(2008/11) November 2008

mummies: my mother read a piece of good news on the teletext! the child development bill has been sent for first reading in parliament. yikes. i really pray i can hold for anor 2 weeks till it's passed.

teenyweeny: oh, they r soooo cute! I pray for u tt they will recover quickly from their infection.

glad_gal: thanks, I really want to hold them till the legislation is in force so tt I can have 4 more weeks w them.

enne:
actually I hate eating now. The effort of sitting up is no joke. Thanks for the concern hor.

auggy bear: don't worry! My son was also v small at birth but his weight doubled by his 1st mth check-up & after tt, kept jumping exponentially. My ex-boss' daughter too was only 2.2 kg at birth & by the time she went to pri 1, she had to join the TAF class. most important is tt they r full term (36 weeks & more) plus healthy.

Jo: wow, your mum is young like my MIL. My mum is old cos I'm the youngest. I'm still hanging on here, thanks

chillipadi: *pat pat* take care of yourself, ok? U really need more rest at home. Can't your doc give u MC till your due date? Oh, so that's what the steroid jabs r for. I guess I will be getting tt on Friday.

cutie-mum: thanks haiz, I really hope to hold them till then.

Jenn: scare me! U ok now?

alibaba: u anor one so poor thing, even throwing up fish oil capsules. Donno how, eat dry crackers?

Bear, hui: take care!

kash: wow, bambini & fidgets v expensive!

happy birthday to peachypeach! she has gone missing for so long.

i got to lie down again.

DMK, oh dear, sounds scary.. Better consult ur gynae.

Olwen, how heavy r ur darlings now? U fixed a date for ur C-sect liao?

Busy packing some of the bb stuff.. finally my sisinlaw brought down some of her things to my hse...

RE Rashes: Yes I do notice recently more rashes on my tummy esp at nite! and it disappear in the morning. It is better when I apply clarins oil and it got worst if I just apply Mustela cream.

Re Cocoa butter, I stop applying that long time ago and switch to mustela cos it is causing me rashes.. But now seems like applying mustela also give me rash, dont know Y..

Lilian
re. the nepia diapers.. how much for the NB ones? u can't get it anywher else issit? Tampines is v far from my home but if my hubby is willing to drive me there during wkends then i can order as well, need to ask him 1st..

olwen,
we will be praying for you and that you will be able to enjoy the extra 4 weeks with ur babies.=> keep talkin to them and tell them to help mummy wish come true and hang in there until the legislation is in force!

mosh,
my clarins seems to be running low already, but i dunno if it makes sense for me to buy another bottle if its only another month to go before delivering when i finish this bottle..hmm...

peanut,
Ya, can't get NB size from outside shops/supermarts. All sizes selling at $15 (online price), difference is the # of diapers inside each pack. NB pack has 60pcs.
No prob, let me know if u want to join our order. (Currently have Bear, MinkyBear, AuggyBear ordered. All 3 bears....) Most probably me ordering end nxt wk.

<font color="119911">Rashes</font>
I too experienced the red spots a few weeks ago, it growed till like big red patches but it's on my calfs. Was using Palmer back then which was known to cause rashes to some pple.
I did not apply anything to the rashes, and it clear on its own after a week or so
But now, i'm using another Palmer product, nothing happen.

<font color="119911">Nepia Diapers</font>
Peanut, according to the website,http://www.nepia.com.sg/english/order/index.html, can get it a Isetan, BHG etc.. If the petrol to Tampines cost more than the saving of buying online, then I don't think is worth to travel there.

<font color="119911">Clarin Oil</font>
Mine also running low (still got abt 1/6 left). Was thinking to get another one too. Can use it when we have our post natal massage. Is the clarin oil Body Treatment Oil-Anti Eau /Body Treatment Oil-Relax good for post natal application too?

<font color="119911">Legislation</font>
Isn't the extra 4 weeks already being enforced?

<font color="ff0000">Lilian</font>
We can't get the NB size outside? Tot we can but harder to find

Hm...isn't one of the Bear live near Bishan?

GreenGrape, dunno lay... I dun see NB size at NTUC.
I nvr try Isetan &amp; BHG though..
Onli Isetan Scotts has supermart rite?

All t 3 bears stays in t East.

Glad
How much is the nursing gown from spring? Mothercare carries this product rite?

Lilian, dmk
It could be pregnancy rash. I had it too, thought it was due to the cream too but gynae said its pregnancy rash. Gave me a cream to apply and its fine…said the cream aggrevate the rash so now I use olive oil. Fyi, before I seek gynae’s help I used coco butter, then mustela, then johnson …still got rash

Question :
Have you guys heard that we cant drink /eat orange else baby will have phlegm ?????

Question :
are you gals drinking plain water now or red dates water? heard that it is for "pu3" "qi4", is that true? Do we need it? Thought red dates water is during confinement?

Red spots: When I have itchy red spots on tummy, I stopped applying any stretchmark cream/oil for 1-2 days and I will be fine after that.

I have non-itch red patches on my legs. I dun even use warm water during bath, dunnoe why my legs got bad red patches all over. Other than the redness, I'm not really disturbed by it ... never go see doc also.

Mosh &amp; dmk, if problem persist, u better go see GP or gynae bah.

jo yeo,
Someone here mentioned b4 about orange causing phlegm. But I still take it coz I dun believe. Haha...
As for red dates tea, can drink occasionally now, but not to replace plain water.
It is suppose to 补气 &amp; 补血. Good for pregnancy.

peanut,

for nepia diapers, as long as u order 4 packs, they will deliver to your house. Hence, you can order 2 NB and 2 Small for example. And they allow u to change size in the future if you have any unopened packet. Eg, u can change S to M or something. Std is $15 per pack.

Hi mummies good day! Good weather today but I'm down with slight flu.

Greengrape
U got good memory.

The last bear is me, bluebear. I stay in Bishan.

Peanut
U keen to order Nepia diapers ha? Then we start a North side order ok. U, me and need to find two or one more member.

Gin78, thks...do PM me your hp and I try to collect one of these evening nights!

Olwen: Rest well gal!!

DMK: Hmm better check with doc! Like some of the rest, mine disappear after a while so I am not disturbed too.

Jo yeo: The nursing gown cost abt $34. I think Mothercare will have its own range of nursing gowns.. But not sure coz havent been there to look ard recently haa

Jo_yeo
my frenz had advised me to drink red dates water straight after i give birth coz they say women in confinement cannot drink plain water.

currently, my hubby also make me those herbal tea to drink twice weekly. the contents of the tea includes 'tung3 sen1', wolfberries, red dates, 'nan2 zhao3' and dried longan. this was taught by his aunt and it is for 补气 one.

wow, u mummies really know alot about the herbal drinks! me just taking water as usual..hhaha..dunno anything about what herbal drinks good for what.=P

I started drinking dang shen, wolfberries, nan zhao, hong zhao twice a week, as people tell me it's good for pregnancy. this is also good for baby's complexion, though I dun know how true.

Lilian
Is is too late to drink red dates now? Im now 32wks. I drink weekly birdnest with red dates but red dates only a few pieces, do you think it is good enough to 补气 &amp; 补血?

MooMummy
The herbal tea that your hubby made, thats what my confinement lady asked me to buy for confinement

Think coz we will lost a lot of blood during labour thats why we need to drink those to recoup back. But not really sure about now, whether we need it or not lo...coz FA scan say blood flow to fetus very good ma, so does that means there is blood? Somemore, no test shown that there is low blood count etc.....

jo_yeo,
hehe..dunno leh..my hubby just follow his aunt's instructions to make that herbal tea for me. but to be frank, i'm getting quite sick of it already since i started to drink that when i'm in my 4th month till now. :p

And as for confinement, my mum asked me to drink something with 'Ba1 Zhen1'..i also dunno what's that too..

does any of you experience your darling creating earthquake-like trembles inside your tummy? Is it normal? It's so painful, not sure if she is hungry or unhappy?

So tired, slept the whole day till 2pm.

jo_yeo, 我不知道 whether its too late lay。。 keke.
Not only for t blood lost during labour, our babies also need blood for their bodies.
Anyway, I dun drink it often coz working mah... Reach home so late liao, no time to prepare.

gin78, ya. Got got. My minnie shakes suddenly smtimes. Dunno y. But not painful lay.

gin78,
haha, yup! esp at nite.=P i think its just her squirming around in my tummy. last nite hubby put his hand on e side of my belly when i was sleeping, think his hand too heavy coz she kicked when he did that. hahah...

<font color="0000ff">Stretchmarks cream/oil :</font>

After delivery must still apply for some time if not, stretchmarks can still appears.

Tats what happen to my sis who din have any during her pregnancy &amp; she stop applying after delivery then her stretchmarks all appear after tat.

<font color="0000ff">Herbal tea :</font>
Have been taking since after 5th mth, mine is :
Korean Gao Li Sheng - 1 to 2 pc
(Cannot take other US or china ginseng)
Red dates
Wolfberries
Double boil for 1hr.

Lilian &amp; Haru,
she does that so many times a day, esp at nite n ard meal time. Hubby said becos she is hungry. But I cant go on eating whenever she creates earthquakes tembles, will be fat pig. Shaking my head.

gin: My minnie rumbles in tummy quite a lot last few days...hehe..more than usual.

herbal teas etc: I hadnt started on any herbal teas etc but been taking birds nest with pan shen+ red dates. I also make a hot 'pao shen' (dialect is pao sim) which is really yummy...

re: bathing during confinement

Are we supposed to bath or not touch water? Quite confused as some ppl say they buy herbs to bath...so in actual fact can bath..? or can't..? can any experienced mums share their experiences?

DMK: I also have very itchy tummy lately, unbearable esp at night... Now applying Cocoa Butter for Dry, Itchy Skin. Dunno if it helps...

Moomummy: I got my nursing down at $12.90 from Eastpoint. Cute Poka Dots design, they also have sexy satin ones... 2nd floor can check it out!

Olwenlim: Thanks for assurance, i hope you are doing fine. How are your triplets doing? When are you expecting their arrival?

Gin78: Yes i also encounter this movement, i can also feel him elbowing me... It's amazing but doesnt hurt.

The ammendments to the Children's Development Act went for first reading in Parliament yesterday. Here's a summary of the ammendments to the legislation that affect us:

1. Date for new legislation to come into effect is 31 Oct 2008. It is stated that the benefits are compulsory for those who delivered on or after 31 Oct &amp; those whose EDD is on or after 31 Oct but delivered early.
[i.e. all of us are safe even if we pop before 31 Oct]

2. Government will pay their share for employers who gave the benefits to those who delivered in the period 17 Aug - 30 Oct but EDD is not on or after 31 Oct &amp; those whose EDD is between 17 Aug-30 Oct.

3. Childcare leave will be included in the act after the ammendments. No longer just under employment act. But this year is pro-rate to total of 3 days. Note that the total no of childcare leave per eligible child cannot exceed 42 days (i.e. 7 x 6 days).
[i.e. employers cannot say that the employee is not covered under employment act &amp; dun give the childcare leave liao.]

Not sure when is 2nd reading... we shall wait.

fif: thanks for the updates..but i read lioa still bit blur..hehe.

Point 1 new legislation come in effect on 31 oct i thot was 17 Aug..? Has this to also do with CDA account? Bcos cordlife now dun cover 100% from CDA.

Re: Cocoa Butter
I have tried Palmers before and it causes rashes. So I stop using.

Re: Cordlife
I still thinking if I shld sign up for it. I am still not sure how and when pay what.

Fifi, for the CCL, does it mean that we will have 3 days CCL this year? If yes, how to clear? By the time we come back from maternity leave, already yr 2009 liao.

Auggy bear,
Thanks for the info on the nursing gowns. i'll head down to Eastpoint this weekend to have a look then.

fifi
Huh? So that means if my EDD is before 31st Oct, I will not get to benefit from the CDA? Then what's the use of saying with effect fromm 17 Aug then?

The CDA account is NOT included in this act. So that one I dunno. Shld be from 17 Aug as per the baby bonus webby.

What I posted is more for the leave issues. Its about the legislation which forces all employers to give the required maternity even if they are unwilling to do so. I posted the info so that we would not be worried about our bosses eating up our extra 4 weeks of ML if we pop early. Don't want anyone to purposely try to hold the babies longer without realising they dun need to do so.

Sherline: CCL cannot be carried forward. Anyway, 7 years x 6 days = 42 days so dun take this year oso no loss. If take this year means 7th year less 3 days.

Karen: If your EDD is before 31 Oct, your employer is not required by law to give you the 4th month maternity. Encouraged but not required.

gin78,
dun worry, she might not be hungry lah..hahah..

Auggybear,
Eastpoint is really far for me, but thanks for the info tho. =>

jo yeo,
me!i think lovedogs mentioned that GlenE does not provide the receiving blanket, mittens and booties for the baby. not sure what else they provide tho..can't recall as i attended the hospital tour quite some time ago.

morning ladies,

Recently keep having BH in the morning and at nite.. gynae says if keep having hardening of the tummy for 5-6 times a day must go see her .

anyone having frequent BH?

Me from Sept thread..
still waiting patiently for my delivery heehee

Btw,
Anyone interested to send announcement card for your baby full month celebration.

See this for more details
http://sweeetymemories.blogspot.com/

Me is into digital scapebooking recently and thought maybe do one for my coming baby
If you are interested, please check out the webby.
In need more bb photo

You only paid for the paper/ink cost, design is free from me (for now at least heehee)

haru, I also dont know what is BH until I went for checkup the other day, my gynae says my tummy feels very hard and ask me whether I have that often throughout the day. Only then I knew that was BH , kekeke....

Hi mosh,
i'm constantly having BH daily, morning and night since I'm into my 3rd trimester. But my gynae says that if this happens within a period of 2 hrs and is about 10 to 15 mins interval, then must go to hospital liao, otherwise, should be okie.

so far my BH onli occurs like abt 5 times in the day time, and abt 4 times at nite. the occurance in between is abt half an hour or more. So i guess i'm still safe. :p

Something on diaper promotion to share!!!

Mamy Poko
=========
1) Mamy Poko diapers jumbo pack on offer now @ NTUC! Think it's $22+.
2) Mamy Poko L(38+4free),XL &amp; XXL for $16.90 +4pcs free.S n M also $16.90 bt no free pcs. offer till 24/9 @Shop n Save.They also had Mamy Poko pants for $7.95 for 14pcs.

Ultra Huggies
=============
Ultra huggies is offering at $14.70/pk in Cold Storage til 17Sep.

Pamper Active Baby
==================
giant selling Pampers Active Baby at $35.99 (UP $43+) for those twin pack in box...

DryPantz
=========
new improved Drypantz hving promo at cold storage at causeway pt only at $15.50 n $1 disc given to each pack by the drypantz promoter there
the $1 off disc vch can be used at giant/coldstorage/ sns/ guardian

Huggies dry/comfort
====================
Sheng siong selling huggies dry/comfort $30 for 2 packs.
Certain outlets only

GOO.N
=====
I saw from some thread this brand is quite good...
U can get them at www.diapers.com.sg with free delivery with $60 and above spending. Goo.n S Size is selling at 15.20 (After discount) for 52 pcs and the rest need to check from web