(2008/10) Oct 2008

hi Buffy - my pd told me high fever more susceptible to having fits....

Jelly - ya augmentine does that. U want ask ur PD if Sofilcor or Trimentofrim is better...

Jelly,
The elders in my family believes in giving ill kids porridge water...my mum will get the water obtained from boiling porridge to give Dylan as water or to make his milk when he asks for it...otherwise it's just lots of water....we don't give him any food when he's having fever unless he wants to....

Augmentin... took that for my tonsils were badly inflamed. Haha... Coz Marcus to LS also coz i was still BFing him that time. But doc said that was the only BF safe antibiotics for me.

After op to remove tonsils, i took augmentin in liquid form. Yummy.

<font color="0077aa">Vanilla: different schools of thought lor... I heard that from my friend as well as a PD in KKH too... </font>

whitepaper/buffy
What are the side effects of Brufen?

fits
My friend's daughter got it at 6. And apparently, her PD told her that anytime from birth to 6, kids are prone to fits. I believe her PD was Terence Tan. I think it's a sudden jump in temp that brings on fits.

vanilla/xy
yes, will do so tmr as PD close leh... if i take augmentin, i will vomit. i can only take regular antibiotics. my gastric is v sensitive.

elch
rebby's still eating just that her intake these few days drop to half or less than her usual. she dun like bland things so we hv to bluff her w food all the time just to get her to eat some.

she's been drinking a lot of cold water ... she she dun develop a cough, but i reckon it helps in bringing her fever down

XY

so what did u do in the end regarding CC?

vanilla

yah definitely if there's a precondition then need to be more alert...

surf

i wanted to avoid travelling for pre-sch kid so limited myself to those centres within walking distance of my home. then just choose the best of what's available. also wanted to avoid school bus for kid so young.

<font color="0077aa">saxo: common ones are gastro problems which are not that bad but serious cases are (did google but some of which were told to me by my PD too... but she is damn anti meds one lah): Bleeding, Bloating/Gas, Breathlessness, Bruising, Constipation, Diarrhea, Dizziness, Drowsiness, Fatigue, Grogginess/Confusion, Headache, High Blood Pressure, Increased Appetite, Itch/Rash, Kidney Problems, Memory/Speech Problems, Mood/Behavior Changes, Muscle Pain/Cramps, Nausea/Vomiting, Rebound Headache, Restlessness, Stomach Ulcers, Swelling/Edema, Tinnitus, Urinary Frequency, Vivid Dreams.

'Cos under 2, they cannot speak much hence not recommended kids under 2...</font>

Dimpletot,
U must have missed my earlier post. Marcus gotten a place with LV. So Aug 1, will change to LV. Keke...

I have not given Marcus Brufen. My PD never prescribed that to him before.

<font color="0077aa">jelly: dun freak dun freak. all meds have side effects, this is only for rare cases - 1%. But to my PD, 1% of 100,000 is 1000 so was told not to take it if possible...</font>

and mommies, btw, my PD also axed popular belief that high fever can cause brain damage. He says that's not true at all.

In fact, he asked me to throw away my thermometer and just observe the child. If he's normal, happily playing and still as active as ever, no medication is required.

Remember, the more med you give, the bigger the burden on the kid's liver and kidneys. So give only when really required.

Ok really gotta go, see you mommies when I'm back in SIN the following week.

Tomorrow CH's starting Shichida so have to wake up early... yawnzzz

XY

oh... i thot u were still wondering whether to give the one month's notice and keep Marcus at home or let him finish the one month...

Whitepaper
Hv fun at Shichda! Le En been there for a term. Well... still cannot focus and sit still in class. Teacher suggested I change to morning slot. Anyway, all slots are full for next term, so wait and see.

Buffy
That's good info. I hv experienced Zoophonics when I enrolled her at GUG last time. Quite interesting. As for letterland, hv not experienced before, so cannot compare. But how do you hv access to these methods unless you attend different schools to check out the methods they used? Popular dun sell right?

I have shortlisted Toa Payoh Methodist Church Kindy and Marymount Kindy. The former is right beside my block and the latter is nearby but not accessible. Located at private property. Hv to walk for 20-30min as no direct bus, MIL/mum will scream. So hv to take school bus.

Marymount is quite popular among parents and the pre-nursery is full for 2011. They asked me go queue up next Jan for Nursery 2012 intake and must be EARLY. The queue started at 6am this Jan. Wanted to visit the school and they rejected at this point due to spread of HFMD in SG recently.

So i am left with TPY Church Kindy where they still hv vacancy next Jan. Just a thought, if good, sure alr full by now mah. Still comtemplating if wanna enrol here for 1 year and then switch to Marymount after that if I can get a place.

Which kindy did you send your kid to?

Dimple,
Understand what u meant by letting pre-sch take sch bus. Was also very concerned until my fren told me she also did that and it's ok.

Re: Brufen
KKH also prescribed that but the PD there said to use paracetamol first and if fever still persists after 2 days (no signs of coming down at all), give brufen and alternate with paracetamol. But nope, I didn't give Brufen in the end as I know it's a strong medication. She was only 14mths then. The unopened bottle is still sitting in my fridge.

Mousebb - I live within walking distance to the shops and Chomp Chomp when I'm at my parents' place. Isn't there a Methodist church within walking distance from your place? I wonder if they have kindergarten classes there. If not, school bus is also an option. Might be a little hard taking the kids to school by bus every morning.

Surf - I actually really like the montessori method of learning but it's so expensive so we're still KIVing it for my Oct 2008 baby. I'm just homeschooling alot and he'll be starting at a church preschool 2 days a week in late August. They play alot there, learn shapes and colours and they have a very nice playground. Lots of sand play, climbing on wooden playground equipment and digging in the sand. They have 2 teachers to 10 kids per class for his age so I think he'll get lots of attention.

Koala
Oh, there's montessori sch near my place too but hv to take feeder service. And yes, it's expensive and they don't advocate daily class. They insist parents start 2/3 days a week first and yesh, the fees are double.

For the methodist church kindy at my place, i asked if they teach phonics at pre-nursery and they said nope. Still focus on recognising alphabets, train fine motor skills and learn thru play. So I got a little concerned. Even enrichment class like GUG teaching phonics to toddlers already. Ok, me a kiasu mum....

BTW, anyone know where I can get cheap nursing gowns to wear in hospital? Dunno why TMC dun provide. Now i got to buy and bring my own. KKH provides
. Trying to see if got spree for such gowns.

Surf,

You can get cheap, cotton nursing gowns at Metro. I think about $20 or $25 can get. They are actually pyjamas so you find those with buttons one.

Wah, so good, picnic at Botanic Garden. The kids will have a lot of space to walk around.

halo...xy...where are u leh...wanted to collect the iherb today..

i rang u but phone off, sms u too.
im going to my inlaws now...so pls sms or ring me okay....thankssss

hi mommies, too busy packing for our trip this coming Wed, I have to give BG a miss this time. sian. but really a lot of things to pack and we need to do it coz next week very busy!!!! arrggghhhhh!!!!! enjoy urselves...

Hi Buffy, not sure if you sms-ed me today after 1.20pm. But I lost my hp!!!!! so i didn't rec any of your msgs after 1.20pm. I said yes to "A New Day", so let me know when it arrive yar? gotta wait for my replacement sim card to arrive before i can rec mesgs. very sian. now gotta use hubby's spare iphone. bleh. Really don't understand ppl who pick up other's hp and don't return!!!!! darn!!! so heartpain

JJmom, how's Nat? hope Marcus and Nat better now. end up any blisters or ulcers? Jolly, how's Ashton? poor babies. those are such irresponsible parents who bring their sick kids to water play, spread to others!

Surf, do u need nursing gowns? I just buy those PJs, either top+bottom sets or long dress PJs, with buttons will do. unbutton and nurse. I actually gave birth in my fav PJs in fact hehehee....

<font color="0077aa">jelly, rebby better?

Vanilla: thanks babe. C is ok during the day but at night, she sometimes wake up cos of her cough. Administering meds. Will c if she gets better...

Surf: C is now with Bibinogs for her mandarin class, it's not a CC, rather it's a preschool/kindy. This place offers a bilingual programme so that's where she was exposed to zoophonics initially where she did a weekly accompanied class. Because I send her in for mandarin session, I do the English bit on my own. C has a place with Pats and they use letterland. I got my stuff from a BP (which Ruffles gave me the heads up on). Cos she is doing well at Chinese class so my intention is to differ C at pats for a year. That's why I bought the letterland stuff and am doing on my own. But to answer yr question, yes Popular does sell it but not all products and certainly not all branches. They are carrying the activity books but the resource I found most useful is the CDRom.

Letterland works better for C as she is able to recognize the letters, something she was not able to do so for Zoophonics but like I said, it's v individual.

We have a couple of school teachers and ex school teachers here; perhaps they can share a bit.
am just a half past 5 homeschooling mum. Hee... So not qualified to share much la</font>

<font color="0077aa">Dimpletot, yes I did reply... Oh no wonder no reply... What happened man? How did it get stolen? Where did u put it??? Poor thing la u

ok, noted on A New Day... Pass u when u get back

Surf - If you're considering letting your kid take school bus another option is Ascension Kindergarten. My friend lives in Seletar and sent her kids there. I think it's not really that far from your place too (guessing where you live coz I used to go to Toa Payoh Central pretty often). On nursing gowns, there's a shop called Song and something (can't remember the exact name) at Holland Village where I picked up some gowns to sleep in. Quite easy to pop out what you need to nurse with and then pop it back in. I use that sort of gown when I'm nursing (the Marks and Spencer type?).

<font color="aa00aa">good morning mummies.

those kiddies who are sick &amp; those down with hfmd i hope you are much much better now. jia you!!

Marcus is perfectly well. He didn't get HFMD leh. No spots or ulcers. Haha...

Friday night we checked into MBS. The rooms are pretty big. And the bathtub is those basin stand alone type. Very nice. The sky park is soooo lovely. And the infinity pool... to died for man. Too bad, was raining. Damn it.

morning mommies

had an argument w my dad this morning! i feel like am acting in the 7pm show on "Yu Jia"...

buffy
rebby is well already... just that she's been treated like a princess those days when she is sick, she is showing tantrums fit for a princess too since she thinks she's been getting special treatments from us for a few days... so now, i need to to "re-calibrate" her...

hi jelly - calm down...aiya our parents always think they r correct one.. cos we are still small kids to them
haha i guess in 28 yrs time i will do the same to E (hmm for his sanity i think i better migrate)

bluey
over small matters, but i think my dad just dun get it and he thinks that since i am his daughter, only right i take it hands down and let him say what he wants abt me w/o me saying a word.

difficult as i am v bad tempered and i am someone who needs to be provided w a reason to be convinced that i should not do such a thing or that i am wrong

vanilla
lol.. ya, think i need to do that too...

Jelly,
Chill babe... dun get so agitated. Baby S scheduled for 7/7?

Vanilla,
We try to keep ourselves off our future DIL backs. Haha...

<font color="0077aa">Jelly: ai yoh, what about? U ok now? Dun get so agitated alright babe?

Good to hear Rebby is well. Hee... they sure know how to milk it ah? LOL

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla,

Same sentiments, my hb oso planning for migration to somewhere else wahahaha ;P~

Jelly,

Every parent would think they did the right thing or want the best for their child..so even thou we are grown, married and have our own kids, in their eyes, we would still be their baby hee hee...

Dun get too bothered by it am sure yr dad din mean it

xy
no major contractions in-sight... sian, maybe it wouldn't happen the way i want for bb s to pop on 7/7. shall we just meet for hot pot soon?

buffy
yes, she is a BRAT these few days... time to re-start my discipline program again!

Bluey - Wanted to tell you that I managed to get Vic on the 1130am slot! You might want to call and pester them to get you the slot if it works better for Ash.

Mommies - I sent the new - crap maid back last evening! Woo hooo... she had the cheek to tell me she wanted to go back the agent last week. So last nite, I just told her 30 min before the agent came w new maid that since she asked to be returned to the agent, the agent was coming for her. She looked stunned and almost tearing. ANyways, am sooo glad to be rid of her! I was practically the maid, cooking and washing FOR HER plus I had to care for my kids - bathe, diaper change, feed, etc. It was really impossible.

The new one is in, and so far, Vic likes her and we can communicate. Seems to be able to take instructions .. but it is only day 1.. too early to tell. I sure hope she is ok. Been a REALLY busy morning training her on some basic things. Havent even gone to teaching her how to operate the vacuum cleaner, mop floors, cook or wash wc... but gd thing is she knew how to operate my washing machine and bottle steriliser cos she said it was the same per her filipina employer!!! Hoots. Wish me the best man.. I only have 1 more month to return to work and I hope everything pans out well.

Went for check-up last Sat, bb weighed ~1.9kg@ 31weeks. My condition was stabilized, now hoping that bb J can tong inside me til at least 34w, keeping my fingers crossed.