(2008/11) November 2008

What is a Doppler scan?

This is a type of ultrasound scan designed to measure blood flow, using black and white or colour images. It can be used to see if your placenta is working normally, by tracing the blood flow between the placenta and your baby through the umbilical cord.

You may also be offered a Doppler scan if there are any concerns about your baby’s growth, or if you are suffering from high blood pressure or pre-eclampsia, as this may also affect the blood flow to your baby.

Your baby is attached to the placenta by the umbilical cord, which has two arteries and a vein. Blood from the placenta carries essential nutrients and oxygen to the baby and takes waste products back through the umbilical cord. There should be low resistance in the walls of your umbilical arteries to allow as much blood through as possible. If the resistance is high, blood can't get through very easily and your baby may not get enough food and oxygen, so she cannot grow as well as she should.

A small baby who is found to have normal umbilical arteries by a Doppler scan is most probably getting all the nutrients she needs.

If the Doppler shows the resistance in the arteries is too high and your baby is not growing, she may be delivered early.

Smoking temporarily affects the blood flow to your baby. The resistance in the baby's arteries may be raised for about half an hour after her mother has had a cigarette. (Read more about the risks of smoking in pregnancy.)

Greengrape: Your gynae will advise if you need doppler scan. I had mine at 31 weeks and the next one will be done at 36 weeks. Like Yen, my baby also small, 1.5kg at 31 weeks and also experiencing some resistance with my blood flow. As such, will continue to monitor and see if its necessary to take the baby out earlier...

Yen: Did Dr advise to take the baby out earlier?

Those mummies who are sick, do take care. Tarhan tarhan... a bit more only.

<font color="0000ff">As promised, am starting a spree for Avent BPA-free bottles. Those who are keen, send me a pm and I will email you the terms and conditions. Tentatively getting from drugstore and they are selling at US$18.99 for a pair. Note that I will place order in the first week of Oct coz I want to double check if there are promo when they official launch it. Spree is only for regulars of this thread. </font>

Bluebear, Greengrape, Haru,
moms in mind nursing bra are quite comfy, i bought a few during my 1st pregnancy. If u are going to TMC for checkup, u can go to the 1st floor where there is a shop selling maternity/baby clothes, they also carry moms in mind nursing bra.

jo,
haha.. talking abt impression nursing bra, i bought 2 pcs from 1st pregnancy too. But hor, personally i felt it is ugly when wearing lei.. like those ah ma type, the color only have beige/pink..

Fifi,
what is the diff btw BPA and no BPA Avent bottle?

And also will u be starting another spree for califonia products where last time oos?

snowy, i received the list. Thanks alot! This is really useful.

Bibi, olwen : long time no see. Haven't been drinking the avocado drink for a while. Hahahaha.. cutting down on calories. Bibi, thanks for the info.

Fifi, so kind of you to explain to me again.

Jo, yup, i had since put on 22 kg. Used to be 47-49kg, now 71kg-72kg (since last checkup 2 wks ago). All thanks to my cravings for sweet stuffs like chocolates, noodles, ice-cream. I guess the main culprit should be the formula milk that i drink. Gynae advised me to stop taking the milk. Since i stopped and curb my cravings and walk abit more, now keeping my weight steady at 71kg.

nepia: those consolidating orders can include me too. I'm staying in bishan. But i dont dare to order too much wo, scare may not suit bb. Keep me updated. I'll try to drop in as often as i can after work.

4d scans: Anyone did that? Actually i wanted to do a 3 d scan, but end up with 4d. So interesting. My bb has chubby cheeks. No regrets.

I am an existing client of CordLife. Both the referrer and referee get 1 time $50 off respectively on top of the 43% promotion :>
If u need me as referral to get the $50 discount,u can pm or email me
my email:[email protected]

Good morning, TGIF mummies

Nepia order
I will be ordering 4packs(1 carton) NewBorn size
from this website
http://www.nepia.com.sg/english/order/index.html
Think it costs $15/- per pack 60pcs

Peanut, GreenGrape, dreamjo and me (1 packet ea)

GreenGrape
Can collect from me next weekend, pls PM me your contact no.(hp)

dreamjo
Ya no prob, I will include U in the Nepia order.
Will PM U or U can PM me your contact no.(hp)

Peanut
We can arrange to meet at Braddell stn to pass U the Nepia diapers.

Nursing bras from Mums in mind
They are affordable compared to other more famous brands. Comfortable enuff for me.

Auggybear
Thanks for sharing on the Doppler scan

Bear
Wish U good luck in your exams ya.

Morning all...

Its Friday... this afternoon, im gng for my scan.. cant wait to see BB.. after this scan, subsequent scanning will be bi-monthly liao.. its getting near..

morning mummies!!!
woo hoo! its friday!! =D going for dinner with family at merchant court tonite, gona have a lil of the infamous durian dessert, yum...

Re:nursing bras
does the Mums in Mind nursing bras come in black colour too?

hey Vel,
have fun at ur scan this afternoon! always nice to be able to see baby again isnt it?

Good MOrning Mummies!!!

yesterday was at the hospital with my mum cos she went to had a minor surgery to check if her blood vessels got blockage. luckily everything is fine. so happy to hear the good news.

Hello! Long time never drop by already, been busy at work n nursing a painful back and leg lately. Just drop in to say TGIF! hee... so everyone do enjoy your weekend!

Oh and "Welcome Back Happy!" Finally able to eat all that you want in Singapore! hee hee..

Gd morning mummies!

Didnt have a good sleep last night. Have been forced to join my gal for a 10hr olympics multi-sports in my tummy--> swam freestroke n kicked the whole night.

My hubby say she must be drunk after we had Xo fish soup noodles at holland. Headache.

hay mummies,
The chinese TV program on Parenthood which interviewd Mrs Wong started yest liao.

Channel U -
小宝宝!大问题? Knowing Your Child
9.30pm. Repeat at 11:30pm.

Gd morning ladies..

Haru,
yup they have black color bras, but sometimes need to see whether got stock not..

dreamyjo,
wat is the diff btw 3d and 4d scan huh? which one is clearer where u can see the features of the bb?

Mildy,
Glad to hear that too..

Lilian,
Which day is the program??

gin78,
hahah, so funny!! i woke up from my deep slumber this morning and had a sudden cramp. hubby had to wake up and help me massage my calve muscle.ouch! i was rolling around silly in bed when it happened.=P

thanks joyce!

Vel,
keep us posted on your baby's progress ya? should be able to see baby's hair too?? i am gg for my check up tom too, gynae mentioned that we should be able to see her hair tom. hubby is really excited to see her again to see if her chubby cheeks got even chubbier!hahahah...

Morning ladies ... got so much things to do @ work ...

jo yeo:
My gynae @ Orchard Plaza let us hear bb heartbeat. He did calculate all the measurements and weight .. but seems like talking to the nurse like tat ... mi and hb never really pay attention ... keep looking at monitor only. Only try to catch the bb's weight mentioned by the gynae. He never say anything abt my weight before.

joyce:
I agree ... nursing bras all look so auntie ... so till now I havent go buy yet.

dreamyjo:
I dun drink milk at all ... else I might put on more also.
How much is 4D scan? When can we do it?

Just an update, baby is about 1.5kg @ 30 weeks. Guess it's of average weight, not too small?

Anyway, Dr Paul Tseng said he will not be too big, abt 2.8 - 3kg at most. Good also, easier to push.

I'm home
, since monday neber see sunlight, have been in cold air-con room, now body trying to adjust temperature, so hot!

The bill for the 5day came up to $3200, pay $1400 by cash, the rest can claim medisave, not so bad.

sunshinekid,
sounds good!i am curious about my own weight gain too!hahah...think i have hit the 50kg mark already..

hi brocoli,
yipee!! must be nice to be back in cozy home. rest well at home ya?

Enya,
the bands are cute! which colours do you have and are they brand new?

bluebear,
I've not signed up yet. Still see see look look @ both cord life/stem cord.

moomummy,
no problem.
AuggyBear did a better job in explaining doppler scan than me.

GreenGrape,
Doppler scan is not one of the standard scans. My gynae recommended for me to check if there's any blood flow resistance to baby. I've done my doppler scan @ TMC @ 30wks2d. After 10% discount (FBI card), I only paid $10x (inc gst). Cannot rem the actual figure.

AuggyBear,
Thank u for the detailed explanation on doppler scan.
My gynae did suggest if bb does not grow much, she wants me to consider to take out baby earlier. Gotta to monitor and decide. She says bb does not put on much weight maybe due to stress @ work or genetic as both my hubby and I are small size. I was given 1 week's mc to rest at home this week and am seeing her next week(32 wks) then decide what's next.
Estimated if he continued to gain abt 200gms 2 weekly, then he will probably oni 2.3-2.5kg when he's borned. If really have to take him out early, he needs to stay in ICU if he's >2kg. My gynae says its easier for baby to gain more outside mummy's tummy. Poor baby. So I can only keep on eating!
U have to do another doppler scan @ 36wks? My gynae did not suggest as my 30wks doppler scan shows that the notch resistance for both arteries are gone. Take care.

Sunshinekid,
my bb also weigh ard the same weight, still slightly lighter than your bb..
She weigh 1.4kg as at 30.5wks, so no worries for u
I believe bb will put on more weight from now onwards.

<font color="0000ff">Bluebear</font>
Have PM you my contact no.

<font color="0000ff">Yen</font>
The Doppler scan cost around $10 or around $100 plus?

Snowy: Thks for the list! Certainly v useful!

Took leave today to go for scan &amp; checkup!

Week 33: Bb is 1.9kg, gynae said average weight. Quite relieved I only gained 500 g since last check up and 400 g went to the bb. Coz been feeling really heavy nowadays! I gained 9 kg so far...

Vel &amp; Haru: Can see hair ah?? Didnt see...only saw bb's lips..quite clear
Have fun for your scans this aftern/tml!

Sunshine kid, yup 1.5kg is average weight. Mine was 1.5kg at wk 30 too!

Lilian: Caught the baby show yesterday on Ch U too! Was quite amused to hear Mrs Wong speak in Mandarin hee..

Brocoli: Gd that you are back in your home! Rest well!

Thanks for the assurance. Actually I am glad that baby is not small, I really dun mind baby being of average weight. My girl was small, oni 2.46kg at birth, but delivering her was a breeze.

So far, i gained about 6+kg, hope to gain less than 10kg!

really envy those of u who gained so little weight.. to date, i think i oso gain ard 12-13kg liao.. n same as dreamjo, already crossed the 70s mark liao..

For those who want to gain more weight for both bb n mother, shld try durian. there a mth where i ate alot of durian, i gained abt 3.5 kg for that mth.. so scary..

hooray, tomolo going for my gynae checkup too..

have a nice wkend, all mummies

glad,
gynae mentioned something like he will do a 2D scan which will be able to see the baby's hair.hubby and i so puzzled how come 2D can see hair, 4D can't..well, will find out more tom!hahah...

Finished my exam liao! one big load off my chest.. heh... gonna take leave on Mon and Tues to zzzzz in.. everything went fine (i hope) and now waiting to get the official results.

Brocoli, gd that u are home. rem to take ur pills on time! don't overstrained urself ya?

Peanut, that Staff Nurse said to collect it aft the lesson mah.. ya i noticed that u walked off immed aft lesson.. machiam like u need to pee like that. may be tmr u ask if u can take it lor. the avent bottle is gd!

Fifi i wanna join ur spree. can u email me ur T&amp;C?

I m so tired!

Joyce
YOu are right, very ugly 1.So cant wear too revealing clothes

dreamyjo
How much is your 4d scan? my gynae do not have such machine. wonder if i can just pop into any clinic with the machine to do a scan?

Fifi thanks for organising the spree I wanna join too.

Bear
Good news ur exams r over
am sure u will do well.

Me on 2 weeks hospitalization leave due to pre term contractions. Taking ventolin tab got side effects. Bb 32wks weigh about 2Kg. Growth chart snows 70th percentile for head, tummy n thigh bone sizes. Baby not cooperative yday for a nice 3D pic

Hi Mummies, just thought I'd let you know...Maternity Exchange at Marina Square is offering

15% off purchases (including diaper bags and bella bands!) and
2 extra rental credits for any package bought
(Now till 2 Oct)

You might want to hurry down this weekend before it gets difficult to drive into the Marina Area because of the F1. Road closures only start on 23rd, it's safe to drive down before then. Do grab the chance!

You can also shop online at their new web store. Visit www.maternityexchange.sg

Kash
U just started ur hospital leave? Side effects meaning baby will be big ah? Or what..?

Take good care. Seems like having pre-term contractions is so common!

Haru, Glad girl - I saw my baby's hair swaying in the water in the 2D scan, really cute. Juz called TMC they say 3D/4D scan should be done b4 32wks if not cannot see the face.

Kash - what did the doc give u to stop the contractions? When i had the ventolin drip, my whole body felt warm, like hot flush and i had difficulty breathing initially. Wat side effects did u have?

Lilian - I also ask the nurse isn't the tightening juz BH? She told me bc my tightening last for many hrs so its not BH, even though it is also not painful. She say the tightening can precede contractions. B4 i had the painful contractions, i felt the tightening for many days. Maybe if i had seen the gynea earlier i won't be hospitalised.

Kash, oh dear.. i didn't see u online today.. wanted to ask if everything was ok. pls take care ya?

Yups it feels damn gd not to worry abt it.. very tired though.. cos all the stress accumulated...

Now i a bit worried abt my BH.. although it isn't regular but i have it abt 10x a day. will ask gynae when i see him on Mon.

me just came back from buffet at ellenborough market.so full!! had to stop myself to takin too much of e yummy durian puree..it was slightly bitter which made it sooo good!!

Bear,
hip hip hooray! can finally let ur hair down and r.e.l.a.x. hee...

lovedogs,
hope everything is ok. was it Dr Chan who determined that there was pre-term contractions or you felt it and went to see him about it?

bluebear, my number is in the contact list. Do you have the list? if not, i pm you my hp contact.

Joyce, jo, jo yeo,
3d scan is still pic but 4d is video clip showing the bb movement. For my 4d scans, i got a cd with still pictures and short video clips. In the video clips i can see bb move his hands and suck his thumb. so cute. Think his lips thick too, maybe inherited from both me and hubby. The scanning process is fun too. Can see bb yawn. Too bad, the sonographer did not record that in time. Its not exactly clear but You can still see bb features like cheeks, eyes, nose, mouth, arms, fingers.

According to my gynae, the scan should be taken around 28-32 weeks. I took it on wk 31.
I took the scan in tmc. cost me about 200 plus.

Brocoli, good to know that you are discharged. take care and rest well.

bear, congrats. you PHD holder liao and finally have a peace of mind.

Kash, oh dear. please take care and rest well.

kash
take care... preterm contractions and bed rest sound kind of common in this thread.. i hope my BH doesn't cause too much problem for me! stil got a lot of work to be done!!!

bear
yah lah last week dragged until 7pm... we already late for family dinner liao so hav to scot off immediately aft e lesson ends. Then today also not sure if i can make it not.. down with flu and cough liao.. mayb not v nice to go wait spread to other mommies then cham wor.. Anyway wat will be e topic today ah?? If i really cant make it you take note of those good tips and tell me hor.. so U MUS PAY ATTENTION!!! Hope they wont be giving out any nice freebies today or else i missed out for 2 weeks lei... so lugi... -_-

Greengrape: Your doppler scan so cheap? I paid $100 plus at TMC.

Yen: Thanks... let's continue to eat more!

Bear: I feel so good for you! Hiphip Hurray!

To all moms who are sick pls take care. weather no good now adays must really drink more water and watch what we eat.

Congrates Bear! can finally REST properly! hope your baby don't keep you from resting that is.

Just went for my check up this morning and doc put me on iron pills she say baby have been taking alot of my nutrients and i dont have enough for myself. oh well no wonder have been feeling giddy and seeing black spots lately. happy that baby is growing well he is 1.96kg @ 33weeks. bt sad cause he keep hiding his face from me. baby's head is down already doc say will likely stay this way till birth. so who ever that is touching my tummy is molesting my baby's butt!
Any of you turn into a panda yet? havent been sleeping well realise that i have develop v dark eye rings and eye bag. poor baby when he come out he will see 2 panda his mom n dad lol!

morning mummies.

I went for check-up on Friday. Haiz, dr loh says I got to wait till closer to 10 oct. So fierce. I asked him 3 oct can or not, he said no, then I won't deliver for u. Then when I asked him whether the paed will check for cerebral palsy &amp; muscular dystrophy at birth, he looked at me like i was siao. am i being paranoid from watching too much paralympics. sigh, i didn't gain any weight but the babies did. 1.6, 1.45 &amp; 1.3 so hopefully the biggest is closer to 2 by the time they come out.

glad gal, minkybear: your babies r so big! I think if my biggest was so big now, I probably have to walk sideways thru the door.

dreamyjo, bibi: I miss the avocado milk
in fact, altho I was so tired, I miss going to work. When I'm at home, there's nothing to do except watch tv then I start getting funny ideas after watching paralympics.

Bear: congrats on finishing your exams. Soon, u will be Dr Bear.

brocoli, chillipadi: do take care of yourselves!

joyce, haru: thanks but stomach is sooo heavy now. Sigh.

alibaba: thanks! I miss the msn chats, how come nobody msn me anymore? I guess I'm always not online at the same time. How r u feeling now?

mosh: thanks. I walk around like a penguin. I am so fat now tt I can't even wear the blouse my MIL made for my 1st pregnancy. Luckily my godson's mum is quite fat &amp; she gave me all her maternity clothes to wear.

kash: u must take care &amp; rest!

ok, me go lie down &amp; think of funny things again. haiz.

ladies, thanks for ur concern. I no time to really bed rest. Yday had to attend a church wedding then brought my gal to Jacob ballas.
Mine not BH coz painful and regular contractions. The side effects of the med are hand shaking and heart palpitations.

Haru, my contractions happened the day prior to my appt wif dr chan so I tong till next day also I monitor the timing and intensity. Am having contractions while typing now too. Gynae said I kenna job stress.

Me went KKH yesterday cause i have bleeding &amp; sharp contraction pain. After monitoring, the MO say should be ok, might be due to low placenta. But after she check my cervix , it bleed more...now waiting to c my gynae on tues..pray hard everything went well...haiz..if need bed rest really charm cause is my perk period at work..so many things on plate.