(2008/11) November 2008

alibaba,
depends and wat ingredients she buy. if buy those chinese herbs or ginseng or cordyceps maybe not enough. if just vege and meat its enough. n i think must give them 1 ang bao at the beginning of the confinement and another at the end of the confinement.

alibaba, when u give ur MIL t $500 for ingredients, juz tell her if not enough must tell u or hb lor.

Yes, mummies in 3rd trim, 加油!At the last lap liao, endure to the finish line!

alibaba, if it includes fish, definitely not enuff. Agree with milderina, just give her $500 first and tell her to let u know when finished...then u can top up.

milderina,

wow, mt A got so many freebies... glenE only gave 1 diaper bag, the unfinished NB pampers...thats it.oh yes and 1 NB gleneagles baby t-shirt. that time as i delivered on mother's day, got xtra freegifts like scarf and friso breastfeeding milk hamper. but i dun like the taste and gave them away...

mildy/lilian> actually my mil not expert in doing confinement food. she said she gotta ask pple how to cook de wor. haa.. *fainted* in fact i wanted to give her 1k for ingredient & allowance for her de. But i scare end of day, later she tot i giving her 1k for jus food. Den she nag said we nv give her allowance. haha.. Budget quite tight. cos maid shld be coming in oct..
so at least i mus prepare enough cash jus in case.

alibaba
my mil also doing confinement for me.. but i havent tot about how much to give during confinement.. jus tinking after maternity since she helps to look after the kid then mayb join with my hubby give ard $500.. cant be too much cos my hubby paying for e maid as well. Until we move out and he no need pay for the maid then we increase to $700.. tts my initial plan.

re food.. she ok lah, can cook vinegar pig trotter quite well. But i've already told her i'm not taking pig's internal organ other then occasional liver or small pieces of stomach hahaa..

alibaba,
the allowance u give in ang baos. or at the end of the confinement then give her. to differentiate allowance n food.

<font color="119911">Confinement</font>
I'm also having my mil over to take care of me during my confinement.. But now i'm starting to worry if after delivery, i'm all moody and grouchy and grumpy, how to avoid any friction between us.

Hui, seems so fast when you are talking "in weeks" .. my EDD is 4 days later than urs ... means I got abt 12wks more to delivery? Wow ... the date is getting nearer and nearer.

Jo,
ya.. count by weeks like very fast :D
but convert them into days.. will be less than 100 days

Mildy/kash> i tink u're right, i shld jus upfront $500 1st if not enough den give again. end of the confinement den give her an angbao as a token.

peanut> $500 for her allowance is alot. but she need $$ to buy food ingredient mah. tat's y i am checking with the rest on these. my mil said she duno how to cook pig trotter with vinegar de! haa..

any receipe can share?

teenyweeny> i tink cant be avoided. lolx. esp with wound below &amp; BF &amp; not enough slp!

Bear: Sorry, be patience with me. you mean Cheong Choon is a supplier for baby stuff? if I go down the place, Will I be able to see anything there that I can buy? A bit too vague on what they sell.

Yah anybody knows what TMC will give? i think they only give diaper bag right?

Fifi: thanks. I see you tomorrow...see if got time for lunch.

Liv, Enne: Yah I am seeing Dr woody tomorrow..will ask him for baby weight..so funny..i tot docs should tell you not the other way round?

Just back from the last meeting. Peanut, don't wanna go home now. wait kena ERP also. then now a bit woozy so dun wanna be stuck in peak hr traffic.

Well ur hb really defer a lot to ur MIL.. poor u.. aiyah u just buy watever u want for ur Nini ba..

Alibaba, that set has bolster, pillow, cot bumper, sheets.. i can't rem if got quilt or not. i think quite worth it cos the usual set like this would cost $99. its the cheekybonbon brand.

U all counting down to ur EDD liao ah. i think i have 15 wks to go..

Blessedmum, like i said Cheong Choon has no showroom. They are a pretty small shop but i guess they store their stuff in warehouses. They mainly supply the bigger babyshops. best u go there knowing wat u want in mind liao. not much samples to see. they sell everything, from cots to sterilisers, to clothes, even bumpermats and strollers. just no samples.

<font color="119911">Countdown</font>
15weeks and 1 day!

<font color="ff0000">alibaba</font>
Yeah i think i'll just take it with a pinch of salt!

Blessedmum, i knew wat i wanted to get. For strollers, i wanted a Maclaren XT which was selling $569 at major dept stores. Cheong Choon was selling at $488. but recently Toys R Us got special sale, the stroller was gg at $388 so got it there instead. As for steriliser and warmer, Taka fair has a better deal i feel.

Oh ya, anybody using Pigeon bottles? i have 2 starter packs from the bundle sets from the Taka fair. wanna sell them off. Usual price is $37 (i think), would sell them off at $30.

U can PM me ur real name,ur nick, DOB (minus birth yr if u not comfy), hp and ur residential area (TPY, AMK).

I m feeling miserable.

Bear, why you feeling miserable? still feel pain and discomfort? I pray for good health for you. must rest lah...cannot be tooworkaholic

Tok abt pig trotter vinegar.. n my blood will boil!
Few wks back when i was at my MIL's place, she cooked claypot pork belly for t family. She said to me n hb tat she will give that claypot to us when i'm during my confinement, so tat we can use it to prepare pig trotter vinegar.
She didn't even offer to cook for me t pig trotter vinegar... onli offer me t cheapo claypot!!!
I went back n complain to my mum... My mum ask me go tell my MIL to 省下来自己用!
Wakaka...

From TMC website -
<font color="0000ff">We will provide the following for your newborn baby:
- baby vests
- disposable diapers
- toiletries
- a baby bag
- wrapping blanket
- a pair of mittens </font>

Ha lilian..
I realised some MIL are not as good as our own mum..Sigh..talk about my MIL, sometimes I feel angry and frustrated. Wonder why I got such MIL...MY mum took care of me thru out this whole pregnancy, show excitement and concern...MIL did nothing...dun even talk about tonic man....i complain to my hubby..he says she is like that...and sometimes got angry too though he knew his own mum is quite cold...sigh...I wonder my baby belongs to his side surname or my family side surname...hahaha

Blessedmum, already added u on MSN. u nv approve me ah.

Sick lor.. my nose is red and raw.. tired also.. Minkybear is scolding me on MSN for wanting to drive home myself. :p

Lilian, Peanut, i hate it when i come back and i still have tonnes of work to do. worse u need to go back and ask ppl what u missed lor. I rather go to work to do it then to play catch up.

Lilian, haha in my case i rather my MIL dun cook! :p last night she molested my tummy again!!!

Same as ur case lor.... My MIL also didn't mention about tonic. She also did nothing till now. My hubby also said the same thing as urs!
But when t beginning of t month arrive, she will remm 2 call up to remind my hb to transfer her monthly allowance =_=

<font color="ff0000">Own mum is the best</font>

Bear, ya wat sick should rest... drive home must becareful last time my hubby drive when he was nt v well nearly accident so pls pls becareful.need to sneeze stop over first.
So you kena molested again ah! haha... nxt time wear a protective layer then she cant touch. :p

Lilian and Blessed Mum,
No need to angry la the baby is ours just remember that. Don't have the expectation that ppl will do things for us then will nt feel so angry and upset. Depend on ourselves ba. Actually my mom and mil also never give me any tonics. Fil better say actually no need to eat tonics. oh well... i guess just depend on ourselves ba.

oh well i guess most mom go back liao have a good evening. me still chasing my india parcel. oh well 2 more days to weekend must cheer up!

Bear , never see you online..dun have any promptin gfrom you leh..why not you give me your msn add..i try to add you...sometimes web msn got such prob

Minkybear, i try not to sneeze lah.. i m travelling on the ECP leh. how to stop and sneeze? sure accident one... hahha...

Ya lor MIL molested me again. this time i siam her hands very very obviously. she asked if i scared ticklish, i just said YES! i hope she gets the bloody hint. BLEAH

Lilian,

at least ur MIL offer u her cheapo claypot. Mine only talk, give instruction n tell me ask my mum do this n that.

was so busy with work today didnt had time to log in much at all. went swimming aft work today, now waiting for hubby to shower and then go out with our friends for dinner. =P

Re: confinement
i think i will have to ask my parents soon if they would like to prepare e confinement meals for me. if not then i will prob cater lunch with confinement caterer. if parents are happy to prepare for me, i will prob give $1k as they still need to take time and energy to shop and prepare the food for me. but not sure if my parents know what to cook!hahah..guess just dishes with lots of ginger and some of e the rice wine. my sister's MIL offered to make the wine for me.so blessed!!

alibaba,
When it comes to $$ issue, it is always sensitive, you might want to ask her how much she needs instead. Just for your reference, I'll be giving my MIL $2K for confinement cos I know she is the type who will go for gd quality food for me, herbs and tonic plus everything is on the rise.

If own mother/ mil, there ius no need to give ang bao. For outsider like CL, they need a ang bao cos taking care of a newborn and a confinement lady is consider as unclean, so it is a jesture for gd luck, but for own MIL, What is more fortune to be able to take care of own DIL and grandchild.

MILs will never be the same as our mums lor. They are not the ones that carried us in they womb for 40 weeks.

Anyway, got claypot not bad liaoz lor. My MIL's contribution so far is to tell her son to carry my bags &amp; not to let me carry heavy stuff. Heehee.

I bought a recipe book for my maid. Its called "the essence of confinement cooking". Its tells you how to prepare the stuff and some of it has instructions like "after 7 days", etc. Less than $20. English-Chinese.

---

Who transfered me money by ATM transfer today?

Morning Ladies!!
wah.. see u gers talk abt pig trotter vinegar.. suddenly wan eat my grandma cook wan.. very shiok wan.. keke :D Oh! i'm down with flu again

Good morning mummies happy Thurs ya

dmk
your auntie neighbours are so on ha, exercise so early. I hate to be woken up by noise too. Your "free" alarm clock. Yesterday i worked to today so far no lobang yet. Nowadays I do free-lance no longer full-time ya.

kash, peanut
No problem lah can help 2 get your Desitin creams.
Will wait for the stock to arrive and liase with Fifi.

MIL
Sensitive topic ya but like what Fifi and most mums said MIL will never be the same as our own mums, I can see that in most of my friends and colleagues, even my own ha ha

Have a nice breakfast everyone.

Bluebear,
seen doc yesterday liao, somemore kanna nag when doc wan give me issue and i say no nd. doc nag say u sick muz rest, bb also nd to rest.. but i reali got alot things to do leh..

GOOD MORNING DEAR MUMMIES

hui-oh dear.. do rest rest la.. must think of minnie.. minnie PRIORITY now okie..

re:who do confinement
my MIL did confinement for my first preg, me and HB give her $1K angbao but hor.. she return back to us in angbao $800 means she only accept $200 as a token.. feel so paiseh lo coz she really takes good care of me and BB, especially since I c-sect, unable to help take care of baby that much.. this time round.. she will be doing for me too.

snnowy-I agreed lo.. think my MIL can't be happier taking care of my boy.. coz own grandson ler.. 'teng ta dou lai bu ji'.. hehehe.