(2008/11) November 2008

moomummy, when is your EDD?

Im into my 29 weeks, My gynae says if BH more than 5-6 times a day, might have chance of giving birth pre-term woh...

Actually I also duno what is BH. Is it just hardening and no pain? I thout it is baby stretching or what, that's why my tummy will harden. Haha...

Fifi, the CCL is given till the baby is 7 years old correct? So this year, baby is considered 1 yr old, and the next year is 2. Doesn't it means that we will missed out the CCL for baby's 1st year?

Hi mosh,
my EDD is 5th Nov and i'm into my 33rd week now.
my gynae did mentioned to me tat i mite have a chance of early delivery but itz due to my baby's size(2kg at 31 wks), so most probably it'll be quite big for me to carry till full term. :p

But abt the BH, so far not so bad lah, except tat i'll feel breathless when it happens. u'll feel discomfort when u have BH?

Sherline, I also tot it is normal to have hardening of my tummy until my gynae point it out to me ..haaha..ya, I guess, it is just hardening/tightening of the tummy without pain.

Moomummy, only recently I start feeling breathless when it happened, esp in the morning after breakfast.. I did not really count the number of times it happens but the more noticeable ones are once in the morning and once at nite..

Morning ladies..

Think i also feel BH, cause sometimes my tummy was damn hard!! And also having breathless nowadays, like first trimester like that.. Any remedy to help for breathless? Think it occurs more often in the morning n night..

mosh, i guess my BH occurs quite frequently, even now when i'm typing this, i'm havin a BH too, but after a while it'll go off already. Sometimes my BH will be quite intense while i'm walking and I have to stop to rest for a while.

i have come across a webby which says BH is just like a prelude or rather an experience what contraction are suppose to be, itz just tat the actual contraction during labour will be much more intense lah.

haru,

that was based on last year when i delivered my gal in gleneagles...they do not provide anything for bb. I mean when bb is in the nursery, they will provide a blanket to swaddle and t-shirt for bb to wear. However, no mittens so u must bring. Then for discharge, they will give a new Gleneagles baby t-shirt (very big). So u will have to ensure u have a set of clothings for bb to wear for discharge. Basic needed will be receiving blanket, bb clothes (romper or anything), mittens and socks/booties). You can bring home the remaining pack of NB Pampers Premium and box of tissue papers. that's it. I also hope they have more freebies like other hospitals.... hope this year may be different. Also, for 1st time mummies, try to remember to ask the nursery to give you the used glass bottles. They gave me about 40!! hiak hiak..then u can buy the sealing caps from them. Gleneagles was selling 10 for $12. You can sterilize and use them to freeze your EBM.

Morning ladies ...

I thought mummies here mentioned BH is feeling pain ... now then I know hardening of tummy = BH, means I have BH almost everyday loh.

jo, I read that not all BH is painful. Some only feel hardening of the tummy with breathless but without pain, some dont even feel any discomfort, it is different for everyone..

mosh, jo,

BH not supposed to be painful. But as our tummy tightens and is huge now, u will definitely feel discomfort. I walk like a penguin when that happens

Hello guys... me very busy.. have been keeping late nights to finish my reports and slides.. can't wait for fri to be over.

Talking abt BH, i m getting abt 10x a day. Mrs Wong said that some ppl got sensitive womb so get BH more frequently.. my gynae also dun care much abt it.. some more my bb is low.. i think bb is gonna come out earlier...

I m so slpy...

yeah mosh,i agree tat everyone's feeling abt BH is different. and abt the actual labour thingy, i dun even dare to think abt it now. :p

Recently, i can feel my bb stretching and his foot will be pushing against my ribs. very comfortable but excited at the same time to feel his movements every now and then. hehe..

moomummy, your bb have already turn head down? How many weeks r u now? I m at my 32weeks, wonder if my bb has turn yet?

I'm writing to you lying on the hospital bed, have been admitted for premature contractions on Sunday nite. All these while i've read how some of you suffer from BH and tightening and so when i experienced the tightening, i did not think much of them. But on Sunday, i felt cramp like feelings after dinner, like those squeezing you will feel when you have food poisoning. But the cramps persisted and then spread to different parts of the stomach, still i thought it was food poisoning. The cramps were painful and i had to hold on to my tummy till it goes away, then it became two minutes apart. By this time,we called tmc and they suggested that we go down for a check-up, we reached tmc's carpark at 2pm,but then suddenly no pain, then stingy me decided to go home bc i noe it is going to cost a lot. So we u-turn and when we reach eunos exit, the cramps came back and we u-turn again back to tmc. My contractions were 2.5minutes apart. My gynea came, couldn't check my dilation, bc the pain was unbearable, so put me on ventolin drip.

I was supposed to go home on Monday but i experienced painless tightening which were actually contractions and all these times, baby was moving vigorously. I asked the nurse isn't that BH, the nurse said no bc they persisted for the whole night. So on tuesday, my gynea came, sent me for detailed 32 scan to see if baby can be delivered safely in case he really wants to come out. Took steriod shots to mature the lungs. Ultrasound showed that baby is 2.4kg at 32wks and quite safe to come out now.

Thank God i only have slight tightening since last night, likely to home tmr. But i will surely pack my bags after this episode.

So long never log in and it seems that everyone is having BH. Mine is so frequent and it can almost reach 10x a day. It is painful to some extend.
To make things worse, bb is pressing on my lower spine bone and nerves of my right leg. I could hardly walk as it very pain. On top of that, still got to take care of an active toddler. Just can wait for everything to be over soon.

Bear,
How do you know that bb is low? the gynae scanned?

My stay at TMC

These few days like staying in a resort,
8am - breakfast
10am - double boiled soup
12pm- lunch
3pm - tea
6pm- dinner
8pm-snack

Yesterday, they served me papaya fish soup, followed by black chicken soup and red dates/longan soup at different timings. Very bu.

brocoli, glad everything's fine now... ur BB is really of a gd weight =D talk to him, ask him to guai guai stay inside n play till full term.. take care ya~

jjmom2008, from what i gathered from my gynae, my bb has turned head downwards since my 28 wks.but he oso said that bb will still turn upwards again sometimes. so still can't say that itz permanent. the onli time itz going to be permanent position, itz when the bb is so-called 'engaged' and i think labour's going to kick in soon then.

currently i'm going into my 33rd wk, but so far, most of the scans i've done during my visits to the gynae shows that the baby's head is already in downwards position.

If you like, you can ask your gynae abt it during your next visit. they can feel your tummy and tell you what position your bb is in. most gynae would be experienced enough to tell by feeling your tummy.

moomummy, i have e same edd as u.. where u delivering at?? when is ur next appt? mine will be when i'm nearing 37wks leh.. thinking isn't it too far away?? hmmz... BB haven't turn her head down yet.. and she's on e small side.. 1.6kg at 32+wk..

bear, u are always so busy recently, have to take care of yourself, not to push yourself too hard ya...

brocoli, good that everything is ok, ya have to talk to your bb, ask him to be guai ..

snnowy, sounds bad! do take care ..

jenn, i'll be delivering at KKH. my next appt is this Sat(20th Sept). my bb was abt 2kg at wk 31. abit big i tink.hehe. i'm sorta overweight this month too.ate too much sweet stuff liao. :p

How come your next appt is at 37 wks? I tot itz suppose to be 2 wks gap for gynae visits now? where will you be delivering at?

Dun worry abt your bb's weight and size now as long she's doing fine and healthy. she should be able to catch up later.

snnowy, ya, i understand that it is tough when u hv to take care of another active toddler now.. Possible to let others do the caring part? maybe your hubby or your mum/mil etc?

brocoli, hope that u will b fine and to be able to go home to rest soon though u feel like staying in resort now. Now ur bb 32wks only ... ask ur bb dun come out so early ...

Fifi

you sure that if pop before 31 oct, 4th mth not compulsory? think only apply to childcare leave right? Which website did you look at, in case pop early ah.... thanks

Moomummy

same here, bb also 2kg at 31wks. Gynae say its low thats y bb is considered engaged. But forgot to ask if it will be early. But people saw me say my tummy looks big and low and seems like it will be early.. Kinda worried coz will bb be fully developed if really pop out early? Its gonna cost more in private hosptial if need to put in incubator or do test ho. worried

Anyone bought bodysuit from Mothercare? Do you think size 0-3 is too small for our newborn and it will probably only last for few weeks and bb will outgrown it? Thought of changing it to 3-6mths but aint sure if it will be too big then. I saw kk romper, slightly bigger than the 0-3 mths, thus wondering if i should change.

Snnowy, ya doc scanned and said bb was low BUT not engaged. He said in my case it doesn't mean bb will come out early cos i think in my case, the uterus itself is low, and not the bb is down the birth canal liao. Just my gut feeling that my bb will come out early lor.. oh well..

Mosh, ya very busy.. i am actually eating my lunch now as this is my only free time to surf around...

Brocoli, oh dear.. i m sure ur gynae knows what to do... one of the gals i met in the forum who was seeing the same gynae as me had the same prob as u. she was in NUH for a wk plus.. and in her case she had very bad bleeding. in the end, she delivered her bb at 37 wks. so dun fret ya?

Jo Yeo, until the legislation is in place, employers are only ENCOURAGED to give the extra CC leave and the 4th mth maternity. cos there is nothing legally binding for them to provide the enhanced baby bonus until it has been fixed in the law. However, if u EDD is supposed to be in Nov and u pop earlier, then u are still entitled to the 4th mth cos ur EDD is aft 31st oct. Clearer now?

Thanks Bear.

Ai yo, mummies, i got worried for nothing la. I just called my gynae with regards to my possibility of early delivery then I realised I made a mistake. Bb head is down, wont change position anymore coz placenta is low but not Engaged. Thought its the same, ai yo scare scare man. Gynae tells me the EDD is still the same...*sign of relief*

Jo, i bought mothercare bodysuit b4. Yup, u are right, 0-3mths can only wear within that period and soon bb will outgrow. So my advise is maybe u can just purchase 2 or 3 pcs will do..

jo welcome..

i got about 20 during my hospital stay... then few days after discharge brought bb back to PD for routine check which was also at gleneagles medical centre. then i walked over to the hospital side nursery to ask for more...they gave me another 20 :p

brocoli,

oh dear...u better take care and hope u can carry your bb till at least wk 37...

moomummy, i will be delivering at TMC.. hmmz~ think i will call up for appt in 2 wks time.. wanna make sure everything's on the right track, cannot tahan till 37wks den see doc =P

Think it high time that we start packing our hospital bag and geeting things ready for baby's arrival.

I have sent out a list of things to prepare and emailed to the contact list that Bear has furnished. (It is a 5 pages long items. 1 page on thing to bring in your hospital bag and another 4 pages on items to get for bb's arrival)Hope not too lor soh.

Anyone I have missed out?

The nurses juz increased the dosage, tummy tightening again after lunch. Then another nurse come in and ask me to order tmr lunch n dinner. sigh, i'm keeping my fingers crossed abt gg home tmr n counting the size of the bill i've incurred by now.

snnowy, I have read thru the list =) thanks for it, ready handy

brocoli, dun think of the bill now.. rest more n think of ur lovely BB inside u inside.. just dun be stressed and u will be fine =)

jo,
i tink no need to worry abt bb popping out early coz my gynae said that i can choose to induce for earlier birth if i want to. but if not, then will most probably tahan till full term.
your bb is a boy? coz alot of old folks say that you are carrying a bb boy, your tummy will be big and low. my tummy is oso big and low too.

Jenn,
yeah, you can try calling your gynae to fix up an earlier appt date. my gynae has advised me on going for appts once every 2 weeks from wk 31 till wk 35. then after that will be once every week liao..

Jenn
Confirmed liao, my resort stay extend one more day to friday bc cannot wean off contraction medicine.

Those mummies with tightening, remember dun rub ur tummies, can trigger contraction. I thought i had food poisoning and trapped air, that's why i keep rubbing my tummy.

Snnowy, agree with u, better pack the bags. I saw one daddy went home to take the bag and when he came back his baby delivered already. Then he was still holding on to the bag with the baby's cries in the background and the nurss actually said to him: "Dun bother abt ur bag, go and see ur baby now"

RE: CORDLIFE AND REFERRAL

Mummies, I have signed up for Cordlife already. Paid $642 (including 7% GST) and the other $600 to be deducted from CDA account.

Finally had a piece of mind..no need to think so much now.

Anyone who is keen to sign up, can refer me as referral and get additional $50 off, so you would pay the same amount as me ($642 cash/cheque).

Those interested can email me at bladers <at> hotmail.com (Please replace the <at> with @)

1722672.gif

Mosh

Yah lor, the nurse saw me rubbing my tummy and told me not to do it. Also some books will write that for certain pple, when they have BH, it will be gone after a while. But if you are having tightening, you should not walk but rest instead.

mosh, think is cannot rub in circular motion ba..

brocoli, use this time to rest well =D looking on the bright side, at least u are being well taken care of there with gd food for now..

moomummy, hmmz~ shall just do that.. will fix for 35wks appt soon.. thanks~

Jo
Can i join ur club, but very soon i'll hit the 70kg mark liao.

Sorry gals, a lot to say bc very bored here, other than eating, watching tv, read papers, hear the occasional baby cries, there's nothing i can do here. Can't even walk out to bio those babies in the nursery. In fact, the nurses call me the one who haven't give birth.