(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">elch, Gio
I was telling my hubby nowadays the kids are very cham, cant enjoy their childhood much as they are 'forced' to attend classes at a very young age, whether they like it anot they have no choice. I feel heartache too.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Gio,
dun think too much le. look forward that she will tell you everyday "mummy i want to go to school."

<font color="aa00aa">coz last time, we are either taking care by our grandmothers or our mothers who are SAHM.

nowdays, not all mothers will be SAHM. is not that we dun want. we can't afford. standard of living is so high! who the blame?? Goverment lor.

hello mummies!

I'm not new here. Just that someone is googling too much on me, so I change nick. I'm Jo's (the gal) mum btw. Shhhh. Call me saxophony or sax from now on.

<font color="119911">mommies,
sigh...i join your fears &amp; heartaches of putting our 宝贝s to school.</font>

<font color="119911">JTS :</font>

Parents, Beware of Unsafe Playgrounds!
by gillian
Filed under News In March last year, a six year old girl and her elder sister visited the Turf City playground while their mother sat at a nearby café. The child had attempted to climb the slide by grabbing safety netting affixed to the side of the slide. However, the netting broke loose and one of the bolts used to secure the netting sliced through her right leg and left her with a deep gash.

The child’s mother sued <font color="ff0000">the playground operator, Fidgets</font>, and a district court ruled that 75 per cent of liability was attributable to Fidgets and 25 per cent to the mother for leaving her child alone in the playground. In the company’s appeal, it said it had not been negligent and that the parent should bear greater responsibility for the incident. However, Judge of Appeal Justice Chao Hick Tin dismissed the appeal and upheld the district court’s decision. Justice Chao said that an operator offering playground facilities for children had the duty to ensure that everything is safe for its users.

<font color="0000ff">Gioanna,

Yr gal is going to be a beauty!!
dun worry am sure she will adapt very quickly after seeing all her friends having fun

Everafter,

Normally during teething, our tods will tend to have poorer appetite, try to give him gripe water in between and soft food..

jjmom
places like fidgets are not suitable for 2 and below. from 2-3yo, they are considered freeplay areas hence, no supervision required for them. i do not think it is the operatpr's fault all the time. much to my dismay, alot of parents just leave the kids in the playground w/o supervision.

hvg said that, i agree w the judes decision to find the playground too since it is an "equipment" fault.

bluey
how r u feeling?

<font color="0000ff">Hi Jelly,

Am ok..maybe not at work bah wahahaha ;p~

Brought Ash for his booster just now, aiyo nearly tear down the clinic with his cries -_-""

How abt u? How's yr back?

<font color="119911">elch,
think this BP organiser is already quite well known for this gimmick that she seems to b pulling ard at other forums too...tsk tsk tsk!</font>

<font color="119911">Jelly,
yah, i agree with u. Some of these playgrounds, even me, an adult, thinks the 2 storeys high slides looks scary.

A colleague, a mommies herself, broke her thumb when she took the slide. She was trying to demo for her son who was scared to try (-___-)''</font>

bluey
me this week at 3rd tri liao! i am so looking forward to pop, really. so tired and my pelvics are hurting v badly. sydney is hyper active and i am not slpg bcos his circus begins after i slp so am v tired lor. my back, not much i can do. i will just stretch. i think i know why i hv backaches. it's the bb -___-"

the sewing m/c is okie.

jjmom
safety should never be a compromise!

<font color="0077aa">hi, am finally back... Oh gawd, last week was a freaking circus act. We had a customer event and some media / analyst briefings and the big shots were so BIG that they actually flew down in a corporate jet. CAN U IMAGINE? CORPORATE JET! And I only thought that happens in movies! Maybe I am the SK one here man... I am so glad last week is over!

Gio: I was homeschooled for the first 6 years of my life 'cos I am v blessed as my aunt was able to teach me. Being homeschooled for so long, I studied in kindy for a shorter time and I cried, get this, FOR A MONTH! Everyday. Without fail. And I made my mum stand at the window so that I can see her there every moment. I wonder now how my mum managed to sneak away and still be so strong for me man...

And thats one of the 3 reasons why I wanted Cate young. Because there really never is a good time to start. Thats how I feel. The other 2 reasons I have are of course different lah - I wanted to try out this place and decide if I want C to continue here or to start with Pats @ Buckleys in Jan 2011. Added to the fact that C keeps getting sick at my mum's place, I really decided that it would be better if she were to start there since class size is so small at 5 - 6 students with 2 teachers...

Ytr was hard man Gio. I was around for a short while and I left. I did not want to linger too long as she has been to accompanied classes before so I do not want her to think it was similar in structure. She cried, screamed (seriously, it was the loudest I have heard her cry) and also banged on the door. It was for a good 20 mins lah. Then she got distracted. She started again in the last 40 mins as she saw parents peeking into the class and she suddenly remembered me again.

Today, she did much better. She cried for all but 10 mins in the first hour. It was because there was another elder kid who was new too and she wailed much louder than C (which is no small feat) and C was so shocked that she just kept staring at the other girl. I think she realised she was not the only one...

She cried again after indoor gym 'cos silly me told her that I would be waiting on the bench outside. So when she did not see me on the bench, she wailed. Intermittently lah.

Believe me, it was hard to hold back tears. I had so many butterflies in my tummy the night before(Mint can attest to it!). What I would suggest is not to hang around the place. And like Icylemon said, they will settle down after a while.

I am OK with the crying, I just hate that she is crying because she thinks we abandoned her which of course is so far from the truth. I feel guilty for making her feel that way lor...

And what I do also is to buy stickers and juice which are her 2 fav and appear with those at the end of the session. I will then tell her that I went away to get the stickers and juice for her so there is no need to cry as Mummy will be back... Pray that she settles down fast and good...</font>

Lilbluey,
Dylan had his booster yesterday and he almost tear down the place with his cries too...he didn't cry for his past few jabs until the recent 2....weird!

<font color="0077aa">Sax: thats hilarious! u are being cyberstalked???!!!??? U sure it is not Icylemon that is stalking you?</font>

buffy
sigh, that means i better take a day off on 1 june... when rebby starts cc... in case i am the one getting all distracted and all

<font color="0000ff">Elch,

Dylan too? my boy has always been like that so it's nothing new le *faintz*...

Jelly,

Hang on there, the time will arrive faster that you know it!

Seems like you are going to have an active boy!! hee hee...

Realli ah, then maybe I shd get one hahaha..thxs for the feedback

<font color="0077aa">jelly: actually hor, i dunno who was more traumatised - me or C... be mentally prepared lah... really, it is quite heartbreaking </font>

Good afternoon mummies...

re sewing machine

jellypurin, so the sewing machine can sew our pant's hems rite? did u get the adapter, i find it too expensive leh.

another thing, did any mummies get the lappy from the same bp organiser? how was it.

thks for sharing

<font color="119911">buffy,
*pat pat* feel your heartache...

U make me lol at this : 'U sure it is not Icylemon that is stalking you?'</font>

<font color="119911">doggie,
think i saw the lappy at the mkt near my workplace, not sure how much at the BP but the mkt is selling at $6.90?

but i still think it's a waste of $ leh, more educational &amp; worthwhile to get the vtech kiddy lappy, if u ask me but tat's me lah

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla,

Yes, it's the last booster 5 in 1 then the clinic will prepared the certificate for you.

The doc keep asking me to let my boy take the chicken pox vaccine thou I flatly refused wahahaha ;p~

Asked me to reconsider...

<font color="0077aa">JJMom: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA... YA, MY FIRST GUESS WOULD BE ICYLEMON LOR!

LittleBluey/JJMom: this morning was hell as she realised she had to go in solo again. She kept holding onto my hand and refused to let go, refused to go in and simply refused to move! I had to physically carry her and pass her onto the teacher. All this when she was screaming her lungs out. So, you can imagine the guilt man...

Having said that, it is not that she does not enjoy it. She does - when my HB, helper and I went to pick her up. I brought my HB into C's classroom and C was busy showing to daddy where she was seated for lesson time, for snacks and showed him her handicraft work. It is a matter of her getting used to it. And she is only there for 3 hours daily as it is a preschool / kindy, not CC... Sigh... And because I have been doing stuff with her every evening since she was like 8 months old or maybe even younger, she is used to the one-on-one attention and that Mummy is with her during these activities. She is also v sticky to me as I take over her from 745 to the next morning every night...

No words can actually describe how hard it was and still is for me. One of the hardest thing I have ever done...

<font color="0000ff">JJmom,

My hb also intend to get a lappie for Ash's 2nd birthday, then he was worried if he will take to it becos it's not really the "real stuff" he's getting. Then I suggest the Ipad, my hb say I mad!! hahaha..i say it's true mah, Ash surely will like it de!! hahaha

<font color="0000ff">Oh...Buffy, think the hardest part is learning to let go..

But u are a strong mommy, it's tough but you will get thru it soon...

Buffy:
Oh I didn't know C started cc already. But she's such a mature gal, she'll be able to adapt fast.

JJmom:
u mentioned u attending JG trial? When?

Codliver oil:
Lowest dosage is 15 ml, I find it too much coz it's for 1-6 years old. So I only gave 5 ml. Anyway I heard it's v heaty.

Jabs:
Will GP issue the cert too?

Cc: ash will b gg in June.. And I think
I am gg to cry again .. Was so heartpain when he went IFC at 3 months.. Have to go thru e cycle again

<font color="0000ff">Jolly dear..

*pat pat* dun cry...
Ashton will do fine!!

Vanilla,

No problem

My hb says it's probably I want it for myself bah, he says so many lappies at home for wat???!!! ;p~

We both each has one cos I'm always snatching his one so he got another one for me wahahaha and now I'm eyeing on the Ipad *tsk tsk*

<font color="119911">jetudes,
yes, m waiting for Nat to turn 18...heehee coz JG is pretty tight on this

Codliver oil heaty? hmm...no wonder Nat seems to b getting more eyes discharges recently.</font>

Buffy, Gioanna,
After reading what you ladies have shared, I really really dread the day when Dylan has to go to CC! Hope hubby will strike Toto before 1st Nov, so that I can be a SAHM and Dylan doesn't have to go to full day CC!

Lilbluey,
Hahahaha! Very good idea leh iPad! Ash will be ecstatic!

<font color="0000ff">Talking about Cod Liver Oil, Ash eats until want to vomit, when we took the bottle out and asked him if he wants he shook his head violently *gave up* in the end, hb is the one eating it now..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Elch,

Hb says I want to have it for myself lar, then find excuse to buy it for Ash! *bleah* ;p~

Vanilla,

U bet!

whos going jg trial?? im going on thurs to jg trial at forum, anyone gone pm me k!
parents are away this week to hk, am home with my girl, so any activities let me know okie!
i went swimmin at safra jurong on sat late afternoon with my girl, then it started raining but she sure had fun!