(2008/11) November 2008

Morning Ladies,

Manage to find time to pop in for a while
Hope everyone is doing fine.

Jo,
Desitin is definitly much cheaper if you buy them from US. After including shipping.

Jo:
Can you pm me the type you want & the quantity? Coz there is more than 1 type and got diff size for the original de.

Alibaba:
My aunt used it last time and she say its useful. Coz if baby poo, the liner helps to make the nappy easier to wash. The poo will be mainly on the liner which you can throw.

wtan,
wow.. brought ILs to see e gynae?? Either at that time ur relationship very good therefore can't wait to show them the bb, or they v kaypoh wan to go along tsk tsk..

Anyway thanks ladies for all the advises and sharing ur complaints abt ur ILs as well.. at least i know i'm not the only one feeling unhappy, and doesn't make me feel like i'm an evil DIL wahhaaa..

Yen,
You're expecting Mickey so maybe Dr Wong didn't tell you bout Prenavit.

Fifi,
Yo the thread moving so fast till I can't keep track, sorry for the mistaken identity!

Auggy,
Pls keep me updated when you go down to Palmax tmrw, Thxs ya!

Peanut,
Ya maybe you shld ask for the sweet one.

Haru,
Best to see what bb items yr friends can pass to you so at least dun have to buy unnecessary items. BB outgrow v fast.

fifi: your dad & husband r like my husband. hot tempered but they do things. my dad's temper is not bad but he is super nua & never does anything at all. to date, i think he does not know how to file an income tax return. my mum does EVERYTHING for him. she used to complain tt besides being mother of his children, she has to be his unpaid secretary. my mum is really v capable. my grandma's great regret was tt she cldn't send my mum to the U becos my mum was the oldest & had to go out to work, help support the family.

How much desitin shld we buy for 1 baby? Like some say use quite fast, some say can last 2 years?

Lilian:
I dunno too early to buy that first teeth toothpaste anot. Its seems quite popular but I dunno issit abit early.

Olwen:
I am like my hubby's unpaid secretary lor. I file all his bills, I file his income tax too sometimes, I take care of all expenses and bills and.... sometimes I even have to help him solve his work problems... lolx. He treats me like his unpaid secretary + computer helpdesk lor. PC not working, he call for me... dunno wad excel forumla to use to twig his data, he call for me... Lolx. But he will look after me for other stuff coz I'm quite absent minded sometimes when it comes to small things.

Hui:
Yah. I want to get some feeding bottles. So much cheaper there. I think Bear may get some too so again, if we can meet min, we can order.

peanut: how come your vit is bad tasting? how much is it? obimin is only $5.90 for one month's supply & has no taste. my mum & i trust it. she took it when she was having me. see how long it has been around?

alibaba: i agree, multi-vit shdn't be bad tasting. gd idea to wear cloth in the day & disposable in the nite cos newborns' skin v sensitive. but u need to set aside abt 24 pieces of cloth, they will pass motion abt 8 times a day during the first 2 mths. liner does help. for disposables. best to use good brands like nepia, mamy poko & pampers for newborn becos their skin is so tender.

nikki,
yes, I'm expecting a mickey. Maybe. How much is the Prenavit? So far, I've "ren" the smell but still can take it. The fish oil smell is worst.

Olwen,
I took obmin before pregnant. This is recommended by the pharmacist @ guardian. I dun recall that there is any taste. So u need to take 3 tablets instead of 1 daily as u've 3 bb? :p

fifi: i just bot 2 tubes of diaper cream last friday. did u go for last 3 days of robinsons sale? additional 10% off. told minkybear but she had no time to go down. i was tired so i didn't buy more stuff. sayang.

i guess tt is what they call partnership. u rely on your husband for some things, he rely on u for others. the "unpaid secretary + computer helpdesk" part is really funny.

haha, yesterday ocbc called me & asked "your father didn't sign the form for upgrading of the robinsons card. is there some mistake?" so i said no, not mistake, my mother doesn't want me to give it to my father anymore. the officer was sooo silent for a while. then he said ok, he will process. damn funny.

medela bottles r bpa free, good. but too small for feeding milk long term. will your baby be able to adjust to anor brand after tt?

olwen
cant remm how much cos i'm like taking ages to finish a bottle. the taste sucks esp since its v huge and i need to break into pieces

ladies, how to check PM messages? The messages are jus sent to my email account or I go into 'Check new messages' at top-left hand corner? I always see a whole list of search results only.

Yen: no leh. dr loh just gave me the usual 1 a day dosage. tt's y i'm trying to eat as much as u so tt they will have enough nutrition.

Jo: PM r sent to your email account. i also learnt it thru trial & error.

peanut: can u ask dr for obimin instead? say your friend recommended it & your friend's mother also took while having her. it contains iron too.

olwen..
omg...no wonder ur mum didnt help out in taking care ur boy then..if not things like that can be avoided lo..pity the kid also got to go thru such seperation anxiety..i understand hw it can be v distress to the kid & urself + hb..it's q heng that ur mum got help out over wkend so not that bad..headache leh..but heng la..ur triplets will be under the tender care by ur mum...sigh, ya, my mum looking aft my #1 boy for me but i also having prob with her lo..not easy la..coz my mum's thinking is once daughter married out belongs to IL one..since my mum did my confinement for me so we "kinda" managed to let her take care lo...but this #2 hor my mum dun want to take care liao...so she say since MIL also housewife + nothing to do at home, ask her to take care lor..i m having a headache over this is..each day getting stress up ovr the caretaker issue..

lilian..
haha..u will be surprised abt this era & FIL's thinking lo..i cant stand it too, that's why i wont give in to him one..if we want to hv family gathering & esp at this period, i will be againist chinese cusine..lol..so either they go w/o me & my #1 or if not they got to pick non-chinese cusinse (can be jap food or anything except chinese) then me & my #1 will go..i m v bad one la..no choice since FIL is "fa-jian" so if he want to see my son, he will be ok not to take chinese cusine..

haru..
u stopping at 1 ah..at 1st when my son was ard 1 yr old..i also hv this thinking leh..but thinking to get my #1 a companion..we shd go lo also hb love kids..u can think over this q again later on la..now too early to tell liao..

fifi..
oh, in that case get ur MIL to tailor the size of the bedsheets lo..i m sure is ok one..hee..

hui/peanut..
we brought both side of the parents to the gynae appt coz we wanted them to hv a diff experience since it's the 1st grandchild of both side lo..my gynae also v co-operative leh..keep showing my IL the gender over the scan lo..then hb went back home also showed FIL the scan photos..so i dun understand why he has this thinking of asking the gender immediately aft i delivered leh..not like at least ask weight or who bb look like lo..just the gender...tat's why i m pretty pissed off lo...if gender is wat is matters then gd lo..dun find it a reason for my son to be close with my FIL..i m like my boy's shawdow..nver will leave him alone if i m at IL's place..keke..i m a v bad DIL la..

morning ladies!

fifi, i juz PM u. I will like 4 tubes of Desitin creamy. Thank you so much for arranging this. really appreciate it

olwen,

ur mum is really a better choice to look after ur kids. Ur MIL sounds scary that she screamed etc during her menopause... poor u that u have to endure her... dun want to nag again...remember, be happy and cheerful
dun be stress ok

btw, v envious that ur mum was a teacher before and can provide proper guidance and english to your son... my mum can only speak broken english and has been a housewife all her life..so i am very worried abt my gal's upbringing too.. my in laws can only speak mandarin and hokkien... so i seek solace that at least my mum can speak some english...

wtan,

wow, u r so nice to bring ur in laws to gynae appt? did they go in with you? i nvr visited a doctor with my parents since i was independent i think... when i gave birth to my gal last yr, my dad was on a biz trip in UK, my MIL was away holidaying elsewhere too.... i guess we very independent from our parents...

bear,

think we sama sama...cannot go holiday with parents and in laws :p i dunno how come others can leh...always make me feel that i am super unfilial..

fifi,
guess i will explore that. hubby thinks the washing of nappies will drive me nutz, hahah..i might want to check out e bumwear. any mummies considering that too?

alibaba,
will u be using e normal diaper clothes? i have not clue how to work (fold) those..hahaha..

wtan,
when i first got married i wanted 3 kids! but considering all factors like time, finances, etc...1 kid already seems like such a handful. but like u said still a lil too early to decide. =P

haru,

think 1 kid hor, ur gal may be rather lonely next time leh... i think 2 is nice so that they have a playmate....

regarding cloth diaper, i dun think i will spend time washign them leh.. if kenna shit hor, u need to immediately use boiling hot water to soak else can't wash away according to my previous CL. I only use cloth diaper for day time when I have CL ard. Once CL leaves, convert to 100% disposable diaper...

wtan,
U so nice.I didn't bring along my parents or my pil for my checks. I guess older folks still have this old fashion thinking. My mum is happy tat i've a boy as #1 then can "jiao1 dai4" to pils.

olwen,
I tot u had 3 bbs then u need 3x vitamins and fish oil.

haru,
I vividly rem how to fold nappies. Need to test out wif a nappy.

Wat's for lunch?

Olwen:
How much milk do they drink as they go?

I did not go for the sale. My hubby too lazy.

JJmom:
We doing drugstore spree. The price depends on which one u want. You go www.drugstore.com and check?

Jo:
It will be sent to your email.

Lilian:
Haha... I oso scared... but usually toothpaste got 2 yrs expiry?

Hui:
You check www.hackleyhme.com

Kash:
Wah do we need that much? *Fifi goes to increase her own order*

Yen:
I think today I will have something soupy or light for lunch. Got check-up later. Want to pretend to be more healthy. Haha

kash,
That's what I intend to do. When CL is with me during the 1st mth, I will let bb use cloth. When she has left, then use disposable type.

Fifi,
tat's a good.

wtan,
my father is cute he told me dont keep scanning the bb later harmful to the bb.. haha i told him no la will nt he still say better dont go so often :p

Lunch: Vegetarian food havent decide what yet.

lovedogs,
that is a good idea. but me not having CL so have to DIY for everything. oh ya, speaking of which i need to remember to order the trial for the confinement food..=P

fifi,
all e best with ur check up ya? =D

erm mummies,
sorry i am a lil lost here..can i ask what are the items that you are ordering from the drugstore.com?

Ask u gers hor.. For breast pump..
issit ok to buy after pop? i want sell away my Medela Mini and Avent breast pump leh..then if i got breastmilk for #2 i wan buy Medela PIS

fifi,

actually i use alot coz until now i still use it for every diaper change for my gal
this something that cannot save on leh...think will only stop the day she stop using diaper.

olwen, happy,

i bought some training pants from jshoppers recently. am thinking to use it for my gal when she is older? do u think training pants will help for toilet training? i wonder how were we trained last time? heehee..

haru,

if u DIY and no one is helping u to wash cloth nappies, i suggest that u use disposable diapers else u really super bo eng leh... and can be irritating when bb crying u still have to do so many things. Suggest try to be easy on yourself else may kenna post natal depression. I think alot of HELP is needed during your confinement month...else sure go crazy. From my personal experience, confinement month (esp the 1st 2 weeks) really torture! WORST then childbirth. I didn't wash my hair for 6 days and i was going mad and very upset. When CL finally prepare the herbal bath for me, i was still depressed coz i have to use that horrible bath to shower although i rinsed with normal water. After shower, even before i stepped out, i was already perspiring... feel upset again... the aircon is nvr cold enuff i feel coz u feel ur body so heaty due to the confinement food.... so best is 1st 2 weeks u let others handle everything else, u only rest, eat and breastfeed.

yen,

yah loh, since we pay for CL, let her do the washing :p

minkybear, hui,

thats a good idea to get the pump after u pop. coz first few days u wat u have is colostrum and i am not sure that can be expressed out. u need to do direct latch. Few days later, u will then get breastmilk. I think the advise normally is wait for ur milk supply to establish after abt 2 weeks before using the breastpump. For me, i used the pump after 1 week as I managed to establish the ss fast. Just need to latch constantly with abt 3 hrs interval for the 1st few days and nites.... u shd be able to get your milk flow good enuff.

so u have that window to go out to buy the pump u need.

Hello ladies! Minkybear, Maggie and I went for pilates yesterday evening.. wah quite tough man.. painful!

Alibaba, my mthly utilities bill is not more than $70. most ex is $67... cheapest is $50+... but i dun use the aircon, and all my appliances are those energy saving type. even my bulbs are all energy saving ones..

Re: MIL
I hope i rem all the things i said abt my MIL and tell myself i won't be like that when i grow old.. sigh.. tonight have to go and collect dinner from her again.. means she will take the chance to touch my tummy.. last night my hb told her i expecting a boy, she so happy! ARRGHH! more nagging.. will complain to u all tmr.

Olwen, i also believe things will work out in the end.. when u are in desperate times, ur brains will sure find a solution one.
but ur story gives me hope..

Fifi, me still no time to look at what i want.. i very busy!

Got a story to share... i met a mum here that goes to the same gynae as me. Her preg is full of complications. Before she preggie, she had an op to remove some growth in her womb. 3 mths later she got preggie.. from the start of her preg till now she has been bleeding off and on.. then last wk, she bled heavily and had to go to Mt A. My gynae was on leave so his col took over. she was having contractions and had to be put on drip (she is only 30 wks along). anyway when my gynae came back on Sun, he said she could be discharge. to her, she felt he didn't do a thorough check. the very night she discharged, she kena contractions and had to be rushed to hospital again. She wanted to go KK cos if really deliver early then KK got the best facilities for the preterm bb. She called my gynae but my gynae doesn't deliver there so told her to get a KK gynae to deliver instead. in the end KK got not enough incubators so send her to NUH. but becos she got prior surgery, the new gynae needed her reports. my gynae didn't bother to entertain the new gynae etc... so nv send the report. she is hopping mad now and told me to consider changing gynae....

sigh.. yet another headache..

Kash,
the colostrum can be pump out.. i pump the colostrum out.. am tink medela PIS or Symphony..wat u tink?

Minkybear,
keke.. but i nd to sell off my 2 pumps 1st.. :D

Bear,
ur gynae like not very helpful hor..maybe he tink since he cant earn her $ so he hack care?

Hui, my gynae is very very experienced lor.. i think in a way he might be too experience and neglect to rem that first time mummies are naturally more anxious.. if u are bleeding, u would want answers... may be in his experience, he has seen worse cases and thinks that this one not as bad...

To him, his reputation has been established liao. so he might think if u dun trust him, then might as well save both of them the headache if she gets a new gynae. but i agree, he could have made sure that her reports are sent over and shd at least brief the new gynae.

Bear,
i agree.. for us when we bleed we gan jiong liao but too them is small case.. so they will tell u is normal.. coz they see manny cases..