(2008/11) November 2008

baer/ hui,
i love curry too. kekekek..... but try not to eat too much lor. ekkeekke...especially nearing delivery??? dunno if eat a lot of apples la, cranberries la, those red red things baby will become "ang geh ang geh" (hokkien) or not? wakakaakak.................please pardon my illusion. lolx

dreamyjo,
the milk u drink hv high calcium? I'm drinking 1 packet of high calcium milk daily.

olwen,
The dimension seems small. 55x90cm. Thks.

Milderina,
No. Ask ur CL to get a 28 days social visit. That's what my CL told me.

Re:Ginseng,
Cannot take ginseng when preggie. I've asked gynae. But Wild ginseng(pao shen) can take.

Bear,
my #1 he's born 37 weeks... but now #2 i hope she can stay warm inside me till 40 weeks.. wan enjoy the preg.. last time #1 gan jiong hope bb cm out fast..keke

Milderina,
tink bb come out very red will turn yellow leh.. Jovial came out very red.. but later develope into yellow ( jaundice)

to clear the jaundice in baby other then sunning your baby early in the morning between 8 to 10 am u also have to make sure that the baby drinks enough n pee a lot to pee out the toxic. charlene is a jaundice baby and its those super high type. that time she stayed in hospital 3 days for the ultra violet and i even have to rent the machine home to shine on her for 1 week. i cried so much man, so sad to c her under the rays.....somemore is all the clothes take out one. so u can say i lagi sacre jaundince............

yen,
oh u mean i just ask my CL to get 28 days social visit then wont ganna the levy?
ussually hor CL do how many days for u de huh? i think my last one did ard 30 days.

hui,
ya lor, i mean its really ang geh n wont turn jaundice type. ekekkekeke.....i am fascinating. *kok*

hui,
that time we tried everything man to lower the jaundice. she is so yellow that her eye balls also yellow leh. c le so heart pain. her reading is 20 over. then my CL say must give the "bee arm" (rice water?) to drink to reduce. then give her pearl powder also........aiyo i almost went crazy. then hor she is whole body shine one. i c some hor can wear diapers one, she hor diapers also cannot wear n they have to stick that urine bag one her. so sad..........now think le also wanna cry seah..........

brown rice: i hate it.. before pregnant my MIL cook almost everyday.. so dry somemore.. after pregnant she stil cooks.. then i start to avoid taking.. everytime if i'm home for dinner and she cooks brown rice i cook my own porridge :p She finally takes the hint after few months!

Milderina,
Jaundice baby looks like ninja turtle. Eyes covered.
I've asked my CL about chopping her passport after 14 days. In fact, she's the one she told me she will apply for 28 days instead of 14 days. I saw from forum that someone mentioned that we can also do it online to extend the social visit for her. For this, I'm not sure how true is it.

hui,
i like coconut, esp the thai ones! had some at bugis e other day, so sweet!!

haha olwen,
i mean i dun cook normally.hahaha...but of coz if simple noodles can lah.=P

Milderina,
i understand ur feeling..coz when i gave brith to Jovial i keep crying n crying. He was seperated from me once he was born.. i delivered @ TMC and he was brought to KKH for operation.. imagine i haven even got a chance to reali take a good look.. onli 1 min look i tink.. aiyo.. my birth story was reali a big hooha from the beginning.. now tink back still wan cry also..he total went 3 ops..

minkybear,
i think i better drink soya milk and eat more tofu. kekke... then baby fair fair chubby chubby? kekek...

yen,
haha... ninja turtle. i think its Donatello. cos its blue eye band. lolx!

CL:
tat day somebody say she hired singapore confinement lady right? who is it huh?

Milderina,
Just realised that I've not answered your question. My CL will be with me for 28 days. That is when baby is 30 days old. The first 2 or 3 days we in hospital.

hui,
oh dear... wat happen to jovial? somemore hor they say ppl who doing confinement cannot cry, how can not cry right???

Wat does an gu kueh has to do with jaundice? i loooove the peanut filling one.. there is supposed to be one famous one in Bedok.. must go and find..

Re: Jaundice
Dun fret my dear gals! may be this time around ur bbs won't kena.. no matter how tortured the bb looks, must tell urself it is for the gd of the bb!

Hui, i also wanna carry my bb to 40 wks.. hahah cos the first mth will be Christmas! actually i dunno why some mummies so anxious to see their bbs.. i rather they stay in there till full term cos no matter wat the bb has to come out sooner or later. i rather later.

milderina,
so far i like J.Co donuts the best. better than donut factory and other shops. i like the snow white..hee..

wah, i very long nvr eat ang ku kueh too...craving oh...i like all kinds!salty one, bean paste and peanut!!

haru, peanut: brown rice is v nutritious. also helps w constipation. need not cook it alone, u can mix w white rice, but the cooking for mixed rice is a bit more tedious. have to soak the brown rice in hot water for the whole day before cooking the rice together.

Olwen, i can take brown rice but ask me to take other things i won't.. u know there are green noodles? i hate them too.. ahahaha. i very selective when it comes to food...

olwen
yah i know its v nutritious.. but my mil cooks almost everyday!! and she cooks until vvvv dry!! i see so much also sian rite..

haru,
i just finished my snow white............super yummilicious. wakkakakakkaka........i had oreo n the snow white, but can b quite messy when eating them.

olwenlim,
ya, brown rice is very nutritious. actually my gynae kept asking mi to switch to brown rice cos i got GD history.

bear,
i really hope my 2nd one dun ganna........n i dun wan her to ganna too. *pray*

I found is rather normal to see every baby has slight jaundice when they are out. As long as it is under control,nt too worry.
I dun believe the food we eat will cause jaundice lar.But is a must nt to eat too much ginger when we BF.

Hui,
Oh gosh! What happen to jovial?

Re: food,
My gynec told me can eat everything except raw food. Thini ginseng is fine lar.... jus eat everyuthing in moderation.

Yen: yes, it is small. i think most cots nowadays r 28 inches by 52 inches. my son's cot is unusually small, the length is just nice but the breadth is even narrower than the mattress.

I am drinking 'Sasi' nw and my baby is dancing inside! haaa

Hui,
Cried during confinement will go blind?
I cried almost every day for the last 2 wk during confinement... oh gosh!

Bear: what abt squid ink pasta then? green noodle r actually spinach noodle which is v nutritious too.

peanut: u c, milderina likes to take brown rice too. i think your MIL shd mix w white rice then easier to eat.

hui,
ya i heard the same things too. they also say acnnot watch too much tv during confinement. a lot of hear say de.

peanut,
just keep yourself happy and ignore everything that anyone says during that peroid. do wat u think its right should b ok. i remember i almost went into depression becos of my last CL cos hor she everyday tell mi funny things and when i wan to sleep she will stand next to my bed n talk n talk. buey tahan man. n i cannot stomach the food she cook for mi. not nice at all, somemore i was like so looking forward to eating confinement food tat time. makes mi so scare of confinement now.

oh Bear no la dont knw Milderina was talkin abt her taking too much red things mah so ang ku kueh also cant take lor cause it is red :p
ya i love the peanut filling one. salty one also nt bad.also like the 9 layer kueh.

Milderina, u nt expecting boy right cause some say drink too much soya products will make bb abit lady like :p old wives tale again

My mil told me to drink sugar cane juice from abt 8mth to delivery to avoid bb getting jaundice. I dunno how true is this but I m going to try since I like sugar cane juice anyway

hi mummies.. i am feeling so sick~! since mon i am having sore throat. it just doesnt go away! then i was mc for two days. just back to work but my sore throat is still not good. still having running nose and dry cough!

any good rememdy?? my gynea only give me antibiotics and a cough syrup. it doesnt work at all. and i was told to take panadol(1 tablet) if got fever. i drank so much water throughout the day too! sometimes plain warm water, sometimes warm water with honey + lemon and sometimes pi pa gao with warm water!!!

pls help....

Milderina, my CL is 28 days, booked fr agency.

Minkybear, lucky you managed to book the porridge buffet! I booked for tml dinner and it's full
so I have to satisfy my craving only next Sat. Wow..will be eating 2 buffets on Fri and Sat consecutively haa...

No squid ink pasta either!! sounds so gross.. i m a purist when it comes to food.. hahaha...

Gals, try not to listen to old wives tales too much.. cos they nv end one..

Peanut, u not the only one.. i also scared i kena post natal depression cos i m taking only 2 mths maternity then MIL wants to take care of bb.. think she might drive me nuts.. on top of that it is a new sch term liao.. sigh...

peanut: now u c y u need brown rice? did you take medicines for your anxiety? dr loh has been giving me promethazine since my 2nd mth. it's a 3 in 1. anti-depressant, anti-vomiting & sedative. he says i'm always depressed so it's good for me.

Bear: y u only take 2 mths maternity? then what happens to the last mth? co shd not deprive u of the last mth cos it's paid for by the govt. i had to email the declaration form to my friend w twins cos she forgot to do it before going on MC.

Hui,
Is ok lar..dun go tink abt it oso.Is the past liao.

I wont believe old wives tales lar.Anyway i cried already.Nothing can help.Is fate if i realli goes blind when i am old.. heeee

peanuts,
Then u got to warn your hb abt it.Must tell him to know your emotional during the confinement.You got to stay postive and happy too!
I had slight post natal post during confinement.Mainly i cried eveeryday becoz i dun have BF and have engorged breast! Haaa
And i caused hoo ha story for him too.

minkybear,
ya carrying a girl, that time iread the thread somebody put thus dare not drink for sometime till now confirm gender then start drinking more. wakakakak....

jjmom,
oh is it??? i crossing my fingers that i wont ganna the GD again this time. then i can drink sugarcane too. cos sugar cane is very sweet.

glad,
yours is from malaysia or singapore?

baby benefits:
btw, is it true tat the government is going to do some changes to the maternity package ???

hui,

oh dear, what happened? how come jovial must be sent to KKH? but he is ok now, looking so cheerful and healthy
so no worries ok...

milderina,

did PD said anything abt why jaundice level was so high? which week did u deliver? I delivered after 39 weeks ...my gal i was told got very slight jaundice...we nvr sun her but went away after few days... I heard before they said us chinese more prone to jaundice then ang mos... dunno why.....

about tv during confinement, i watched ALOT Of TVB canto serials during my confinement leh... breastfeed time i watch, resting time i watch...else nothing much to do leh... coz i let CL handles everything... as I know once she leaves, i have to handle everything...so enjoy and relax first...juz eat, sleep, breastfeed....

Olwen, no lah.. not deprieved.. dun worry.. i have to go back to sch for a new sem so no point taking maternity leave if i have to go back to sch lor.. might as well save it till the May hols...

JJmom, ya i think i might be scaring myself but knowing my MIL i dun think so lor.. i no patience one.. so every little thing will get on my nerves.. she knows not to bug me now cos i always give her black face.. hahaha....

JJmom,

thanks for the tip. I like sugarcane juice too...so will remember to drink

pkum,

poor thing... starfruit juice with salt is good for sorethroat but dunno u dare to drink or not as i know some preg ladies dare not touch starfruit. for me i still drink lah...hope u get well soon...

olwen,

how come u depressed? dun be stressed ok... try to cheer up, play wif ur son, watch tv and do anything that will make u happy

kash,
cos the liver is not very matured yet. i delivered her at 38 weeks. hm... maybe she come out too early hor? she was induce cos i got GD and she is getting too big for my size. she is born weighing 3.58kg and i am not very big size one.

chinese more prone to jaundice cos we are also call "yellow skins"? kekekek.....