(2008/11) November 2008

Ladies, i have problem with leakage when i sneeze and cough. Even when i wear pantyliner, it will smell soon. so embarassing. now i had to change panty liner often and empty bladders often. so mafan. Any of you gals got the same prob?

dreamyjo, I read that leakage is due to weakening of pelvic floor. Doing some pelvic tilt and kegels exercise will help to strengthen.

dreamyjo, regarding leakage.. Not a problem for me (yet). I tink it is common problem for preggies.. A pregnant fren complained to me abt it too. Not sure if pelvic floor exercise will improve t muscles down there not?
U should ask your gynae abt it.

Thanks for the welcome! Woah you all are really very active..hee I must log in more frequently then!

Hi Enne, Jenn, yup...I see that TMC is quite common here! Haa yah, Jenn, mabbe will see you :p
I just went to TMC for my detailed scan on last Sat and gynae will go thru the results with me this Sat. Finally confirmed it's a boy, coz we were told was a bb girl at abt 3.5 mths. :p
Also signed up for the pre-natal classes - with Mrs Wong too! My 1st class will be on 24 Jul, Thurs.

Hi jo, when I was at ParentCraft, the lady also said I can only go for July or Aug classes, coz at first I wanted Sat classes but Mrs Wong Sat classes all booked for July/Aug. She told me Sep classes is too late for me coz my EDD early Nov. Not sure if that's the reason why she didnt let you know the dates!

ladies, during confinement, my MIL tend to add herbs and alcohol to the food cos she says its good for body , but I read that shld not consume alcohol when breastfeed leh... as it will reduce the milk production and not good for bb as well??

maggie, tryin to get the no. of ppl goin for the trial with bear n me this sat. so tat can call the lady at the yoga place to let her knw hw many of us to expect by end of the week. she will place the mats for us. for the class, just bring your water bottle if you like and wear comfortable clothing

dreamyjo, olwen,

please let me know when u all meet for lunch. no problem if it is in amoy or tanjong pagar coz i can take a train down. juz 1 stop only.

olwen,

i have been driving my jazz for almost 4 years (even before i got married!). was good and fuel economy. however, now with bb 2, i find it too small and juz bought a civic. been driving it for 2.5 weeks now. As I park in OUB Centre, am rather worried about the narrow turns as compared to the jazz time where it was smaller and easier. I agree with Jo that the Jazz boot is small leh...my peg perego goes in not much space liao..now with civic, it is more spacious... juz my 2 cents worth that you may consider MPV as u r expecting triplets...the stream is pretty value for money actually. It was about 2K cheaper than civic when we were at kah motors testing drive that time... go for test drive and buy something that suit your family needs....

Re : facial

do u ladies still go for facial now? any machines which we must tell them not to use ?

Hi Glad_gal, u got to wait for Hui to update you on the chart. havent seen her around this two days actually. hope she is fine.

Ya we got lots of hyper actives here.. haha hope you enjoy our company. heehee..

Lilian, it's impt that u start doing kegal exercise to prevent leakage problem now since u already start to have this problem. Coz it usually gets worse after delivery.

dreamjo: try to do the pelvic floor exercises to strengthen the pelvic floor lor... shld help with leakage.

olwen: consider the toyota wish? my dad juz got that to fit all of us in. Its supposed to be quite fuel efficient & we feel its more spacious than the stream.

JJmom... Not me lah. Shd b dreamyjo.

My hubby also keep reminding me to do t exercise. I request him to do it together with me. hee...
Ok Ok... Lets all do it now!

Bear: Can do me a favour, you have the 2008 PIS right? Yours is backpack or shoulder or metro? Can you help me check the measurements of the box and the weight of the whole thing? Thanks.

Baby Mall Online: Anyone buying things from there?

Hi ladies. busy day for me.

Olwen, it depends why u want the car for. if u want to just ferry urself rather than a family car, i would advise u to get the Kia Picanto. Although Honda is a gd car (i drive a Civic), i find that if u want to just ferry urself around, then investing in a Honda is not really worthwhile. Partly bcos Honda cars insurance is much higher than other Jap brands and their parts are also more ex. The Kia Picanto is surprisingly low in fuel consumption, going abt 15-17km/L. frens who drove the Jazz told me its abt 14-16km/L. so it really depends on u.

Dreamyjo, ok! have fun in ur prenatal yoga class!

Re: Shipping using Vpost
There is a link at Vpost for u to estimate the cost of ur package. I checked it for the Medela PIS. it cost abt SGD$100 to have it shipped over. I think Hackleyhme gives free shipping in US internally right? so u just need to get them to ship to the Vpost add in Portland and then pay a $100 to ship it to S'pore.

Joyce, my nipples are sore!! tot supposed to go away liao?

Glad_gal and Mummy, I dun have ur particulars for our Nov MTB list. please email me ur real name, nick, hp no., DOB (minus birth yr if u not comfy), email/msn and ur residential location. Email to [email protected]

Wah $100 to ship back? I tot about $60+ only... Their forumla for counting shipment so complicated de... need size and weight. Like that I might as well ask my friend to ship for me... then I can buy other stuff from US too hahahha.

Oh yah, my residential area is Redhill.

dreamyjo,
I heard tat my co will be moving out of telok ayer due to the increasing rental. Now also sourcing out for cheaper alternative but I guess we will still be in the central area.

Re: Cars,
My hubby and I are driving Honda Jazz. The engine is much quieter compared to hyundai. If you are travelling long distances by express ways, the fuel consumption is efficient. If you are travelling normal roads, it is ok. No idea for picanto. Ever since I'm preggie, hubby don't allow me to drive so i became passenger

Bear,
Yes, honda car insurance is ex. We paid abt 1.6k+ for 1 year, just renewed.

Re: Facial
I'm still continuing my facial once per mth. I hv told my beautician about pregnancy. She skip the m/c and tapping of shoulders.

glad_gal, i guess thats the reason why they didnt tell mi abt Sept class cos my EDD is 8/Nov.

mosh, heard cannot take alcohol if breastfeeding. But older pple usually cook "mi jiu chicken" during confinement. Isnt it contradicting? :p

Used to drive for a short period of time after getting my license few yrs back. But after a period w/o car, I got no guts to drive again. I'm so timid.

yen,

ur insurance for the jazz is really ex. I paid only $800plus last yr for the jazz. Do not stick to kah motor insurance company after the 1st year. u can go shop ard for cheaper and better quotes.

lovedogs,
We did source around but don't seem to find any cheaper ones. We enquired AIG but is quoting us $2k+. Which co motor insurance did you use? $800+ only?? This is our 2nd year, shit, just renew last mth with Kah Motor again. I think they are using AXA if I remember correctly. My hubby colleague is driving Nissan Latio and he also pays $800/900+ only.
m/c=machine

yen,

dun go back kah motor. after my first obligatory year with kah, 2nd yr onwards i stick to Royal Sunalliance. My family's 2.4L accord i also convert to royal sunalliance was about 1.1K only. nvm, next year remember to source ard. I remember my colleague gave me this citibank lobang where the officer will source for u the cheapest. AXA is one of the most expensive. I now also stuck with Kah AXA for the 1st yr for this new civic for 1.8K! wanna cough blood but once i hit the next renewal, i will call up royal sunalliance for quote liao...

oh, i juz went for facial they still use machine on me leh...in fact trying to promote me to sign up some O2 oxygen thingy machine but i did not sign up. how abt those machine where they say is to help to make the "essence" penetrate ur skin? can use?

Wow, alot to catch up w u gals!

I'm bac fm busy settling in my new home, finally! Can't get used to just having hubby & me at home. Feel v lonely & sad comparing with staying w my sis's family before. Still havn't unpack all stuff & too tired to do all at 1 go.

Mothercare: Bought a belly belt extension to go with my normal pants. Found that maternity pants seems to be too loose. I jus love wearing pants. Any other good suggestions?

Yen, I have stopped going facial completely as my package includes m/c treatment, quite a waste if I use it without m/c.

lovedogs,
Thanks. I will tell my hubby so that we remember to ask quotation with Royal Sunalliance next year!

Not so sure abt this. Is it a hand held machine and for putting "an peel" onto the face? I'm still using that. My beautician says some machine can, some cannot. Then less poking cos the "wound" won't be able to heal so fast due to pregnant.

Nikki,
That's true but you can check with your beautician. If your facial includes diamond peel, better don't do. I've not started to wear maternity pants from Mothercare cos too loose, like pajamas pants with draw strings.

Re:Facial,
Since we are talking abt facial, my gynae says CANNOT apply acne cream if we have pimples cos most acne creams contain "retin A". Not sure if I've spell correctly.
I heard abt the O2 machine thingy, they say can do even when pregnant or can put at tummy area for baby. I'm not sure how safe is it and anyway I'm planning for baby that time so I didn't sign up too. :>

Yen,

is that so? i remembered last preg i asked my gyane can i apply pimple cream like oxy and he said yes leh... so now i am applying oxy for my breakouts... hope it will be ok....

how much they charge u for the O2 package? can u remember? Juz now that place was telling me that normal price is $380 *FAINTZ*.... now promo at 50% for $190 saying very worth it etc... but i still didn't sign up...hahahaa...

Yen,
For safety precaution, I just do my DIY facial at home, twice weekly scrub, once a month mask. I think you are referring to retinol or retin A, read it somewhere that we can't use products containing them. Btw, have u done yr DS with Dr Wong? My appt for DS this Thurs. Hope everything goes well.

Breast pump: Looks like some of the mummies here already buying, but I heard fm my gf it's betta to buy at a later stage as she couldn't produce breast milk and the pump was left unused.

Yen, Lovedogs, actually it depends on wat the insurer provides. I think AXA gives u free car or a certain amt money for everyday u don't have a car if ur car is under repairs. So cannot just see premiums. Must see the things they cover etc.
I used to be with AIG.. quite gd coverage. I will prob move cos i dun quite like AXA.

Re: Pimple creams
Yes, Retin-A cannot be used if u are preggie. Oxy is fine. the main ingredient there is benzolyic acid (or something).

I dun even do facial liao.. nv had the habit anyway.. once wedding over i stopped completely.. haha..

Nikki, send me ur details pls? real name, nick, hp no., DOB (minus birth yr if u not comfy), email/msn and ur residential location. Email to [email protected]. i m doing a list for the Nov Mtbs.

bear,

yup, the royal sunalliance included that as well
it was the best deal that the officer from citibank sourced for me :p that amt was with 20% NCD though... without shd be abt 1K.

luckily u assured me oxy is fine
thanks... i also hardly do but wanna give myself a "break"...and i do it during my lunch break... i can then fall asleep during the facial :p

Welcome glad!
Our thrend is v active.I hardly catch up with the postings too even though i log in almost everyday :p

Lovedog,
i still do my facial every mth.Think is fine to use the m/c that help to make the "essence" penetrate our skin.My beautician use tat too and she said is Ok ley.

olwenlim,
I drive honda jazz at sin.I love this car coz of fuel consumption is efficient.It realli oso depend if u are a heavy footer.I can hit 15Km/L while my bro hit the most 12km/L onli. Agreed that honda car insurance is really v exp.I paid 1k+ for it.

Bear,
Can you resend the list to me? I did not receive ley.Thanks!

lovedogs,
I didn't ask abt oxy but Dr Wong only says watch out for retin A in acne creams. If your gynae says ok, shld be ok. The rest of the normal facial wash, foam, cleansing should be ok.

I cannot remember the price for O2 pkg. That was last yr..Hehee..I remember is ex even after the discount so I didn't sign up. Shld be $100-200 range per treatment. If I will to take up the pkg, will be $1000-$2000. $190, I would considered ex.

Oops, me 2.
Normally, I fall asleep during facial, esp with the smooth music, dim lights, air-con and will start to zzzz.

nikki,
Wow, you are so hardworking. My scrub is supposed to be weekly if I remember.:p My unopened face mask is still lying in my fridge. Lazy. My face is ok except when there's 1 or 2 pimples residing once a blue moon. I only hate my dark circles. Hv used cheap and ex eye creams but none help, like panda.

Yes, you are right, I'm referring to retinol or Retin A.

Lots of things to be done for newly moved hse, unpack slowly, unless u are planning for house warming.

My DS is tomorrow (wed). It has been a long wait esp when we get to see Dr Wong once a month. So I will be missing tomorrow.
Hope everything is well. Take the opportunity to rest. Backache and active bb @ nite keeps me awake.

Re:Breast pump,
I've a passed down auto Medela breast pump from my colleague. So glad that I got alot of pass down baby stuff from my colleagues.

bear,
Yup, need to compare the coverage.

glad_gal:
Hee hee. Which part of Redhill are you at?

lovedogs:
YOu shld be careful and ask them not to use machines on you ba. Dunno wad effect it has but my beautician also mentioned something about not using machines on pregnant women. She has more than 30 years experience in this field and is involved in training beauticians at various spas in Singapore. So I think if she mention it, probably got reason.

nikki, yen:
I am using yoga pants. Elastic kind with drawstring. Lolx. Lucky my office not strict with dressing. I save a lot of money. Use those $9.90 yoga pants from Carrefour and simple tops. Save money. Heehee.

nikki:
Normally people advise that its better to buy after delivery so you know whether you got enuff milk or not. But some others told me that if we are able to latch/pump all the way from 2 hrs after delivery and empty our breast every 2-4 hrs, its supposed to help increase the supply and help us to successfully BF for a longer period. So, I intend to buy the pump before delivery. I decided on the PIS (order from US). Now only is which way to ship back is the most cost effective. I am oso considering getting the milk bottles from Medela so am calculating if I save money or will it end up making me pay GST on my pump. Oh and the pump got different bags. I can't decide which is better. Lolx.

I still continue to use my Clinique pimple gel when I have bad pimples. Didnt know tat there are some products to be avoided.

If you are interested to order Blue Egg Milk Bags, let me know

Am consolidating orders now..

If interested, pls PM me...Thanks

Intro on Blue Egg Breastmilk Storage Bags:

They are pre-sterilised and meant to ease the transport and storage of your precious breastmilk. These milk bags are designed with zip lock feature and enable easy sealing. It does not require wire-ties, additional clips or rubberbands. The self standing feature also make it easier for you to store in your freezer upright and helps save the storage space. You can also indicate your name and date/time on the milk bag that you have expressed before you store in the freezer. This breastmilk storage bags can also be an ideal gift for new mothers to encourage breastfeeding!! Try it out today

Features:

Pre-Sterilized
Freezer Safe
Easy Sealing
Leak Proof
Capacity storage up to 250ml (8oz)
Broad base to enable self-standing
Double Layered
FDA approved material used (100% safe)

Will advise payment mode once orders are confirmed.

You can either opt for postage or self collect at designated meetup points

so busy today that i didnt had time to log in since morn and there's already so many posts!!!

peachypeach,
have u booked e GlenE hospital tour? its on every tues 12pm or thurs pm. am waiting for hubby to confirm when he's free to go with me. i still hv let the clinic know if i want to book single or double bedded.

Facials:
i have not gone for facial for a loooong time. i used just do mask once a week at home, but been pretty lazy since preggie. gota get it started again. using e Kose mask (the black one).

Hi Fifi,

PM you!

Hmm I also havent gotten the breast pump, but shld be getting electric one. Seems Medela is a very popular brand, but the whole set is really exp! So far, havent bought anything for the baby yet lol...my sis in law might pass me a cot. But for the stroller and playpen (?), prob will need to start scouting around.

Yen, Keep us posted on your DS

Glad:
I got cot from my aunt. Clothes will also get from my aunt. I bought a stroller, car seat and steriliser liao. Heehee. The main big item left is the pump lor.

Lovedogs, Yen, ok will take a look at Royal Sunalliance. Funny leh, if the coverage is the same why are they so cheap? my NCD is 30% liao... so shd have more discount. heh!

Re: facial products
I did read that some facial products like salicyclic acid shdn't be used. there is an article on Babycentre that talks abt the skin care products that u shd avoid. Currently i m using very simple stuff. just clean and clear facial wash.. too lazy to make myself look gd. hahaa..

Re: Nov MTB list
I will wait till Thurs to send it out, just in case there are some more mummies that wanna gimme their particulars. Think i dun have Nikki's and Cookieoreo's.
the list i sent out the first time is not complete.

Fifi, ya i checked the Vpost amt.. it is abt $96 to send it back. heard from frens that sending over from US might be cheaper. so u might as well ask ur fren from US to check the rates for u.
May be some of the mummies here that wanna get the Medela PIS from US can share postage with u?

Yen, gd luck for ur DS tmr! do update us ok?

Time for me to get gg.. very exhausted today.. dunno why...

Bear:

Wow the vpost amt so much. I tot about $60 only. I anyhow try 40cm by 32cm by 24 cm and 5kg. Wad parameters you used?

US postal for 5kg will be about $92 also.

Ooh I managed to chat with the Hackleyme officer. So for those who are intending to get the PIS from them,

They pack the pump and ship in US using UPS Ground. The size of the box used is 18x12x14 inches. The weight of the pump is approx 9.4 pounds.

Using this info, vpost shipping (based on volumetric weight and weight) will be S$89(assuming no discount code. If use UOB 12% code will be S$78) & US Postal Service Priority Mail Parcel (based on weight) will be approx S$92.

Note that if we use vpost with no discount code, the cost of the pump + the shipping will exceed S$400 and hence we would be liable for GST. If use UOB discount code, we just nice make it below $400 if we dun buy insurance.

Comments?

Oh forgot to mention. The size given is estimated using the Metro bag (bigger compared to shoulder). If Shoulder bag with no other accessories purchased, shipping by vpost would be less coz smaller box (about s$52 after 12% discount). Tmr I calculate more than post my whole analysis of the prices.

Olwen,dreamyjo,
Next week will be fine with me.

Dreamyjo,
I'm having leakage problem also. As per Dr Gondon Lim's book, about 60% of pregnant woman will develop stress incontinence. It will usually worse with subsequent pregnancies and in the later stages of pregnancy and will usually improve after delivery.

Seems like most of you have sign up for different types of classes. I told my hubby about it but he said not necessary. So sian..

To him, most of the things like stroller, bb cot is not a must. So i don't even bother to check.

Jenn,
Not to worry, my colleague used to have rashes also and it go away after delivery. For myself, I don't have rashes but my breast and tummy area are very itchy.

Hui,
Hehe. think I have never give you my particular in the 1st place.

Nick: Snnowy
Edd: 25 Nov
Hospital: Mt A
Gynae: Dr Goh

morning hui,
wats for ur brekkie this morning??=P

i had a good nites' sleep after a power walk yesterday evening followed by a very late dinner of chicken porridge and popiah.hee..

Morning everyone!
Ya Hui where you MIA to? been looking around for you. ya got two to update i think. glad_gal just join us too.

By the way are you interested to join us for a trial yoga class this saturday?

Yen, Have fun with the scan