(2008/10) Oct 2008

freda,
next batch might be either end-sept or oct as i will be away for a while.

Eelyn - let us know when you have popped.Hopefully you will be more successful with BF this time.

Joanne - ok, I shall look out for it.

XY - just work. Don't get too pek-chek

Jelly,
Congrats! Looking forward to bb S's photo, hee...

Eelyn,
Oops, I may be the next one, coz gynae said my bb will pop anytime in Aug.

freda,
wah u remember! yea me too.. invested in a medela freestyle this time. hope more powerful means more BM.

phtanus,
lol! oh yea... quite a few of us "lining up" to pop!!

Hi mommies! I am back from our trip to down under! how are you pretty mommies!??? weather was cold cold cold there, come back feel so hot now. kept sweating. Met dreamsprings and her lovely little girl. But I fell sick towards the end of the trip, caught a cold. drats. so now recuperating and trying to feel better so I can sort out the photos. heheh. But the trip was fun!

Jelly. CONGRATS CONGRATS!!! finally can see Baby S! Did you girls visit Jelly? does S look like R???

hey mommies. am up at this time and wondering if anyone can share w me if u had issues with short nipples. looks like from the start, nv did it occur to me my short nipples maybe the main cause of my sore nipples... and just thinking what i can do to cope with this inherent, will nv go away problem

mommies who expressed exclusively, can share with me how u did it and what ur routine was? am quite determine to give BM to BB S even if it means i cant latch him for the next 6mths... do email me if you can share your experience with me.

in fact, BB S sucks so well, it's such a pity i am the problem...

Jelly - Gd to check w Lactation Consultant if that is indeed your problem before you check out. If yes, there are stuff to help elongate / pull out the nipple for you. Think Pigeon has.

I expressed out exclusively for Vic becos she couldnt suckle very well being a premmie. The nurses told me to pump out every 2-3hrly to establish ss, and I did that continuously for a good 6mths. It worked and I had so much milk I had to donate to my lazy SIL. Then I slowly decreased the length of time. I managed to BF a good 13 mths this way and stopped only becos I became preg..if not wd hv continued. Latching is not the only way to bf your bb. I was really fixated to latch and cried when I cldnt till HB told me to pump. He said no big deal not being able to and yea.. on hind side, I wonder why I cried so much trying so hard. The only 'side effect' was that you need to plan your trips out very carefully with Sydney esp when you need to pack the milk out. Mostly, I go out for short periods of time lasting him only 1 feed cos I feel the fridge to go and all the milk packs can only keep 1 feed fresh. Din wanna risk giving a slightly stale bm. In terms of bonding, I feel no loss cos I still carry her close to me when bottle feed w bm. Dun dun stress and get upset w yrself ya?? Also, get the motilium tabs to get yr milk come faster.

For J, I may now need to pump more esp going back to work and he prefers the bottle cos flow so much faster. Haiz. Just when I thot we latch so well.

Now the early / late birds are you, me, Jolly and Christina ... hee

morn mommies

ruffles
yeah, today think i will make a trip to parent craft at TMC just to confirm this cos i am not as stressed up about the whole latching business. hubby and i already knew that in order for us to survive with 2 kids now is to take things one thing at each time and approach it with an open mind.

my milk already kick in at day 2. now day 3, i have engorgement... so i need to think fast what to do before this problem escalates and am in pain on my whole breast!

yesterday irritated by my landlord and their plants. NEA came by to inspect and they found mosquito larvae in the plants. i was shocked. before we moved in landlord assured us not to worry about the plants as they will take care of it. we never had a problem about it until now. yesterday i got a warning and a 10min lecture on dengue. i didn't really mind that cause i know he is right. so after they left i cleaned the plants and turned over the plates. spraining my back a little from lifting the heavy pot. then when i called the landlord to inform her, she had the nerve to ask me 'why got mosquito?'. what?? as if she didn't know that it's been raining and they didn't take care of their plants. now i have to take care of rianne and her plants + do housework. as if i don't have enough on my hands. when i told her that they have to come to help me lift the biggest pot as i cannot lift it myself, she told me that they will come at 9pm. waited for them till 11pm and no sign of them. woke up early today to check if they did come. don't want to get another lecture and a fine. good thing they did.

sorry mummies for the long post. just needed to vent a little.

Morning mummies.

Joanne
Why not get them to move the plants to their own place? Or better yet, remove the pans at the bottom of the pots. Dengue is no serious matter.

Jelly
Yah even there are aids for inverted nipples so seek out a lc soon. Looks like your milk supply is good.

Vanilla
For the window markers, it may be easy to be removed from *windows* but not from other surfaces, like the wall. So be careful there.

sax,
totally agree with you. i don't sleep when i see a mosquito until i've killed it cause so scared that it might bite rianne and it has dengue. yah. told my hubby last night that i would tell them to remove the plants. for now, i've turned over the pans so that it doesn't collect water.

Jelly

Go see a LC first. You might not really have short nipples. Sometimes the bb is just not used to latching well yet (the whole auroela [dunno how to spell] needs to be in the mouth, not just the nipple).

For the first 2.5 months I expressed exclusively. A bit psycho at the start so I expressed every 2 hours I think, and then each time switch on for 10 (?) mins, then rest a few mins, then switch on again, 2-3 cycles, to get more milk. I recall I had very little flow.

But if your milk has come in and flow is good, then pumping every 3 hours should be enough to maintain a good yield.

must pump, regardless! I hate hate hate hate mastisis! worst pain in my life. and I think i experienced it 5 times in 6 months. worse pain than childbirth.

Morning mummies.

Jelly, i use also have short nipples and i use the same method as Ruffles, pump exclusively for every 3 hours for the first 3 months, my bb only latch on for less than 1 mth. I tried to force bb to latch but he simply refused and can cry and cry...i have trie using the nipple shield or use the pump to length my nipples before letting bb to latch on but bb also dun want.

Just take note that the first 1 week when u only pump, the milk flow will be very slow or little. so i will pump like 30-45mins per session. But once the supply is established, the milk supply is very good!

Good luck! :p

dimple,
thanks! just hate having to worry about more things and them pretending that they didn't do anything.

jelly,
o dear. i hate engorgement. i had it on my 3rd day. both breasts! i had to rent out a pump at the hospital. took 1 full day for me to recover. then all the while had to smile and pretend that it doesn't hurt when visitors come.

<font color="aa00aa">good morning mummies.

such a nice cooling morning.

Jelly,
such weather to do confinement is the best!!

Jelly: yay, chk w e LC and yesh, usually for 2nf child, e milk ss will kick in earlier.

J used to latch v well but for e past month prefers e bottle.. I was so upset and cried too. So now have to wake up earlier to pump and feed him before sending to IFC..
During 1month, latch and then pump after that to empty breast , if exclusive pumping, 2-3 hourly. Managed to freeze bm and so now back to work I only pump once, enuff to
meet his dd, and Also cos for us, it's only me and hubby taking care if e boys, sending and fetching from IFC/CC so I need e lunch time to run errands or take a breather .
It's true .. Have to take one step at a time..
And also some lil Me time .
Happy mummy = happy baby
jia you !

Hi Daisybuttons,

Nice meeting you and your family too. It was great that you all had fun especially the kids! Not fun getting sick after holiday. Hope you get well soon!

vanilla,
I didn't get the window markers cos I have grilles at home so Regina won't be able to really draw on the windows. Saxo has replied you about it cos she bought them.

jelly,
Dimpletot is right. It's not only the nipple but the baby's mouth has to cover the whole aerola. Best to consult a LC. Better express to prevent engorgement. I developed fever because of it.

Joanne,
Tsk tsk! your landlady still had the cheek to act blur. Did you tell the NEA person that those plants are not yours?

thanks saxo and mint.. oh must abandon plan then cos if E draws on the walls, my landlord and me will flip tog...

hi jelly - my little advice - cos i am short nipple..i got brought into the idea of buying the medela shield for short nipples - it did not help me at all. E cant suck cos of his prob..so i pump exclusively for 15mths.

I learnt a trick - if u have short nipple and S can suck..use ur pump first to "suck" the nipple out.. after abt 5mnins of pump the suction will "lengthen" the nipples slightly...see if S can suck then....

for pumping... i do every 3hrly...so wake up to pump and the ma fan part is it is 2X the efforts,...pump and then need to feed bb...

my supply was low and my boy had to drink only BM cos he cant take fm...so my doc gave me motillium...which is good at keeping my ss up...

after 3mths ss will stablised... after going back work, i pump 3X in office... only after 6-7mths, i got lazy and pump 2X....

mint,
that's why i got irritated. yah. i told them. then i got scolded that it is still my responsibility since i'm living here and not them. sigh.

sax,
i haven't opened it yet. but i checked the box. there are 10 bottles inside.

hi dreamysprings, it was lovely meeting you, we must keep in touch! I am better oredi thanks! hey I really enjoyed Gold COast and Moreton island. I think those are the highlights of my entire trip, including snowy mountains too. Sydney wasn't so fun...it was a busy and tense city...

Jelly, how are you coping with confinement? weathers good for it!

<font color="aa00aa">mummies,

do you have sewing machine? portable type?

actually i m looking for 1. muz be easy to use. and maybe those small one. not those real big type of sewing machine.

any recommendations??

joanne,
better to ask the landlady to remove her plants to save you the trouble.

Icylemon,
think there's one selling on the bp.

i also so upset when i couldn't latch esp when my girl was in ICU for a week. it was a nightmare..then i got engorged...and like late at night i was at the ward with the sister nurses and they help me massage my breast, it was so painful...such a nightmare..and finally..i use cold cabbage then it wasn't engorged after 1 day after all the massage n cold cabbage..then i kept trying to pump and latch but little milk coz never latch enough..but just peservere...i also end up a lot of milk thrown away, given away...
sorry i know my story not very helpful...but just to encourage u to keep trying..

anyway...i think im going to give up the childcare...place...just got to take the risk of sticking to pcf and leaving with my parents to look after.
i spoke to childcare...its true..only 2 hour lesson, but one in morning, one afternoon..then rest of time is eat, nap, bathe, play. the only extra is musci n movement where they sing songs and dance and do some art n craft.

morning mummies

mummies any solutions for teething prob.. think shawn is hving 3 at one go which cause him to be in great discomfort and supre cranky which he eat really little (only a few mouth and thats it) even milk also drink half nia.. aiyo see liao very heart pain leh. even his fav biscuits also dun wan

Cheerbear,
I think there's really not much we can do..there's once bryan was teething and refuse to drink milk nor eat soilds..its only till night time he ate some yogurt. Sigh..he still has long way to go manz..
how many teeth does Shawn have now?

cheerbear, some mommies use teething gel.

Dimpletot's friend uses this organic teething tablet that looks quite good.
http://www.hylands.com/products/teething.php

But i have never used any. I basically just let them grow through it. give them teethers if they like. Some mommies give babies cold towels to chew too. just feed more soupy stuff so he can have nutrients....

everafter,
i also know nothing much can help him but i discover that if i apply dentinox for him b4 meals, he will at least eat abit which is better than nothing. aiyo these few days never sleep well coz he having discomfort so he din sleep well = me also never sleep well.. panda eyes liao

hmmm i think ard 11 bah if i rem correctly but he also cant speak yet. only know 3 words -- mama, gong gong (my mum super piss coz never call her but my dad) and car (his fav word.. all vehicles = car)

<font color="aa00aa">good morning mummies.

Joanne,
Sunday i m going to tiong bahru mkt. can collect the bathrobes from you?

daisy,
saw that u enjoy ur trip ya.. oh ya recover liao mah? take care

yes i am using teething gel and no shawn dun like teether despite i put in fridge to make it cold cold.

vanilla,
by 33mths? thats almost 3yrs old liao leh.. is so late one ah? anyway at this speed his teeth is growing i think very fast he will hv full set soon but of coz the price to pay is panda eyes lor.