(2008/11) November 2008

Re: ML

My EDD is on the 5th Nov, so I start off by taking 5 days annual leave prior to my EDD to rest. My 3 mths ML will only start when I give birth. but my office manager said that she can help me save my annual leave by adjusting my ML to cover the annual leave if I happen to pop during that week. and i don't intend to go for the 4th mth ML even though I'm entitled to.

Re: Babymall Spree #3

Orders placed as follows:
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alibaba</TD><TD>6-Piece Premium Bath Friends Bucket </TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Boy - Blue</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>3-Pack Patches Hooded Towel </TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Yellow</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Transportation Sound and Motion Toy</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Red - Firetruck</TD><TD> Out of Stock </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Full Body Animal Ring Rattle</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Yellow - Giraffe</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Girls' Flower Applique Baby Booties </TD><TD>12-18M</TD><TD>Pink</TD><TD> Alternative Colour </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>2-Pack Waterproof &amp; Flat Quilted Multi-Use Pads</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Boys' Computer Boxed Booties </TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Little Star</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Glad_Gal</TD><TD>2-Pack Waterproof &amp; Flat Quilted Multi-Use Pads</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>3-Pack Animal Faces Baby Socks</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Boy - Blue</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Christmas Side-closure Bib - Embroidered</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Let It Snow</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Christmas Printed Baby Bodysuit</TD><TD>0-3M</TD><TD>Red - Merry Christmas</TD><TD> Alternative Colour </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Favoured</TD><TD>Rainforest 2 Bodysuits &amp; Pants</TD><TD>0-3M</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>6-Piece Baby Clothing On-Safari Boys Gift Collection</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Lock-Stitched &amp; Quilted Fitted Crib Pad</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>8-Pc. Basic Hanger Set for Baby Clothes</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Yellow (Blue)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Baby Patch and Slip-on Baby Booties</TD><TD>0-6M</TD><TD>Boy-Blue</TD><TD> Out of Stock </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bear</TD><TD>Hooded Receiving Blanket</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Pink</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>2-Pack Waterproof &amp; Flat Quilted Multi-Use Pads</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>3-Pack Animal Faces Baby Socks</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Pink</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>2-Pack Hooded Towels</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Pink</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Blanket Wrap Baby Booties</TD><TD>0-6M</TD><TD>Pink</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Blanket Wrap Baby Booties</TD><TD>6-12M</TD><TD>Pink</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Girls' Computer Boxed Booties</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Heart</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Girls' Computer Boxed Booties</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Princess</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Baby Cap &amp; Bootie Set</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Blue</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Baby Cap &amp; Bootie Set</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Blue</TD><TD> Colour changed </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Boys' Computer Boxed Booties</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Train</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Boys' Computer Boxed Booties</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>All Star</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gin78</TD><TD>Swimsuit for Girls</TD><TD>6M</TD><TD>Pink</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Waterproof, Quilted Fitted Crib Pad</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>4-Pack Brushed Terry (Applique) Baby Socks </TD><TD>0-9M</TD><TD>Girl - Yellow and Pink</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo_Yeo</TD><TD>Pacifier Holder </TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Blue</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>2pk Hoodded Towel </TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Blue</TD><TD> Colour changed </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>3pc Manicure Set </TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Yellow</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>2pc Waterfilled Teether </TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Blue &amp; Yellow </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>3pc Storage Container </TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>Yellow, Blue &amp; Green </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Silly sounds starfish for baby </TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Please note that even though orders were placed, there is always still the possibility that some items will not be shipped due to OOS when they pack our order. For this, I will only know when I receive the goods.

Dreamyjo, i guess its the mentality my parents drilled in us lor.. don't take leave if u can.. hahaha.. i need to clear them by hook or by crook. so i think most likely i will forfeit my 4th mth maternity. either that or i forfeit my 21 days leave. heh... for me even i m on leave i still do work at home lah.. hahaha right now i come to the lab to enjoy aircon even though i can do everything at home. :p

Fifi, AUggybear is coming! hope to see u there ya??? thanks for coordinating the spree.

Jo, i agree with u.. i trust the big brands.. anyway i m too greedy to think abt such things!!

Fifi, I was thinking of that too, but my office manager asked me to apply for the annual leave first anyway.I also don't understand why.

I tink nvr mind bah, anyway my leave also already approved liao. hehe.

Hope your headache goes off soon,yah?
have a nice weekend ahead. Take care!

bear, my parents do that leh. but somehow never sink in in my head. Last time stay with parents, whenever i take leave, they will nag and nag say not good to take leave. I one ear in and one ear out. Hahaha... Wow give up either 21 days al or 4th mth ml. If i am u, die die also must clear.

moomummy, why you dont intend to utilise your 4th month. being considerate to your company?

joeyeo, your co gp very good, give you advise. That's what i think too. That's why tried so hard to conserve my remaining pathetic 5 days.

jjmom, i take before my edd. i cannot work till i pop. I want to rest first. if not for my groin pain, i think i will use that period to pamper myself like going to facial, bwax, manicure and pedicure. Hopefully my condition can improve so i can go for my 3rd round of bwax before i pop.

hui, your al can claim money, so good. If i dont clear mine, lugi cos forfeited. We one year can bring forward 7days to the next year only.

talking about ice-cream, hahaha.. i owe my current weight to haigan daiz, ben and jerry, magnum... wow, crave for swensen ice-cream now. must control!!!

am waiting for sister to finish work, will be going for a walk with my parents and sister and nephew before having family dinner. nice to exercise a lil esp since i have had to skip yoga this week.

ML leave:
i will def take a few days before EDD. but once handover to colleagues is more or less settled, i will work from home 2-3 days a week. and mayb some half days. not so much for me, but for baby too. i want baby to feel relaxed inside my tummy rather than all the rush when i am running around at work. i just got to learn to let go and tell myself that things at work will still function no matter what.

definitely a pedi closer to EDD!!kekeke..

Jo Yeo,

regarding the size of the PIS pump box, I have checked with them what is the size they use for freestyle. It is the same also, as they apparently only have that size at the moment.

Fifi,
take care. My gynae is a nice lady, v patient except come to weight gain. I complain to her about the practice charge for collecting iron pills and she say she cant understand also. Anyway, she will give me more pills at one go so I dont have to keep paying that $6. quite sweet of her.

hi fifi,jo yeo
Fifi u r RIGHT! they indeed got minus the 5% for me. Check from my citibills,my pump cost S$312.99, borderlinx charge is S$35.99. jo,the box size is 16x12x8-4.2kg for backpack. wow, we can really save almost 50% by buying it from US,worth it!

mummies, hv a nice weekend ahead

zzz...

i suppose most of u just had ur scrumptious dinner! i went for the walk at hort park just now, surprised that i manage to walk from alexandra all e way to vivo city. legs are tired now, but it was fun. only thing is my belly has some rash now think due to heat and perspiration..=<

So how was the dinner??

Fifi: Thks for coordinatg the spree. Can't wait to get the items! Hope u feel better soon!

ML: Think will also just take a few days leave before EDD. Hope to settle n trsf all my work properly.
Haru, hee guess we are both the kind who finds it 'hard' to let go for work...hmm..working fr home is gd idea. Will ask my boss if she allows that too!

Have a gd wkend ahead mummies!

hi glad,
i guess the biggest advantage to working from home is that you can pace urself and take a break whenever u feel like it..hee..

just remembered i still have e cloth nappies and towels to wash, but havent bot enough bath towels and wash cloth yet leh. how many towels have you all bot?

Promotion from Hackley:
10% discount off Medela PIS 2008 BACKPACK.

Who wants? Not sure if its a one-time code or multiple usage so first come first serve based on whoever sms or pm me first.

Jo Yeo,
yes, freestyle sure get GST cos the pkg box is so big. In the end I ordered the PISA metro bag.

Haru,
I have prepared 5 bath towels(some with hood, some w/o) and half a dozen burp cloth (those sq colorful ones).

How was dinner yest?

My gynae say in 2 wks time will check cervix is (open..?) can give birth anytime...Hmmm..do you ladies go for brazilian wax then? Any places to recommend in the north..?

thanks mummies!i just got a $30 mothercare voucher.maybe try to see if i can get some towels with that.=P

lovedogs,
sorry i forgot who will be ur baby's pediatrician? I have indicated Dr YY Yip as recommended by Dr Chan. but i have also read some good reviews on Dr. Ngiam and Dr. Gong. I want inform the clinic if i really do intend to change pediatrician. But i am likely to chooes another pediatrician after the delivery..

haru: do we see a pediatrician for bby right after birth ...and do we still need to see gynae after delivery?

Hi mama gene,

It is normal for baby to be active at night when you are resting as in the day, when you are moving around, she will tends to be 'rock' to sleep. So when night, you are resting, bb do not feel much of your movement they will tend to wake up.

As you are now in week 35, the space for her is very very little, so even she make slight turning, you will tend to feel pain. Bear with it, another few week to go.

Hi cc,

A pediatrician is required to check on the baby right after birth. They will check on baby's reflex, hearing, lungs etc to make sure that everything is well. Throughout your stay in the hospital after delivery, the PD will check on the bb everyday and is supposed to 'reporrt' to you on baby's well being till both of you are discharged. They need to keep track if baby has jaundice.

After discharged, you will ususally need to bring the baby back to the PD's clinic when bb is 7 days old.

Most gynae will assign the PD to you once you have delivered. If you have an PD in mind, do take note to inform your gynae you wish to use that PD so that he can make the necessary arrangement for you before you are due.

mama gene
on your left. but as our tummy are getting bigger, gynae says whichever position as long as you are comfortable.

i cant sleep throughout a single position too coz leg will start to ache and also need to pee

Hui - Yah, your lady boss got a good point there. Lucky you!

I guess my office manager will try to make some arrangements for me in the end bah..

dreamyjo - Something like that..coz I juz started working in this company abt 5 months ago..I felt obliged to shorten my ML due to the fact that they still employ me when they know i'm already 4 mths pregnant. so that's why lor..

Moomummy,
Your co is very good. Most of the co don't employ pregnant lady at all. Or they will hire them under "contract" with no maternity benefits.

Lots of mummies taking to plan your maternity leave liao. I hope i can work till i pop. Cos i intend to take the first 8 wks at one go and the balance over a few months. I told them that i'm going back 2 to 3 days per week till May09 due to my study. However now the job market is not very good, lots of retrenchment going on. I hope they will retrench me. Haha, cos the retrench benefit is even better than bonus. Then i will have more money for my boy boy. hahaha

thanks snowy for e explanatn on the PD! =>

hope you had a good weekend. i had a nice relaxing weekend. went for a swim yesterday. just bot some bath towels for baby and loaded them into e washine machine. after this load, i'll only b left w the nappies to wash.yeah!!

went to look for bathing tub with hubby just now. but didnt buy any coz hubby actually prefers one with a stand but kiddy palace only has one, $139. coz hubby is thinkin its much better and convenient rather than squatting to bath baby.but we will try to buy one by next week as time is really running out! at first hubby was really chasing me to get breastpump but finally convinced him that i wil prob do total latch on in e initial stage so wil try out which pump works for me before spending the money.

will need to look for cot mattress when cot arrives next weekend. coz we wana get a anti dust mite mattress instead..seems like we have lots to get!hahha..

Mama gene,
Yes, agree with your coll. Now you will tend to feel frustrated due to all these uncomfort but you will miss you in your tummy once she is out. So take it in your stride and 'enjoy' every little movement of hers.

Before you sleep, you can try to rub your tummy and tell her to guai guai, say mummy need to rest.

Gynae adviced to sleep on the left to reduce pressure of baby as well for better blood circulation. Try hugging a bloster in between to support your tummy. Hope this help.

Haru,
You are welcome.
If anyone giving birth in Mt Alvenia, I would recommend Dr Terence Tan from Kiddy clinic for PD. He is patience and report to me everyday on bb's progress. He is also super pro breast feeding. For my 1st with high jaundice level, he encourage me to rent the machine home for phototherapy instead of admitting the baby in order not to disrupt my breast feeding timing. It is also cheaper compared to admitting bb in hospital.

I will have him for my 2nd baby.

Hi to all mummies , i'm a mummy from sept thread , baby was born 23sept08 , receive a maclaren xlr coffee brown and blue from friend as a gift to baby , but had already brought a bugaboo for baby , still in packaging , brand new , have not use before. interested pls email [email protected]

PD
Yeah, for those delivering at Mt. A, I will also recommend Dr Terence Tan. He is such a nice, patient doc. And looks young and good looking too. Kkekekeke.. He is really patient. But I will not use him after I discharge as the waiting time at his clinic is wayyyyyy too long, as he is super popular.

Haru
A standing bathtub is good, but u will only use it at most for 5 mths, as once ur baby can flip, it's dangerous to bathe standing him/her. Baby will also be too active, hence scared that the bathtub will topple. Save some money lah..

Oh yes, any mummies here has the tel no. of Cheng Choon? Or something like this spelling..?

Hi snowy n sunshinekid

Can i check with u, if u request for Dr Terence Tan as the BB PD, is there any additional charge? thks

Bibi, yup, the company I'm working for is indeed very good. too bad I can't enjoy the full maternity benefits where they pay for all the expenses right from the day you are pregnant till you give birth. The reason is because I'm pregnant before I joined them. If I've gotten pregnant after I joined them, it would be a different story liao.

But I'm already very contended with the way things are now.

morning mummies. woke up late this morning &amp; my fatso still hadn't cleaned the floor yet. she's starting to get on my nerves a lot. must 忍忍忍. she's so free currently &amp; still asking when the 2nd maid is coming. i am so not going to hire anor one yet. make her work a bit harder &amp; lose all tt weight she's put on this 1.5 mths. sigh. now i know, good cook not always = good maid. more likely good cook = fussy abt food.

chillipadi, haru, Bibi &amp; Bear: thanks for the well wishes. &amp; to everybody else who i forgot.

fifi: feeling better?

dreamyjo: looks like u feeling better now
at least u feel strong enough to come in &amp; chat.

like alibaba wld say, Gambate everybody! it will be cute if hui &amp; jenn pop before me.