(2008/11) November 2008

minkybear,
Dun have chwee kuey but gt something very similar to it but without the cai po lo.Hmm.. see if i can take a pic and show u tomoro

Misaryeo,
found the recipe for Chwee Kueh:

Chwee Kueh

Ingredients:
180g rice flour
25g corn flour
800ml water
2 tbsp oil
½ tsp salt

Method:
1. Place the two flours into a bowl and pour about 300 ml water. Mix to form a smooth batter. Strain.
2. Bring remaining (500ml) water, oil and salt to boil. Reduce to low heat. Pour in batter and stir constantly till it thickens.
3. Grease a few chwee kueh moulds. Pour the mixture into each mould and place it on steamer. Steam over rapidly boiling water for about 10 minutes.
4. Remove from mould and spread topping over it.
5. Serve hot with rasdish topping.

Note:
Constantly stir the batter if batter get lumpy, it ok just quick stir the batter to get less lumpy and bring to it to steam.

Radish topping

Ingredients:
200g chai poh
50g dried scrimps, grind
5 tbsp oil1 whole garlic, minced
3 tbsp sugar

Method:
1. Soak the chai poh and scrimps separately for 10 minutes. Rinse and drain well.
2. Heat oil and sauté the garlic till golden brown.
3. Add in the dried scrimps fry till fragrant.
4. Add in the chai poh and stir-fry till dry.
5. Finally add in the sugar.

Found more will let you knw again

Mildy not only infected the thread with her shopping bug, she also infected u guys with the chwee kuay bug! hahaha...

Happy, don't worry, u are coming back soon liao.. then u can eat till u like!

Minkybear, sometimes got secret ingredients to make the chai poh extra fragrant.. so buying it from the stalls always better.. but hor one thing i dun like abt the chwee kuay is the oil! so oily one!

minky, thks for the recipe! they kinda hav a chinatown.. but dunhave chwee kuey. got Hk dim sum though...

happy, yah can taste some SIN food here during gathering... so its not that bad lah. the asian mkt here also do sell some stuff, so can DIY. I did DIY a couple of times. but no matter how still miss certain stalls of certain food in SIN. ur hubby also regular???

joyce, sorry hor not town.. ANG MO KIO!! eerkk. so exp.. but it'll be done up nicely for u liao.. So no need reno jus get furnitures will do

bear, minkybear
yah lets might as well make it 7 lah, since most cant make it 630. i got a straight bus ther from my office i tink, then no need walk ALL E WAY from mrt to suntec, everytime tink abt the walking distance v sian. I'll try to get my hubby to fetch me home after that wakakaa.. so those living in north i may b able to drop them at braddell mrt..

alibaba
ah? come out immediately drink milk?? they got so hungry bo...

Jo
oh like that then u not selfish.. mus control mus control. Like my hubby, he'll let his colleagues know if his wife granted him visa when they ask him out wahahaa...

Enne, hi5.

Peanut, wow, AMK so ex nowadays! Thought it is somewhere near queenstown or wat. I know dover flat now is 480K for a 5 room new flat.

It's a rainy day ... feel so sleepy after lunch ... zzzz

Lilian, my bears abit spoil spoil liao. Female bear's veil dropped off le. Haha.

Had an awful lunch. Nw snacking on cookie and milk... sigh.. must control. Bt i feel like eating pork floss with egg pan cake! At the place that Bear mentioned before some where in Geylang lor 27... *drool*

pork floss with egg ?? I just had it last wk

drooling too.....

Me had an awful lunch at coy's canteen too. Raining heavily so can't go out.

alibaba, Jo.. Thanks

i had boring lunch... now eyes shuttinggggg....
*drool* pork floss egg pan cake.. sell you tiao there have wor... so long nv go there eat liao!!

lilian and alibaba, ya that is the one! can imagine biting into the crispy pancake and then the pork floss flowing out... wow... bt must have the egg if nt i dont want.
k see if i still feel like eating that later then ask hubby to go buy hehe...

peanut,

wah! it is expensive! but is it those full fitted even with kitchen cabinets, stove etc? juz move in with sofa, bed etc will do?

bear,

i can't confirm leh... can i let u know nearer to the date? pai seh...

geylang too far from me leh... chue kuay can still find.. haha

last sunday went chong pang for breakkie, had the famous nasi lemak...long Q. til my turn. no more chicken wings... kaoz... And my main purpose is chicken wing lor! til now still miss the chicken wing. lolz.

Wow! What is this pork floss pancake all about! Seems like many of u ate before? Where can I get it? :p

Today is the perfect weather to sleep in.

joyce, yes 永和豆浆

happy, t taiwan one also call 永和豆浆 right?

Perfect weather to eat pork floss pancake, sip on hot 豆浆, after that go to sleep ZZzzz...

Cannot concentrate on work liao ~~~

oh lilian, nice description u hv..

alibaba, i think so, cos NOV DEC is still consider cooling period.. Otherwise will sweat like hell esp bf..

Eh, wat's this pork floss egg pancake ah? i nv seen it before leh.. taste like wat? sweet or savoury? wat kind of eggs?

My fren just went to Patisser to order her gal's bday cake.. make me wanna eat the double praline choc cake.. sigh..

Wanna ask u gals, do u feel a lot of kicks above ur belly button? i seldom feel kicks so high there. wondering if my bb is low or wat.

minky,joyce,enne
haa.. v diff and look weird to me too.I tout is beef mee too!But this is so called wan tou lo.
So u can tell hw i miss sin food! Just nt use to their food here.

what is tis pork floss pancake?? Alamak.. i nv hear b4 ley.Take photo for me to see!

Here another;
Fried fish soup! wakaa.. another weird one!

1669364.jpg

misaryeo,
Ya he is a regular too and tis is why i am here!
keke

joyce: ah, when do u foresee yourself going back to work then? u must be v patient. happy said she v tired staying at home & can't wait to go back to work

cheeky peanut! baby must latch on early not cos hungry but so tt can recognise.

enne: seems like the topic is food. especially chwee kueh & wanton mee.

Bear: no lah, i just want to ka-cheow my husband. cos he always so side his mother.

Bear, above belly button arh? no lei, mine is always below the belly button and she is so active and kick non-stop thru out 24 hours..

joyce, ok i go eat take photo if can find the place.
cute shoes are they for children? making ppl shop again ah... no good.. tsk tsk.

kicks> all over.. sometime near CB there. sometimes can feel he is knocking at my bladder, sometimes belly button there. sometimes above belly button area. left or right.. always wonder wat's his position now... one side usually harder than other side. i guess it's shld be bb head.

happy,
wow i missed taiwan food..........i wan to go taiwan just to eat. the dong po rou there also darn nice seah...

i wan to eat ah zhong mian xian...

me went for yoga class during lunch, ta pau economic rice come back to office to makan. but mouth a lil itchy now..=P

I think we are a bad influence on each other... always making each other shop... haha...

Ok so I shall add to it...

I will likely organise a spree for avent bpa-free bottles. But will be end sep (order to be placed first few days of 1 Oct so that can try to find the best deal... I think 1 oct is launch). If no better deal, I will order from drugstore. Till then, do take some time to consider if you need the bottles (or other items from drugstore) coz after that spree... Fifi needs to stop spreeing for a while so that she can deliver her baby... lolx.

Fifi has yet to receive her hand-me-down clothes for her minnie... in the event that she realises she has insufficient stuff after receiving the hand-me-downs, she will also do 1 more babymall spree at a similar time.

minkybear, the shoes are meant for bigger baby, hehe..

Happy, u efficient lei.. Mildy said wanna eat ah zong mian xian, u immediately post a picture for he.. She must be drooling non-stop now.. mildy, right?

Re: bb kicks
Thanks Joyce and Alibaba.. cos i was thinking i shd be feeling the kicks abv the belly button.. dunno if my bb is too low or too small cos my tummy really small leh.. me worrying over nothing hor..

Fifi, wat support belt?

Wow, you mummies are all talking about food. I find that my appetite drops a lot now. Sometime only taking 2 meals and in between a cup of milo can last me so long. Anyone also like that?

Baby's kick:
Yes, it is definitely much more and more frequent compared to my 1st. Sometime it can keep me awake the whole night too. I think I've got a super active baby.

Peanut,
Ya. it is baby's natural instinct to start sucking on mother's breast once they are out. In fact it is a reflex skill that they possess. If you dun latch them on immediately, they will lost the skill to suck on mummy's breast after an hour and will need to learn to pick up the suckle skill again.