(2008/10) Oct 2008

Mummies, how does HFMD look like?
Fake measels after fever?

Marcus fever today gone... hope it really goes away, Else, i'll have to skip BG.

<font color="aa00aa">Jolly
Hope Ashton get well soon. Must let him drink plenty of water.

Jelly
Hope rebby get well soon. Must be tough for you since you are near to your EDD liao. Take care.

XY
According to the GP, most HFMD come after a fever which was what happened to my kiddos. Not necessary the red spots will come out. The most obvious sign is the ulcer(s) in the mouth and no appetite.
It is quite common to have fake measels after fever and it may not be HFMD.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">koalababy
Was thinking to transfer my kiddos to zion next year bcos I dont want them to spend too much time in cc but after some consideration, decided to let them stay on in cc till K1. But with what happened in the cc recently, I must reconsider my option liao. If the new teachers are not good, then I will have to transfer them to zion next year. I'm staying at serangoon gardens but zion is not within walking distance. I need to take bus 317 to reach there. My place is at Brighton Ave.</font>

Hmm... i'm worried that Marcus may have HFMD.
Since Jolly's ashton have coz they were playing on Sunday.

Now, no more fever. I check his hands and feet, no spots. His appetite still very good. II try to check his mouth, looks ok. So... i dun think there's any ulcer.

oh dear...so many many kids sick..yah...irritating virus...
i also have been giving sambucus to my girl 10mlx2 a day,. i think shes getting better much faster with it. no more fever but still got the thick mucus/phelgm coming out from her nose.
but i think as long as the kids are still active , its a good sign.
jelly -hope urs get well soon too..sigh...must be tough for u. really hope u dont' catch it too!!

<font color="aa00aa">XY
Seems like HFMD is very common nowadays... I guess the moment doctor sees a ulcer in the mouth, he/she will say it is HFMD liao esp when the kid is attending cc. This round when wenmin got it, she can still eat, drink and fright with wenxuan. We din even know she has a ulcer in her mouth until the school notified me and told me to bring her home immediately. </font>

but do u give him even when he is not sick? how much do u give if he is not sick?
its quite expensive to giver everyday , sambucus so expensive...how much in spore i don't even know..

<font color="aa00aa">elch
Any idea what is the different between Sambucus and Sambucol immune booster? Yesterday I just ordered 6 bottles of sambucol booster for wenxuan cos his immunity is really very poor!!! Really need to boost his immune system now. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">springles
I dont know how much is sambucus in S'pore cos my boy is drinking sambucol and it costs $26 when I bought from the GP clinic. I ordered 6 bottles from iherd and the total is around USD$75++ with DHL shipping which I think it is a lot cheaper when I get it locally. </font>

Oct babies 2nd birthday

Interested?
1. XY + Marcus (ok, except 25/9, that's Marcus actual BD.)
2. Buffy + Cate ($50, good with any weekends in Sept)
3. Gio + Skylar
4. JJmom + Natalie
5. Monyetnakal + Jonathan (ok for any weekends in Sept)
6. Daisybuttons + Jazreel (except for 18 Sept)
7. jelly + rebby + hb (any day except 18 Sept)
8. ypg + Tong + hb (can hb join in the fun?)
9. mint + regina
10. nickypower + Kaelyn
11. cheerbear + shawn
12. icylemon + Regine (prefer 11,12,25 &amp; 26 Sept. btw 10 Sept is a PH)
13. jolly + ashton
14. joanne + rianne
15. eelyn + kaitlyn (any wkend in 3rd or 4th wk of sep, still in confinement before that)
16. everafter + bryan
17. pil + abby (no preference on venue, 26 sept, budget depends on venue?)
18. Bluey + Ash (ok with any wkends in Sept )
19. Forest + kieren
20. Freda + Gareth
21. Whitepaper + CH (ok with any date, prefer Sundays)
22. elchwong + Dylan (ok with wkends after 2nd wk of Sept onwards)
23. Mspiggy + Natalie
24. springles + elena
25. Penny + Claudia ( except for 19/09 coz its actual day for Claudia) [email protected] or sms me pls if i miss out the post here. Thanks.
26. Surf + Le En

Good day mummies! hope everyone is fine. Wish can make it for the 2nd BD bash this time round as I missed it last year. Alr full by the time I wanted to add my name then. I be clumsy by Sep as am due in Nov.

Re: CC and kindergarten
Gave up on CC near my place as the list is so damn long. I prob only get a place in 2012 or never!

Kindergarten is my next choice as they dun take wait list, hv to go queue up to register. Do you mummies go for distance (i.e. convenience, within walking dist) or whether it's one of those good schools (i.e. hv to take school bus coz it's far)?

springles,
I don't give him any if he's not sick...when he shows symptoms, I'll give 5ml, 1-2 times daily till symptoms are gone or when he's sick I'll increase to 10ml, 2 times daily then cut down to 5ml 1 time daily till symptoms's gone...

mousebb,
Sambucus is the ingredient, Sambucol is the brand name. Think I read or heard from somewhere before that Sambucus can't be taken for too long a continuous period...think you better check...

<font color="aa00aa">elch
Will confirm with my GP again. Am thinking to let wenmin take some when she reaches 2 yrs old. I only give 3ml to wenxuan once everyday. The doctor only recommeded 3ml instead of 5ml due to his G6PD deficiency condition. Not that it will trigger this condition but every medicine/supplement we give to him, the doctor suggests it is best to keep it to the minimum.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">XY,
when did Marcus develop fever? sometimes ulcer will appear later too.

so kids who had HFMD oso seems to have good appetite.

really depends...

i jsut read that the SAmbucus cannot be taken continuously too. must give a 2 week break after 6-8 wks of taking for best results.

btw, i thought sambucol is only for above 2? elch - ur kid above 2?

sambucus for kids can take above 1.
but the sambuCol for kids from UK website can take from 1 also.

u mean GP give this kinda thing ar..so happening.. so 6 bottles for 75 US...hmm.

<font color="0077aa">hi all, am working from home 'cos C is still nursing a cold and a cough. Sianz. PD said that if her cough keeps coming back, then it could be an allergy element (read: asthma 'cos my mum and bro have it). Sigh... So, am monitoring her and also administering the meds on my own.

Surf: for my case, I chose to send C to a place about 15 mins drive away 'cos it has the curriculum I wanted.

Jelly: ohhhhhh... viral... then gotta let it run its course as the only thing we can do is to give meds. ai yo, so sorry to hear she is down. you must be so tired.

OTC - wah, rejected? I wonder how much of my loot is in there man. LOL</font>

Springles,

Previously I give Dylan Sambucol, he's below 18mths. Yes, both the US and UK Sambucol site you can see the difference. In the UK site http://www.sambucol.com/index.cfm?id=530&amp;pid=4, it states that those 1 and above can consume. In the US site, it's 2 and above. And of course in both countries, though it's named Sambucol for Kids, the ingredients and packaging also varies slightly.

I bought from iHerb via overseas spree but the packaging I got is that of the UK version. Seeing that it is a 'natural' product, I just give an amount that's smaller than indicated...

You may join any of the iherb spree in SMH as they have 12% going on...

Springles,
Actually Nature's Way Sambucus got the same effect...can consider that too...I've only bought Sambucol once and followed by 2-3 bottles of Nature's Way Sambucus...it's a bigger and cheaper bottle...reputable brand as well...lots of mummies in SMH also buys that...

Hey mummies

This Sambucus supplement is for? build immunity?

Buffy - can share cwhat urriculum you look out for? Montesorri? To be frank, am so lost with curriculum. Eg for phonics, so many different methods of teaching, so which is the best? totally lost.

Mint -- Wah envious leh.... my toes are disfigured! they need some TLC

hi Buffy - hope C is feeling better

Ohh ppplllsss let the weather b good on Mon.. me going to the Zoo

jelly,
it's viral fever season now so rebby could have picked it up from anywhere.

Re: sambucol
i read that cannot give this when having fever.

saxo,
it's raining heavily and both our girls fell asleep so we quickly walked into the nail parlour to get our pampering session. Last minute decision.

<font color="119911">Jolly, XY,
oh dear, Nat also down on wed evening with vy high fever. The pd also suspected she might b HFMD but we thought it's not vy likely since she is not in cc mah &amp; till now we din c any spots on her hands &amp; foot.

Now i vy worried tat she might b, she does looks more uncomfortable this round
will monitor closely. Vy heartache
...</font>

I hope speedy recovery to all the unwell darlings.

This is my take on fever, having experienced twice of more than 39 deg for Jo. On both times, trips to the hospitals proved futile. The doctors and nurses were calm, despite Jo's temp rising about 40 at one point. After blood and urine tests (kudos to NUH here for making Jo feel so at ease, even in the middle of the night) proved nothing, the doctors could only advise, 'ride the virus out'.

And now, I'm very calm when dealing with fever, 39 doesn't make me panic anymore. And I seriously believe if it's not bacterial, or UTI or any of the worse illnesses, there's really nothing we can do but wait for the body to fight the virus. 5 days was the maximum I would endure.

I have also read online that said that the temperature of the fever is not important (yah right, tell it to parents), it's the temperament of the fever-ee. If they're still happy and active, then there's nothing to worry about. If the temp is 38 but the fever-ee is lethargic and very very tired, then there's more concern than another fever-ee who's temp is 39.5 but still remains active. Can't say the same for appetite though. I think all ill people have bad appetite.

My 2 cents.

Mint,
Ermm.... me very bad at this. They all look the same to me. Whether it's suitable for my kid, ermmm... really cannot tell now. Sigh.

Re: Fever
Agree with Saxo. Hv sent my girl to KKH twice for high fever. My girl was still active and running around at the hospital while waiting. Did a lot of tests, including if it's organ infection, dengue, etc. Both incidents ended up as viral fever.

For viral fever, tt's about temp management. Do not let it go up further than 39/40. No ice bath. With timely medication, it will come down after a few days. Let the body will fight the virus. Do not stop giving medication once the temp starts coming down or drops to normal, continue to give medication for 1-2 more days.

mint,

No Sambucus during fever? I read otherwise....most links I googles showed that Sambucus is good to be taken during fever...most if not all says "...may improve flu-like symptoms, such as fever"

Anyone else can advise on this?

Hi XY,
Are you and Marcus still in for BG outing since he is not feeling too well?

If we are going ahead with it, lemme propose location to be at Palm Valley, the open space in front of the Shaw Foundation Symphony Stage.

Picnic at BG
Exact location: Palm Valley open space, in front of Shaw Foundation Symphony Stage
Time: 4pm
Date: 4 July

Interested
1. daisybuttons + Jaz + Jov + hubby (prefer 4 july)
2. pil &amp; abby (4th July, 4 pm)
3. mint and regina (4 pm, both dates ok)- curry puff
4. Big Flamingo + Julian (4pm) - mini chicken mayo sandwiches
5. XY + Marcus (Fishballs? all kiddos like fishballs right? )
6. Freda + Gareth (konayuki jelly? More for parents as our precious can get choke)
7. Jill + Zoe
8. ypg + Kai Tong (4 Jul, 4pm) - Contribute cake.

Saxo

I totally agree with you. I'm very calm with handling fever nowadays as well. CH's fever can exceed 40.

My doctors (both PD and GP) had both told me that fever will take its course to recover (over a few days), even if medicine is administered. Medication can only help to increase prespiration to help bring the temperature down, but it will not cut short the course of the fever.

In fact, my GP says not to give any medicine in the day if the kid is active and alert, and eating normally. Only give at night (that's when viral fever peaks). As for Brufen, his take is not to give any at all as the side effects is too harsh to justify taking any risks. If fever gets too high, just sponge sponge and sponge.

My PD tells me the following, which I think are extremely helpful:

(1) teething will NEVER cause fever
(2) fever will run its course, with temperature peaks occuring at longer and longer intervals (he has a chart to show that). As long as you monitor the fever and find that the peaks lengthen in intervals (may be 4hrs apart from the start, then 6 hrs, then 8 hrs...)
(3) if the kid is active and alert, no medication is required. if need to, just give paracetemol, and avoid Brufen/Neurofen
(4) fever is just a symptom to an infection. Fever = infection. Infection could be viral or others (most common in kids is throat, nose). You'll have to treat the infection, otherwise fever will never go away.

My GP (a very old doctor) says that this "phenomenom" of being too kan jiong when kids are down with fever is prevalent in Singapore. However, you'll realise that in other parts of the world, fever is taken as part and parcel of kid's growing up and parents are never that worried. He says that when kids are down with fever, usually the parents need treatment (emotionally) rather than the kids.

My 2 cents worth too... nowadays, I just handle fever calmly, sponge him, and give him paracetemol if his fever is beyond 38 or before he sleeps at night. Let him drink more water. So far so good, his fever usually subsides by itself.

totally agree with saxo on this. Just continue the routine of taking temp, feed meds, sponging and riding the virus out. It's not going to be a one night affair but almost a week. Sleep whenever she sleeps (easier said than done) but it's the only way you can get the rest. Viral fever is no joke but once it's over, can heave a huge sigh of relief.

I will have to monitor Marcus and see if he develoop any spots etc.

Sunday we went Zoo for waterplay with Jolly's Ash and JJmom's Nat. So... now Ash is down with HFMD, Nat and Marcus feverish. I better see if got spots or ulcers on him or not. Dun want to spread to the other kiddos at BG. If really HFMD, must be due to waterplay. Damn the inconsiderate parent who brought the sick kid to Zoo.

Marcus fever was on Wed and Thur. Today, MIL say he's perfectly well. No more fever. Still the usual cheeky self, eating super alot!

i agree with saxo and whitepaper - but i also am v worried abt high temp cos of fits. I did not know fits can be rather damaging.. brain cells damaged and affect development.

For me (sorry if i keep repeating it) high fever is v v worrying cos to my PD and me - we worry it is infection. And we worry it will be his kidneys or heart.

hence urine test is also performed....

but if fever and active - i am not worried.. cos he had UTI before and it is v frightening... and he is so weak

Fever
For me, i also dun really care much. If he's active and still running all about and eating, i just give panadol and let him be. I only go PD when panadol run out or after 3 days, still fever. Haha... slacker mum me.

<font color="0077aa">surf: re curriculum, i think it is based on personal preference. Montessori is one method just like Reggio, Inquiry based, etc., are others. Different school of thoughts, different approaches.

Having said that, please do try to visit the shortlisted places so that you can gauge if the environment, teaching styles, etc. are what you like. Do the kids look happy? Is the place keen? Any TV time (which I personally am not too fond of).

Re phonics, again it is a different approach here and some kids do better with one than another. There are diferences in the characters, the way the teach, etc. I only have experience with 2 of them: Zoophonics and Letterland so I cannot comment much.

For my girl's case, I send her to a pure mandarin environment.

Which are the ones you shortlisted?</font>

Dear mommies

Here's wishing all of you a wonderful weekend ahead! And for those mommies and bubs going to BG, enjoy yourselves

I'll be on a 1 week course overseas next week, so "see" you ladies when I'm back!

<font color="0077aa">just submitted a business case for work. finally can heave a sigh of relief.

re fever. C has had 3 viral fevers so far so I know it is v siong. likewise, there is nothing much we can do. Like whitepaper's PD, mine is not pro Brufen or Neurofen so we give the good old paracetamol once every 6 hours and just keep hydrating her.

Lerthagy and turning blue are also other symptoms to watch out for. One of my friends' kid (a month older than ours) had a fever fit which apparently was v scary. If this were to happen, do NOT stick anything into their mouths but instead, roll them on to their side and wait for it to stop. Try to bring the fever down and then head off to the hospital. HTH</font>

hey mommies
logging in now while my mom is watching rebby... i think am just worried. nv thot of sending her to KKH... a waste of time but wld rather wk w my PD or my SIL who can provide much advise... just that this is the first time, i encountered such hi-temps for rebby so i panic... after this experience, think i can manage...

same worry as saxo/vanilla/whitepaper, afraid got fits... cos her temp ran up to 40.4

<font color="0077aa">jelly: fever temperature is not an indication / onset that a fit will occur. My friend's kid had a fever fit when her temperature was at 38.7 degrees. That was something new for me too. Apparently, it is to do more with the child's system than anything else.

Also, once they have a fever fit, they will be prone to having it all the way till they are 5 or something to the like</font>

vanilla
ya, my mom dun wanna give her rice already... she's been just eating whatever she wants... PD even said can give junk like ice cream... but other worry creeping up as she is on augmentin... silly med gives her diarrhea