(2008/10) Oct 2008

hiya mommies...

it's been a looooooooong time since i post here... but life has been busy n crappy! :p

anyway, i am now in urgent need of some help from some well informed mommies... my coll's niece is down with serious pneumonia... she has been in ICU at NUH since Sat and all the anti-biotics are not working... the niece have had surgery on her kidneys and lungs already.. and she is only 2 years old... :'(

based on past experiences, i've heard not so good comments about NUH... any mommies here know of any good docs / specialist whom i can refer my coll to? i can sense the worry and anxiety in my coll's msgs...

appreciate any mommies's inputs...

Thanks! thanks!

hi forest - NUH has a v good kidney specialist and another good surgeon. the kidney Specialist is Prof Yap.. the policy of NUH is no surgery unless needed... so i think if she needs it, then it is v urgent...

if she is under Prof Yap for kidney then i suggest she stays w her cos Prof yap is the best in her field.

Did she catch the pneumonia immediately after her surgery? cos the prob of ICU is super bugs... my boy caught a superbug there before... v v hard to get rid....

Vanilla,

thanks for your quick reply!

no.. she is under Assoc Prof Daniel Goh now... she actually had a high fever episode for 4-5days... then went all weak and couldnt walk... prior to that she had seen doc at Thomson 24 hr clinic, Mt A, KKH... Mt A diagnosed the pneumonia.. and referred them to either KKH or NUH, and she was sent to NUH...

the surgery to the kidneys and lungs were only done after she was down with serious pneumonia...

it is very worrying cos' she is in ICU since sat, and is not responding to any of the anti-biotics... the docs have not found out what is the virus/bacteria that caused the pneumonia either... :'(

i am trying to see if i can get some info to help my coll... in fact, the day he got to know about his niece being down with pneumonia, he was on his way to taiwan for a hol with his wife.. .they cut short their trip and is back now..

hearing what he told me, the main concern is not knowing what is wrong with the little girl... btw, have u heard of Assoc. Prof. Daniel Goh before?

hi forest - no i dont know abt Assoc Prof Daniel Goh ... i only know the kidneys specialst and the surgeon at NUH and the heart surgeon there...

u ask ur colleague if Prof Yap is in the loop on the kidneys...cos if she makes the call on the surgery then it must be needed..she is not those trigger happy doc....

hope they find out what virus/bug then they can administer the correct antibotics...

vanilla,

yeah.. hope they find out what is the problem too!

thanks for your info and help... i'll pass on the info on Prf Yap to my coll...

tks alot again for your info!

R&R mom,
ya.. i dunno how to console him actually.. but just hope to find out some info for him... tks tks!

<font color="aa00aa">Forest,
we have children of our own. we know how your colleague feels.

juz feel sad for the little girl. is ard the same age as our kid.

mint,
i see. hope she gets well soon. rianne misses her already. she saw hard rock today and she said regina. hehe.

sax,
hugs to jo. hope that it's nothing serious.

Free advertisement for Joanne! Here's a pix of kate modelling the duckie bathrobe.

Btw, size 0-3 is getting small for Kate so those of you with bigger kids might want to get the larger size.

4252514.jpg
4252515.jpg

Buffy - We have Taoshu DVD 1,2 and 3 .... Don't own any of the books. I bought the DVDs last year in Singapore. First one was bought at Kinokuniya which was more expensive than buying at Popular where I bought the subsequent ones. Not bad.... the kids think that the cartoon characters are very cute and they learn something about Chinese culture. I don't regret buying.

Dimpletot - Kate looks adorable in that bathrobe!

hi..thanks for advice..
sigh..
ok..problem is...my dad wants maid, mum doesn't. and im not keen on maids. hubby says...NO choice coz my parents are old.

i didn't get into little skoolhouse altho i should coz im FIRST on the wait list.
but i did get into cherie hearts at boonlay which is nearer my dad's place.

so its really tough, im reluctant for her to go childcare for the simple reason of BUGS...getting sick often coz immunity not there yet esp sincei have my parents but then again, in childcare, will she learn a lot more, will she fall behind others coz she only goes to school 2 hrs while pple in childcare go to school whole day? can anyone tell me?
at childcare, its like she has constant learning i feel, but at home..its tv and maybe playground and LEgo, colouring.
so my mum says at least childcare better than maid. i agree coz childcare they can both go holiday, maid....i can't leave my girl with maid alone when they go holiday or go out rite.
so how? wat do i do....stress....
i haven't gone down to take a look at cherie hearts yet, i will soon maybe tomorrow or wed, if i see TV..then forget it. they don't take half day coz they are so popular they can't accept halfday kids. so im thinking do pcf then if really can't handle then put childcare, but that means im risking big time, my place at cherie hearts coz if i give up, i dun know when i will get a place again. they are so popular in this area.

re. kid in nuh..i feel really sad for her...so young..so much pain...cry....just got to pray for her. i will be starting work at NUH in less than 2 wks beginning august...i guess by then too late to try n find out who's good there.

dimpletot,
duckie robe is small? Yay! Excuse to get the strawberry one in a bigger size. Kekeke!

springles,
you should do it the other way around. Try cherie hearts first and if it doesn't work out you'll still have pcf to fall back on.

but cherie hearts only will accept in jan also, but worse case is in dec if im desperate. so unless i try in dec then if dun like then continue with pcf in jan? one mth enough to find out rite? or ....how. pcf die die must start in jan rite.

dimple
Ooooh I miss Kate! If mummy spends less on blings, maybe she can have more time to bring Kate out to meet us :p

Bathrobe
Oooh it looks just fitting on Kate lei. Joanne, should I get the Medium too, you think?

I bought a super large raincoat for Jo (strawberry too!!!) and hubby kept on grousing about it. #($)@_ Joanne, if Medium is only slightly bigger, can help me grab Medium instead?

Joanne,

Since 0-3 yr is small, then can u get me the duckie bathrobe at M size please. Hehe...

Also, I transfer $ to u liao, extra since I am ordering 1 more bag. Din get ur reply email so wonder if u receive it.

actually, the bathrobe is just nice, but the hood only covers up to the top of yr head and not 'over the forehead' so you can only see the duck's beak from 'top view' instead of 'front view'. it's just how cute you want them to look lah. hahaha.

arms-wise, it's just nice, not too short. not sure how long the M size one is, maybe Joanne can help give measurements.

saxo

i never buy blings! I need more leave... all depleted by the volcanic ash episode.

springles

actually i feel that half of the day at childcare is just nap, food, playground, bath. things that you can do at home. actual learning / curriculum time is probably only 2-3 hrs, esp for tods as young as ours.

So a good 3 hr pre-sch might teach them more than a so-so full day cc.

need help on maid's issues here. My helper's contract is due on July 2011. However, as i am moving to US for 1 year and will only be back on Dec 2011, i would still want to retain her but she will help out at my mum's hse instead, until we return.

Thus, i would like to send her back for home leave end this year instead (same time as i fly over to US), and at the same time, renew her contract. Is that possible? She is agreeable to all these T&amp;C.

ypg,
oh dear! i didn't receive your pm le. i ordered the bathrobes just now. for rianne, her duck bathrobe(she's 83cm now), is up to her knees. icylemon got the medium one from my previous batch and it was too long for regine.

pildough,
do you want? i'll try to see if i can squeeze this batch.

dimpletot - thanks for the advice. i appreciate it.
any advice is good for me so that i can weigh pros n cons.
i feel that if what u said is right, then i might as well stick to pcf except that its only 2 hrs in pre nursery and 3 hrs when its nursery time. wat do u think of that.i guess no choice, i already enrolled her.
i was thinkin of transferring her when she turns 4, to Jurong calvary church kindy for nursery and kindy after that but she will have to take school bus. so i guess no la..i should not put in childcare yah...too young for that...just that im so worried of getting a lousy maid. so many bad maids i hear abt, hardly any good ones.

<font color="0077aa">koala, oh, thanks for sharing. the books are different apparently from the DVDs as the DVDs are focused on culture. Is it song based and is it captivating?

Springles: C is in a 3 hour drop off programme since May 1st and like what Dimpletot said, I think it is more than enough. I am not sure if you have asked to see their schedule, but the 2nd part of day is shower/nap (or the other way round), snacks and playground / toys time. Usually not much happens in the PM based on my previous experiences speaking to some of the CCs. HTH</font>

Joanne,

Then u order S size for me liao? How about the additional bag?

Ginapy,

My contact stated that I have to give her a home visit if she decided to renew the contact with me. So home visit is a must for me.

yah...thats what i think also. but of course the principal argues otherwise. she says that if there are english classes in the morning, then afternoon they have mandarin, vice versa. so she claims they do classes in the afternoon as well, and like art n craft, etc. so i don' tknow if its true. watever it is..im more keen on childcare than maid...but more on pcf than childcare.

ypg,
yup. i ordered already. including the additional bag too.
do you still want to change the bathrobe? i'll see if i can ask supplier to change.

sax,
i think size S and M big difference. i tried the size M for rianne and it was up to her feet already. too big.

mint,
ok. got it.

sax,
no prob.

ypg,
how about you? are you going to change?

pil,
do you still want? if yes, what size? got Small (for 0-3 years, length 50cm, bust 76cm) and Medium (for 3-6 years, length 63cm bust 80cm). will try to contact supplier now.

<font color="0000ff">Jelly is pleased to announce the birth of Bb S, born at 9.15 am... weighing 3.26 kg and length 50cm!! :D

She said she will post his pics soon!!
thou she commented "He's all wrinkly and dry..like a little old man but he's fairly alert.." keke</font>

hooray for jelly!
welcome baby S!

on a separate note, the voting for venue for the birthday bash is now closed so we should go ahead and book grace kids since it has the most votes. Ok for everyone?