my consultation is very short. Yesterday, she seem like she want to skip the scan cos i wanted to be induced. Anyway, she got advised me not to induce so early, try to wait a little longer, that's why she suggested 28. better give her the benefits of doubt bah. Anyway, hubby prefers me to wait after talking to his sis, keep persuading me and scaring me. So i guess i had no choice lor. But i will pray hard that my kid will come out on his own accord before i hit 40 weeks. Pray hard.

Dreamyo, your maid very one kind lay, must tell her off. Now she really climbing up your head. I told my hubby, if I tell my maid once to eat and she dont response, then I will leave it le. Dont expect me to plea you to come and eat. Also, dont expect us to take the "cai" to her bowl or plate. Its right in front of her and if she cannot reach, cant always stand up and take. We dont serve it other food as a family, thus I am not going to do that to my maid also.

Thank God my maid quite auto, except when we all relax mode at night abt 9pm...sometimes when she sitting there to watch TV with us and my dogs go and pee / poo, I have to stand up to check rather then she go, and call her to change the newspaper as she will be so engrossed in the show. At times, when I am having my nap and it rains, she quite slow in bringing the clothes in de, maybe cause she also doze off while I am napping. But such things I can close one eye, open one eye lar...sometimes, she too on le, only a few pcs of clothings also want to wash, so waste water lor, mum will tell her off, if maid does that.

Bear-I think more than that coz after c-sect also cannot carry heavy things ma.. then cannot carry my boy, feed him or bathe him.. during confinement.. for my first preg after I gave birth 1 week later I was admitted to hospital coz heavy bleeding, people thot I wanna give birth!! Coz think I strain 2 much coz I keep getting up and wanting to take care of my baby myself. This time round my MIL and HB 'warn' me must guai guai do confinement cannot keep getting up and down to take care bb lo..

hui-HEY!! You finally decided on Noelle, not Laura ah?? keke, how are u coping? Who's helping you with both kids??

hello mummies~ wu an~

chillipadi> thks for sharing ur popping process! ur gal is so cute! she look like she jus bathe come out nia. hee

re: maid
for Sanitary pad, they buy for themselve? i tot we suppose to provide these stuff to them.

<font color="119911">Dreamjo</font>

Relax, don't upset yourself over the maid, it's not good for the baby.

My MIL is "incharge" of the maid at home, so i don't really know much detail. But the maid usually finish her daily chores by early afternoon, so we can ask her to do ad-hoc chores in the afternoon (if any, e.g asking her to help packing the cupboard), especially when my ILs are not back for lunch or overseas, she has less chores to do.
And the maid only goes to bed after she finish the ironing at about 10 plus and wake up at 5.30 every morning. The maid does not get to choose her own bread, she only get to eat white bread, (cause sometimes we bought those banana walnut bread/ raisin bread for our own consumtion) and she's free to use normal spread like kaya, peanutbutter.

Dreamyjo,
Think it is better to wait for a while more. Maybe bb will come out soon?
I also had induced birth for my 1st pregnancy, reason is bcos baby head has already engaged and my aminiotic fluid is running low.. Using drip for my induction.

Hui,
Yours is schedule to be induced on that day or you go to hospital when the labour symptom starts?

Enne,
Think we had the same thought.. Mixed feeling, feel a bit sad that can't spend as much time with #1 when baby comes. But i try to think of the positive way

Hi Carol

u mean he didnt check the cervix? then how he knoe whether we hv dilate anot? cos for my #1, my previous gynae did check for me..

ok, noted.. will get the admission letter from him..

Lovedogs,
Again, it is up to you whether u want to purchase the phonecard for her or not. There is no fixed rule for this. If u buy for her at the 1st place, she will expect u to buy throughout her stay. For the milo u mentioned, of course you can do that, it is not stupid lar.. in fact, i know some employers only allowed the maid to drink coffee or tea and not milo.

joyce-
I hope I can... coz so used to taking care of him myself at nite and during weekends when I'm not working, already felt time not enuf.. but then.. see lo.. maybe will be too busy with the 2nd one also..

Carol, actually she also quite auto one or should i say act busy. But how clean i dont know cos i dont spot check. My mum say sometime she catch her action action only when she knew people is coming. How true, i also not sure. But 1 thing we notice is she likes to go toliet and stay in toliet for very long. dont know what she doing inside there. I told her, if she tired, she can take a short break 15-30mins, have a milo, coffee and take a stool to sit. Hopefully she is not using the toliet as a rest-stop. My hubby ever mention to me that he think she does not like to pick up my 2 dogs poo in the early morning. a few times, she closes the baby gate in the kitchen at night to prevent my dogs from using their pee tray. in the end, when i let my dogs out from our room for their toliet break, they peed on the living room floor and sofa. Sometimes, when there is poo, she just ignore it. only When i bend down to pick up the poo, she can then say, 'mdm, you should have asked me to do'. So fake. I tell her off a few times le. Now my hb and i tried to do things if we can. We want to let her know, we can still manage even without her. Sometime very tempted to send her back so that i dont have to headache over her.

maid
I've been having minor problems with my maid too. She's been with us for almost 2 months, and her English is not too good. Which I'm fine with it. I always had to remind her to ask if she doesn't understand, which she fails.

She's getting more daring though. Yesterday morning, before we woke up, we heard flushing of the outside toilet. She's actually only allowed to use the toilet in the kitchen. When we asked her, she said there was shit in the toilet newspaper (by my dog) but the thing is ... at night we the owners slept last and we didn't smell anything despite I going out of my room a couple of times. Plus, she's not that diligent usually to check on the toilet the moment she woke. Plus a few reasons which led me to believe she used the toilet and not for the reason she said.

Just now, I asked her to go down to buy something. She took almost half hour. Something which required only 15 minutes the most. When I asked her, she said something about the prawns. And apologised which she always always do (irritating since she thought just saying sorry means she can get away with anything). Only when I asked the second time, she said she met a neighbour and they talked for a while. I was irritated because she had no right to be chatting (I feel, correct me if I'm wrong) plus I really thought something happened to her. I told her it's ok for her to chat with her friends as long as she comes up to tell me first. Again, I don't know if I'm being too demanding.

She has nothing much to do now. Usually she would take a piece of cloth and wipe the house items. Actually I don't mind if she rests in the noon because we allows her to do that (until my mum talked to her and told her that she's resting too much). But for the things that we ask her to do, I expect a good job. She's rather rough and careless and I don't feel safe with her handling the baby's things in the future.