Did u watch the female weight lifting event in the Olympics? Wa! I was so impressed. The European participants so tall and skinny, figure like models sia, can do the 90 over kg. So fascinating!!
Re epidural: Going without epidural and pethidine (makes bb drowsy when delivered) is of cos good, but hv to bear in mind that every indv's pain threshold is different. N bb's position and size definitely makes a huge difference to the pain and length of time. Hence, 1 mummy being able to do it does not necessarily mean another can do it. If really cannot tahan, dun be afraid to ask for epi, else pain too long, no strength to push also no good. Side effects of epi has been mentioned somewhere above. And it seems that if u go for epi, the chances of having to use vacuum or forceps to get bb out are higher. U hv to weigh the pros and cons. For me, I din go for epi for my first cos I hv a terrible fear of needles (auggybear, u've a partner here), and I've puked far too much during preg to even wan to risk the vomiting and shivering. I can tahan pain, but no thanks to needles n puking. Just used the gas. I found that it was effective not that it relieved the pain, but it distracted me from the pain(not easy to get the mask to the face and breathe in at the right time wo) and made me super high. Haha! I could push fine but kept mumbling nonsense to whoever came into the delivery suite. Even kicked gynae hard when he jabbed me before giving the episiotomy Aiyoh, so lor sor. Was juz trying to share that I found the pain level tolerable. Remembered thinking to myself in my high state whether there's more to come in terms of pain, cos if not, ok leh, dun mind giving birth a few more times. So, dun worry unduly abt the pain now. Can one.