(2008/11) November 2008

talking abt confinement ah... my mil is going to come over to help me. Really hope she won't irritate me with the "don'ts", as I am definately going to do things my way so I can feel comfy during confinement. She is actually a very nice lady and cook all the birdnest for me when I had my first pregnancy. Now in US, only have to do all these myself. My mom did my first confinement for me and she was great! She knows my pattern so she just close her eyes when I bathe and wear sleeveless and shorts in the hse. :p I only give my mom money to buy food though, cos I thought like very weird to give own mum angbao. As for this time, mil is coming over, I dunno if I shld buy something for her instead. But hubby already pay for her airtix to come here... but I thot will be nice to give her a present.

btw i am left with 11 weeks and 2 days

misaryeo..wow 11wk nia. How the weather at US in Nov? really hope yr MIL will not be too picky. My mom do for me easy..can wear short & single, shower everyday also. I pay her for food expenses only.

Me left with 14weeks..my tummy still small which make me worry whether is meimei growing.., I also gain 8kg.

Maid...I already select liao will be coming in 3rd week sept. Pray hard that she will be a good helper.

misaryeo, its definitely nice if u buy smthing for ur mum to show ur appreciation. Afterall, she flew all t way to US!
Which state of US r u in? Kpo me...

Vincy, yah lor.. 11 weeks nia.. if i can deliver earlier like first preg, then meaning i only hav abt 9-10weeks!!! Yippee!!!

Nov is autumn in US, so prob will be 20+degree.. comfy temperature. but still, i think i must bathe and wash hair. But Vincy, u r small size one.. so maybe that's why tummy smaller. I believe the last 2-3mths bb will gain weight very fast one.. so dun have to worry. I more worried leh.. cos which means I have to put on more weight

Yah really hope u'll get a good maid and then when i come back if I really cannot cope, u can pass some tips to me by then.

dmk,
Oh. I thought the bag is from TMC. keke.
4 bedder is near to the nursery.

olwen,
Not sure is it because is a boy so my MIL happy. I may hv different treatment if is a girl.
She keep asking my hubby when i'm just pregnant.

haiz... my turn not feeling too good today.. tummy has been feeling tight and crampy whenever i stand/walk.. then whole person so sleepy and feel gong gong one.. i really wish ther's a bed for me to lay onto now!!

re MIL/tonics: mine is quite ok in this aspect. thou not frequent, she does cook bird nest ~once a mth.. plus e usual black chicken soup.. then wil sometimes ask me wat i feel like eating she'll cook for me.. This morning also prepare chicken essence for me to drink. And she doesn't touch my tummy.. My own mama does so occasionally and i do feel a bit awkward as well.. dunoe y..

Olwen
i'm not busy lah, jus plain dilly dally type of person.. + my hubby always say no need so gan cheong..

haiz.. jus when i've more or less decided on TMC instead of Mt A, u al mentioning abt the good service at Mt A again.. umm..

Misayeo , Nitez Nitez...

Jynnsan, I didnt interview leh, cause I cant speak malay & i am picking fresh indon maid to assist my mum, so need to have have paitent to train, my agent help me to interview 3, then i shortlisted 1. I mainly check with them whether they willing to do hsehold chores for 2 family, love kids?? & whether they scared of dogs.

Interviewed 2 Fillipinio maid, when i told them about no off day, they hesitiated & thr. conversation I feel that they are more intelligent & take pride of themself. Cannot scold too much that kind. So in the end select a indon.

olwenlim,
keeping my finger cross... *pray*
this 2 weeks i suddenly felt very heavy....

dun worry abt the money, maybe the new baby bonus announcement this sunday will allow us to claim more medisave for delivery? kekeke....

Vincy, u going 2 deliver in KKH right? Can I check with u, the other time u said we can start to pay for our checkup thru our medisave after how many weeks huh? & how should we go abt doing that? Thanks

Filipino Maid :

We r already having a lot of attitude problem from our less than 3mths maid liao.

Like what u gals mentioned they have a lot of pride, die die won't admit her mistake. Use our pc to msn, friendster...when we r not at home. Yest we caught her buying new HP without our permission.

Sigh...now waiting for another who is coming next mth...sianzzz

Milderina,
i like nurse to pop by wan leh :D

Pkum,
ya leh.. they reali so biz.. ask for something took very long..

Vincy,
the 20 weeks close up wan.. the 27 weeks i took far.. but from the stretchmark can see.. the 20 weeks stretch mark is from #1.. then 27 weeks become smooth liao coz expand till limit.. keke

Confinement Lady
My inital plan is just to order confinement food and maybe engage a 2nd maid to help look after the baby (already have a maid at home to do all the housework as i lived with my IL) But my MIL feel we should engage a CL and in the end,she is the one who engage the CL (most likely, she will be the one paying for it as well)
Do i have to give ang bao to both of them?

Tonic
Till now, my MIL only cook birdnest once for me (quite a big bowl, just for myself). But she not really a good cook and i never had any expectation from her...So i thankful she make the effort (although hubby had told her to cook birdnest for me). Can't really complain and she paid for it

Hello! i was out the whole morning for field trip.. didn't over exert myself don't worry.. my chest very congested now.. can't seem to cough the phelgm out. bleah..

Hui, Alibaba, hope u guys are feeling better!

Re: CL
I don't even know the ang bao must be how much? $28 for each ang bao enough? or too little?

bear,
i think $28 is more then enough lor. cos got to give 2 times. 1 at the beginning, another at the end. plus we are paying them money in the first place leh.

JJmom> wah ur tat maid so blunt ah.. is she an experienced maid? scare hav language barrel so i am gg for filipino maid too. but if were to find those in experience one, i mus teach til siao!

Ok Mildy.. i dunno wat's acceptable mah. aft all we already giving them a lump sum liao... hahah actually ang bao any amount also can right? wat happens if we give $8 ah? too stingy? kekeke...

Any mummies bought baby bathing products from the Taka fair? i saw some organic stuff there and was thinking of getting them cos my skin hypersensitive (my bb would prob inherit it too). any comments on the brands selling there? I rem seeing Gaia or something.

bear,
wakakak... i also dunno leh, i think the last one we gave $28 too. but i dun dare to give too little, cos they are looking n preparing our food for that 1 month leh.

re. CL ang bao:
yah need to give 2 times and my fren gave $20 each time. it depends on individual how much u wan to give, the CL shd not be asking for the price. My sis ever called up a CL recommended by her fren and so call v popular, she told her outright need to give her angbao $200!!!! siao! crazy woman... Popular so wat..

CL:

I will not be having CL but my HB's aunt will be helping me with my confinement and also helping us to look after our BB... any idea how much should we give to her on a monthly basis??

Jenn
i can only say that my MIL being a bbsitter for day time (ie morning till evening) is charging $600-$650 if i'm not wrong.

bear
thou it depends on individual but $8 sounds a bit too little to me ahhaaa... but then again its ur choice.. Mayb the opening one can be a small one, but the closing ang bao will depend on how well she has done.

Ok Kash, then i shall just give $28 first. if not happy with her performance i will just leave the amt as it is at the end of the month. haha..

Peanut, $200? kaoz!! she crazy ah.. already giving her a salary liao wat.

Mildy, eh, its part of the CL's job to cook and shop for grocery wat. anyway i m paying for the grocery leh! I think my mum will be one buying the stuff cos the market near her place the food stuff very very fresh lor.

Jenn, wat's the market rate for a nanny? for us we are giving a total of 1K to my MIL cos that inclds her kopi money.

bear,

most CL are nice i believe... CL will also give ur bb an ang pao the day she leaves... my CL gave my gal a $20 ang pao.... so nice of her too

Alibaba, no lei, she is new, come direct from her country. I wanted new so that we can request for no off day with $20 per more to her pay.

So far those with exp working here, all want off day lei.

bear,
yeah, but if u give too little later she anyhow anyhow.

kash,
my CL also give my bb ang bao on the day she left but i dun like her. wakakak....

Mummies having #2 & #1 is abt 1.5 year old,

When u doing confinement, who take care of #1 huh? my grandma suggest i put Jovial with her for 1 month so i can rest and do my confinement.. is impossible for MIL to take care of 2 age abt 1.5 y o toddler and a NB bb mah..

bear
yah lor.. hang herself up to sell like that. those who engage her either too much $ dunoe wher to spend or dunoe e market situation.

$1K to MIL a lot lei *_* I tink we'll be giving the most $700

seems like it is so difficult to find a gd maid nowadays.. Depend on our luck as well! i dun mind giving off day. but provided she behave herself. scare she stray & learn bad tings from others only. there is so much consideration. dah...

oh ya. for those day care nanny. so far i heard of is $600/mth

Kash, i have heard horror stories abt CLs leh.. just on tues a fren who gave birth in march told me she fired her CL aft 2 wks. Apparently her CL kept nagging at her non stop. my fren was bf-ing full time but the CL still insist on feeding the bb with FM some more. The CL insist that the bb's stomach so flat means he is still hungry for more. Even I know that's stupid lor. Some more the CL insist on feeding the bb water. The poor baby threw up non stop. Not the usual small amt of vomit, it was those merlion spewing type! in the end the poor baby had to be warded for 2 days!

Bear, most of the CL I have heard of don't support BF
Even those ok 1 will still prefer to have formular milk for nite feed...

bear, mildy

yes indeed i also heard of horror stories. got a fren fired her CL after 4 days... i remembered she saw feathers on her chicken soup or something... so really must find one that is recommended by a fren who used her before.

JJmom,

my CL ok with BFg... no FM was fed when CL was around...was on total BF. CL helped me wash, sterilize and assemble my pump all the time.

JJmom, I check, they stop the policy since April 08. So now cannot deduct thr. medisave for gynae visit..sianz.

Wow yr philipino so daring..use mns & friendster. U not changing?
I interview 1 philipino transfer maid y she dont wan work after 1mth. She say the children dont like her, scold her stupid, she cannot take it...

After all they are just kid mah. Is such a small matter & she want to return to agency.

The other transf maid I interview work for 1.5yrs also want change employer, reasoning the madam want her to iron sir clothes...which is not her duty, faintz...

Peanut, 1K not a lot leh.. cos usual nanny rates abt $600, then the remaining $400 is her kopi money. might not be enough some more.

JJmom, Kash, that's why if possible i will not have FM in the house at all. i dun want when i m resting then CL go and make FM for the bb. My CL was a bit stunned when i told her the bb slps with me at night. I take the night and she takes the day. she wants to take the night so that she can feed the bb FM. i rather not lor.

bear
my MIL ever say if own grandchild no need give her $$ for bbsitting one.. FOC... wahahaa.. so we $700 is enuf liao lor..

btw most CL wans own room at night, main purpose is for bb to sleep with her so mommy got enuf rest. But i've never heard of CL insisting on FM lei.. i tink as long as pump out into bottles, its the same wat.

Bear

you are making me worry. CL is engage by my MIL, till now i have not speak to the CL. MIL doesn't seem supportive BF as she chide hubby for buying me a breast pump so early. And when she came back from the Taka baby fair and shown us what she bought, there is the kind of container that you prepack the FM powder.

peanut, bear... hmmz~ den i better be prepared.. coz i haven't been working since apr which means no income till next yr liao, dun wanna ended up coz a strain on our finance lor.. on the other hand, dun wanna short change HB's aunt too.. will be paying her $200 just for her transport, still deciding on the mthly allowance..

bear,

i let the CL handles bb day and nite during confinement coz i need to rest. I only ask CL to wake me up to latch for the first 4 nites after she arrived. Thereafter, I will express at least enuff for 2 to 3 feeds and put in the fridge. So CL will sleep with bb. When bb wakes up at nite, CL takes the EBM and feed baby. I wake up again once at abt 5am to express...put in the fridge then go to sleep.. so i can sleep until 9am or after...juz make sure CL has enuff EBM in the fridge.

Jenn
yah a bit difficult to decide hor in your situation.. then also afraid to ask for her expectation cos wait she ask for more than wat u can afford then how...

greengrape,

do u stay with ur MIL? i guess u juz have to tell her after delivery in the hospital that doctors said best thing is BM... FM not as good. tell her this one is recommended by PD... :p

fifi,

no lah, after delivery, stayed in hospital for 3 days...then from then, another 4 days... i started expressing 7 days after i gave birth. i still remembered i took a photo of the EBM coz hb sleeping... heheee... it was exactly 1 week after i delivered that time hit 125ml i was so happy!! silly me..