(2008/11) November 2008

<font color="119911">Baby Fair</font>
Yeah, there are playpen and baby cot booths. I think there was a playpen by Babycraft going at $139 red and grey colour with free latex mattress

Pigeon Laundry Detergent
600ml w/bottle $7.12

Pigeon Liquid Cleanser
700ml w/bottle $11.76, refill $9.90

peanut, 3rd tri MS definitely not as bad as 1st/2nd tri. But may get heartburn tho'. Cannot take too spicy food, else the feeling very jialat. Think we'll hv to bid farewell to our yummy curry soon.

Mummies who've bought the playmat, can advise wat'z the thickness? 15 mm or 12 mm?

<font color="119911">Baby Fair</font>
Kotex Maternity Pads
10pads - $1.40

Huggies Ultra
Size M &amp; L - $14.70each
With 8 packs there is a free diaper bag worth $200

Mummies, any advice which brand of maternity pads are good and whats the prices like? The lady was saying we would need to use like 10pieces a day???

fifi,

it the picture shows that shd be ok. the pigeon one nvr state but i have been using it so far no problem loh... coz i heard from frens low sud...so far so good
juz that not much fragrance...

teeny,

10 per day is nonsense lah.... juz ensure u buy those adhesive types...else hospital will use the string type...horrible

so cham, these days work until pigu feel so sore like going to break like that.. stil need to go taka later... so lazy.... *yawn*

teenyweeny,
u can go pharmacy buy those lue color sheet paper ( ususali use in hospital) to put on ur bed.. so if u scared overflow, it will not stain on ur bedsheet but on the blue cotton sheet.

Teenyweeny,

Maternity pads not long enuff leh. Wat I did was put 1 normal pad (got the super long Sofy cottony soft one, 33 mm or something like dat. Dun get the dri-net one), n placed 1 Kotex maternity one on top. The kotex one change frequently cos flow very heavy and it's very cheap. This way won't get yucky stains. Actually a lot of people use normal pads, but get the soft ones, else stitches will hurt (ouch!).

alibaba
becos bb weight is putting the pressure lor.. imagine my tummy stil not v big already like this lei... -_-"

ei btw minkybear go zoo today ah? how come din log in..

Kash:
Okie thanks.

Teenyweeny:
Yah those blue disposable sheets very cheap only. You may want to use before you deliver too (almost due that time). So if *touch wood*, your water bag burst/leak, it protects your mattress. I think is $3+ or $4+ for 10 pcs.

actually, the adhesive maternity pads were very thick. I used it for the first few days. pretty good... think after 6 to 7 days, can use the normal pads liao... actually, i think the locia discharge amt may differ from people to people...

<font color="119911">Maternity Pads</font>
Thanks ladies! I think i'll go searching for those blue disposable sheets.. i tot i saw in amazon and drugstore that there are selling too!! Maybe if anyone needs can let me know!
I bought a waterproof mattress pad, so plus the blue disposable sheets, i should be quite safe hor!

Ladies, its raining, please remember to bring a brolly and stay dry!!

teenyweeny,
Where u buy ur waterproof mattress pad? How much $?
I saw Guardine and KiddyPalace selling the blue disposable sheets...

teenyweeny:
Local pharmacies sell. Go to the hospital pharmacy or guardian, those kind. No need to buy from overseas. Dun pay shipping for such cheap stuff lah.

For us, I prefer using disposable de. Coz if leak, might be blood, not so easy to wash (and your mattress pad is white wor). Furthermore, we would not be in the condition to wash.

But for baby, I would be using a waterproof mattress pad.

Lilian:
You want for baby de or for mummy de. If for baby de, I got from babymall. Some of the others oso ordered. There is oso one BP selling waterproof mattress pad. You go check the BP forum.

<font color="ff0000">Lilian</font>
<font color="119911">Waterproof Mattress Pads</font>
I bought the waterproof mattress pad from a spree. 1 Crib Size, and 1 Queen Size

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1422242.html?1218001371

Another 1 i got was from Babymall also..

<font color="119911">Disposable Blue Sheets</font>
Hmmm.. perhaps i shld go to the pharmacy/Kiddy Palace to see see look look also.

<font color="ff0000">Fifi</font>
Cos i ordering other stuff from Amazon also, so thought of shipping in together.. hehe
The disposable sheet i intend to place on top of the waterproof mattress pad i got, so just to be safe. hehe.. kiasu hor!

Thks teeny!
There was once my menses overflow and kena my mattress (went thru' t mattress protector!). Clean until very cham... Left stain

So i veri scared it happens again.

Going off soon... Colleague say rain is smaller now.

Hello ladies!!!

Thread is *Zoom Zoom*

Got another bear in Nov forum, hello Bluebear!

Hows the Taka fair going? Any other good buys to share?? When does the fair ends?

Teenyweeny also a petite mummy like me... I used to be as skinny as Stefanie Sun, taller somemore but since pregnant eat and eat, now my sis calls me FAT ASS. Nose also bigger, face rounder then eyes shrink *sigh*... SO horrible!

By the way, 3rd tri starts from how many weeks? Slowly counting down to EDD...

Something to share...
Dunno if im too sensitive or emotional, somehow i feel quite upset, my MIL knows when i would be delivering (9 Nov) but chose to go on holiday during that time (28 Oct-8 Nov)... Sigh. She kept telling us i hope baby will come out on exactly on 09 Nov... Any reason for me to feel disappointed?

<font color="ff0000">Lilian</font>
kao_welcome.gif

I'm also afraid of the mess, so i bought, just in case!

<font color="ff0000">Auggy Bear</font>
Hello !! *waves*
I hope i can hold my appetite well even after i deliver!

Is your MIL suppose to take care of ya during confinement?

aUGGY: Fair ends 28 Aug.

Got my Pigeon multi function steam steriliser (steriliser+ food warmer+ milk warmer) today, all in 1. And also Medele dual breastpump promo package. Not from the fair though...may go down these few days...

reporting back from the baby fair!! total damage today: $305 spent in 2 hours.
. There is a good selection of stuff for pigeon and Avent pdts. good time to stock up on the pigeon wet wipes. there is a booth that by the people from baby avenue for the strollers and also combi and aprica has quite alot of selection. the Quinny Buzz 08 was going at a pretty good deal at $888.

Items we bot:
1. Avent steam sterilizer $136
2. Avent bottles (4oz/9oz)
3. Avent teats (for various ages)
4. Avent Storage cups for breast milk
5.Pigeon nail clipper, nose "boogy" pincer,comb,wash sponge,cotton buds, 3 pkts of cotton balls
5. Combi travel fork/spoon set, noodle cutter and spoon set.
5. Munchkin Deluxe drying rack
6. Munchkin fresh food feeder
7. Munchkin My First Cup
8. Munchkin Soothing ring teether
9. Munchkin soft tip infant spoons
10. Pigeon bottle and vegetable washing liquid
11.Pigeon Baby shampoo and body wash

some of stuff cannot be used till baby is a lil older, but couldnt resist!

Went to Robinsons having 20% storewide and bot;
1. Infant Pillow
2. Infant pillow case
3. Aromababy Organic Baby lotion

Chilipadi,
how's megan? hope she's much better now.

Re:curry
heheh, me too recently like having curry with rice or mee. went to cuppage and had bee hoon with curry chicken and a huge plate of it!!

Jo,
i think you shouldnt soap when BF but i am thinking try to not soap now just so that nipples dun get dry. of coz soap will still come in contact when showering. but just dun scrub with soap directly on the nipples?

Yen and alibaba,
hubby used to say i like small kid, eat prata with sugar. but now he also will eat a lil with me. hee..i also like to dip in curry and sugar at the same time!! yummy!

haru: wow i see u must hv enjoyed urself...hehe..i myself bought s pigeon steriliser and breast pump too but not from fair, can't imagine myself at the fair...surely damage pocket deep deep too.. :p

BTW, today's NTUC offer, sweet chicks baby wipes 90s x 2 box at $3.95, very cheap ley..but never heard of this brand..

Waterproof mattress/disposable dsheets: Thks for all the tips...didnt note this down in my 'shopping list' till you all start to mention!!

Auggybear, hmm I might feel abit upset too, what does ur hubby hv to say? But then have to think positive, mabbe she got other reason to go on holiday during that time or she want to have a break b4 you give birth so that she can take care of you after that. Cheer up ok!
3rd tri is after 28 wks! Me counting down too!

Haru: You bought a lot! Woah
Looks like you are an Avent fan hee

I went to the baby fair earlier too.

Din buy much. Just bought the Avent milk bottles and also check out Medala pumps and car seats.

I spend some time at Avent and Pigeon. They have quite a wide range available. I guess also a good chance for me to enquire more abt Medala pumps before deciding which one to buy. I was thinking of Mini Electric initially coz it's very portable. Suitable if I need to pump in office. But can be quite noisy. PIS is abit too bulky and pricey but reviews on it is quite good. Swing looks good also leh. But the hose looks abit short. So now kindof stuck. Anyone got any recommendation?

By the way, hui, can kindly add me in the list when u free? Thanks

EDD: 7th Nov 08
TMC
Dr Joycelyn Wong
#1,
expecting a mickey

sherline: I got the mini electric dual plus electric one and pumps both sides at one time saves time, i heard from other mummies in other threads its efficiency is gd as can pump more milk in shorter time

I have the following items for sales.

1) Bumbo seat @ $45. Very good condition in box and used less than 10X. Color: Aqua.

2) MomsInMind baby sling @ $10. Good condition

3) Hanging mobile for baby cot @ $8.

Self collect at Punggol MRT. Interested buyers, pls text 96510417. Thanks.

1615927.jpg

Good morning dear mummies and MTB

Happy ya today is Fri. Wow looks like the Taka baby fair has many good deals. Must try to go down and see.

Bladers
How much did U buy your mini electric dual plus? I haven't gotto one yet cos want to wait till my milk supply is in.

Chilipadi
Hope your daughter is better ya. Will pray for her recovery. U must rest well too. I like Dr. Tan
Hak Koon, he is recommended by my colleagues, a very popular choice with the nurses in SGH.

Tuna
Ya, what a coincidence, we also same gynae. my nickname was Tuna when in Secondary school ya.
How did U get to see Dr. Tan? someone recommended him to U?

Auggy Bear
Hi, nice to see U. Think your MIL wants to grab her last chance to relax before U give birth lah.

Minky Bear
U feel better with your dripping nose? Take care ya cos weather is cold again. Yesterday so heavy rain, even we bears can't stand it.

Sherline:
For Medela, they have a chart to show which pump is suitable for wad kind of use. Its on the pamplet. The mini electri (or electric plus) is recommended for part-time working mothers but not for full-time working mothers.

http://www.medela.com/ISBD/breastfeeding/products/breastpumpoverview.php

According to a salesperson I spoke to at First Few Years, she say its coz of the power and durability of the motor. That's why the warranty is shorter too. She also says that the name suggests the same as well "mini".

I suggest you look at your needs and the medela chart to decide what pump you want... that is if you are going for medela. For the other brands, try to find similar charts too coz the manufacturers know what purpose/needs each pump was made for.

Chilipadi:
Do take care of yourself too ok.

morning.

haru,
I like to eat my egg prata with sugar when young. Now I cut the sugar. Scare the sugar level esp preggie now.

Auggy Bear >> maybe get ur hubby to suggest them to go earlier. coz u may give birth earlier too. they may missed the baby's arrival. but then again, maybe they not around also good, can give you some personal space when you give birth??

Maggie Soh >> it is the tues, 7pm class by mrs wong?

ohayoo mummies!

glad,
yup, my gf is using their stuff too. and hubby thinks their stuff looks reliable. actually hubby and i quite suckers for packaging one so we can be easily influenced to make purchase decision based on packaging. crazy rite?

welcome sherline!

morning all..

seems like i need to go down to taka to take a look liao.. need to buy some baby stuff too..

Auggy bear, dont be too trouble by that.. relax and just like what the other mummies said.. your MIL might wana get relax 1st b4 she commit to take care of baby and you.. Stay cheerful ok...

Sherline, welcome!

Good Morning everyone!

haha HAPPY PRE NATIONAL DAY!! Too bad no more half day liao.
Me didn't go zoo yesterday la... boss was walking around v freely so cant log on. havent finish reading all your post some more.

Yesterday evening went to bb fair with hubby after work the fair nt v big la.. tot really got lots to buy although me did buy all my breast pump, warmer, steralizer and also some other little stuff. and if you spend over $500 bucks there you can get a free tricycle for bb hehe... v cute. At the fair, they sell some clothes,cot and stroller bb avenue, pigeon, avent, combi, also there to promote, there is also fisher and price if you are interested in getting toys for bb. And alot of other brands la cant list all here haha... go down and see if you all have time ba.

morning mommies...
wen to taka fare yest, haven gotten anything yet cos will last until aug 24 stil got time. jus screened thru strollers, cots and bottles.. din spend lots of time cos pigu really hurts until cannot walk liao..

Jenn: poor thing! i didn't hang around long enough yesterday to see your reply. maggie is right, i think what u need is dry food. if u don't mind cream crackers, since u r at home, can eat those as snacks. then slowly add cheese, peanut butter or seafood spread to add some nutrition. *pat pat* will vit b6 help?

maggie: actually do u know tt love for durians is hereditary? my husband LOVES durians &amp; my son too. your son will surely love durians too.

chillipadi: u also so poor thing. mother &amp; daughter both sick. take care of yourself, ok?

bluebear: wow! so lucky. wish i cld work in sgh or kkh too. i didn't know sgh has appointments on saturday too.

alibaba, glad gal: looks like u both had good time at taka fair. then where will u go shopping next week when u r off?

auggy bear: don't be upset. if your MIL is not doing your confinement, i seriously think it's a better idea for her not to hang around.