(2008/11) November 2008

yah i tink i'll go ahead with sterilizer, dun care wat they say lah.. but confirm ta stamp buy back his mum sure say "WHY U BUY, BOIL WATER CAN ALREADY!!"

car seat, ok me go look ard.. Which brand is good?

toking abt bb cot, i actually wan to get one thou his mum room got an old one used by those bb she look after.. When i say getting new one she said no need, the bbs dun use it one.. But guess wat i saw her twice putting the waiting-for-shower naked bb on it while she was attending to something else.. -_-.. d**n.. i dun wan other bb to sleep on my bb's cot/mattress wor.. even for a while i also dun like wahhaa..

Those who want heavy/bulky items from babymall, can consider join this spree:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1572481.html?1216634416

The organiser divides shipping by value of items. You usually have to pay more for the shipping of these items when we divide by weight/volume as this is how the shipping co charge. She split by value means those buying expensive small items will end up paying part of your shipping for you.

p.s. dun say I jian4 ok...

peanut:
Buy a new mattress and new bedlinen lor. The cot shld be ok even if used by other baby coz not really direct contact.

Guess wat? i slpt from 4.30 till 7.30.. really very tired. think i slping more and more liao..

Cookieoreo, i m ok with the photos lah. dun worry abt it.

Peanut, the bb is urs too wat. can't u buy things for ur Nini meh? no need everything go through them since they nv consider ur feelings when they say dun buy this or that.. hahah that's my feelings.

Jo, pls take care.. next meeting we try to have something not so spicy.. heehee..

hi mummies-to-be..
finally had time to upload the photos we took during the ndp ne show 2 on 12 jul & these are some shots taken during the show, i m glad Mav is v co-operative during the show too..hehe...just that he's afraid of the loud fireworks so we didnt get to catch that in full la..

<font color="ff6000">Mav will do this when he's shy..haha..</font>
1574599.jpg

<font color="ff6000">NDP 2008 Stage</font>
1574600.jpg

<font color="ff6000">Zoe Tay's hubby in one of these planes..</font>
1574601.jpg

<font color="ff6000">Black Knights...</font>
1574602.jpg

<font color="ff6000">Black Knights performed the heart-shaped formation..</font>
1574603.jpg

Cookieoreo &amp; Kash:
Money for dinner received. Thanks.

Update on Drugstore:
They have shipped our goods out to borderlinx already.

Sunshinekid, please pay me asap ok. Coz someone expressed interest in the 2 tubes of desitin. Erms, if by Wednesday 9pm I dun receive money or a request for extension I release it ok?

Baby News:

New measures to encourage birth will be announced next mth. They will include more financial support for parents and policies to encourage a pro-family environment in the workplace.

Cookieoreo, just 1 photo coz the other grp photo is too blur! And the few others I took is just food which I posted 2 previously.

Happy, bear, where is the place you bought the clothes?? Feel like checking out too. Thks :D

So far, I only bought 1 pyjamas for bb lol. My sis in law passing some over so I guess I will wait to gauge how much more I need. So hvnt even tot of the full month/Xmas! But everytime I see all the cute boy clothes, I will be so tempted haa.

Jo, take care ah &amp; hope u feel better soon!

Wtan, aww Mav is soo cute, even when looking down and abit shy hee...

Think I read somewhere that if u intend to boil ur milk bottles, better dun use those plastic bottles as it might be toxic. Wonder those mummies who boil got more info to share. Is it better to use those bottles made of PP or is Bfree bottles good?

By the way, it's actually my first baby. So I was wondering by CNY time, could our baby be still in the phase of wearing rompers or will they be able to wear those 2 pcs shirt and shorts. Mine's a boy... So now thinking how to buy new year clothes for him. Heehee...

Jo,
Pls take care and drink more water.

Peanuts,
Just get wat u want.Dun need to bother wat others said lor.This is your 1st baby.. sure tempted to buy tis n tat.Err.. mayb take leave and go for baby shopping.And it might make yourself feel more happy and satifaction.

Re: BH
I felt several times too.

I even feel baby's hiccups liao.I placed my gal's hand on my tummy and she gt a shocked!

glad,
The shop is jus opposite the bugis temple.It is located,at the same row of those medical shop,at a corner.

Sherline,
I cant comment much on tis ley.
For me i feel is safe to get those plastic bottles but changing them like every 6mths or less.
I used the boiling method for my elder gal.Err..normally i boiled for 3-5mins nia.
I am using the pigeon wide neck bottles.

hi ladies, drop in to say hi.
Wow, its really difficult for me to catch up on all these posts now. I can only use shared internet terminal at work and not too good to use it for too long. Haiz.

I also want to apologize to those moms not comfortable with the photos. I'm also curious. Dont blame cookieoreo k. After seeing your happy faces at the dinner, i a little regret that i didnt go. Maybe next gathering, i will try to make it. Those of you interested to know how i look like can let me know too. :p Cookieoreo saw me before.

Olwen, yeah, i will be delighted to meet you and bibi for avocado milk in amoy street.

Kash, far east square is alittle far for me for lunch. I work in robinson next to CPF building leh. But never mind maybe i can take a cab down.
i'm lazy kekeke. lunch time is between 12 - 2pm.

Bibi, i'm trying to be healthy but i still cheat leh. last week, almost everyday, i drink macs chocolate milk shake leh. Weekends i eat with a vengence, stuff myself silly. Today, tried to eat healthy again, wow, so hungry. In the end, go to coffee toast tabao otah bun. Haiz, there goes my effort.

Am so excited today, tomorrow, my bro's wife is giving birth to my first nephew. Cant wait to see him! Went to kiddy palace to buy him a musical mobile. Wow so ex. I think for mine, i will order from babymall. Hahaha... cheaper.

blader: Happy birthday. So envious, got car as a pressie. Your hb so doting.

Fifi: please take care. Monitor your cramps. If you feel something not right, do go to your gynae to have it check out. I'm not sure what kind of cramps you had, but I used to have menses like cramps but its probably due to my constipation or pressure on the ligaments. So far, scans show nothing and bb is fine. Now not much except feeling tummy very tight.

Thanks for the concern over the transfer maid. I had my doubts after reading your post and called the agent to clarify. She assured me that maid attitude is good. I do not know the credibility of the reasons given but i will give the maid a chance lah as we pity her as she seem kinda de-motivated after being returned 2 times liao.
Anyway we very chin chai one and do not have high expectation on the maid so hopefully she can get along well with us and cooperate. I can only pray hard now that she wont give us any problems.

Oh yeah, citibank really sucks. I use phone enquiry to request my application status but still it say my application not found. Damn sian. How long did they use to process your application?

Bear: it must be very shiok to buy bb stuffs, ain't it.

Happy: You feel BB hiccups, really? now does it feel like? I'm really curious leh.

Warmers: I didnt get any warmer, scare the temperature too high and depletes the nutrients in breastmilk. I will just 'uncool' the expressed milk in a bowl of hot water. Anyway, bb dont need to drink really warm milk, i feel.

Jo, take care. Drink more water or take manuka honey for your sore-throat. My ex boss say manuka honey very effective for sore throat.

That's all folks. Too tired to think liao. Need to Zzzz.... Take care. May not post tomorrow. Going hospital to see my first Nephew! I will try to catch up with some of the posts during lunch time using office shared internet terminal. ciao

Olwen
your loot looks so tempting &amp; my hands itchy alrdy. was d overall shipping charges high? alamak, im not those 20+ mummies alrdy, regretted not having kids earlier..

Happy
I know tat shop u mentioned.. but they sell in bulk right?

Bear
U looked exhausted lei, tat's y your body 'requesting' u to take a break, must be hard to cope w exams &amp; work.. do u take chix essence? it might help..

Peanut, Milderina, Alibaba, Bear, Dreamyjo
*hugz*

Wtan
M looked sooo cute + chub &amp; he has lotsss of hair! He's like such a big boy.. wat's his weight now? mine 14.4kg.. my arms almost breaking!!

Morning LAdies!!
Wow! seem like the dinner was fun! Any pics??
Me down from flu..kanna from Jovial and in the end he kanna 2nd attack of flu from me

fifi..
thks for the updates on the new measures to encourage birth..it's a nice gesture..hope they will implement more benefits for working mummies like us..

glag_gal..
wow..so nice of ur SIL to pass u some of the hands-me down ah..at least u dun hv to spend as much..nice..

happy...
so fast u can feel bb's hipcups liao ah..steady leh..i cant made my boy place his hands at my tummy for more than 5sec..coz he dun like it..haha..

dreamyjo..
oh, ur offc is at CPF building ah..i think why kash has suggested far east sq is bcoz she's at ocean towers whc is at raffles place mrt..keke..both yen &amp; myself are nearer..something like both ur midpoint...

cookieoreo..
it's nice of u to bring along the cam that day too to help capture the shots so i m sure the mummies will be ok one la..cheers~ next time u shd try to bring ur boy along..then we can all play with him too..hee..dun think Mav has lotsa of hair leh..some of my gf mummies's kids have soo much more hair &amp; also v boyish look than him..hehe..wow..ur boy is of a v gd weight leh..Mav ah..i dun think he reach 11kg &amp; growing..haha..i m v v sure ur boy is v v tall since u r too..envy..envy..

hui..
hope u r recovering well..drink more water &amp; take more fruits..take gd care leh..

Morning Everyone!

dreamyjo:
Wow such a long post. How much was the musical mobile from kiddy palace?

I think my cramps should be ok coz they always go off on their own. If too bad, I will go visit my gynae.

Yah can try give her a chance. Hopefully you are lucky. I always think hire maid is abit like lottery. Lucky good. Unlucky then bad. Lolx.

For citibank hor, best is go to one of the branches and make some noise. I did that and before I even left the branch, my card approved liao (after more than a week of problems).

Hui:
Aiyoh take care. You 2 really mother and son wor!

Yvonne:
Hi. You are a really young mum. Sorry I dun think most of the rest are ok with sharing our pics with someone we don't know. After all, I think its your first post here. Hope you can understand. The rest who were not there but saw the pics have been chatting with us here for quite some time already so we kinda know them.

wtan:
Np. Anyway, nothing to share oso coz they never reveal anything. I think they will reveal during the National day rally or speeches lor.

Gd morning. I had a busy day yesterday wif long mtgs.
Now browsing through the postings.

kash,
sorry, when is the lunch?
Far east square is fine with me.
Regarding Toast Box, there's 1 opp China Square (building that is currently undergo reno) in Raffles Place. When u r at Samsung hub, TCC level 1, its opp along telok ayer street.

Auggy bear,
Got ur email. Wow, all pretty ladies :>

wtan,
yes, we are nearer to far east sq for us in Raffles Place.

Re: pro-family measures
This is in the news:
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/361819/1/.html
Hopefully, they will release the news in 1 mth's time or during the national day rally.
Waiting for 4mths maternity..haha.i must be dreaming.

Re: Work up to EDD?
I'm thinking of doing that. However, my hubby discourage me from doing so. He wanted me to take leave and wait at home as this is my 1st child. No experience mah. Oso very pai say if water bag really broke in the OFFICE
Once, when I was in TMC for my gynae appt, I saw 1 pregnant lady with wet pants and I overheard her conversation with the nurse that her water bag broke. Yucks...They straight away register her and wheel her to the labour ward.

hui,
Take care. Hope u are feeling better. 2kg ..great man. I hope i put on 2kg too. Appt next wed.

Sorry for the long posting.

fifi..
ya..i was telling hb last night aft ur post that i wish they will really increase more benefits for working mummies..hee..when u got more news..post to share ah..appreciate ur 1st hand info!yeah!

hui..
u r so happy when u put on weight..i think i will be more than happy when i lost weight..haha..

Good morning mummies ...

Thank you all for the concern. Getting slightly better. Will get all the recommended drinks for myself today .. starfruit juice with salt, manuka honey and honey lemon ...

fifi, yah .. we will b getting a baby car seat soon ... jus bought bb cot only .. slowly buy bb stuffs bit by bit .. else heart pain. hehe.
I cant wait to see the bb stuffs I bought from e spree ...

peanut, someone recommended Britax Omega car seat. I went to BB Kingdom .. they dun have Britax Omega anymore but a very similar and slightly better Britax one (think is call Britax Premium or something like tat) that can use from newborn to ard 4yrs old. Will b getting tat one.
Of cos we wanna buy new stuffs for bb if they using it for a long time. e.g. bb cot, playpen, stroller, car seat ... or .. ask ur hb repaint the bb cot and like wat fifi said, get new mattress and bedding set.

milderina, you sounds so funny handling that warmer.

bear, something not spicy? I thought of Quality hotel porridge buffet for next gathering liao. lol.
You too take care ... take few days rest first and look forward to your holiday.

wtan, nice photos taken .. and your HANDSOME boy!

hui, take good care. Seems like flu virus is here again.

Fiti Wrap Diapers
1575708.jpg

actually Mav is using this diaper now..this is a new version of the previous one we hv been using but i prefer the older version bcoz aft wearing for a while..the tape doesnt come off by itself unless the new version..somehw, maybe my boy is too active..haha..just give it a try on the sample &amp; if u like it then buy in bulk ba..cheers~

good morning mummies

yawnz.. i almost dun wanna wake up to work today.. but the thought of no PC at home... so DRagged myself up to work...

hui> next time join us leh. hee.. hope u recovering soon.. i guess it's unavoidable to spread germs to each other cos ur the care taker. or else dun see him meh.. sure bu she de! wear mask better???

Yen.. will be great if Govt give us 4 mth maternity leave... plus ensure tat our job is retained.
My Wish List -
New daddies to get more paternity leaves (at least 2 wks)
More Childcare leaves (at least 1 wk)
More childcare centres. More qualified teachers.
More tax rebates &amp; medical subsidies
Encourage companies to have nursing rooms in premises. Lagi gd if have in-hse childcare.
Revamp the Pri 1 registration process. Its making parents so stressful and kaisu!

Hui, u r down with flu for quite some time liao lay. Must take care oh.
Tis morning there was tis guy sitting beside me on bus, kept coughing &amp; sniffing thruout t entire journey. Hope I dun kena t virus!

Wtan,
thanks :D, of coz i happy lah.. preg till now 24 weeks 6 days i onli put on 3kg.

Fifi,
tink sooner later will be daddy's turn..keke..

Yen,
keke.. i look forward for my next mth apointment liao.. but now cannot see reali clearly of the bb inside me leh.. nd to break into 2 part..

Jo,
ya.. virus is backie..

Alibaba,
last time when i sick, i put him @ my grandma hse 3 days also nvr see him leh..am ok with it wan..keke.. if he's not sick i will waer a mask bt since he's having flu also so i nvr wear mask lo..

Good Morning Ladies!

Jo, Hui,
Hope you guys get well soon.

Yvonne,
I tot you came in here before and then you just disappear we were wondering what happen to you.
Hope you are doing well do take care.

wtan> ur boy so cute! shy shy boy. hehe.. how's the NDP preview? gd anot? my co organise to see firework in end Aug.. wondering shld i go. cos it's gonnaa be v crowded... scare ev one clashed on me nia..

Good Morning Mummies,
Yesterday i weigh myself at home n realised that i put on 2kg this 2 weeks almost freaked out. think i really must watch my diet. been eating a lot of junk food and unhealthy food recently. i scare my blood sugar will go up. *pray hard that it maintains normal*

Jo,
Good to hear that you are getting better already.

Can i check when the warranty date start for big items that you all have bought e.g. pram, cot, car seat, steralizer and breast pump. Is it the day you all purchase or all the way to your EDD date?

peanut> my mil oso using the boiling method when he taking care of nephew. so far ok leh. if mil is the main care taker for u. &amp; she the one doing the job i tink no problem. if for urself, u might need it. cos it's time saving. guess u can invest on tat =)

milderina,
thanks for the recommendation. Does e philip one fit all bottle sizes?

Jo,
same here, planning not to get a pram first and take my nephew's one first. will only decide if we wana get a new one for our princess when she is born depending on practicality. but i think car seat cannot dun get, can't believe how expensive the car seats can get. and there are sooo many kinds and brands to choose from!

wtan,
thanks for sharing e pix! was planning to try to attend the NDP tis year but with my belly decided not to squeeze in w the crowd. will watch in e comfort of home.=>

Fifi,
wow, if there are new improved measure put in place, will we mummies get to enjoy the benefits too??=P 6 mths paid maternity leave would be great!kekeke...greedy me..

dreamyjo,
i have been having lots Mac's choc milkshake too!! dunno why just love the sweetness and richness of it. oh man, just thinkin of it makes me crave for it..=P

hui,
good for you! i think i have put on bout 2-3kg since last appt. trying not to pile on too much in a short time. hubby helped me to massage my body last nite and he also can feel that i am heavier now.=P

Lilian,
i think ur wishlist summarizes it all for us!hehe..

welcome yvonne!
wana share more about yourself like ur gynae, gender, EDD and hospital? =>

Minky,

Shld be when you purchase coz you will need to send in the warranty card within 14 days &amp; they also often say muz show receipt plus warranty card when need servicing.

haru,
yeaps i do think so but u might wan to check again. My friend is using NUK. just called another friend who is using too to check he said that advent should b ok too cos there is wide neck n narrow neck for inside for different bottles.

alibaba,
actually i think most of us grew up with boiling bottles. kekek.....

Thanks fifi just checking cause hubby keep putting off buying the items cause he say later warranty over and the things spoil how even before bb get to use it..

Happy, thks for the info. Will definitely check it out :p

Lilian, woah it wld be really great if half of your wishlist implemented hee...I just hope for more paternity leave, esp in the private sector being made mandatory! Currently hubby only get 1 day, so he definitely have to take unpaid leave as his AL almost used up..

I got my Goo' sample! But only 1 pc lol, so was thinking mabbe shld get a packet of each popular brand.

fifi, jo
yah my original plan was definitely a mus to get a new mattress for the cot.. No way my bb going to sleep on some old mattress/bedlinen man.. who knows whether got any bed bugs or not!! But i dun like the tot that my mil may put any other bbs on the new mattress lei.. wahaha selfish me.. But i cant tell her that wor, wait they tot how come i so petty and imm chim, put a while also cannot..

Lilian:
I oso wish for...
-> more medical subsidy for pregnancy related costs (our check-ups and delivery) and less restriction on use of medisave for delivery charges
-> cheaper maid levy
-> less restrictions on the baby bonus usage
-> revamp legislation to better protect all pregnant mothers from workplace discrimination

Ok and 1 crazy one:
-> taxi fare rebates for pregnant mums?

peanut,
Just tell her that this one is hygiene and safety issue. Not simply imm chim. Babies got sensitive skin. Especially since the other babies are not even relatives. You'll never know what the other parents apply onto their babies skin.

E.g. if your baby is sensitive to a certain brand of diaper rash cream and the other baby uses that brand. Putting onto the same mattress may end up in transfer of some of the cream from that baby to your baby. End result, your baby suffer rashes or whatever else.

glad,
ya, i think its time for fathers to be more involved and giving more paternity leave is the only way to allow that. my hubby also takes leave only when necessary now as he like to save them for when the baby arrives.

Re: Nepia diapers
I can't seem to find e price of the Nepia diapers on the website. can mummies share the price of the newborn diapers?

peanut,

You got all the right to feel this way.
I also will not like it if bb hav to use sec hand stuff or other bb sharing my bb stuff. toys ok la bt bed abit personal leh. unless i knw the person's bb is ok la. like sisters or cousins or good friend then ok la. bt strangers not too sure.

Glad gal,
i oso got one piece of Goo'n newborn diaper. hee.. i guess they only has free delivery if buy $60 above. &amp; i quite like the duckie wipe dispenser. heehee..

Hi MTB,
you could visit bbmumsgifts.blogspot.com that in the BT to get some of your bb stuffs there especially bb binder,socks, beansprout pillow and their nursing bra I fine is gd.

Haru:
I wish my hubby is like urs. Mine does not understand the need to save leave. He thinks sure enuff. He even say why I need to save so hard when I got maternity.

Nepia:
$15 per pack. 4 packs for free delivery.

Lilian,
Yes. Maybe when I come back to work from maternity, my desk is seated with another new face :D Haha. :p
More wish list:
Subsidise 50% of our hospital bills for maternity. Good savings.

Free vaccination for baby.

Most impt : It must be effective BEFORE we delivered. :D lol

P1 registration is very competitive esp the good schools. Most of my colleagues went for the volunteer work for the school they wish their kid to enrol.

hui,
U oni put on 3kg. When I'm 20wks 2days (last appt), I only put on 2.6kg. I've been weighing myself @ home. I ate 1 box of durians on sunday. Yummy. Hopefully, it will contribute more weight gain next week. LOL.

Milderina
Me 2. I have been feeding myself with ice-cream, Mr Potato, haha when I'm watching Hancock on sunday.

Jo,

I've found 1 shop in Tampines that sells baby mattress. You can call up to check if u can't get a new mattress for your pass down baby cot. I've called to check and they had my bb mattress size. I've not bought yet. I was quoted $46 for 26" x 45" latex wif holes. I forget to ask the thickness. The lady I called up on sat sounds friendly and they carry alot of other baby stuff except car seats and prams(if i remember correctly, nowadays I'm getting forgetful).
Opens till 9pm on sat. This is the details:

Baby's Boutique
Blk 821 Tampines St 81 #01-218 Singapore 520821
Tel: 67864556

Boiling bottles,
My mum use this method to sterlise milk bottles. I saw Pigeon steamer wif 2 milk bottles selling @ $99 in OG. Still considering if I want to buy or not.

Fifi,
Taxi rebates for pregnant mums? To have seats ONLY for pregnant ladies in MRT.