(2008/11) November 2008

Hi Tracy, my baby weighs 1.6kg at 29 wks, quite close to urs. How much wt have u put on so far? I am asked to eat less carbo but i ended up taking more sugar. Can't resist ice soursop and my daily teh-o.

Hello Brocoli, my weight gained is only 7kg. what is yours? I didn't put on much weigh but yet bb is quite heavy.

Does anyone here intend to use cloth diaper? i was quite determined to use it for environmental reason. but it seems to be a lot of hard work. Not sure how to wash the cloth diaper also. Must sterilise?

tracy> me lor. i wanna try clothe diaper.. i heard can use nappy liner on top of it. can protect more stain if bb poo. mean lesser stain & easier to wash. i nv heard of need to sterlise leh!

Hello Mummies

Thread was moving too fast for me to catch up... heee

<font color="119911">Breastfeeding Talk</font>
I just realised that the guest speaker was the trainer I had for my antenatal classes @ Mt A, so i guess i'll be giving it a miss.

<font color="119911">Baby Weight</font>
Was supposed to take a 4D scan of baby, but he was camera shy, so didn't get a chance to see how he looks like yet, but at 28weeks, he's 1111g

<font color="119911">Pediatrician</font>
I'm not sure if i'm being too kiasu to ask this now, but any recommendations? What's the difference between getting those japs from the PD vs GP ?

havnt been logging in for quite some time liao.. busy with work.. and alot of baby bash to attend.. super siong month..

Hows all mummies? doing well?

<font color="119911">Weight gain</font>
How to calcuate weight gain? Weight now minus pre-pregnacy weight or Weight now minus pre-pregnancy minus weight loss to MS?

Tracy, envy leh.. I put on 10kg so far and BB was only 1.1kg during the 28.5wk.. going for my 32.5 wks check this friday.. hope BB pump up more.. so meaning to say all the fats went to me leh =/ haiz~

<font color="ff0000">GreenGrape</font>
I dunno whats the accurate way either, i just simply use my weight now minus pre-pregnancy weight. hehehee.. I've put on 11kg so far, and baby is only 1.1kg..

This is hilarious on why Chinese shouldn't have Christian names? Here
are the ? ? ? ? ? reasons:

? ? ? ? ? Anne Chang
? ? ? ? ? (Mandarin)- Dirty
? ? ? ? ? Anne Chin
? ? ? ? ? (Mandarin) - Keep quiet
? ? ? ? ? Faye Chen
? ? ? ? ? (Mandarin) - Dusty
? ? ? ? ? Jane Tan
? ? ? ? ? (Mandarin) - Frying eggs
? ? ? ? ? Henry Mah
? ? ? ? ? (Mandarin) - Hate your mum
? ? ? ? ? Paul Chan
? ? ? ? ? (Mandarin) - Bankrupt
? ? ? ? ? Nelson Tan
? ? ? ? (Mandarin) - Bird laying eggs
? ? ? ? ? Leslie Tong
? ? ? ? ? (Mandarin) - Rubbish bin
? ? ? ? ? Connie Mah
? ? ? ? ? (Cantonese) - Call your mother
? ? ? ? ? Macy Koh
? ? ? ? ?(Cantonese) - Never die before

? ? ? ? ? When come to Hokkien dialect, there are plenty good ones:
? ? ? ? ? Lucy Leow
? ? ? ? ? (Hokkien) - You are dead
? ? ? ? ? Corrine Tai
? ? ? ? ? (Hokkien) - Poor fellow
? ? ? ? ? Carmen Teng
? ? ? ? ? (Hokkien) - Leg hair long
? ? ? ? ? Danny See
? ? ? ? (Hokkien) - Wait her to die
? ? ? ? ? Rosie Teng
? ? ? ? ? (Hokkien) - Screws and nails
? ? ? ? ? Pete Tsai
? ? ? ? ? (Hokkien) - Nose droppings
? ? ? ? ? Carl Cheng
? ? ? ? ? (Hokkien) - Buttock
? ? ? ? ? Monica Cheng
? ? ? ? ? ( Hokkien) - This one need no explanation!!

Hi ana, i didn't put on so much weight but the baby seems to be gaining weight on its own ;) which is strange. I tried not to take stuff which is too sweet.

I read somewhere saying must sterilise cloth diaper but dunno how true it is. glad to found someone who is doing the same
have you bought the diaper yet. The diaper need to be washed first to improve the absorption ability.

For those who has piles, can try to do exercise by squeezing your butt when sitting down
this will improve blood flow to butt area.

<font color="119911">Teenyweeny</font>
I also use Weight now minus pre-pregnacy weight. But the Dietician count Weight now minus pre-pregnancy minus weight loss to MS. That's why i wanted to know the correct way of calculating weight gain

jenn> not all is fats la.

Where do the pregnancy pounds go?
Maternal stores of nutrients
and muscle development 7 Pounds
Increased body fluid 4 Pounds
Increased blood 3 - 4 Pounds
Breast growth 1 - 2 Pounds
Enlarged uterus 2 Pounds
Amniotic fluid 2 Pounds
Placenta 1.5 Pounds
Baby 6 - 8 Pounds
Total 26.5 - 30.5 Pounds
Source: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

Link: http://www.baby2see.com/pregnancy_weight_calculator.html

darlest,
the sealer is in the linked i posted. check it out, inside got the picture.

bibi,
970 gms bigger then mine lor.

yen,
the strap B test ah, my gynae tell mi certain women has got this down there. so before delivery must go through this test to make sure that u are negative, if u are positive then must b put on antibotics during delivery. i dun really know wat the virus name is. the anti botics is put to make sure that the delivery passage is safe for the baby.

bear,
i really forget my pills le, how u know? wakakak.. just went home to get it n back to office. hee hee....

peanut,
yeah lor, i also put on anti contraction pills due to frequent BH. my gynae says very mild ones call ventolin.

enne,
yeah baby. thank u sooooo much. *smuack*

brocoli,
tats sounds so scarey....

Cloth diaper

My friend say once kena poopoo, the yellow stain cannot wash away. So she use bleach and then wash another time wif normal detergent. She say she can use up to 20something diapers a day. Maybe bc baby fussy abt being wet.

brocoli,
try ABD baby washing powder, so far most of my friends raves abt how well it gets poo poo off just by soaking. i think bleaching not so good?

yah, the thread here really moves very fast
hi Jenn &amp; Enne, maybe durian will help the baby to be bigger? but always eat moderately.

Actually i eat a lot of junk food and fries, prata and pizza due to craving but i also walk alot.

Hi Greengrape, weight gain is difference btw the weight when the doc first weigh you on first visit (6 to 8 weeks) and the weight now.

Milderina,

Yah, i think bleaching is no good too. Will ask my friend to try ABD powder.

I will be using 100% disposable diapers, bc i will be alone wif the baby, dun wan to spend time washing diapers.

tracy> i got some hand me down from my sils &amp; fren. so will combine see how much i more i need.. Btw in average, how much i need?

Brocoli> 20+ diaperS per day! tat's alot. i tink 1st 2mth sure will be v siong leh.. i tink i will try day with clothe diaper &amp; night with disapposable one 1st.

cloth diapers:
i am planning to use cloth nappies for day too but i am stayin open to using e disposable ones too even for day coz i am not sure how i will cope with the washing since i dun have a CL. was planning to only get a packet of the clothe nappies..=P

anyone done any other shopping lately? i have yet to get the nursing gown for bringing to hospital...

Brocoli> U are not getting help at all? that is very brave of u. Even with a maid i dunno if i could manage cos i am a first time mum.

Happy> yah, i think soaking in boiled water is sterilising.

Hi Haru, any idea where to get the nursing gown? I will be going down to kiddy palace at TPY later to get the changing tray that can be hung above the baby cot.

Ana, about 20 should be enough.

haru,Tracy-I also haven't done shopping.. going to do maybe this week or next week, think its time for us to prepare our emergency bag already... nursing gown u mean night gown right? to wear during our hospital stay?? wad brand is good?? that time got 1 mummy say john little got a brand called 'dermy' or what.. forget liao..

<font color="119911">Enne</font>

Hospital Bag
Start preparing now?!! Not too early? I've not even buy my nursing bra yet (heard should buy when around 33 weeks) and some other stuff yet.

Night Gown
Think the brand is Karmy. For me i'm thinking of wearing nursing dress instead of front button dress, since the aim is for easy breastfeeding

GreenGrape-Yeah my HB say next week to prepare ler.. coz going 30weeks.. just in case lo.. keke.. oh Yeah KARMY.. I wanna go check out.. hopefully can find front button coz I going for c-sect.. nursing gown sounds ok too.. any brands to recommend??

alibaba-You going off? take care yea.. me got half hr more to go!

<font color="119911">Enne</font>
I got my nursing gowns from Taiwan spree. Been using them as my sleep wear recently, quite comfortable as they are made of T-shirt material.

alibaba, tracy, use cloth diaper sure must use diaper liner on top of it ... else u have to wash cloth diaper until crazy. We intend to mix use of cloth diaper and disposable diaper.
I dunnoe how many cloth diaper required ... when nt enuff jus use disposable diaper loh ...

haru, u dun have CL, MIL, mum or maid to help u?

haru, tracy, I bought a pack of nursing gown (kneelength) from Mothercare ... 2pc/pack at $90 ... UOB credit card got 20%. $72 after discount. The gowns have 4-5 buttons at front top part for easy breastfeeding.

greengrape, I think shld be current weight - pre-pregnancy weight

Tracy
I'm also a first-time mummie. Got confinement lady for the first month but i need her to help me wif housework so i try to reduce her workload. Also when she leaves, i'll be alone wif baby so dun intend to buy so many cloth diapers.

Hi Jo, with the nappy liner do we need to change everytime the baby pee? Is the liner supposed to keep the baby buttock dry? so one diaper can hold at least 2 to 3 pee? Sorry for so many qns.

Brocoli, its nice to have CL cos they are experienced and cook nice confinement food. My mum will be helping me with the cooking so the maid will do the cleaning and washing i guess.

<font color="119911">GreenGrape</font>
Do you have the link for the spree? I've been trying to look for nursing gowns but haven't seem to find a suitable one

Hello guys.. just out from lecture..

Mildy, u mentioned that u forgot to bring ur pills mah, forget liao? wah u so forgetful ah! forgot to bring ur brains along with u too? wahahaha..

Alibaba, Tristan is not bad.. i know quite a few Tristan liao. a fren told me it meant sorrow leh.. dunno true or not.

Re: weight gain
My gynae keep telling me not to gain too much.. i only gained 6kg leh!!! i dunno what he is worried abt.. sigh.. may be he counted back the wt i lost during the first trimester. then i would have gained 9kg.

Eh abt cloth diapers, i think boiled water is not sterilising it. it depends on the temp of the water. If u used cooled boiled water left exposed, there will be bacteria in them. best is use warm boiled water or better still boil the nappies! hahaa...

Brocoli,
I think i'll disappear right? I have piles quite often leh.. Even before pregnancy and my gynae/doc didn't tell me to remove it. But my piles bleed very often and is very painful.

Yen,
2 cups of milk a day? Very fattening leh.. My gynae said 1 cup a day maxi. Fat fat..

Jo,
Ur nursing gown very exp.. $72 for 2 pcs? Me very stingy not willing to spend so much. Esp when we may or may not wear it.

Mummies delivering in Raffles,
I heard from a colleague that we do not need to bring nursing gown as it will be provided by the hospital. My colleague also never wear any bra during her stay there. So i just intend to get 1 nursing gown (cheap, cheap one) just in case.

Bear-You back frm lecture, we all on the way home liao.. kekeke.

alibaba-You like the name Tristan? I think that's a nice name, one of the few I like too, handsome name. hee

Milderina-I got ur bluey nursing wrap liao!! See when you got pass by SK hor.. I forgot where u live liao.. keke..

jo,
my mum lives near me, so she will be main source of help i guess. but i will be having a part-time cleaner to help with cleaning chores, nt daily but i will see how i cope and decide how often i need her.

Re:nursing gowns
i dun think i'll get too ex ones too as i dun noe how often or if i will ever wear it again.=P wil prob check out the ones at john little.

Everyone,
thanks for your well wishes. Just went to collect my iron tablets from RH for my low blood count.

was charged $8+ for the tablets, and a stupid $6+ for practice cost. Told the cashier Im just here to collect medicine, didnt see gynae at all, ridiculous to pay for that practice cost. quite pissed. These days every little thing can irritate me.

Bibi,
if dont wear bra in hosp, not nice if got visitors or milk leak? Have you booked your ward?

hey olwen,
have you received the free bath thermometer? i am stil waiting for mine..been a couple of weeks..

dear mummies, good morning.. I'm the first today!!

gin78-what happen? din manage to catch archives, hope u r better now??

GOod mornin mummies~

Enne> u soo early!!

I'm eating Sugary Donut!
yummyy...

Enne/bear>
Ya i like Tristen means A Tragic Hero! &amp; Tristan has another meaning A knight.

Hi mum out there, need your advice on pump as it seems like those thread on pump is sometime back and no reponse there...

wondering when to get the pump, b4 or after delivery coz im thinking of trying direct feeding 1st b4 committing to a pump. any advice? thanks alot

Greengrape
i starting packing my bag too but not complete yet and left the hospital bag list inside incase of any emergency, my hubby can continue packing.

Haru
Can i just check what is this free bath thermometer about? Is there anywhere we can get it free? Thanks