(2008/11) November 2008

enne..
ya..viola is v sweet...also names starting with V is v rare too..not the common ones like veronica or vernice or vannessa..i thot viola was more unique..

Meaning of Viola (in dictionary) A plant of the genus Viola, which includes the violets and pansies, especially a variety having flowers resembling violets in size and shape and pansies in coloration

olwen,
really? cool, maybe i'll pop by there when i meet my hubby one day since he works near there.

blessedmum,
ya, i heard another mummy also said she likes mummypoko.

wtan-but frm the table, u r having a mickey now?? mickey cannot use viola liao hor..

alibaba,haru-zao an ahh..

Blessed Mum-thx to u.. I am going to see Dr Adrian 2night!! kekeke.

enne..
ya lo..i cant use Viola lo..keke..dun think will want to hv #3 liao...in case i hv 4 princes (as in 2 boys now & 1 more is hubby then in case #3 is boy also)..lol..hv u shortlisted boys' names for #2?

wtan-no ler.. haven't came to a name me and HB both see eye-to-eye yet. how abt u??.. I been surfing baby names webbies recently.. those I like HB dun like or those he like I no feeling. keke.

<font color="0000ff">olwen</font>
tks for your concern, feels gd to be well again!
does obimin really helps? im taking these as told by gynae.

isn't it nice not to fork out $ to buy a pump? hee..
I have Avent Uno &amp; it feels vy gentle compared to ISIS, but waste time only.

<font color="0000ff">wtan</font>
which weekend playgrp is he attending? sounds interesting!

Mine is Talent Plus which is jus at my void deck &amp; supposed to start 1st July but ended up both of us came down w fever. im sure he'll cry but was told by the teacher to standby ard for couple of days. wasn't too impressed w the teacher but i jus want him to adjust n learn independency before transfering him to childcare before #2 is born.

Good Morning Ladies,

on HL today as used up all my MCs already. yesterday went to c the gynae cos kept feeling pain at the lower right tummy. scare the wits out of mi, i thought it felt like contraction as it got quite intense when i am driving home. luckily its just becos i pulled a ligament. gynae told mi that my tummy is not as tight as the 1st pregnancy already, like rubber bands after pulling wont b so elastic. sounds so sad. so got to really take care.

enne..
ya lo..so sad..dun hv nice names starting from V for boys..somemore i so ma-fan, want 3 syllabus..lol..slowly find lo..u will come across one that u both like one la..if not shortlist a few then like me..mass-sms for votes lo..keke..

cookieoreo..
i just stopped the wkend playgroup lessons he attd coz since he has been crying frm the start of the lessons till end of class..+ now i m preggy so even with hubby also hard to control him lo..he's v sticky to me leh..is Damien like that too?so this Talent Plus at ur voiddeck is supposed to be his few hrs daily playgroup ah..hw long is the session?btw,u gg to continue to be a SAHM for #2 ah?

Milderine-patz patz do take care hor.. be on bedrest today k!! HL can be taken even when not hospitalized? Thought can only HL when hospitalized?.. Your company accepts?.. I wonder mine can anot?.. 4 my first preg I was hospitalized then I can take HL ler..

enne,
yeah, gynae HL is for rest at home de. cannot go out. they can give us HL. for my first pregnancy i also took HL when my MCs are drying out. especially now we only have 14 days and i got very bad colds beginning of the year thats y exhausted them.

talking abt babies names already? kekeke.... if next Tuesday detailed scan confirm a minnie then her name shall be Claudia. kekeke...

wtan: isn't viola the lead character in shakespeare's "as u like it"? it's the character played by gwyneth paltrow in shakespeare in love.

alibaba: cafe vienna even more expensive than straits kitchen! ouch. anybody interested in mellben seafood at toa payoh? central enough?

haru: your husband works near united square? oh, me k-po, does he work in CPG? my husband goes to CPG in novena square for mtgs v often.

cookieoreo: i've been taking multi-vits for 3 yrs since my dengue &amp; i feel a lot healthier than immediately after the birth of my son. obimin is tried &amp; tested. i know cos even my mum took it while having me. when i'm normal i.e. not pregnant, i take usana essentials. i think specific pregnancy multi-vit is quite must have.

yah, my godson's mum is so kind to me. she gave me maternity clothes, baby clothes, her pump &amp; her steriliser. all almost brand new becos she gave away the things she used for my godson before she came back from england. her second son is so big tuff &amp; healthy.

Milderina-really.. ohh.. I been saving my MCs, don't dare to anyhow take scared not enuf wor.. Claudia.. lovely name too.. somehow girl name seems so much more varieties coz many many sweet names! what if become mickey mouse??? hehe..

i would vote for buffet as well.. more choices..

hey a ques: u know it is encouraged that pregnant women take some red meat.. jus wondering if i'm going for steak hav to be well done? medium well also buay sai?? Plan to go jacks place tomm yummy,,, slurp..

hui-Yeah but like a bit unfair to the little one ler.. I only got time tok to the little one when alone walking or bathing time...

Olwen:
I missed so much of the chat these few days coz am in a course that brings me away from my PC. Its in the same building lah. But no Internet for me to use there. Sigh.

I looked at a few of the bottles. They all seem quite expensive. I think the cheapest is buying the Medela feeding bottles from US but they only come in 1 size (160ml). The teats can use Nuk ones (I read somewhere). I intend to get 1 set of 3 bottles to try. I also have 2 pigeon bottles that came free with my steriliser but I dun think they are BPA free. Do you all think the BPA is really a big deal or are we just overly concerned?

My hubby wants my girl's name to start with A coz his nickname (which we use more than his name) starts with A. So he said if girl, name start with A. If boy, name start with F (F for Fifi). Lolx. My sis was suggesting E or H coz my real name also starts with F &amp; hubby's starts with G.

We can consider Chinese ala carte buffet. Dunno how much though. We get all sorts of food including fish and crab. Heehee.

Wtan:
I am intending to buy the PIS from US. But I want to get other stuff too (like bottles, etc). And if I combine too much, I will exceed the S$400 limit and incur GST. So I need to split up and buy pump once, other stuff another time. So asking who wants to buy stuff. If worth it (i.e. the shipping can be split between us till its worth it) then we do lor.

Jenn &amp; Hui:
Try not using any shower foam/soap/moisturiser for a day or 2 on your tummy. The rash would likely clear. But its common to get such spots/rash/itch according to my gynae and the antenatal class teacher. So dun worry. If it gets too itchy or bad, do consult your gynae for some medication to apply. Otherwise, you will look like a monkey scratching... lolx.

Yoyo:
Your EDD very near mine. Maybe we really can have KKH party. Lolx.

enne,
kekek.... actaully hor since the day i found out i am preggy i been looking for girls name. somehow dunno y thinking that its going to b a minnie mouse. if boy then must really go look around again. cos i would like my kids name to all start with C since no 1 is Charlene. hee hee..

hui,
sometimes i also feel that this no 2 i didnt really pay much attention or talking. so guilty. i rememeber no 1 i still got play music la this la that la. my hubby so i pian xin. aiyo, but with no 1 zooming ard the house everyday the moment her eyes are open in the morning how to sit down n talk. and at night when she wanna sleep i also sleepy le, then all sleep. wakakak....but no 1 does listen to music, so i hope that its the same as no 2 listen to music.

Milderine, Enne:

I'm also running out of MC. I have 14 days a year and I took quite a lot when I was nursing a bad cold in the earlier part of the year. Then that 3 days from the 24 hrs clinic when I was suspected to have some viral infection thingy. Lolx. Now left 4 days I think.

fifi,
mi too, are u born in the year of horse? wakkaka... think horse very prone to colds this year. my Mcs left 1 day. pathetic or not... wakkaka.... when i have no 1 we got 28 days MCs, but after merger only become 14 days. MC no enough....

Morning ladies....

hui,enne,
Me 2 leh! No time to talk to #2.I on keep touching my tummy when i sit or bath. Everyday busy talking n lookng after my gal.This is the period of time where they need lots of attention and is learning to talk.So must keep talking to her, neglecting the #2.

Milderina,
Pls rest well.I do feel the ligament pulling at times.. esp when i shift my position when i laying on the bed.

haa.. B4 i find out the gender, I wanted to name my #2 Claudia too if she is a gal.My elder called Clara so #2 will call Claudia.Now headache... I still hav nt decide a name for my #2 boy.. So diff to find nice boy's name starting with 'C'

Btw... any #2 time MTB staying at punggol?
Did u all send your #1 to CC?

olwen..
oh..i m not sure abt the character played by gwyneth paltrow in shakespeare in love..but i cant use Viola too..hee..toa payoh v far for me leh..my offc at raffles place &amp; i stayed in tamp..can it be ard town area? think city hall will be the more centralised for pple to take MRT back tooo..keke..

hui...
so sweet ah..#2 will dance when u trying to pat #1 by singing him to sleep ah..cool!

fifi..
wow..icic..no wonder ur hb want girl names starting with A..hee..as for the PIS hor..when u buy this pump online, u can order the parts at special price leh..then if u add on parts hor..i duno hw much will be the price liao..also hw r u gg to transport back the PIS?via VPost?

rashes..
try not to scatch it too much..ur skin will "tear"..can be v painful leh..anyhw..i m not sure abt u all..that time i hv v bad rashes so i applied some Hazeline snow cream &amp; it was clear..duno if Aloe Vera Cream can help to ease the itch anot..

milderina,

u have a good rest today.... i so far took 1 day MC since Jan... coz pai seh if take mc too often. normally if not feeling well, i will just work from home. so can still lie down and rest if not much work to do. but if really unwell, then really must take mc liao...

fifi,

i initially also very bothered abt all the BFA free etc. So far only the brand BFREE is bFA free. Most other brands plastic bottles are NOT. I remember reading somewhere is that only if u keep using the bottle, then it will become harmful. so the advise is to change bottles every 6 mths.

olwen,

viola is a nice name
btw, have u decided which car to buy?

bear,

so nice hor, u ladies can go meet... it is tough for us 2nd time or 3rd time mummies coz have to spend time with our #1.

wtan,

me same as u, i dun like to use diapers with those like scotchtape, sticky tape... pretty lousy coz it wont be sticky if u adjust it after few tries...

Milderina,Fifi-I also only got 14 days.. if really no choice then use HL lo.... keke.. our bb most impt liao.

happy-I stayed SK but my MIL looking after my boy. how's old ur elder gal.

Clyde, Clayton, Cash, Clayton, Cadence, Cayden, Caden

lovedogs-Yeah I agreed.. coz weekdays after work normally I will rush home to see my boy liao.. weekends also take care of him.. go out also will bring him out.. not as easy when preg with 1st one.. still can go out pak tor, go out anytime anywhere.

hah! i still trying to save my MC for later use.. aready used up 5 days... left 9 days.

chinese ala carte buffet sound gd.. where have?

alibaba-^5 I also used up 5 days... or issit 6? I think ard there.. also saving the rest for 3rd trimester.. hehe..

Enne,
U stayed at SK? Then we can meet up at CP when i am back. My gal is 2.5yo liao... Currently a SAHM at twn and Will send her to CC b4 my #2 is out.

All those name.. i mention to my hb.He dun like ley.He said name it 'clark'
*faint* which i dun like.

happy,

u planning to get a maid when #2 arrives?

Enne,

precisely, every day after work is rush to pick up number 1...then must ensure we also makan dinner 1st b4 picking her up. u know, even when i leave my office at 5.45pm, due to heavy traffic, sometimes it is 6.40pm then i reached my mum's place...then hb &amp; i have dinner at the coffee shop nearby, go up to pick gal up. then drive home. by the time we get home, many times already 8pm...then have to rush to shower, feed her water, wash her hands, tidy up...hb will clean the floor... then have to shower her, play wif her, feed her, pat her to bed.... hiaz.... how to go for dinner after work????

fifi> wat massage lady u engage? my mom said got one did my SIL charge $40-50 quite good for 1.5hr if nt wrong. izzit at market rate?

me too have red dots on my tummy..lucky not really itchy.. hubby recently saw &amp; commented y ur tummy become so reddish &amp; hairy. haha..

any one tot of using bumwear cloth diaper? my fren told me i can invested on tat...

ala carte chinese buffet - i know sichuan dou hua hav it but cost $39++ during fri-sun.. so quite exp.. But the tot of mapo doufu really make me drool tsk tsk..

Milderina:
Nope. Born in the year of the dog. Got the cold in Bali actually coz I was there for honeymoon &amp; climbed the volcano there to watch sunrise. I was freezing cold when I was up there. And then after I came down, came down with a cold lor and found I was preggy a few days later. Lolx.

Wtan:
I plan to use borderlinx. Cheaper than vpost. Got special price for the parts meh? Which webby?

Kash:
Medela products also BPA free. That's why I choose this brand for pump. And hence, might as well get "matching" bottles.

Olwen:
About car hor, have you considered getting a bigger car that can fit everyone in (no need get those 2+L kind. Just as long as can fit everyone in can le) but get it as a weekend car. So that when you bring everyone out, you can do it in 1 car (save fuel). For weekdays, just go on as you have now... no car or tonpang hubby lor. I dun really know whether it may work out to be cheaper this way anot. Coz you muz rem you work in CBD. Parking + CBD can kill liaoz.

For me, my dad bought a bigger car (Wish - 7 seater - 1.8L). I will continue to live without a car and borrow his car or go out with them or take public transport. That way, I dun wipe out my savings coz muz pay for maid as well. Hubby &amp; I currently tonpang my dad to work coz we live near my parents and work near my mum's office.

Eh got any good webby for Christian baby names?

Alibaba:
The only one I know is at the hotel that used to be called New Park Hotel. Now called Plaza Park Royal on Kitchener I think. Min 3 pax. Dunno how much.

kash,
Dun intend to get a maid at tis moment.I rather send my gal to sch where she can learn n play with frens.For my #2,i might look after till when he turns 6 mths if my mum nt going to take tis time or might find a nanny near me.
Still considering it......

Jus like u.. i used to rush to pick up my gal after work.Rch home 8+ liao.. By the time i hav my free time is 11+... So tiring!
And got to wake up at 5am everyday to prepare b4 sending her to my mum's place.Haiz...

fifi: i heard some mummies saying tt if u don't pour boiling liquid into the bottles containing BPA, it's all right. but i thot since the evenflo bottles r certified BPA free &amp; abt same price as normal bottles, i might as well get those. for my first son, we were v ignorant &amp; just buy any old tollyjoy bottles. but i spent so many years trying to conceive this 2nd pregnancy, i really don't want to jeopardise their health. anyway avent bottles r the most popular nowadays &amp; they r just as expensive as bpa free bottles.

wtan: ok, u r right tt city hall is more central. maybe they have hokkaido crab there.

lovedogs: my kiam husband is now saying tt we don't really need anor car. he said he'll try to persuade his towkay to change his car to estima. *pengz* &amp; i went to tell my mother already &amp; make her so excited. cheh. but if i do manage to change his mind, i think i will take guru Bear's advice &amp; get a saloon instead. cos the CNG cylinder does take up a lot of space.

enne: u r really on a roll w names this week!

happy-Yup. my boy is 16mths, he likes to make friend with chae chae one. hehe..

kash-4 my case, I go my MIL hse makan dinner then bring my boy home.. we lived near but I normally reached home ard 830-9pm.. after that need to make my boy sleep liao.. Yeah I seldom go out after work.. unless 'deposit' my boy at my MIL hse which I always 'bu she de' coz I feel so much time spent at work, at nite I wanna spend the time with him lo...

Good morning ladies…

Wahseh so many posts to read, just finish reading a feel posts now feel headache liao, am so lousy..haiz..

Hui,
pls update mine, I’m expecting a Minnie, EDD still the same. Dr said baby a bit fat, weight 335g at wk20, I tot this is the average weight?

Bladder,
my hb is going hk next week to attend some meeting, so I will ask him to buy some baby stuff. May I know which area and shop that u brought baby’s cloths from? Thanks.

Enne and alibaba,
me stayed in yishun, just next to sembawany..yeah. Where do u gals work? I work in yishun also. At first I was with Dr Adrian too, but request to change to Dr J wong, as I feel more comfortable with female Gynea.

Jenn,
I also hv rashes during 1st tri , dr said it is due to hormone change, and the sweat. So she ask me not to scratch, always keep body dry and change cloth often whenever I sweat. After few weeks the rashes just disappear le.

happy: clark as in clark kent (superman)? then the chinese name can be chao ren!

fifi: i definitely won't drive the 2nd car to work. mostly wld be left at home for my mum to ferry the kids around. i wld probably only drive during weekends. besides, it is so convenient for me to come to work. presently i take scheme b bus which is only $1.10. cheaper even than mrt. &amp; sit comfortably all the way.

wah, your dad really loves u hor? upgraded his car purposely for u. my dad is all talk only. tt day, a new devt started marketing near his home called shelford suites. piangz, so ex, i think the cheapest unit is $1 mil plus. he suggested to my mum tt they help us to buy one so tt we can move near them. but when my husband went to visit him last week, he had clean forgotten. men in my family...

mummy-hihi I worked Tampines ler.. hehe.. I opp frm u.. I am more comfy with male doctors.. coz when small I ever visited a 'fierce' female dentist.. frm then on.. I try to avoid female dentist and now for gynae I also prefer male.. I feel more gentle ba.. keke.

happy-I like superman but I don't like his name Clark Kent ler.. else I would name after my fave superhero.. 2 bad..

My dad upgraded his car coz even now, we often bring my cousins out and his normal car cannot fit all in. So he decided to upgrade a bit. He calculated that it does not cost him more for each month installment so its only some of the cash for the downpayment. Both him and my mother love children and are happy to bring kids to play at parks, walks at the resevoirs, etc. So with the new car, we can do all these more. But I agree, he loves me.

happy,

how old will ur #1 be when #2 arrives? I do not intend to send my #1 to childcare until she can talk leh...else kenna bullied also dunno... i am hoping to get 3 mths unpaid leave. if everything works out as planned, I can look after #2 until 6 mths before I go back to work. By then, #1 will be 2 years old, and i can consider sending her to CC. I need a maid mainly to help me handle housework. my hb &amp; I both are very lousy and lazy to do housework. now i have part time maid who comes once a week but still, the floor is constantly dusty and hair all over leh... so i need a maid for this purpose i feel.

Enne,

my hb &amp; I hardly eat at my mum's place coz we do not like her cooking! hahahaha...find it boring loh... so normally eat nearby before going up. i can understand how u feel... i can't even bear to deposit my gal at my mum's place during weekends so that i can go for movie wif hb... coz weekends only 2 days and super fast over... really need to spend as much time with them coz they grow so fast leh.... missed it...gone liao hor...

my mum stays in bedok... althou bedok and tampines do not sound far, but with traffic lights, sometimes takes 20 mins drive. smooth traffic (green light mostly), then 15 mins. but the timing is only from carpark to carpark hor...still go the time walking up and down, straping her in car seat, removing her from car seat, wearing her shoes etc... hiaz.... we wish we could stay nearer but that time, resale flats in bedok were soooooo expensive and OLD!!! and coz me &amp; hb not entitled to any form of 1st timer or near parent subsidies... so i just can't see why i shd pay $400K for a 38yr old 5 room flat in Bedok.

olwen,

wah! ur hb so good boss provides him car? If estima it is really HUGE!!! can really fit everyone u think? U will need 3 car seats thou... wif ur boy, and strollers, i think no more extra passenger too...

Gd morning mummies!

Nov MTBs first gathering: buffet - Straits Kitchen/ Vienna?
Date: 11th/18th/25th Jul

1) Olwen
2) Bear
3) Minkybear
4) Peanut(?)
5) Blessed mum
6) Jo
7) Alibaba
8) Yoyosan
9) Jenn
10) Vincy
11) wtan - vote for 18th
12) cookieoreo

I think buffet might be gd lah.. don't have to specifically go for a buffet with crabs. Heehee.. as long as the food gd can liao. Gimme more suggestions! If ur partners and kids wanna come along, just add them to the list.

Fifi, we can always chat next wk.
I will be more free since the whole lab is away for a field trip.. no govt! haha...

Lovedogs, how abt bringing ur hb and ur gal along?

Wah, talking abt names ah. Hb and i tried to find some names last night. still cannot find any gal's name leh. we are crap at gals' names...

Re: milk bottles
I am still at a loss at which brand to buy. i used to think that every brand is the same!

Enne, u very free today? wanna join us for the buffet?