(2008/11) November 2008

No JJzhou, u got me wrong. i m not talking abt the womb nor the placenta lah. read carefully ya? i m saying the SITE where the placenta JOINS the uterus. aft removal of the placenta, these blood vessels have to be closed off. and to close them off is when ur uterus shrinks. where in the world did i mention that the womb has to be removed?!

Of cos the placenta has to be removed aft birth. wat i m saying is that there are times where the placenta dun come out intact. hence this is also one of the reason WHY we haemorrhage. All i m saying it isn't called WOMB CANNOT CLOSE. that's all!!

There are lotsa reasons why ppl get postpartum haemorrhaging, blood clotting disorders etc. i am also pointing out that ppl that undergo c-sec lose more blood. i m just giving the info i read wat, not just a story. don't get me wrong. sometimes we hear stories without knowing the medical causes behind it and assume its the hospital or the doc's negligence and then this scares other mummies to be. I m just trying to give u the medical reasons behind it. the bottomline is the faster ur womb contracts the better the chance of not suffering from a haemorrhage. Suckling helps to contract ur uterus too.

Don't need to get defensive ya?

Hi bear,

of course it's just sharing.

my friend under go this problem after her long hour of natural birth. again, not about method of birth. just want to highlight that some hospital do not take care the patient properly. My friend's husband had to ask the nurse few time before they even bother to take a look.

so what i'm trying to share here is:

1, postpartum haemorrhaging can happen to anyone, regardless of delivery method.

2. the more mum knows, the better protection for ourself.

3. remind the husband to take good care of us, not everybody cares. even AVA takes long time before we know the milk has problem!

jo:
BDL site calculator is 1.38 but that is for shipping only. Credit card is not so good rate. The latest I heard is 1.49.

The discount is by Hackley, not BDL. BDL is juz a shipping company.

JJ:
Excessive bleeding after delivery is a condition where the blood dun clot well. Not really "womb dun close". When the placenta is delivered, the blood vessels there are ruptured. If the blood dun clot (i.e. common term is blood vessels closing), you will continue to bleed.
That is why before delivery, your gynae does check whether you have any cuts that dun stop bleeding before. If so, they would standby blood for transfusion. You know hor, guys with this condition no need to serve NS I think. Coz too dangerous.

C-sec may be less pain at the delivery part but recovery tends to be slower. That's why they want you to saty 3 days in the hospital as opposed to 2 days for normal delivery. And normal delivery, you should be walking within the same day liao but c-sec, only next day.

Glad:
I dunno wor. Later ask hubby choose.

sorry for my poor English. Below is an extract from internet.

Loss of more than 500 mL of blood is usually caused by failure of the uterus to contract fully after delivery of the placenta, and occurs in over 10% of deliveries with a 1% mortality rate worldwide.

Other causes of postpartum haemorrhage include retained placental tissue, lacerations to the genital tract and coagulation disorders.

Uterine atony is more likely in women who have had a general anaesthetic or oxytocin, an overdistended uterus, a prolonged or precipitous labour, or who are of high parity.

JJzou, ya you are absolutely right. Hence whenever i wanna share something, i usually try and find out the reasons behind it. By listening to others, we might not get the full picture. that's why I decided to read up abt it and provide the whole picture.

Abt the delivery method, this is quoted from the link i posted. C-sec delivery do bleed more but ur doc has a better control i.e. see inside you and take appropriate measures hence u don't notice it. Also if u opt for general anaethesia, ur recovery period is abt 1-2hrs. ur bb can latch on immed aft delivery and the longer u wait to suckle ur bb the slower ur womb contracts. hence this can also lead to excessive blood loss. these factors are the whole picture one shd consider, not just whether the hospital offers gd care or not.

I dun blame AVA for not detecting contaminated milk before the scandal erupted. Visited their labs before and i have to say, i really pity them, the sheer amt of food that comes into S'pore everyday. not just variety, but the amt. how are they gg to detect it?

Ya that piece u quoted from is from emedicine right? notice they say general anaethesia?

Jo yeo,
the PIS backpack is 4.2kg with the shipment box, so will S$36 charge from borderlinx. Don't use conceig svc as what fifi mentioned. there will be GST charge if u purchase more than S$400.

oh ya, u need to give hackley ur citi card no. when place order. Already sent u the coupon code, but it is for ur next order, so no use also..keke

Fifi,
the 5%coupon code is actually for the next order,not first time order,no wonder they don't minus for me, coz i am first timer. Means when i order 2nd time,they will deduct 5% for me and u will get 10% off for ur next order.

Bear,

the BP for the toy is very cute. I have bought also. Heehee... Thanks for recomending us...

Next time u saw this kindof lobang must tell us ah...

baby23
hey, if thats the case, can you get gals get for me then
...its ok if you say no....just ask only...

glad and joyeo,
is it necessary for me to see gynae if i think its braxton hicks?

bear,
e pain normally lasts for a few mins. but i can still walk and work normally..but sis insisted that i make an appt to see gynae. made an appt to see him only on thurs as he is packed up tom.

baby23:
No its for the friend's first order. Confirm. Tried and tested. I think yours the amount stated is wrong but the final amount charged should be correct. Unless by chance the rate dropped that much on the day they billed you.

Jo:
When you place your order, ensure that you get the discount. Ask them to check ba.

Yah..raining zzz...have to take cab to work!

Fifi, hey I saw you order the plush toy already! So we share the delivery cost OK...

Haru, I didnt see gynae, coz previously he already told me it's quite normal to have a few contractions daily...unless it is really sooo frequent like once in 10-20 min or something that I should call him to check. But if you are worried, you can still consult your own doc...

GD Morning mummies>

am eating wan tan mee for breakkie now..

bear/glad gal> tink i'm oso gg to order the toy too. hahaa... later going to the BP again. hehe...

Btw it's mildy that infected us la!!! kaka...

hi glad and joyeo,
thanks, ya coz mine is not frequent or regular. just comes and goes anytime of the day. i might cancel my appt with gynae tom if it does not occur at all or as much today.

nice to have a cool morning aft a hot hot day yesterday. managed to eat 2 mantou and cup of milo tis morn. so full already..

fifi,
oic, haiz nvr mind lar if they don't minus for me, afterall it is already so much cheaper than getting it in sg

jo yeo,
hackley will email u the coupon code, i submitted ur email (in bear's list) to them yest nite. u should received it lar. Try to order urself,it is pretty safe n fast

BH is not painful,just slightly uncomfortable. It comes and go, u will see ur tummy push up either one side or both, and it is very tightening and hard, last for about 1 min.

may i know what brand of Maternal milk that u gals drink? Anyone of u here drinking Anmum? I heard it is off the shelves from supermarket liao...Alamak i'm still drinking it this morning

hui,
i hv not pack my hospital bag, scared pack too early will go labour earlier..haa. Think i will pack it 2 weeks b4 due date=)

Morning, ladies.

Hui,
I've not packed hospital bag yet. Should be packing in 2 wks time. House in a mess. All baby's stuff.

baby23,
I'm drinking dumex mamil. I've packets of dutch lady milk but I dun dare to drink even though is not strawberry bottled type.

enne,
i don't leh, read from other forum said some of the ingredient imported from china, thus it is off the shelves,don't know should con't to drink or not. Ducth lady milk also kena,i even drink it everyday last week.

Good Morning!!!

wakkaka..... soft toys soft toys soft toys... i haven go c which one i wan leh. so many tat i wan... cham... any one staying in punggol? we can share delivery. kekek..

morning hui,
er, not yet...kekek..still have nursing bra, nipple cream to get. have yet to get the nursing gown/top too.

baby23,
oh, i tot the tummy pushing up/down is the baby moving.hahah...she moves around and can see tummy getting into funny shape all day..=P

Re:milk
i have quite alot of the free samples of the milk for pregnant and breastfeeding mums. but have yet to try them..think i will get only organic fresh milk for now.

hui,
i also haven pack, still like got a lot of stuff haven buy leh. like my disposable panties... eh... dunno.. still hvaen go think. maybe next few weeks will pack. kekkeke... like getting so near le hor?

baby23,
I start drinking Dutch Lady packet(Full cream and chocolate) since i'm 5mths pregnant when bb not gaining enuff weight. I still have abt 1.5 carton @ home. I have been drinking pkts for the past 3mths. My hubby is drinking now and forbid me to drink. News only reported if drink excess ie for adult >800ml per day then is not good.

baby23-I think now all china products will be boycotted lo.. I think we singaporeans quite KS. hehehe.

hui-my hospital bag packed le but not fully 'furnished' yet coz I haven't got my nursing gown, nursing bra.. etc.

Good morning ladies!!

Rain in the morning...so nice to sleep in....I wish no need to come to work.

Had a plate of guo tiao for breakfast, so spicy that its giving me gastric. Sigh...early morning got heartburn le, what an uncomfortable feeling.

Re : Milk
Thank God since I am pregnant, i dont like the taste of milk, but love soya bean milk. So still quite safe for me. ^^

Bibi: hee oh yah didnt know RH can stand for Raffles Hosp too :p

Hui, havent packed my bag yet!
Ah..think i will be last minute ...looking at my messy bb room, I got headache liao. In fact, thinking of doing a spring cleaning (engage clceaning co), to just come in for 1 day to clean up the whole house. Then after that, will arrange all the furniture and decorate abit...

Alibaba, waahha..yah we are all 'infected' by the spreeing:D seems that many of us ordered!

Baby23, didnt know abt Anmum is fr China?! I also got samples still.

Carol: We have the same taste haa..hate milk but like soy milk...

Hi good morning Ladies...

Yesterday went for gynae check, was given 2 weeks Hospitalisation Leave due to contraction.
My gal weight 1.9kg at 33wk, mummy weight @8kg no increase since 3rd trimester . n is still at breach position... btw anyone else still at this position at 32wk har?

baby123 Anmum cannot drink? I still drinking it leh...

Hui, I havent packed leh....

Glad:
My lift area there got someone paste those pamphlet saying they do house cleaning. You can call and ask.

The stuff toy send to my hse?

yen,enne,glad,vincy
i guess those milk only affected baby who drink it directly ba, as for adult, it should be fine rite? i hv been drinking it for so many months. Dumex is not in the list, will buy dumex after finish my anmum.

haru,
for my experience, when BH comes,tummy will push or scrollup,wont feel baby moving,but after BH goes, will feel baby move. If it is painful, u better go see gynae,to be safe

re: milk
i gave away all the samples to my frens. totally turned off with the smell not to say the taste.. occasionally drink soy milk too.. sometimes abit of HL milk.

morning ladies,

RE Milk
Have not been drinking cos it makes my stomach churn
lactose intolerance

RE hospital bag
Have not pack leh. maybe will start packing in next weeks. Have already stock up my disposable panties liao. BTW is it necessary to buy maternity panties or normal panties will do? I only bought the normal ones...

RE BH
recent BH left me abit breathless. My doc is abit concern cos Im having infections that might trigger early contractions.

Haru, if you are concern, better check with your doc and see what he says...

*Yawnz*
what a nice weather to sleep..hehe

re: milk
I've been drinking Meiji Low fat fresh milk since 2nd trimester till now.
Should be safe i think?

Didnt log in for days as busy unpacking and clearing stuff since i am back.Now waiting and welcoming my another 8 big boxes to arrive.Haiz... packing again after that.

Mildy,
You are spreading bugs everyday.There are so many Nov mum ordering liao.. Haha
Think u must get commission from the organiser for promoting for them ley.

Fifi,
wait for me, dont order the toys yet. My fingers are super slow these days, still searching for url.

Redhill mum,
looking forward to our gathering, if there is one

Moomummy,
I am also drinking meiji fresh milk too. It is manufactured in Thailand if i remembered correctly so should be safe bah...

Anmum is from that Fonterra company, which owns that Sanlu brand in China. My friend gave me 1 tin and few samples but I did not drink any cos I didn't like the taste.

Going to do some baby shopping this evening. Need to buy some essentials such as towels, washclothes and some new bottles. Since its gonna be a boy again...i can save up on clothings. He can wear his gor gor's old clothings..hehe

Hi-5 Glad!!

Re : Hospital bag
What to put inside huh??
I got 2 button up pj, undies, a set of baby clothes to wear back, sanitary pad. Still need to buy nursing bra, nipple cream, and what else huh?? Like alot of things havent prepare lay!!

Morning ladies..

RE: Anmum milk
oh, me still drinking Anmum milk... So shd i stop drinking?

Mosh,
Get the normal disposable panties will do, those maternity one are very large size..

Happy,
Enjoy your unpacking.. although it is tiring..keke So did u ta pao the wind back for fifi??

i joined this forum some months back but was then unable to browse the website at work. =( After many many weeks, seems to have no problems posting now so here I am again!

JOyce,
Haa...realli 'enjoying' unpacking for days liao. Wind not for fifi.Is for enne. hehe

Am thinking of catering lunch tingkat.
Any recommendation which catering service food is good?