(2008/10) Oct 2008

elch, what thermo you using and what temp it measured?

Mint, what mag you ordered for hubby??? thats a great idea! maybe i shld do something like that!

busybee, hahaha yah! he practising his selective hearing for his future wife!

hi R&R - thanks.. i will use cane but will be later.

Thanks mint - ya maybe u r right.. he is showing his disagreement. What i cant stand is i said no and he can look at me and w that defiant look continue to throw.

SAHMs,

I went to Rochester Playhouse recently again, despite my grumbles about the restaurant service.

It's a nice playroom. You gals will have a nice time.
Would not recommend eating there though. The food is not very good and overpriced.

vanilla, daisybuttons,
It's not my boy but my bro's...he used the kind of thermometer whereby it can measure forehead or armpit...we felt the boy's body is feverish but his parents insisted he got no fever as according to the thermometer...that was on Fri...and on Mon, Dylan had phelgmy cough and fever till today...so I'm wondering if Dylan caught the virus from his cousin...

I have a dumb question to ask today. The PD says its time to stop bottle feeding Julian as sucking on a teat will cause tooth decay. He already drinks out of a straw cup for water, but I noticed there are no markings on such cups? How will you know how much milk powder and water to put in w/o markings?

hi mommies
just came back to the office. dropped rebby off at the cc and for day 1, think she is doing well. she was jus exploring the place and was walking around, din cry (yet)so will be picking her up v soon at about 1130am.

i cried on the bus on the way to work because b4 i left, she was calling out for me but she was quite absorb with playing with a ball... so... it's been quite an emo day for me...

<font color="0077aa">vanilla: i do not know if mine is even a good method but whenever C does throw anything, I will tell her, if you throw it, it means you do not want the item anymore. So, we will just throw it out and then proceed to just remove and hide it. She'd usually freak because she then realises the 'consequence' of her action. Hence for me, it would be removing her privilege of having those toys to play with the moment she does throw anything</font>

hi elch - hmmm then cld be contagious..to be honest i always siam kids that are sick-- even though no fever.

hi bigflamingo - u can make the milk in the bottle then pour into the cup?

Oh the PD said can cause tooth decay? Hmmm.... even w regular brushing?

bigflamingo
maybe you can transfer the milk from bottle to bottle?

actually, does julian go to sleep with the bottle? if he does, that is what will cause tooth decay.

what i do now is feed rebecca her last milk feed at nite and give her the toothbrush after she takes her milk. if she wakes up to drink in the middle of the nite, that one i have no choice...

thanks Buffy - that is a good suggestion. I will try that too.

hi jelly - hugs... dun be too sad k..ur bb has proceed to another stage - a big girl...a big jie jie .. she is so independent!

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
Rebby is really a brave and independent gal. Dont worry. Am sure she is doing well at the cc. Her rashes ok?</font>

Hey there Vanilla,

I guess i could do that, though you would think there should be sippy cups with markings for our convenvience...

Yeah, even with regular brushings, esp if he falls asleep while drinking milk, it pools in his mouth and that rots the teeth. Also bottle teat drinking is slower, so there is a longer contact time with the teeth.

<font color="119911">bigflamingo, jelly,
i practice giving some water after every milk feed nowadays coz Nat is not brushing her teeth properly

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly,
*pat pat* i have gone thru wat you did. i know how you feel. i cried for a week whenever i drop her off to the CC.

dun worry. rebby will be fine. look forward to the day she tells you. "mummy i want to go to school. i have many friends there." Jelly, jia you!!

thanks bigflamingo... the bad thing is the bottle is my boy's comfort to sleep..this morn - he wakes up 3X for milk...

the pigeon mag mag has marking.. the munchkin ones dont have....

Jelly,
No he will actually toss and turn for 15 min before his last milk feed. Wondering if I should make him brush his teeth again, but a little scared it will make him alert again and not want to go to sleep!

JJmom,
Thats not a bad idea...

Vanilla,
Still waking up 3x a night for milk? yikes...thats very rough on you!

I'm so glad I weaned Jules off his pacifer and it was so easy! Learnt a trick from Supernanny. I made him throw away his pacifer into the bin and say bye bye to it. After that, he never asked for it. Phew!

vanilla,
My boy was at my mum's place where my nephew is...they love playing together and I didn't want to be 'nasty' by carrying Dylan away each time he goes near his cousin especially when the parents insisted that the boy has no fever...shall not be 'nice' after this incident...I'll just carry Dylan away if he gets near to kids who're sick...

For me, if Dylan's sick, I'll always refrain him to go near his cousin, be it just a runny nose, cough or fever...if only they do the same too then I wouldn't have felt mean to stop the boys from playing with each other....

<font color="119911">bigflamingo,
i think i saw nuby sippy cup has the ml marking, check them out?

hi bigflamingo - ya.. the last feed he played punk 645am i made 120ml of milk he drank 40ml and went back to sleep!

that is a good tip! i will try it. now he sometimes need it to get to sleep... at 10pm i will give it to him so he can sleep faster and i can go makan my dinner! haha

hi elch - my relatives sometimes also not considerate. esp when my boy is young w his health prob we need to stay away sick kids..my auntie brought my cousin + his kids to my dad's plc and both the kids have HFMD! my boy is like recovering from his heart surgery... i was DAMNED pissed off man. luckily my sisters are all home to do crowd control and sterilised the plc after that.

<font color="119911">ok, my turn,
Nat won't let me do a proper brushing of her teeth. She will juz open for awhile for me to put in the brush but the moment i start the brushing action, she clams up. &amp; refuse to open up anymore then wanna take over the brush &amp; pretend to brush herself but actually chewing on it.

Help!...</font>

hi Jjmom.. my boy has started a bad habit.. he will purposely turn the toothbrush to the end and bite it cos he knows i will react to it! to him he is trying to be funny.

So now i have a drill w him.. i will say in chinese 12345 while i brush his teeth (say the right lower jaw) and pretend to use toothbrush and do the same to my teeth....

<font color="0077aa">Jelly: hugs... Hang in there. After a while you will be like Gio and I, we get used to their cries.

C has been back to crying and complaining every morning tell me no school ever since that 3 day episode with my MIL appearing at the door and Cate saw her. But I realised I am not bothered that much now... :p</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Vanilla,
why your cousin is so inconsiderate!! din he knows tat kids with hfmd are supposed to stay at home for at least 5-7 days until GP certified the kid is ok??

hi jjmom - pretend.. i will open my mouth and pretend to use his toothbrush and brush...

hi R&amp;R mum - ya lor! that is why i am damned pissed off! and they go running abt the house touch here touch there. luckily my mum closed the door w E sleeping inside.

<font color="119911">vanilla,
yah, your cousin is too much, got hfmd still go visiting for what!

u r too kind, i would have kick them all OUT even if it's not my place!</font>

hi elch and jjmom... i only heard it when i went home after church... i was so pissed. My dad and mum cant chase them out...not nice since my auntie is my dad's older sis. But my cousin really no brain one (even though scholar)...

<font color="119911">vanilla,
oic, we tried that trick liao, not working with Nat. She will only wanna take over the brush &amp; do it herself again

it does not matter if he is a scholar. but is common sense!! even the doctor who confirmed his kids are down with hfmd will sure remind your cousin tat DO NOT BRING YOUR KIDS OUT. KEEP THEM AT HOME. seems like your cousin simply dun understand english!!

he is one of those parents i hate the most. INCONSIDERATE!!

hfmd is not a deadly illness. but if is spreading alot of kids will suffer!!

your cousin hor!! really!! need to get slap type leh!!!

jjmom.. how abt holding her hand and brush? i did that and then holding his hand to pretend brush mine.. then tell him mummy dont know how to brush u help mummy can...haha make him feel abit more impt...

this type of ppl, ought to give them something real hard on the face &amp; suan them one leh. "ma lu" them. stupid couple!! sorry to say that. saw your post on your stupid cousin makes me real hot.

opps R&amp;R mum cool down... dun think abt them...there are also such pple around... think happy thots ...

me going half day today ... collect E's urine, go dim sum w my IVF frens and then cut hair!! Woohooo never had a me time for so long!

<font color="ff0000">Jelly,
Hugz, I know how u feel, I still feel sad when I drop Skylar off every morning. Sighs.

Bigflamingo,
Did the PD mean for the last feed or stop all bottle feeding? I would think drinking from the bottle during the day should be okay right?? Will that cause tooth decay as well?

On brushing teeth,
Skylar doesn't really brush her teeth, just kinda like chew the toothbrush. If I take over the brushing, she will get angry and then tantrum time.

Btw I noticed that Skylar tends to get very cranky when she gets home in the evening. For the last 2 days, she doesn't even want her dinner and will cry until very chiam during her shower when she normally loves showers. For the past 2 evenings, we let her skip her dinner cos there's really no way to feed her, she either spat the food out or refuse to eat &amp; wanna get out of the high chair. So worried abt her....

jjmom,
i had the same problem with rianne. she refused to let me brush. then i saw some white stuffs forming near her gums. i had to force brush her teeth cause i was afraid of tooth decay. she would always cry like i'm torturing her. now, i told rianne that if she wants me to blow bubbles, she has to let me brush her teeth. so far so good. it has been 3days and she opens her mouth for me to brush then afterwards, i let her hold her toothbrush and i blow bubbles for her. once i'm done blowing bubbles, she will give me her toothbrush

So sad just went nuh n saw 2 children so sick. One has oxygen tube n was cradled by her mum while another was in a special wheelchair n maid was sayanging his face. Felt like crying when I see them so poor thg

Gio,

She means for all feeds.

I also have trouble brushing his teeth. Sometimes I have to brush my teeth at the same time to encourage him to put the toothbrush in his mouth.

<font color="ff0000">Bigflamingo,
Hmmm if I let Skylar feed from bottle during the day and afterwards give her some water, that should be fine right? Skylar can drink from cup but her bottle is like her 'love'. She always has that dreamy look when she suckling on the bottle.