(2008/10) Oct 2008

Mint,
Ok. Will pack for Ken to bring.
But school started already.
So between 11-2.30pm is quite crowded. Be prepared to wait if u are visiting at lunch time.

xy,
haha! Timing just right. i can only be there after 2.30pm. Need to send regina to school first. Thanks much.

I've been busy doing a cross country move because my husband got head hunted. We're finally fully moved in now. Just need to unpack more boxes and throw away some stuff. We downsized from almost 3000 sq feet to about half the previous size. Had to throw and give away alot of barang.

Anyway, will be back in Singapore in July and August. Would love to meet up for a playdate if there are any. We leave August 30th so will be missing the birthday bash.

<font color="aa00aa">argh! so angry!

Received a call from the child care ctr. my dear Regine gave her classmate a "love bite" on the shoulder! they fought over some blocks during playtime. this girl is going to get whack by me tonight.

icylemon,
what a cute way of putting it- love bite. heehee! don't whack her lah. maybe the kid asked for it leh?

xy,
just collected my cookies. thanks for the arrangement. just to kpo, whose big bag of cookies is awaiting collection?

saxo,
its not this thurs.. its nxt thurs.. no plans yet.. how does waraku @ marina sq sound?
we're also meeting this sat.. 10am at jbcg.. wanna join us there too?

R&amp;Rmum,
Wah... scary hor...

Nowadays, Marcus will throw tantrums at shopping malls when we dun do things his way. Then we will hide and peep at a corner. If in HK i do this, he might have been taken away liao.

Reviving BD Bash

Mona,
Great. Now now... let's try to set the date.
30Aug (Hari Raya Tue), 3rd/4th sep, 9th/10th Sep??

3rd mass BD Bash:

1. eelyn (sep + beginning of nov ok)
2. buffy (Early to mid Sept OK, beginning Nov ok too)
3. XY (30Aug (Hari Raya Tue), 3rd/4th sep, 9th/10t Sep)
4. mint
5. joanne
6. jjmom
7. jelly
8. mona (any date ok)

Venue: to check, we going ahead with Mona's?

Date: Can you ladies please place the dates preferred next to your name?

Theme/activites: anyone?

BD gift exchange: $30

3rd mass BD Bash:

4. mint
5. joanne
6. jjmom
7. jelly (any date ok)
8. mona (any date ok)

Reviving BD Bash

Mona,
Great. Now now... let's try to set the date.
30Aug (Hari Raya Tue), 3rd/4th sep, 9th/10th Sep??

3rd mass BD Bash:

4. mint
5. joanne
6. jjmom (3rd/4th sep, 9th/10t Sep)
7. jelly (any date ok)
8. mona (any date ok)

<font color="0000ff">3rd Bday Bash

Date: 30Aug (Hari Raya Tue), 3rd/4th sep, 9th/10th Sep??
looks like most ppl indicate mid sep ok.. shall we fix it on 10 Sep?

4. mint
5. joanne
7. jelly (any date ok)
8. mona (any date ok)

(am ok to go ahead.. others pls indicate - eelyn)

Theme/activites:
- http://www.kookyart.com.sg/services_party_sg.htm
- http://bigbearcamping.com.sg/1/programs/kids-birthday-program
- http://www.singaporeforkids.com/isadora_birthday.htm

have contact the above.. will update on costs.

Food: Kenteen??</font>

oh wow.. just wrote to a professional storyteller too.. her rates r pretty ex.. her reply -

Thank you for your enquiry.
Just to clarify, my professional rates start at S$350 for a 30-minute session of my time.
For children of such a young age (3 years) I usually inform parents ahead of time that they most likely will not have the attention span to justify a full 30-minutes! As such, parents/clients need to be present during the session to manage/handle/troubleshoot their own children to minimize disruption/disturbance and also to participate in the actual storytelling.
I do not use books or read aloud. I tell stories with some props and puppets appropriate to the situation..

guess if we hv more kiddos can bring down the cost.. any thoughts?

<font color="0077aa">thanks for checking Eelyn... Heng, I change C's BD party theme!

But yes, $350 is way too high for a 30mins gig... Instead, why dont we get the kids to come in fairy tale characters and then think of what to do from there?

I remembered Mint's R was Little Red Riding Hood for her school I think. LOL</font>

buffy, xy,
yea its really ex just for story telling..

buffy,
yea tts a great idea!

fyi,
another party reverted..
1. Baby Bear - $550
Interactive story telling
Dance and Sing Along
Games
Cake Cutting
Packages include;
15x Goodie Bags
15x Themed - Cups, Plates, Hats, Serviettes, Tablecloth, Standard Banner
2x Party hosts

think this is also pretty costly. the only one i thought was quite fair was kookyart.. any thoughts on it? otherwise am happy to just dress kaitlyn in a character too :p

actually, let's have a diy birthday bash! apart from the food which i think we can cater, i am happy to provide some simple scrapping/art supplies or activity for the kids. am thinking of making these diy photo frames. i can bring a lappie and selphy printer and we can print the photos we take on the bday bash and frame them up and take them home as a door gift...

Mrs Pung,
I like ur idea.

As for food... erm... maybe potluck?
My Kenteen cannot lah. We dun have the catering trays etc.

I can bring quesadillas.

Calling YPG, join us for b'day bash. U bake cake can? Yummy!!!

Preferred date for me: any week in sept. Btw, 9 Sep is a Friday. Is it a public holiday?

Eelyn,
Wah just to tell stories is $350?!? I also want the job. Pay me instead. Haha!

I like jelly's idea about the photo frame. I have the Polaroid camera so can take pics. Then no need to lug the printer.

Xyz,
Catering trays can rent. Heehee! Or just buy those foil trays from supermarket. But I'm ok with potluck as well.

jelly,
great idea!

tink only im the only lazy mummy here looking for 3rd party to conduct activity. :p through this search, i found someone that i may engage for kaitlyn's party.. haha!

xy,
am cool with potluck too.. tot can support ken..

mint,
yea tell me abt it.. some dramatic story telling earn $350..

buffy,
woo.. wat was the original theme and what isit now? kpo. :p

3rd Bday Bash

Date: 30Aug (Hari Raya Tue), 3rd/4th sep, 9th/10th Sep??

4. mint
5. joanne
7. jelly (any date ok)
8. mona (any date ok)
9. ypg (any date ok)

Theme/activites:

Food: Kenteen??

Have a crazy Term 3 week 1. But suddenly want to come here, then saw my name. Hehe...

XYZ,

I dun think my cake will taste nice. Long time never bake liao.

DIY-birthday bash: I like it. I can go think of Chinese drama that the kids can act if u want. Or tell chinese story with all the mummies in action. Haha...

Oops... my bad, must have saw the wrong date.

3rd Bday Bash

Date: 30Aug (Hari Raya Tue), 3rd/4th sep, 10th/11th Sep??

3. XY (30Aug (Hari Raya Tue), 3rd/4th sep, 10th/11th Sep)
4. mint
5. joanne
6. jjmom (3rd/4th sep, 10th/11th Sep)
7. jelly (any date ok)
8. mona (any date ok)
9. ypg (any date ok)

Theme/activites:

Food : Potluck

<font color="0077aa">eelyn: originally was mothergoose lor! current theme? i rather not jinx it. i had so many issues confirming the cupcakes for this man. are you having a do for K?</font>

<font color="0077aa">evil me but now that we are planning for mass BD, I suddenly recall *ahem* lili_fc and the first BD bash... :p Anyone else remembers the saga?</font>

buffy,
ooh.. we hv not decided on a theme.. lil miss fussy keeps changing her mind. guess we'll pin down one by in another mth.. now bz planning kayla's bday.. but this one's ez.. since she doesnt knw better yet :p i'll hv my hands full nxt time when they both want things their own way.

i recall some drama bout someone backing out, not paying or somethin like tt.. is this it?

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+0">3rd Bday Bash </font></font>

<font color="0000ff">Date: 30Aug (Hari Raya Tue), 3rd/4th sep, 10th/11th Sep??
<font color="0077aa">looks like most ppl indicate mid sep ok.. shall we fix it on 10 Sep? </font>

1. eelyn (sep + beginning of nov)
3. XY (30Aug (Hari Raya Tue), 3rd/4th sep, 10th/11th Sep)
4. mint
5. joanne
6. jjmom (3rd/4th sep, 10th/11th Sep)
7. jelly (any date ok)
8. mona (any date ok)
9. ypg (any date ok)

- Eelyn OK

Theme/activites:
- DIY photoframe
- DIY drama class
- anymore ideas??

Food : Potluck

btw, anyone can do face painting? we can do that the bday bash!

i secretly suspect that Oct 2008 thread mommies are probably the ones that still organises bday bash for our kids... lol

had a huge scare earlier when i went out with R. we went out to view the dayspring kindy and i was at the main road waiting for a taxi. stood there for about 20mins then i started getting dizzy. lucky the bus stop was just there and i was able to sit down and R was being good and just stood near me. i almost blacked out. good thing it passed after 10mins. but really had a big scare cause i was alone with R.

Xyz,
Am ok with PM timing too. Or have it on Sunday am?

Joanne,
Weather is pretty warm. Better bring an umbrella along for some shade.

xyz,
yup. i've been eating well lately. think i've been eating a lot of sugar too. been eating a lot of sweet snacks these few days.

buffy
I do! Heh, and I remembered being mean queen. Ahem.

Joanne
I have a friend who is due in August and she was literally having fainting spells every other day. Scary! According to her gynae, it's very normal for pregnant women to have fainting spells. Ugh, is it? I never experienced and didn't hear anything here too.