(2008/11) November 2008

Just to share with all - a survival guide for the expectant dads ~ fm BABYCARE magazine.
You can tell your husbands.

1. Spoil yr pregnant wife, pamper her like a queen by serving her fruits, give her a leg massage or relax spending restrictions on internet shopping.

2. Keep her smiling; avoid potentially bad mood triggers like sad or horror movies

3. Show extreme enthusiasm - take her shopping for maternity wear and baby items WITHOUT disappearing to the sports or IT dept.

4. Sympathise & empathise with her - comfort her tenderly when she cry.

5. Most impt of all, Lose all arguments and be a "yes man".

lilian, li jia wei lost e 2nd round so it's 1-1 now.. they are playing the doubles now.. things are looking not bad on our side but well.. let's cheer for them ya =)

Happy, Haru, Yen and Gin, buy clothes hanger? he will still dump it on the floor lor. he can't even dump it on the bed. i dun mind him dumping them on the bed, but he can't even do something simple like that. really pek chek.. then when he comes home, all he wants to do is watch tv. wah lao tv so nice to watch meh? cannot finish ur chores then watch? some more he damn irritating. e.g. he only wants to watch the 11pm prog and it usually ends at 12am. he got nothing to watch aft that liao but he still wanna channel surf. then i have to wait for him to shower, dry his hair then i can slp cos i m a very light sleeper. damn inconsiderate! i told him why can't he shower immed aft his tv show or feed the dog while i m showering so that we can get to bed earlier but he just ignores me.

Also we starting to buy lotsa baby stuff liao. he dumped a lot of his office stuff in the spare cupboards. those are things he shd be throwing away but he hasn't. told him twice to throw liao so that got space for the bb but so far he just pretend nv hear. in the meantime all the stuff are piling up in one corner.

Gin, i played the waiting game wat. he hasn't washed the floor for ages until this morning i blew up at him. last time aft my doggie go for walks, we will clean his paws. now he also refuses to do it cos he said i can't do so he also won't do. damn annoying lor.

Hi ladies.. Trying to come in often to chat but has no time, cause busy with 1st son. So many post, can only browse thru today's posting! Anyway, i am happy cause my maid will be arriving this sun, so can relax a bit after she comes and i am sure i hv more time to chat with u gals here

Milderina,
You mentioned that will be asking CL to clean ur house, but i know that some of them don't clean the whole house for u. Only do washing clothing,cook etc. Maybe u wanna check with her again to confirm? Is she from msia or spore?

Misaryeo,
You are lucky that ur son just start clinging on u! For me, think when i was abt 3mths preggy, he already start to cling on me. Every night will want me to sleep with him, when he wake up in the middle of night, hubby attend to him but he will cry and said ma-ma ma-ma! Then on n off sometimes will cry when grouchy and asked me to carry him! He is 12.1kg and i have a big bump to carry, so u imagine how tiring it is?

Hi, finally have some time to login today.

Gin78,
Don't think my hubby will be able to obey the survival guide for the expectant dads.
Don't make me angry with him or do anything to irrirate me, i will be happy

Check with u Ladies who will be deliver at TMC,
What type of room you u choose and have you tour the hospital? The super deluxe single room is nice..

Bear, take it easy, cause now u r preggy, dun get angry too often else will affect ur bb.. BB very close to mummy de, whatever our emotions is, bb can feel..

I m not mad lah.. that's why i rather do everything myself. when he sees me doing it, he knows i have reached my end point. most of the time he will volunteer to help. if i no action, he also no action lor. why issit like that to them ah? why can't they be automatic??!!

Misaryeo,
Jovial start clinging on me when am 2-3 months preggie and he fll sick easily.. sian.. but when i'm @ my grandparents hse.. he can dunwan me and wan my grandma but when i juz knk off and go pick him i MUST carry him if not he start #%$^^&@ around..

Joyce,
I haven't gone for TMC hospital tour yet. I've not decided how many bedder. Maybe I will be like Vel since 4 bedder normally auto upgrade to 2 bedder.

Lilian,
Can see live results here for Women's Table tennis:
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/RTDS/TT/TTW400202.shtml
The official olympic games website : http://en.beijing2008.cn/
You can see those in progress results somewhere in the middle of the official website.

Bear,
Relax. U must be happy then bb will be happy. Slowly do else "act" in pain or tired. Maybe he will do.

bear,

dun be too mad... have u consider getting a maid? coz after bb arrives, even more chores i tell u.... the washing of bottles, doing baby clothes laundry is everyday leh...

happy birthday to fifi and haru...

joyce,

CL normally mops the floor of whole house abt twice a week. but daily, will sure magic clean. For the kitchen, they will mop everyday after cooking as oily mah... thats why i am thinking i may extend CL up to 40 days this time if she doesn't have another assignment to go to after me.

Hi vel,
ya, i also heard that. Good hor, can pay lesser but will auto-upgrade. Dunno whether if choose 2-bedded, will upgrade to single bedded.. (i must be dreaming

Hui,
hi-5. Think it is quite true that they will cling on us when we are preggy. Oldies said cause they are jealous! Now like that, then how after bb is born? Wondering!!

Bear,
Cool down and dun get angry.

joyce,
I hav opt for single bedded.Previously i stayed at 2bedded and dun realli like it.My neighbour gt so many visitors and made so much noise.Cant hav proper rest.Then the hb onli go hm at mid-night after his wife slept.

Vel,
TMC will auto upgrade to 2 bedde if the 4 bedded is full.Realli depends alot on luck.My fren gt the 4 bedded as requested but i oso gt upgraded for my previous stayed.

Misaryeo,
My gal oso v clingy to me when i found out abt my preg ley
You are lucky liao.

Vel, eh, TMC upgrade is not confirmed one. it depends if there are a lot of ppl delivering or not. my fren also tot can upgrade but in the end no space so she got stuck in a 4 bedder. u can check with the staff nearer ur delivery date before u decide.

Kash, he doesn't like the idea of some stranger living in the same house as us. his ideal would be me being a SAHM. He wants me to be like his mum lor. crazy!!! i can nv be like her.

Our washing machine is a 7kg load one. i asked him are we gonna hand wash bb's clothes or wat. at first he says he will handwash it but looking at his pattern he won't lor.. i prob have to do it. how to accumulate 7kg worth of dirty clothes daily? he still tell me dun buy so many clothes!! his mum really spoils him. everything also she do so he nv has to lift a finger!

bear,

agree with u that many men in Singapore are actually spoilt by their mothers! my washing machine is 6.5kg... i bo pian, little clothes also throw inside to wash leh.. waste electricity and water only...however, it is really impossible to use hand to wash...esp if u come home after work, really tired liao... washing of milk bottles, breastpumps etc already very very troublesome....

hui,

i also dun like to have a maid but eventually, it will make life easier for everyone...so why not. Maid can also help off load my mum's housework when i go back to work after ML. u getting a CL? if not, maybe u can consider to get a CL while ur grandma helps to look after jovial...

Kash,
ya, but i do understand some are very calculative. Sometimes also depends on luck on hiring CL. Best is to get recommendation

happy,
Think single-bedded and deluxe single is different. Have u view both? any different?
Ya, if want to have companion to stay over night, they only allowed 1 bedded.

Hui,
what is "zhen hua"? Good to know that they will be better after bb is born, else i will be hay-wire..

Joyce,
The clingy part is nt the worst nw.My fren asked me to educate my gal now.When the baby arrived,they get more jealous,esp the 1st few week.Esp when they see us BF the baby,#1 will get more upset and character can change totally.

Vel,
After our delivery,the nurse will let our hb know if we will get upgraded to 2 bedded.
So if u dun wan the 4 bedded,let your hb knw in advance.Then at that moment,he can do a upgrade for u.

Joyce,
I hav nt view the deluxe rm... but dun intend to go for it too.It so much exp as compare to the single rm.
I opt for a single rm bcoz i wan my elder gal to stay longer there.At least,i dun hav worries that she might affect the others.

Ya lor i think most s'porean guys are very spoilt. actually not just guys. some gals i know also won't do housework one. like my nieces lor. my SIL said she won't ask them to do housework cos she feels that as long as she (my SIL) can do it, why shd she torture her kids to do? then i asked next time dunno how to do then how? my SIL actually said then they better find a guy that can afford a maid. these are the values parents impart to their kids nowadays.

May be i might have to use the machine cos we work such long hrs. sigh... my machine takes 2hr 15 mins to do one wash. so long!!!

Fianlly end of the day zz...so tired today. Will be taking the single bedded at TMC as well. Havent seen the new deluxe rm though but heard it is more costly!

Woah..looks like a few of us going for the talk at SCGS on 26 Aug (Tues). :p Me too! can hv a minigathering haa..

Fifi: Happy Birthday! Haru, happy belated birthday!

The match is so exciting! Just now went to watch the Lee Jia Wei one..it was so nailbiting rite to the end!

Joyce,
Doubt there's any 2bedder upgraded to 1 bedder. LoL.

happy,
I will see how it goes. Anyway, can change de. heehe. One of my friend requested for 4 bedder then change her mind to 1 bedder on the day of admission. :D

Lilian,
Wah, you so ON. I heard my colleagues got website for live results..Haha..Wow..fierce fight huh..Hoping Singapore to get at least 1 medal. I'm still struggling with my report in the office. Deadline today!

Happy,
That's what i am worrying now.. I know that i will be buying a gift for him and tell him that it is mei-mei who buy for him, hope that it helps a bit. But as what u said, the bf part.. cause i will definetely bf my bb, then he will get jealous. How how how?

Re: Older kid jealous
Should prepare #1 that there's a meimei or didi coming bah...Maybe can help. Like helping to choose bb stuff. :>

Gotta go..Finally done! Bye. Enjoy ur weekends.

Fifi,
I shall see you on sunday to collect my stuff from 11am-1pm. Will beep u when almost reaching. Thanks.

<font color="0000ff">Drugstore Spree #1 Update:

Sunshinekid: I have posted your parcel. Your tracking ref is RR622350441SG.

Babymall Spree #2 Update:

Favoured: See you on Monday.

Bear: KIV first

Baby23: See you on Sunday.

Greengrape: Your parcel has been sent. Postage is $4.79 total &amp; your tracking reference is RR622350440SG. Total amt you owe me now is $4.79.

Snnowy: Your parcel has been sent. Postage is $5.79 total &amp; your tracking reference is RR622350442SG. Total amt you owe me now is $19.88.

Happy: Your parcel has been sent. Postage is $2.55. Total amt you owe me now is $8.61 + $9.40 for desitin = $18.01.

Yen: See you on Sunday.

Vincy: See you on Monday.

Chilipadi: Your parcel has been sent. Postage is $2.55 total. Total amt you owe me now is $10.63.

Happy belated birthday to Haru &amp; Fifi.

I went for my gynae appt yesterday. He's rushing through out the whole checking process and everytime i told him abt my problems, he will said is normal. So sian.

I went to Taka fair yesterday. Total damage $200++. For mummies not driving, if you purchase above $100, you can request for free delivery. It'll save you a lot of trouble carrying the things around. Happy shopping.

Kash,
Maybe you can try this maid agency. I heard that this agency is quite good but i never try before.
http://www.homekeeper.biz/

Gin78,Edde,
Have you booked your room/bed? How many bed did you chose? I just realised that our EDD is very close. Maybe we will meet in the hospital. :)

Lilian,
Did the nurse give you maternity guide? They just give me yesterday.

For mummies staying in Raffles Hospital, please rem to bring:
For registration for admission,
1) Letter of Admission (given to you by the clinic)
2) Identify Card/FIN Card/Passport
3) Identify Card of the Medisave Account Holder
4) Deposit - Final balance of antenatal package is to be paid upon discharge.

What to bring for the stay,
For mother,
1) 2 breastfeeding bra
2) 2 Nightgowns(with front openings if you are breast feeding)
3) 1 warm cardigan
4) Slippers

For Baby,
1) Baby's mittens &amp; booties
2) Baby vest and wrapping blanket for the day of discharge.

Items provided by hospital,
For mother,
1) Basic toiletries pack
2) Disposable bedroom slipper for single, deluxe and suites.
3) Breast pump is available upon request at no extra charge.

For Baby,
1) Disposable diaper
2) Baby wet wipes
3) Baby vest

Someone told me that the hospital will charge us for the disposable diapers. Pls check and bring the diapers if you wanna save $$

Bear,
maybe can try e soft approach, or even e manja approach??=P guys somehow equate asking them to do chores to nagging. so got to make it a lil more like a request and that we really need their help at times then they will feel obliged to say yes perhaps..anyway, you know ur hubby e best so just keep trying. as for ur lil doggie, he's gota understand it belongs to BOTH of you not just you.all e best! and most important dun get upset too much over tis ya? if u still feel its not working out, i think just get a part time cleaner to help out.

Some Old Wives' Tales from the Empire of the Sun:

- Believe it or not, eating for two is not encouraged for Japanese pregnant mothers! In fact, they're even urged to not gain extra weight at all.

- Women hv to keep silent during labour to maintain poise n' avoid embarrassment.

- Any form of pain relief is not recommended bcoz childbirth is supposed to be a natural process.

Good morning everyone.

Haru and Fifi
Happy belated birthday to both of U.

Hello joyce and Bibi
I'm relatively new here

Bear
keep cool, your hubby will pick up his clothes if U say U can't bend, so I suggest that U don't pick up for him, eventually he will stop and pick them up himself