(2008/10) Oct 2008

xy
i also concern cos rebekah also has some pronunciation issue as well. but i say no for marcus. but but, just watch his progress. it should be gone by 3... i think the benchmark age is 3yo. after that perhaps evaluation needed.

the article is quite good leh... but i feel bad sharing bcos i might had given some of us some stress over our kid's speech development...

Jelly,
I chanced upon this FUN WITH TOTS at SK library last year. But i missed the dates, when i saw the poster, only left last session, so didn't sign up.

I think this FUN WITH TOTS classes are on rotational basis among the libraries. So SK one maybe over or we have to wait for the next.

There are story telling which are FOC. But, more for 4 yo and above. Wonder if i bring Marcus there, will we get refused at the door.

I recall when i was young (4-7yo), my mum would drop my sis and i at Toa Payoh library and attend these story telling session. It was good fun!

Buffy,
http://www.youngparents.com.sg/education/speech-delays:-when-should-you-worry?

SPEECH PROBLEMS IN KIDS

Speech problems in kids may be more common than you think. Young Parents asks local experts all the questions that worry you.

How do I know if my child has a speech or language problem?
“When his speech is very unclear, words are incorrectly pronounced and he’s babbling a lot,” says speech therapist Tee Suat Chin of Little Chatterbox speech and language therapy centre. “For example, he leaves out or substitutes the sounds – ‘fish’ is ‘pish’, ‘ball’ becomes ‘all’ and ‘cup’ is ‘up’.”

If your child is still saying “pish” when he’s already 3½ years old, this is considered a delay. If he still says “boo” instead of “blue”, this is a common error in children until he is five. The “cup”/“up” error should be gone by around 2½ years, as this is not a “normal” error, whereas “fish”/“pish” is commonly heard.

“Likewise, ‘ball’/‘all’ is not a common error. Both ‘b’ and ‘k’ are early developing sounds. Most children make ‘b’, ‘p’, ‘m’ and ‘k’ in their babbling stage. You’ll notice that words such as ‘ball’, ‘car’, ‘mama’ and ‘papa’ are some first words that a child can say,” explains Suat Chin.

A child with language disorders is still using one-word sentences and mostly gestures, even at three. He is also not able to answer when asked questions, and parrots back instead. “For instance, you ask, ‘How are you?’ and he answers back, ‘How are you?’” Suat Chin adds.

As a guideline, there is cause for concern if a child over two still “cannot use oral language to communicate more than his immediate needs, and is not understood more than 50 per cent of the time,” adds Kristl Alphonso, a speech therapist at Singapore General Hospital.

What kinds of speech problems do kids have in Singapore?
A common issue is general speech and language delay, where “language is developing in the correct sequence but at a slower rate,” says Kristl. “For example, a child would normally say his first word around the age of 12 months. And by two years old, he should be putting words together. For a child who is delayed, he may only say his first word at 18 months and be able to put two words together at 30 months.”

Then there is phonological or articulation disorder, which is the “incorrect production of specific sounds that affects the intelligibility of the child’s speech,” she adds. “A child may be substituting all his ‘d’ sounds with ‘g’ sounds. So, if he wants to say, “Mummy, look at the doggy at the door”, it would sound like “look at the goggy at the goor”. If you just listened to that sentence without seeing what he was looking at, you wouldn’t know what he was talking about.”

Stuttering is another common problem. “There are disruptions in the rhythm of the child’s speech, resulting in repetitions, dragging out or getting stuck on sounds, syllables or words,” Kristl elaborates.

Finally, there is Specific Language Impairment (SLI) or the difficulty in understanding and using language in the absence of any other difficulties (for instance, low IQ). “Children with SLI may have poor vocabulary and grammar skills across languages, and may have difficulty meeting academic demands,” says Kristl. “They may score within normal range in IQ tests but have difficulty grasping the rules of language, like grammar and narrative skills.” SGH doesn’t have any statistics of children with speech problems in Singapore but, in general, speech and language delay occurs in up to 10 per cent of kids.

What causes speech delay?
“The most common causes include hearing loss, slow development or cognitive impairments (intellectual or mental impairments – for example, low IQ),” says Kristl. Other causes may include psychosocial deprivation (the child does not spend enough time talking with adults), developmental disorders (for example, autism and Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder) or elective mutism (the child just does not want to talk).

(To be continued...)

Read the March 2011 issue of Young Parents for the full story, and more expert advice and local tips to make you a better mum or dad.

buffy
i have the full article since i bought the mag. if u all free can read at the bookstore... or if you want, will scan tomorrow and send a link for u all to download...

xy
i heard abt fun w tits... actually, the library offers so many cheap and wonderful activities for our kids! i am so slow in discovering them!

Jelly,
i know abt the library... but timing always bui gam. Haiz... And Marcus does not really fancy books.

Pls scan the article to me. I just want to read... and maybe "scare" myself into being less slack and more enthu abt nurturing Marcus.

BTW, my MIL left for KL again. Some relative passed away and she insisted on going back to attend the wake. Wonder if she'll come back.

Jelly;' thanks for sharng e fun e tots link. On leave today, jus sign up n gg to central library tonight w ash. Shall share more

oh ya, let me know how much to tt to you.

Jjmom: me gg to mothercare later, let me know if you wanna
me to get anything.

Xy: oh.. Hope she comes back soon!

Jelly,
I know it's a typo but can't help but laugh at it. Fun w tits! Hahaha! Now where's r&r mum when you need her? Hahaha!

Jus for mint

Mummies you all over-imaginative ah. When I said I would stop at one, I meant it. I don't say such things in jest. No buts. Heh.

Okay don't disturby lunch at Singapore Poly now. :p

<font color="aa00aa">morning... saw my name been mentioned.... *looking at Mint &amp; Jelly*

mummies, wat there to buy in Paris? my buddy is going Paris. ask me what i want. i also dunno what i want. any good buys there??

Portable Toilet Covers

Shipment paid &amp; should arrive end this week.

1. jelly - paid/collected
2. daisy - collect on 23/3?
3. ruffles - cod/collect on 11/3
4. joanne
5. busybee - collect on 9/3?
6. vanilla - paid/collect on 9/3
7. Jolly - collect on 23/3
8. Everafter

International Ship = S$8.74/unit
Item cost = S$11.75
Total: $20.49
Pls transfer to DBS Savings Plus 0151037424

icylemon
branded bags! but i heard that prices for most branded goods went up by 20% because euro is now as strong as before so u may pay abit more compared to last year but still got savings lah!

<font color="aa00aa">beside branded bags?? i ask my friend to help me grab some longchamp bags. how abt makan de?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly, really ah. i m looking into longchamp bag. coz some ppl i know are selling ard SGD230 for 1. so i wonder if i ask my friend to get from Paris will there be any cheaper.</font>

<font color="0077aa"><font color="aa00aa">R&amp;R, def cheaper. esp if you buy LC from airport its tax free. if u buy LC from Paris shops with tax refund service also can but u need minimum purchase of 175Euro if I am not wrong. but if u buy LV sure no prob hahaaa...

Other than bags, WINE Wine wine!!!!! Cheese!!! Foie Gras! the latter how to bring back I dunno hahahaa.</font></font>

icylemon
like jjmom mentioned, but be above E$175. erm, food wise, really, if u r not into french food, then nothing to buy actually... wine, u must know what to buy lah...

<font color="0077aa">CHEESE! ALCOHOL - WINES WINES WINES! Hmmm... I cannot recall what else my bro bought man</font>

Mint, I think one set of the gingerbread man tix I passed to you contains the receipt too. Our total purchase is above $100 and those tix are purchased in Jan, so if u bring that ticket receipt to Yami yogurt u get a free cup of yogurt! enjoy! hehee.

R&amp;R – Chanel, LV, Prada … but mind you about giving the bag models to your pal: SG fashion is eons behind. So, be mindful that what we see in our stores or on the websites are already past seasons to those in-stores in Paris. My gf din know where to hide her face when she went last Dec with pics and model nos. into a Chanel store. The ever so polite Parisian said, “Mademoseille, it is now Chapter II Spring season in Paris. What you want is Chapter I Winter season”. Bleah. UNLESS you want the classic models … but this one also have issues because the Chinese go there to load up and the classics are usually OOS.

French food - Macaroons from THE PLACE:

http://www.laduree.fr/

Ruffles, aiyoh thats so embarassing! hehehee....feel for your friend. The luxury brands do move fast in terms of design. u r also right about the models being OOS. actually not only classic models, the premium designs in LV paris also has very good turn over, when I was there many of the designs in their latest catalogues are OUT, and there's a queue outside waiting to get in to buy more. they will tell you stock coming in next week, but who will wait around??? crazy right? heheee...

But R&amp;R,LC i tink quite safe bah. I helped a friend buy a specific classic model and colour and it was still available.

JJmom and Mint, the tix must have been bought between Jan and March this yr, and bought using a Mastercard, and total price must be above $100. hehee...

When u redeem ur yogurt, the receipt will be kept.

XY, alamak! so sayang. but these are to what shows? i kaypoh! I have a few cos hubby bought tix to Zhang Xue You concert! too bad the 4 tix are combined else i can have 4 more free yogurts!Eh 12 March I pass you the reciept to our Disney on Ice lah? you go and redeem that! its ok u can use it although u only have 2 tix! hehehee... Wanna? first 2000 cups only...slurp...

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly, Ruffles &amp; Daisy, any reference or website to check out the model for LC bags??</font>

3 x 55 is for magic ocean.
79 is ugly duckling.
Haha... no need lah. u go enjoy ur yogurt lah. Since u bought the tickets for me.

I still remember my sec days. I used to part-time at Yami Yogurt!

XY, ur magic ocean cannot use even if its abv $100 leh, cos u bought those in Dec right? ugly duckling i rem u also bought in Nov/Dec? they go by the transaction date, not show dates.

JJmom, we are watching on the last day, Mon I think! first 2 days tix all sold out by the time my hubby decided THIS time he must watch heeee...you going too??? I am not keen on ZXY actually...but go with him loh...

Lennie, transferred the funds to u for the portable potty seat.
Transaction Reference 6578870078 . Thanks for coordinating, when will you Mummies be meeting at Raffles city?

XY &amp; Mint, just to share that miki likes her new Elmo bottle. Glad that she likes it. It's definitely slimmer and easier to pack than the mag mag.

Portable Toilet Covers

Shipment paid &amp; arrived.

1. jelly - paid/collected
2. daisy - collect on 23/3?
3. ruffles - paid/collect on 11/3
4. joanne
5. busybee - paid/collect on 9/3
6. vanilla - paid/collect on 9/3
7. Jolly - paid/collect on 23/3
8. Everafter

International Ship = S$8.74/unit
Item cost = S$11.75
Total: $20.49
Pls transfer to DBS Savings Plus 0151037424

<font color="aa00aa">dear jelly thanks! Can I pay you direct when I collect the toilet seat from you? my two monsters have been sabo-ing me a lot recently when we go out, so i need the toilet seat pronto hahahaa... which day u free for lunch this week i meet u at ur office? I can't join u for lunch on 9 march I will be in sentosa for a team building exercise. How about Thur or Fri? at your convenience.

Mommies, anyone remember dreamysprings??
She's back in SG! she's going to deliver her 2nd baby soon. I have invited her to join us at JCBG this sat, not sure if she can make it since her bump so big now... hope she can.

jelly, wah ha ha u tempt me big time everytime. I have to always read ur post with my eyes half shut so i can block out temptations hahaaa! I just bought some ON stuff gg to collect from a friend i cannot be tempted! these are super cheap though!