(2008/11) November 2008

I feel is more appropiate to let the CL handle day & nite, cause by then we are very tired ,cannot be over Ambitious , need to rest. Purpose of CL is to let us have enough rest & pu back our body. Is also better to express & feed by bottle at night, let baby have a touch of both. Cause if fully latch on, later will have problem later that baby reject bottle. My frez cannot cut away her daughter from nipple till now...4yrs old.

Rem i have my gal no CL, mum do confinment, every 2hr night feed then pat n pat, really no time to rest at night. Then day hard to fall asleep really very xin ku lo. Then i tell myself 2nd I need CL. But now have maid...I dont want house too many people at home...so give up the idea. Mum promise to help at night since maid can do housework for her, but how true i dont noe yet.

Hui, I will keep my gal & meimei with me, cause i dont wan jiejie to feel neglected because got another baby. Hope will not create a choas at home.

Peanut, CL prefer formular milk coz it will last bb longer than BF. Bb will sleep thru abt 3~4hrs for the next feed for formular milk but BF only last abt 1+ only, busy for them.

peanut, actually hb's aunt rather nice de.. she was saying dun worry abt the mthly allowance to give her just concentrate on resting for now.. dun wanna be stingy but I have so much fixed expenses but no income =/ hmmz.. *scratch head* if i give slightly lower now like $500 (plus transport will be $700) den when i go bk to work next yr den increase the amt do u think it's alright?

Just went for my check up today and I'm at 28 weeks!! Weight gain 9kg and bb weighs about 1.3kg...

I was advised to see my gynae one month later and was told to do another detailed scan... Anyone at TMC was asked to do it? I checked with the nurse and she mentioned that it probably cost about $200... wondering if its a norm to do a scan at 3rd tri. Cos the Dr did mentioned about the unequal blood flow of the baby during the last scan, but she did not mentioned whether it is their standard procedure to do scan at that stage...

Also isnt 3rd tri visit to the dr more frequent? She scheduled me one month later for my next visit...

Sunshinekid: I drink teh everyday, also very stubborn, simply cant resist my favourite drink!

Milderina: More weight gain during 3rd tri? I feel my appetitite is not as good as before... Also had a hard time sleeping + backache.

Vincy, JJMom and Alibaba: I'm in the mist of hiring a maid, would like to know how much the pay of a fresh maid w/o experience? And the agency fee, mine charges $288?

Saw 2 bio-data: 25 years old newbie and 30 years old (with 4years experience in Abu Dabi UAE). Both have kids themselves... Any suggestion?

Auggy,

My agent fee is $198. My maid salary is $320 per month. really depend if u need someone to handle yr bb ..then u might need some with experience or children.

For me mainly is hsework, secondly takecare of tod & my mum takecare of bb, so i choose a single fresh maid to train. I scare married will have prob with family & miss their children.

I drink kopi & tea daily...

Auggy_bear, for mi .. I'm seeing the gynae every 3wks from 3rd trimester onwards and later stage will be every 2wks.
maid: I would suggest 30yrs old one with 4yrs exp.

JJmom
orr.. FM is more lasting than BM?? even in same ml? how come ah? dun understand... becos BM is more dilute than FM?? umm...

Jenn
wakakkaaa.. aiyor cant make the decision for u wor.. but mayb u can work from backward? say market price for bbsitting is $600.. plus $200 tspt.. r u prepared to give her total $800 after u've started work? This may help u hav an idea how much u shd give her now since u're not working yet.

auggybear
detailed scan shd be once ony lei.. but as u mentioned mayb ur last scan ther was a bit of issue tts y he prefer to do one more check..

went to taka fair jus now and end up buying nothing AGAIN!! i simply hav no idea whether i shd get this or that.. Looking at pigeon bottles and not sure if wide neck or standard neck is better.. Then the organic bb products look good but the promo is actually buy 4 get 1 free.. i don't tink i'll need al range so i can get it anytime from pharmacy wat..
U gals were toking able swaddle me as well? i saw.. but actually wats e purpose of using that?

Jenn
actually if u tinking of giving her $700 for the timebeing i tink its fair considering u're not working and will also b around with the bb to help out.. But most imptly u need to be comfortable wif this amt urself.. if u stil tink its a bit too heavy burden for u, mayb slightly lesser than $700?? then tell ur aunt that u'll increase when u start work.. i'm sure she'll understand..

auggy bear: I used to have af Filipino maid who worked in Saudi Arabia and she turned out to be v. good, clean, does not use phone and intelligent (in Saudia employers very strict, maids not allowed to talk on fone..)

Hui,
Same like vincy, I'll be keeping my #1 with me during confinment cos she is too close to me like superglue. At 1 point, hubby even suggest me taking a 1 bedded so she she can stay in together with me in hospital after I give birth. haha

Auggy bear,
As far as I know, detail scan is onli done once in entire pregnancy at 18-22 weeks. You may want to check with your gynae, what he wants to check for at the 3rd trimester scan.

Peanut,
Not BM more diluted. It BM is too nutriention in the right balanced porportion that it is easily digested by baby, thus getting hungry easily. A baby on BM needs to be fed at 1.5h to 2 hourly, compared to a baby on FM, only need to be fed at most 4 hourly in the same ml.

Another suggetion is to tell the CL to bring the bb for you to latch on directly at night lor.

hi good morning mummie, TGIF!

My mum will be helping me my confinement this time again. Last time I got my hubby to give her $1800 in an angbao, after much pushing around she finally accepted. Got to increase the amount this time, food ingredients so ex ya.

hui
My #1 goes childcare Mon-Fri, he's closer my hubby so I am keeping him with me. My MIL said she can help to look after him when I give birth. See how ya cos most prob my mum will take care of my son, me and baby#2 and my 2 unmarried sisters will pop by to help her. Nov is school hols so my teacher hubby no need to go school.

Your tummy photo: stretch marks seems less ya.I will post mine to let U all see also.

Must take care and get some rest this weekend, work can never finish, health and your baby more important ya

Auggy Bear
I was told by nurses in NUH that there's a detailed scan to do in wk32, not sure if other hospital practice that too, may that is the scan U said?

hello morning ladies!

Hui,
I am keeping my #1 with me too but she will be going to CC for half a day.Not sure if i can handle her but my parents will be helping me with the confinement.
Think this is oso the best time for them to hav some bonding.Many of my frens already warned me that it will be tough at the 1st wk cos they tend to get jealous.

Auggy bear,
For me,i need to visit the gynec every forenightly when we are into 3rd trim.Then tink at wk 36,need to visit every week.

Bear,
I hear that GAIA is good too.Think u better get either Gaia or california baby if u worry tat your babies might hav sensitive skin like u

I mighht wanna try the GAIA for this baby too.

Hi everyone, I've been reading on and off the discussions in this thread but have never had the courage to post anything. However, saw the discussion on the topic of domestic helpers and thought i'll share my two cents' worth

My helper is Filipino and she's been with me since May, when i was about 3 months pregs. She's only 23 and fresh from her hometown so she was completely inexperienced when we first had her. We chose her because she has a nursing diploma so we thought that would definitely come in useful when she has to help with our baby.

So far, she's been great, very willing to learn and quite proactive. I really think what kind of helper we get sometimes really depends on luck and i was plain lucky. My older sister interviewed many and finally chose one, but that one turned out psychotic and had to be sent back.

Good morning, ladies.

Auggybear,
I did my detailed scan @ TMC level 5. Depends on who does the detailed scan. For mine is done by a doctor so I paid slightly higher(If i remember is $170+) due to my triple blood test result show high risk of spinal defect of my bb. The rest done by normal sanographer is only $107.
My DS show notch(resistance) for the direction of blood flowing from me to baby. My gynae did suggest to do another DS if my baby does not put on enuff weight. She didn't mentioned when.
In my last visit, my baby has grown quite alot although still slightly smaller. I'm seeing my gynae in another 2wks time.

waterbaby,
welcome.

Peanut..I like wide neck bottle cause easiler to clean. U mean swaddling the baby? New born detect from our body will feel insecure, so for the 1st month we need to swaddle them up. If not they will keep tremble & cry.

In KKH dont have 2nd detail scan, but some private gynae will have another one at 3rd trimester.

Snnowy..actually hor when my gal new born, I feed her formula at night hopefully she can sleep more, but hor she also wake up every 2 hr to drink milk till 6wk. So really depend on individual.

Welcome...waterbaby...! ya i agree it really depend on luck whether maid is good anot. like chinese say 1 kind of rices few hundreds kind of people.

Hi Auggy,

I just got my maid on 1 Aug. Her main duties are household chores to lighten my mum's load, not childcare. She has 3-4 yrs working experience in Kuwait. 30 yrs old, 1 kid. Find her quite good, automatic in finding chores to do, clean in terms of personal hygiene, can cook. If u hv time to train her, getting a newbie may be ok since u can tell her how u wan things done without her bringing her own habits in. But the thing abt newbies is that they need a long time to adapt to being away from their families. If u're like me, pressed for time, maybe better off getting the experienced one. I din wan to take the risk of getting a fresh one, and finding out that she can't work a few wks later, n having to go thru the hassle of getting another one so close to arrival of #2. Hv to really weigh and see wat u wan. Oh ya, it's my very first time getting a maid, so just sharing a newbie's point of view

thanks for all the concern especially kash, vincy & mildy. after posting, i went to have a nap & when i woke up they were happily kicking away. stroked them & told them 天大的事都有mummy 扛. even if i have to drain my medisave a/c for them, i will do it. i may not earn a lot but i'm v thrifty so it shd be ok

lilian: tt's the spirit!

yen: no lah. your MIL is also concerned. jo & alibaba also having boy mah. oops sorry, forgot who was saying their MIL not bothered. but i must say my mother is sooo good. she just took my monster to shop n save to stop him from bugging me while i'm on the computer.

jjmom: poor thing. but don't worry. if first time unlucky, 2nd one will usually be good. tt's what happened to me. btw, i read from kkh website tt u can ask the nurses at the clinic how to claim from medisave. i think u still have to pay upfront then the hospital will claim for u from medisave & reimburse u in cash up to some limit.

Morning Ladies..
Thanks for all the feedback.. but u tink to put 2 toddler 1.5 y o & a newborn together my MIL can handle? Muz discuss with hubby 1st on my grandma suggestion.

hi waterbaby: when r u due?

jenn: *wave* u r so generous & good natured. my husband wants to get a nanny in addition to the maid, recommended by his mum. his mum says normal rate is only $650.

fifi: i'm interested! but how long will it take to come? i just need 2 for my pump.

olwen
yah u may b thrifty but i can stil imagine the financial stress u'll be facing.. me only 1 bb but i'm already starting to worry abt future financial burden esp if i get the flat.. Hav to pay for reno;furnitures, give MIL & my own mama mthly allowances, house exp, bb exp.. Thou we shd hav enuf to pay for all this but we may not be able to save much $$

pkum,
Yes. I received the email. I got the info from Mrs Wong's class also. There's 1 on 23 Aug(register by 19 Aug) in suntec but not Marina Mandarin 30 Aug. I thought the 23 Aug 2pm is free. Need to confirm when I'm home. I've got the info @ hm. If I'm not wrong, both are the same sessions for the workshop 2: New moms and moms-to-be.

olwen,
our own mum is the best.
My mil also not bad but she's a bit naggy.

Fifi,
I've got 5 milk bottles(2 300ml, 2 200ml and 1 120ml), should be enuff for me. I don't need extra milk bottles @ the moment. Thanks.

hui,
maybe need to get a maid bah. Think 2 1.5 yr old will be running around.

waterbaby: haha. mine is extra expensive. when hui updates the table w your details, u can c why
the nov mummies r v nice. we got some from oct & dec in here w us too.

peanut: don't worry. must always remember 天大的事都有mummy 扛. we r their mummies, we must take care of this.

Yen> the seminar on 23 Aug is free but nid to sign up to reserve seats....the one on 30 Aug nid to pay...both r on breastfeeding but slightly different in contents & speakers..in btw Mrs Wong will be speakers for both seminars...

was busy out of the office all day yesterday so no time to log in.

RE:touching of tummy
haha, everyone around me is not shy to touch my belly! my boss, boss's wife, friends, colleagues..etc..i'm ok with it.

milderina,
i hope you are right bout the increase of medisave claim!!kekek..

Bear,
i tested Gaia too, but the smell a lil funny. =P end up i bot Aromababy from Robinson.

fifi: u r ordering the desitin, right? so can order the bottles at same time, fill up the box. but i can't find it in the website leh.

hui,
Mayb u can considering letting jovial stay with your grandma for the 1st wk.After u have settled down,then send him back to your hse.

Or maybe let him stay there every few days.But your hb must fetch him here n there lor.

sad friday for me too. first thing in the morning got screamed at n scolded by hubby cos i said bkf he bought taste horrible.

he in bad mood cos was trapped in lift for 20mins when he went to buy bkf n the usual store which we like is closed for 15th ghost month celebration. stillfeel sad

pkum> i'm going for the 1st workshop coz the 2nd one clashes wif another workshop on pregnancy held at Pan Pacific...if not i'll actually go for both...hehe

Morning Everyone!

TODAY IS FRIDAY! finally! heehee...
Have a wonderful weekend! me so happy lol! cause boss nt around again :p

Oh for those moms with backache when sleeping better to get yourself some small pillows to put under your back n at the side when sleeping it will bring some relieve
Hope that helps at least it worked for me.

And i realise i can't eat black chicken leh.. v heaty.. nw don't know what to eat liao

gin78,
dun feel sad ok? weekend is coming, time to relax with hubby..kiss and make up later when u see him ya?=>

minkybear,
u are def looking forward to weekend!hahah..me have a church event the whole day at sentosa tom, heehehe...

i also put a small bolster on my back when i sleep on my side now so that i wont completely lie on my back flat too much coz actually thats my fav position. heee..