(2008/11) November 2008

congrats to Hui and Chillipadi!

Olwen, ur darlings are so cute! u rest well and i am sure your babies will be able to be discharged soon.

bear,

oh dear, thank goodness u and baby are ok... must be more careful .... esp u r preggie somemore... how much do u need to food for the bonnet? luckily the lexus guy not claiming insurance.. now must report to insurance company within 24 hours rite?

pai seh, been very busy no time to log in for 2 days...hope everyone is doing well...

Milderina,
I got the green light to buy..Haha..Ask some questions before I buy :D. Itchy hand.

dreamyjo,
I've decided to buy liao but haven't decide which set to get. Keke.

glad
comforter as per advise by mothercare, only used when he's 1 yr old ley....should use those blanket with holes 1....like those neated type...

bb wont need pillow in the 1st few months lo....

bedding set, i havent got mine too coz still looking for cheap ones...kiddy sell 16.90 and i find it ex haha...any good recommendation? but think 2 is enuf unless you dun intend to wash your bb laundry daily...

Mildy,
If u like, juz buy. Hehe...I'm infected by your bug. I try to avoid clicking on the bp link u or any1 post but this time I cannot resist anymore :p The pooh bedding set is super cute.

Yen/mildy, i'm also interested to know the answer to Yen's question. I had also decided to buy cos i did not buy any bedding set other than the one that comes with the cot. Notti notti fingers.

dreamyjo,
I cannot decide which set to get. That's why I ask the questions. Kiddy palace staff told me to get 100% cotton so that baby will not be so hot.
Nevermind, just buy anyway, I also need 1 bedding set even though I've bed sheet already.
Itchy hand.

TriAngle,
Now 33 weeks. Going to wait till next checkup den see hw big is baby first then decide ba...

Amooks,
Don't worry la, they will block it with a cloth so you wont see them 'cutting you up' de.. the tugging and all that will last a while only then you'll see your child le ma..... And think can get ur hubby to go in with you de....

Chillipadi,

baby23> yeah! let's jia you next week! now i getting cold feet liao.

Jo> Thanks, i also hope i can recover. but seems like i getting more & more lethargic these days. my tummy so heavy make my back so pain. i can hardly stay upright!

Jenn> we have to jia you! u chose 21 Oct ah? or ur gynae?

Sabre,
oh i see. my gynae did mentioned that chance of VBAC is lower. so i deceided to opt for c-sect w epidural again and partly oso cos bb is big.

dreamyjo,
me too. not donating. banking with stemcord again this timee. my 2nd bb got discount on storage.

any mummies, banking with stemcord? do u need any referral?

joyce, im sourcing for info now. an oct thread mummy donated her bb cord blood. So im checking with her the procedures. When i got more info, will update you. She also encourages donation of cord blood.

yen/dreamjo,
seller replied le leh, only the yellow set is dust mite free. u all know if aussino is dust mite free? my hubby also give green light but i dunno if i wan leh. or i just get the aussino ones. cos the girl's design for aussino is nice, whereas for this i think the boy set is much nicer colour.

Dreamyjo,
sure, will wait for your info.

Mildy,
hehe, u need to wait for green light?? Thought ur hubby already knew u are spree QUEEN.. keke

Milderina,
Yup, I just saw the reply and post another question.
Yes, the blue colour ones are nice. Think I will take the blue one but cannot see the whole bed sheet design cos covered by comforter. I'm not sure if Aussino bedding set is anti dust mite or not.
$75 should be the nett price, better confirm with seller if there's GST? I've asked the seller.

TGIF Mummies
Been a tiring week ya.

Congrats to Kaya, Olwen, Hui and Chillipadi!

Olwen told me via sms yesterday that she's quite worried about her smallest boy, Luke, cos he's not feeding well and still on drip. Let's all use our mummy power and pray for her boy ok. Her bigger boy, Gerard, most likely can be discharged by next week cos he's progressing well.

She sends her regards and wishes to all the mummies here and said most likely she will not be posting here for a while(due to confinement).

Bear
Thank God, your bb n U are fine. $$ is small matter, safety more impt ya. Take care ya.

minkybear
Hope U r better now. Take care ok. For sorethroat, I always drink starfruit juice and drink crystanthemum tea with honey, dunno whether U want to try?

Jo
Rest more and dun worry about work lah.

dreamyjo
J8's nursing room is near Kiddy Palace, the side above the restaurants. U can go check out if U happen to passby there. Is yr pelvic pain better?

Jenn
I will pray for U a smooth delivery. Dun worry cos some bb just like to be special, breech is not common but at least 5% are like that. Mine still breech also ya, now wk35+ .

Hi joyce, you can call this number 6394 5011. The lady will ask you set of health questions to see if you are suitable for donation. As for me i am not suitable for donation nor storing of cord blood because of my previous thyroid problem. I need to stop medicine at least 3 years before the cord blood can be donated or stored. So sad.

mildy/dreamyjo
I guess I will go down to JL and see the designs before deciding which 1 to get with the product numbers.

Enjoy your wkend.

cc:
Babies reach full term at week 37 weeks, which is 3 weeks before your EDD. So from that point, anytime is ok to deliver. For normal delivery, really just simply depends on when your baby want to see the world lor. Hence, if got dilation, then deliver lor. So not necessary to be because of any negative condition. I know many babies which naturally come out about 37-38 weeks. In fact, the average is supposed to be 38-39 weeks and not 40 weeks.

dreamyjo:
You can just contact the public cord blood bank which is located at KK.

<font color="0000ff">Jenn, 1 of the Oct mom share her delivery fotos with us &amp; she had her spec on in the delivery suite during her c-sect op
But u may wanna double check with your gynae again. Not sure abt contact lens thou</font>

Your topics are so interesting. Can I join in? Hope I'm not too late.

I'm expecting BB no.3. Already in my 34-weeks and BB is about 2.4kg.
My gynae is Dr Phyllis Liauw and I'll be delivering at TMC.
My BB's PD will be Dr Ang Poon Liat.

fif; thanks that really answers my qn..cos i will be about 37 weeks or so next week was just wondering why they wanted me to deliver earlier..

thanks for explaining.

congrats Chilipadi!

Wow, who is next?

Welcome Dymples! My gynae also Dr Phyllis Liauw but intend to get Dr Koey as my BB's PD. When is your EDD?

Mosh - Thks for the welcome. Wow! Same gynae! Tat's nice. My EDD is 24 Nov.
But at my check-up on Tuesday, gynae said my cervix is shortening liaoz. So may deliver by end next week. So excited.

Dymples - my checkup tomorrow. so u going to deliver at week 35, tats early but bb weight 2.4kg shld be ok . Wish u have a smooth delivery

Hey ladies! i slpt the whole aftn away... too tired aft all the excitement yesterday.

Kash, Bluebear, Dreamyjo, ya other than the backache, everything is fine. thanks for ur concern. Kash, i was abt to sms u today if i dun see u in the forum!! i tot u pop liao! I have to pay abt $350 for my car and about $200 for his car. sigh.. stupid.

Chillipadi, congrats! hope both u and Emma-Jane are doing well!

Mildy, Yen, Dreamyjo, eh, i personally dun like the fabric of the bedsheet set leh.. a bit prickly.. reminds me of those sold in the neighbourhood shop. Aussino one is much better. i also like the Cheeky Bon Bon ones. but its just a personal opinion. u might wanna check it out first before buying it.

welcome Dymples!

I have aussino privileges card and it is entitled to 15% discount storewide off regular priced items. If u need it, let me know.

Chillipadi,
Congrats...

Mosh - Yah... 35-weeks is kinda early. Me now talking to BB to 'guai-guai' stay inside till at least 36-weeks.

Bear - Thks for the welcome.

carry baby out &amp; breast feeding outside

dear mummies,

I have bought 'sleep wrap' (carrier, US brand), and tested by my sister and her baby. she found it very good, can even breast feeding when carrying the baby.

she has Baby Bjorn for almost a year, below is what she found:

1. the shoulder area fits better to mummy's body. unlike Baby Bjorn is more like a "school bag". after carry for a while, shoulder hurts.

2. it's possible to breast feed the baby while the baby is in the carrier.

3. it's offers similar hands free functions like Baby Bjorn.

4. much cheaper than Baby Bjorn. my sister bought Baby Bjorn active at Mother Care for $200+, and I bought 'Sleep Warp' for $80, and it's available in Singapore.

You can take a look at below website:

http://www.sleepywrap.com/

mummies, anyone 1 2 buy mothercare 7pc 0-3mths (up to 6.5kg) rompers? i bought at $56, can let go at a 10% discount....can mail you to show the pic if you interested ok...

Yen
Thanks. bely nice ho..no wonder you gals so tempted la...lucky i only 1 to buy bedsheet...hehe

Not sure if ikea has or not..2morow go down to see when after/b4 i picked things up from fifi....the other time i bot a quilt n quilt sheet n pillow n pillow case..but later got to know fm Mothercare cant use so...have to store up 1st and go and get my bedsheet...2morow if ikea got cheap n nice 1, will see got my mattress size or not ..

minkybear,
i also had a slight sore throat last week, downed manuka honey drink. do try to take lotsa fruits too.

Re; beddings sets
how many sets are you mummies preparing? i already have a classic pooh set. went to aussino to check out but dun hv design which i like..

jo,
u have a good boss.=> i know my boss wants me to take a break soon but he can't help but keeps piling on last minute work on me.anyway, i finally finished most work stuff. wil be stayin home next week most days except for a day or two where i will go back for some final training for my colleagues. i feel a load off my shoulders even tho i know i can never full delegate ALL my work completely. bound to be areas where they will not know what to do, but just want to focus on baby and relax myself for now.=> shall start watching my jap dramas on monday!!

chilipadi,
congratulations!!!

Re: pillow
i bot the Baby Safe Infant pillow which is supposed to be safe for use for new born. hubby and i thinkin of using to prevent "flat head".any mummies who wil b using it too?

Re: Babysafe Infant Pillow
For my no.1, I used the normal bb pillow and for no.2, I used the Babysafe one. My verdict is that there's no diff between my gals heads. Both are equally round and nice. However, for Babysafe pillow, cos of the contour and it is firm, I feel that it's safer cos BB won't suffocate should she accidentally roll over and not able to roll back upright.

Mummies with #1....wanted to ask about confinement period....

what are the Do's and Dont's in order to keep ourself fit and healthy and also "pu" back.....

haru: do u mean bedsheets for baby? I got 2 sets both winnie the pooh ones bcos so cute...they dry quite easily so i guess one extra is enuff.

jjzou: isnt it like sarong sling..? i also thot of it but not sure if i will use..anyway i vh bookmarked the page n case i need it, i saw at maternity spring also selling like $40+ likenot bad...material and shape of the sling..