(2008/11) November 2008

Morn ladies!

Congrats DMK! Yah it's very tiring to care for 1 yr old toddler, esp now they started to explore more, touching and grabbing everything within their reach...

RE Child Discipline
Ladies, do u think its too early to start disciplining them? Any good books on toddler discipline?

Anyone started toilet training?

Lynn,
Agree with you. My son was previously drinking Friso 2 with no poo prob. Now he's on Friso 3, his stools are so hard. He also dun like to drink water. I am also thinking along the line to change back to Friso 2.

mosh, toilet training meaning poo poo and she she ah? My girl now can poo in her potty.
I think can (and should) start disciplining now.

snowwy,
Thanks!Ya realli a honeymoon!! It has been yrs, we last went holiday together w/o kids!

Normally i print out pix of the topics i want, like colours, shapes or animals. Paste on A5 size cards. Of cos is easiler to buy,but it costs alot!! DIY is more flex too,at least let me choose the pix/words i want. Those off-shelf pix/words might be too diff for them or for me.. keke

Normally i re-use the cards,to save cost :p

re Friso 3..
ah... i jus bought a tin as well.. then how... Friso 2 also cant drink forever wat.. dun tell me goto start experiencing other powder again.. gosh..

Good afternoon all,

Toilet training,
Lilian, your gal is doing well!

The moment we tried to encourage him to use the potty, he will start to make noise and be fussy, refuse to let us place him on the potty, instead, he will try to step on it or play with the cover by lifting up and close, very difficult lor.

Had just enrolled baby to LNT yesterday at Parkway branch, will start next month, the orientation is quite good, hope can benefit from there.

ah lian

some say discipline start ard 2 yrs old, now they too young to understand wor... but hor my gal getting very naughty now ;/

ya potty trained lor.. duno how to start leh, she poo as and when she like, how to get her to sit on the potty?

mummies...
Jia Ba beh? Jia si mi?

I had Hainanese Pork Chop Rice for lunch.. abit too sour ><.. sipping my Wangjiao Tea and shake leg now... wakaka

mine friso 3 okie leh...just dat last week she poo2 many2. PD said its stomach infection cos she likes to put her hand in the mouth, anyway, i still prefer friso to similac anytime!

<u>potty training</u>
wah so nice can poo in potty now... heard that gals are easier to train compare to boys leh..
maybe because they can communicate better and usually gain control of bowel and bladder muscles before boys do... hmmm..

any mummy starts potty training for your boys yet?

mosh
im terrible when it comes to discipline my child. she's too vocal when we are out. paiseh when she starts screaming at the top of her lungs..die2 want daddy to carry her. ppl can see dat and its damn paiseh for me. sigh...it just happened again yest at a wedding. i want to scold her oso duno how cos outside mah, its not nice to do dat. cannot sit still at all.

and daddy doesnt even scold her. im the one who always scold her at home when she's doing something dangerous like climbing the table. its difficult for me at times.

LAST OPPORTUNITIES TO COME FOR TOURS ON THE OLDEST OCEANGOING PASSENGER SHIP IN THE WORLD
MV Doulos

Everyone is welcome to visit and meet the international crew, experience the different cultures onboard, and discover the wide range of English books which are all on sale, discounted by 25% - 75%. Everything must go! The ship will be located at VivoCity, HarbourFront

duckie

Wah shake leg now ah, never jio hor...

mummy2nia

Nowadays I scared to bring my gal out cos she will want to grab everything and refuse to let go if she like it at the shopping centre
, then she will scream and cry if we take it away from her.. damn paiseh lor...

mosh
u now pregnant so cannot shake so much lah... hee hee hee...

looks like now is the 'screaming' phase for our toddlers now... BBQ too.. sometimes will scream for nothing... usually we would ignore him, then after a while he'll return to his 'normal' self hee hee

same! yest tot of bringing her out to orchard for shopping then after wat happened @ the wedding, i told my hub better dun, sumore we plan to take mrt. i feel bad not taking her out with us. but wen i think again, im actualli doin her a favor by not taking her out...haha..if not, she will get stress cos want to go home quick, feel uneasy after a couple of hours..so better just stay at home. short trips are fine. if beyond dat, then forget it..

Re Toilet training,
My boy can understand em em and shh shh. But this is when he is lying down with opened diaper.
I tried to carry him with legs open(1 hand on each thigh) to shh shh before his bath at nite but he keep on laughing and wanting to "rush" into his bath tub. How to toilet train a boy?

jessica, thanks!!

mosh, its my mum training my girl
Have to distract her with toys then she willing to sit on potty
Boys takes a little longer to potty train

Duckie

Maybe I shake shake then bb come out early, then I can enjoy my CNY mah...hahah..

mummy2nia

Im ard 7/8 mths now, EDD 21 Feb

Lian

She can sit on the potty and play with toys but she doesnt poo in it leh

jessica thanks!

The other day I went to a maid agency and saw a young maid sitting there. The sale exec was telling us that she was rejected by the employer becos she is too young and kena bully by employer's 10yr old son. Apparently the 10 yr old boy slapped her, so they decided to get another older maid who can "discipline" their son. Ironically, the mother works as a teacher

Jessica, just curious, what does your maid do after she finish t chores at night?

Yes, same. My girl loves to poo while eating. haha! Got output, then can input

Re: discipline
I find this really tough and stressing. i tink i dun know how and wat to do at times, and when i run out of patience with my gal, i also kinda flare up, haiz...

Jessica, thanks for the recommendation, i tink i really need guidance on discipline

Few days ago my gal poo-ed right after bath, before lunch AND after lunch! wow lau, damn waste diapers... i hope this doesn't happen too often

Lynn: I didnt set up Xmas tree this year too!! Know he will sure grab all the stuff..

Mosh and Mummy2nia: Yah my boy screams for no reason quite often SIANZ...sometimes so hard to discipline him when outside. I know must be consistent, but really hard when he is screaming his head off and we just give in to shut him up. But of coz its not gd esp when use bribery

Potty training: EEks my boy cannot stay still in the potty leh he thinks is a toy -_- Anyway dont plan to do it unless he can walk properly otherwise he is like struggling/crawling away...quite useless. But we tried to make him she she in the toilet bowl everyday. Hope he gets it ha!

Jessica, seems like your maid quite good &amp; 自动

Was discussing with hub abt our coming maid's duty yest nite, discuss until i pek chek. wakaka... Cos i dun tink shd let maid have t house key, but he tinks we shd give some level of trust after she work for some time. Argh...

Jes, patience patience patience is what we all need! So difficult yeah....

jes, lian

Yah really need alot of patience to discipline them. Also need patience to potty trained them. But hor my 2nd one coming in Feb, where got time and patience... sighz.. hope I dun get post natal depression..

lian, ya i dun tink u shd let yr maid hv the hse keys. for me, i will only leave my hse keys with her when we are all going out and she's gonna be alone at home, otherwise NO. afterall the maid is still an outsider, we still got to hv some reserves abt them. not that we dun wan to trust them, but we are just not taking any chance tat something will go wrong. men just tink differently. for eg. my hub tinks we can leave our gal with our maid alone at home, but i insisted NO.

mosh, u got to be more relaxed since 2nd one on the way. mayb at times got to close 2 eyes oso like tat...

Good Morning!!!

Screaming babies,
yes my girl loves to scream a lot nowadays. If i dun give her something she will scream and cry as if someone has just slapped her.......ZZzzzzzzzzzzzz..... dunno y she like tat. my #1 never did tat before. thats y no 2 kids is the same...............n she also super sticky to me nowadays, everyday like glue must stick on me cannot come down, so i have to carry her n do the chores or make milk or watever. but 1 thing for sure, she loves to go gai gai... every day wake up will ask mi "mama.... bao bao... GO!" n points to the door...........dunno y she so "huay ka" (Hokkien).

Jessica, recently i hv been using cheaper diapers most of the time, can't be bothered with using good diapers all the time, haha

Jes, those men never hear horror stories about maids.... Tell them examples, they think we only selectively bring out bad examples.

jes, lian

Difficult to close 2 eyes leh... cos my inlaws always give in to her, if I dun discipline her then she become spoiled brat leh...

mildy

Ur #1 so good, never scream and cry. Yah my gal also want to go gai gai every morn. Cos my FIL bring her down every morn lor, now dun bring cannot, she will be very cranky and whiny...

RE Diaper

I used cheap diaper during day time, Fitti Basic. At nite I used Mamy poko. NTUC one is very cheap but bb got rash.

Morning mums,

Wah topic on maids again. If maid is alone at home, please leave the key for them hor. Later got fire then cham. Other than that, its up to personal preference.

Lian, the only thing my hub is scared of is if i suggest i go out and leave him alone with maid and gal, and he will fear tat maid will accuse him molest, then i said how come like tat can't trust the maid meh?! but of cos i was only joking lah, won't take the chance, haha

mosh, i oso find disciplining very tough, cos my gal oso spoilt by my in laws and hub. haiz... i hate to be the bad guy but if no one else wan to, then who else but the mummy rite?!

diapers: i find the NTUC brand in fact not cheap leh. lately i use huggies dry pants i tink it's cheaper than the NTUC brand.

Jes

yalor we have to be the bad guy...nowadays my gal getting cheeky... I scold her she will go to my inlaws to sai yang her..sighz

NTUC one is cheap during promotion

Mosh,
Wah, u are so advanced in ur pregnancy le. So fast hor. Time flies. Jia you and all the best!

Jes,
Ya i also very scare of this topic discipline. Don't know how to do it in the right way. Was chatting with my mum's neighbour who's a teacher. She uses cane to discipline her 1 yr old and told me not to use hand as hand is for LOVE to sayang and show affection with. i need to go the book jessica recommends to brush up on my disciplinary skills.

Mildy,
Same same. My girl also screams whenever i took her out of the bath, take away something from her. Don't know where she learned it from.